We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2006

We have stayed at this superb hotel twice and it really is outstanding. The service, the food and the attention to detail is breath taking. We visited other more well known hotels along the East coast for drinks on various occasions and returned home to Le Residence every time more than happy with our choice of hotel. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for families with children under 12, I didn't see many teenagers around and wonder if there is enough for them to do. We have children under 12 and the staff could not have been more helpful and fun.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank carajonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    220
    81
    18
    10
See reviews for
325
936
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

We spent the most wonderful 9 days at this hotel. The staff, room, beach, food all amazing. Want to go back NOW!!! so well worth the money - sheer luxury!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

We spent 9 wonderful days at the Residence with our 18-month old son and all of us had the most amazing time. My husband and I are frequent travellers and stay at lovely resorts, and we both agreed this was the best holiday we've ever taken. The resort itself is beautiful. Our oceanview room was perfectly done: simple decor that works well with the climate, large enough to have a seating area for relaxing and a great bathroom with huge shower.

The food is fabulous both at the Plantation and the restaurant. Some reviewers have commented on the cost of the wines. We found the French wines to be a bit pricey but the South African wines were very reasonably priced and quite good. My husband also loved the mojitos at the bar. The beach and pools were immaculate (the beach was groomed several times a day) and never crowded. We were surprised at how often we were the only ones in the pools.

We got a babysitter for our son 7 out of 9 nights for dinner and twice during the day. The hotel policy is to give you the same babysitter all week. She was quite good with him and it allowed my husband and I to have leisurely meals on our own. I would also recommend the glass bottom boat tour arranged through the kids club for families with small children. Our son and the other kids on the boat seemed to love it. Finally, I would also encourage visitors to book spa appointments. I had the most amazing facial. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank L2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

Our stay at The Residence was one of the best holidays we have had. The weather, in October, was lovely. Our children, a boy of nine and a girl of eight loved the kids club and the pools. We hardly saw them. The service was superb, the food good and the ambience perfect. We found it to be better than the brochures in every way and would return without hesitation.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2006

After missing our flight from the UK (a normal 3.5 hour journey to the airport took 6 hours!)and arriving a day later than we had planned, the one hour taxi to the Residence was not a big problem for us (you can get a chopper to/from the airport). The excellent service we enjoyed throughout our stay commenced as the doors of the taxi were opened for us on arrival and ended as they were closed for us when we left. The staff at the Residence seem to thrive on seeing that the guests every need is catered for and they do this with great grace. The hotel is of a very high standard and has a fantastic beach, one of the best on the Island according to our friends who have now retired back to Maurice. You will not be dissapointed by this hotel unless you don't want to be with kids (it has a good kids club) and you don't want to dress for dinner - there is no really casual restaurant so men need trousers each night but jackets are not required. Whilst the standard of living in Mauritius is still very low the extras in the hotel are priced typically where you would expect in any hotel of this class i.e. expensive. Great tennis,watersports, spa etc, hard to fault.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Radnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

We are just back from an amazing honeymoon in The Residence and give it a big thumbs up. After a fairly hassled taxi ride there, the stress drained from us the minute we entered the Residence. Aside from the amazing views from our Ocean View Room, champagne on arrival, super food etc, the best thing was the staff. They left people to themselves, but any effort by us to be friendly was meet with a brilliant response. They went out of their way to make us feel like we were their most important guests. I'm vegetarian and had so much choice, it was just amazing. All the food was top class. The only drawback was that the place is very expensive, and our pina coladas on the beach were not cheap. You can stock up your mini-bar cheaply from local shops, but we couldn't resist the pampering in the hotel. It's a quiet and tranquil place and just perfect for a luxury sun holdiday. Also, it wasn't just honeymoon couples, so we would definitely go back for another holiday.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sammc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
4.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
17.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Property: The Residence Mauritius
Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing