We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 10 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just came back from an amazing 10 night stay at the residence, after some initial confusion as to our all inclusive package the management were only to pleased to help and went beyond our expectations as to what was inlcluded. The resort is in a fabulous location with excellent facilities all the staff are very courteous and cant help you enough. the food is particularly good in both restaurants and even the poolside menu is great really looking forward to going back for my sons wedding which we were talking to the resort about whilst there.
Thanks to all at the residence just a few teething problems with the all inclusive.

Room Tip: Ocean front colonial rooms are a must or at least an ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your beautiful review on Trip advisor.

We are glad to read that overall you did appreciate the whole aspect of our resort and have been enlivened by the performance of our team members. We are sorry that you had confusion with our AI policy; please rest assured that needful is being done for a communication to avoid any future misunderstanding.

At The Residence Mauritius, we do our utmost everyday to make each of our guests
make them experience privileged moments and we will for sure cascade your compliments to our team members.

We reiterate our thanks and very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.



Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
There are newer reviews for The Residence Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

this place is amazing, the staff is very very nice, friendly and everything is so perfect that you fell in love with the place, i was there for 6 nights and really did not wanted to come back because the days went in a flash

Will visit again for sure and will stay at the same place

Room Tip: you can choose any room on the ground floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your inspirational review on Trip Advisor.

At The Residence Mauritius, our team members take the ownership of nesting a good atmosphere for our guests and we are happy to read that you have had enlightening moments at our resort.

We reiterate our thanks for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have just visited the Residence , Mauritius and I can honestly say this is the hotel that has it all. I am a Luxury Travel Agent and have seen gorgeous hotels all over the world. What's so special? The location, yes, on a stunning beach, the decor..all creams and rich wood with beautiful Indian artifacts, rooms to die for, amazing food, underground spa with superb treatment rooms, great pool area. First impression when you walk into the lobby is definitely "WOW" , with its apex ceiling and views out to the pool and ocean. It's also so new and fresh. Choose this hotel whether you are a couple or a family. Tip; they do lovely family offers.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean View or Ocean Front rooms .
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elizabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for spreading your magnificent views on Trip Advisor.

We are really thankful by the expose you have written on our property, enhancing and eloquent.

We are sure your review will certainly have a positive impact and we sincerely thank you for sharing this beautiful message.

It’s a real pleasure to read that you have been overwhelmed by The Residence Mauritius ambience and décor and we reiterate our thanks for your recommendation and look forward to having you staying with us again.



With sincere thank you,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A long way from the UK but this hotel makes it all worthwhile. Immediately on arrival you are made to feel special, the location is a dream and as the hotel is right by beach you are best to choose an Ocean Front or Ocean View room.

The restaurant dining is first class. An unbelievable buffet is offered for breakfast including your choice of eggs/omelettes made to order. Lunch is served either indoors at The Dining Room or outside on The Verandah or at The Plantation. Meals or snacks are also served at the poolside where an unlimited supply of cold bottled water is provided – a welcome and unexpected touch. Evening meals are served at both The Dining Room and The Plantation. The evening menus are posted in the hotel from 3pm to help you with your choice of where to enjoy your evening meal.

The evening entertainment in the bar area changes daily and is generally of a high standard. Only drawback during our stay was that the bar was very quiet in the evening, this may be due to the hotel only being 30% occupied as it’s now winter in Mauritius (however we still experienced daily temperatures between 25-30c in May). The bar offers a 2-for-1 cocktail happy hour between 17:30 and 19:00hrs however perhaps it would encourage people to revisit the bar after dinner if a happy hour was provided for around an hour for both pre and post meal drinks….. Just a thought.

While we were impressed by the location and standard of the hotel the main asset of the hotel is the staff themselves. Too many to name but some stars who shone during our stay were Pooja, Stephan and Sawan who were waiters in the bar area, Jeetun by the pool and Sam in The Dining Room. Every single member of the Front Desk team provide a personal, courteous and professional yet friendly service and absolutely nothing is too much bother. The hotel manager, Pierrot Barbe, certainly leads the team by example and is often to be seen around the hotel chatting to guests and ensuring any issues (and I’m sure there are very very few) are swiftly dealt with.

As I say – a long way from the UK but we hope to return some day, and when we do it will be to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean Front or Ocean View rooms are best
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom_Ros2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We very much thank you for your wonderful praises on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you have been enticed by our detailed service oriented team members.

We thank you for your suggestion with regards to our happy hour cocktail which we very much agree to and you may rest assured that we have already shared it to our F&B department for implementation.

At The Residence Mauritius we believe in creating memory lanes for our guests and all your positive thoughts on our resort and services are for sure motivating to each and everyone.

We reiterate our thanks for trusting The Residence Mauritius and sincerely look forward to hosting you in the near future.


Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Well what can i say about this hotel;if i could give 6 stars i would!
We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the most pleasant and friendly staff i have ever encountered.
The hotel, and all its staff, really are 5 star. if you want complete relaxation then this is the place head for. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. They will tend to your every need.
The hotel is immaculate and beautifully decorated with impressive wooden carvings.
The food is outstanding and would rival some of the best around. There for 2 weeks and not once did i have a dodgy stomach - that is unheard of! They still have to cater for the other nationalities at breakfast with some weird and wonderful stuff like stir fried beef and veg with potato and rice or even a croissant as some seemed to enjoy - whatever takes your fancy i suppose.
We stayed on a half board basis, so had breakfast and evening meal - lunch was around £15 per person - 5 star hotel 5 star prices but don't get me wrong it was tasty food.
Drinks are fairly expensive, in fact they are very expensive, £9 per cocktail and £4 for half a pint. We offered some feedback whilst there and the team are looking into what they can do to offer better value - like i said it is 5 star though so.....
Anyway as i was saying i would highly recommend this hotel, it is absolutely fabulous.
Thank you so much to all of you for making our honeymoon unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ocean view room - waking up to that view in the morning is awesome - we had room 345.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam


Thank you for professing your admiration of our property on Trip Advisor.

The way you spread your compliments will for sure conquer our team members and they will be more than happy to note that you have engraved those beautiful clichés you have experienced at our resort.

Your encouraging words are really motivating in helping us to continue in delivering the best service to our guests.

We reiterate our heartiest thanks for choosing our resort for your honeymoon and it is a pleasure to read that you really appreciated The Residence Mauritius hospitality.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in May for our honeymoon. After doing a LOT of research (and I mean a lot), I decided to book The Residence. I was not disappointed. This was, by far, the best holiday that we have ever been on. We were overwhelmed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

The hotel upgraded our room, as we were on our honeymoon. And the room was fantastic. All of the staff during our stay were amazingly helpful and warm. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. From the help we received from Shahil (concierge) in creating a full itinerary of excursions to make our trip amazing, to the bubble baths and candles prepared by your butler, awaiting us every night after returning from dinner. You really were made to feel like you were the most important guests in the hotel - and I'm sure this is something they strive to achieve with all guests!

The food was spectacular - both in the Plantation restaurant and The Dining Room. You were given a menu to select from each night and had a total of four courses. Such a great alternative a buffet, as it really felt like a special meal out every night. The quality of the food was spectacular. We sampled some of the best food we have ever had whilst we were there.

We are not the type of couple to go somewhere twice, as there is so much of the world to explore, but for The Residence we would make an exception. I can't wait to return.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ocean front - amazing views!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lsimlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

We are glad to read of the blissful moments you have experienced at The Residence Mauritius on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to note that you have been soaked by our quality service as we at The Residence Mauritius; we try to offer the symphony of a memorable getaway.

Your flattered review full of gratitude on our overall facilities will for sure push our team members in creating lavishing memories of our guest’s stay.

It gives us immense pleasure that The Residence Mauritius has lived up to your expectations and we really look forward in welcoming you for the celebration of your first wedding anniversary.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Belinda Carlisle sang `Heaven is a place on earth` well we found it in Mauritius. The Residence hotel surpasses all expectations, from the location, long sandy beach, through to the rooms, staff and food. All were superb. I cannot remember in fifty years of travel, finding an hotel where the attention to detail is as high. The staff were all charming, the management first class, any problem however small was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Particular praise should be given to the head chef who takes time to talk to guests if they have any specific requirements, regarding diet or particular desires.
It is rare in this day and age to find a hotel that actually does what the adverts say, The Residence does this and more, we met a couple who were on their ninth stay there and we could see why. We shall certainly return and advise anyone reading this review to look forward to a little bit of paradise.
Roy and Ann Scott. May 2014.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a delight.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for detailing the brilliant moments you have had at The Residence Mauritius on Trip Advisor; it’s a real delight to read your warm touching review.

We are glad to note that you have captured incredible moments at our resort and you have also been charmed by our hospitality.

We are thankful for the beautiful title, which is truly a real tribute to The Residence Team Members as we take great pride in making our guest’s stay unique and stunning.

We reiterate our thanks for your recommendation and very much look forward to welcoming you very soon.


Best wishes
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,785 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,306 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,470 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $265 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing