We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place, Great Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Place, Great Beach”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A very beautiful hotel on a beach 1km long (shared by other resorts and the general public). The beach here was much better than the beach at Le Meridian.

This resort is quite a quiet place suitable for someone wanting to have a quiet holiday. The suite was fantastic and the quality of furnishings was great.

Room service, however, was a bit disappointing as they have a charge over and above the menu price of MUR 250 for every service request.

We would not recommend someone with kids for this resort unless the family wants to spend most of the time at the beach.

The food at 'The Plantation' was fantastic. Any vegetarians going here should say hello to Chef Ram - served us some amazing Pumpkin Soup, Veg Thali and Biryani. Must say that the food at 'The Dining Room' was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: The layout of the property is such that even a beach facing room would be a bit away from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dptanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for relating your holiday trip on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to read that you did appreciate your stay amongst us and also note your full appreciation on the quality of our cuisine; we must say it was a pleasure for our Chef to assist and cater your dietary requirement.

We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    228
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
337
978
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is an excellent 5 Star Hotel! We stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of March and couldn't have wished for a better place to have a relaxing holiday in the sun. It was just what we needed. All the staff were attentive, friendly and courteous, whatever we asked for was taken care of in a friendly polite manner. Our large room was spotlessly clean with a lovely large shower, clean towels twice a day if needed. Bed linen was changed every day if you so wished. The pool and beach areas were kept spotlessly clean with lovely comfy loungers, large towels, cooled bottled water given to us and fresh fruit skewers mid morning.( nice touch). Food was excellent, buffet breakfast with both hot and cold dishes and tea and coffee served at the table. Evening meals were served at either of the two restaurants, both very good. Menus were displayed from 4pm in the afternoons, after the fresh produce had been delivered to the hotel which we found a good idea. We looked forward to seeing which restaurant menu suited us. Saturday night there was a wonderful seafood buffet at the Plantation and Sunday a Mediterranean buffet in the dining room which was also very good, loads of choice at both. We would especially like to thank Rajish Kisto
for his courteous manner and kindness. Janeesh who looked after us around the pool and beach along with all the other staff too numerous to mention. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor ocean front room which suited us perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations.

We are delighted to read, that you enjoyed your whole stay and the services provided by our staff especially Rajesh and Janeesh.

Our team always takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays and for sure your kind words will encourage them to do their utmost to afford the best service to our guest.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back very soon for another warm sojourn.

Warmest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I would definitely rate the standard of rooms in this hotel among the top 3 of all the hotels I have visited around the world. Spacious, nicely decorated, with breathtaking views, and with a butler service too. I truly enjoyed my 5 nights stay in my room (340). Since my room is at the end of a corridor facing the sea, I could enjoy a sea view from inside the living area of my room, not just from my balcony. The only drawback was that occasionally there was no flushing water in the toilet, so I needed to call the hotel maintenance to fix it up for me. But this didn't affect my 5 star rating for this hotel.

The breakfast buffet was OK, although the variety of food was not much. The overall decoration of one of its restaurants, the Dining Room, was very beautiful, especially at night under its lighting effects. On my first night in this hotel, I enjoyed a sumptuous and very delicious seafood buffet dinner at "The Plantation", the other hotel restaurant. The dinner was accompanied with a traditional dance performance of Mauritius, which was stunning and unforgetable.

One thing I want to mention is that I suggest hotel guests may take taxis from outside the hotel, because the charge is lower and the service may be even better than hotel taxis. I had a bad experience with one of the taxi drivers ordered from the hotel.

On 9 March 2014, I took a taxi from the hotel to go to Trou d'Eau Douce, from there I took a speedboat to the island of Ile Aux Cerfs. The speedboat company told me several times that the boats would depart from Ile Aux Cerfs back to Trou d'Eau Douce every hour, and the last boat to depart from the island will be at 5 pm. So after enjoying the afternoon on the island of Ile Aux Cerfs I returned to the point where I arrived at 4:30 pm, and tried to catch a boat to go back. At this time I was shocked to find out that all people had already gone, and I was the only person on the island. I tried to call and write emails to the hotel for help but in vain. As a last resort, I waved and shouted to the opposite shore, and finally someone from the hotel Le Touessrok noticed me and sent a boat to pick me up. At that time it was 6 pm and was getting dark. I was lucky not to have spent the night on Ile Aux Cerfs alone without food and water.

When I finally get back to the Residence, I appreciate that the hotel spent an effort to look for me. They even informed the Coast Guard to look for me. The taxi driver this morning who took me to Trou d'Eau Douce was also here, but I was upset to hear that this taxi driver blamed me for the whole incident. I think if the boat company said the last boat to leave from the island will be at 5 pm and I tried to return at 4:30 pm, I have done nothing wrong. My point is, the sense of time for some people in Mauritius may be different from other places in the world. When they said 5 pm, the last boat may have already left at 3 pm. So take care.

After this day, I used taxi from outside the hotel and luckily I met a very friendly and informative taxi driver who also acted as my tour guide. He took me everywhere from Black River Gorge to Port Louis to Grand Baie. I had a wonderful 3 days with him in Mauritius. I wished I could meet him earlier. His name is Mr. R.Kumar Meethoo (Tel no. +230 5256 2439). I would recommend this good taxi driver to anyone who spends a holiday and want to travel around in Mauritius.

Room Tip: I was automatically upgraded to the top floor (3rd floor). (Thank you for this). Obviously rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A very good hotel with a courteous staff and good food.
The room was in very good condition, it had a beautiful beach, with great water sports activities and some very helpful trainers. there were two restaurants both serving delicious dishes, they were also very keen to serve indian dishes on request.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anupal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your nice comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at The Residence Mauritius.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your days with us and are more than happy to hear that we met your expectations.

We always try our best to satisfy all needs and extra needs of our clients and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a marvellous 12-day stay. Service is first rate and butler service is included All staff were very attentive, speaking fluent English and French. The food is excellent, with three choices of setting. The pool area has shade cast by tall palm trees. The beach is peaceful and quiet with very few hawkers. The warm sea lagoon offers good snorkelling and water sports. Hotel spa was excellent. In the verandah bar after dinner there was live piano music and number of singers entertained us. Overall a quiet, sophisticated hotel which will appeal to those with similar taste. Highly recommended in all respects.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank XxxxxxxxxQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We are thankful that you choose our resort for your vacations and indeed it was a real pleasure to read your comment on TA.

Your kind words will actively push our team members to afford maximum assistance to our guest as we endeavor to ensure that we continue to deliver the best quality service and the right serving attitude.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you once again for your trust in our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to our shores for another wonderful experience.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A great hotel for relaxing. The large rooms are clean and comfortable with an expensive mini bar. We circumvented this by buying duty free (before we arrived) and using the local shops for the mixers! Beach and sun loungers excellent, the service on the beach was a bit hit and miss, however when the hotel was less busy the staff improved their attentiveness. We were on half board and found the meals (general buffet for the evening) to be OK. Nothing fantastic and found it slightly inhibiting as I would rather have a choice, granted that you can go to the A La Carte but that is still fairly expensive for the type of food they are serving. However the steak we had there was excellent. Due to the resort being in the middle of nowhere there was no town or village nearby with an alternate choice and thus we felt restricted. Maybe this was not for us, but for a very relaxing time this hotel is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We wish to thank you most sincerely for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments are essential for us to review and improve our service quality.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort however we have gone through your feedbacks and proposals on the different areas for improvement and we would like to inform you that immediate actions have been initiated to enhance those areas.

We thank you again to have given us the opportunity to be our guest and for your kind recommendation.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.


Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Its the Best hotel we have ever stayed. the stay is so courteous nice and soft spoken. We booked Ocean Front room for 5 night and enjoyed our stay. the Restaurants Plantation specially is awsum, too romantic to stand by! we simply loved it. the other restruant, Dinning hall is also good.

We would love to stay every time in The Residence if we plan for Mauritius.
simple loved the property.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean front room near the dinning hall, they are quite and very near to swimming pool and Jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramonta A, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Your self detailed review on Trip Advisor shows that you enjoyed a worry free vacation at our property.

This will certainly have a positive impact on our devoted team members who always go to the extreme to turn our guest’s holiday into an epic tale.

We thank you once again for your appreciation and recommendation.

The whole team of The Residence Mauritius looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,553 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,239 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
29.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Property: The Residence Mauritius
Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing