We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have returned to the Residence for the 7th year in a row over the festive season and thanks to the new general manager and his team, we found that the service level has greatly improved. All the receptionists, concierges, waiters, butlers, housekeepers were extremely helpful and welcoming. We couldn't be in better hands.

The new general manager has been one of the top managers of this hotel since the opening and has managed to improve the standard of the hotel. From conversations with repeat guests, we understand customer satisfaction is extremely high.

Our 3 children (7-3-2) have always enjoyed all the facilities including the kids club with its very friendly staff, the beautiful beach, the restaurants and of course the swimming pool where they spend most of the day. The pool staff always have a good eye on all the kids.

There are 2 restaurants which both serve fantastic food with a very large selection of dishes. Moreover, the chef is always willing to accommodate guests with special dietary requirement.

We highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you most heartedly for your continued loyalty towards The Residence family and the time you have taken to write and leave your comments on TA following your recent stay amongst us.

We are happy to read that you been embraced by our hospitality and it was a real pleasure to have you as our repeat guests.

At The Residence Mauritius, our team members like the day to day interaction with our guest whilst ensuring to make each of our guest feel comfortable and welcomed.

On behalf of all the team members, we reiterate our thanks for your continued trust in our property and sincerely look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    229
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
338
979
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have travelled extensively around the globe in a 5 star manner for many years and this is the worst hotel my family and I have been to in a long time. I have never bothered to complain on trip advisor before but using this site for my own reference I felt compelled to write.The manager who is new is very inexperienced and is unable to organise this hotel. The previous manager had a good reputation and a good relationship with the guests according to my sources.The current manager has been there 3 months which has been enough time to ruin a hotel which had come highly recommend by many friends and family who have been going to this resort for a longtime. The food is dreadful, repetitive and full of exotic buffets which are disgusting. My children were unable to swim in the pool due to many ear infection from an unclean filter which the hotel refused to acknowledge. The WIFI and internet do not work which is very frustrating due to an issue on the island which the hotel won't admit to.
I am sorry I took my family to this hotel and spent this kind of money for nothing. We ate at the Four Seasons hotels which was delicious and magnificent even if the location of the actual resort on the island is less superior.The LUX hotel next door also has a great beach restaurant which saved my dreadful vacation. The hotels on the Maldives that I have visited for the last few years are far superior even if more remote. AVOID THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Sea view rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Residence Mauritius.

Whilst taking your comments with great consideration, we note that your review does not at all reflect the image of our resort. As you could see the other reviews rated between 90% to 100% are self explanatory, showing the full appreciation of our guests on our property.

We do agree that there was a problem with our Wifi connection which was beyond our control as rightly acknowledged by you “an issue on the island”, however a special arrangement was done to accommodate your room with 2 wifi routers and even a broad band Emtel router which is the fastest internet connection on the island.

With regards to our cuisine, your comments are very subjective. Feedback from other guests are that they fully appreciate the different dinner theme evenings based on Carnival around the world and did enjoy their meals given the choice in either restaurants.

We did not record any problem with our pool filter causing any kind of infection and our doctor was not called for any assistance by any guests. You would appreciate that the pools are monitored by our teams and a contractor several times per day.

The Residence Mauritius is known for its high standard of service and guest satisfaction. The Team always strives whilst ensuring to deliver the highest quality of service and a change of one management member does not mean that our Residence philosophy has changed. Instead it has reinforced each and everyone to reach the bottom up to serve our guests with passion and respect attitude. We opined that as you are first time to the resort, it is unfair on your part to judge our managements.

We are pleased to direct you to other comments on Tripadvisor from our regular guests.

However, we reiterate our thanks for bringing forward these comments to our attention.

Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaggeryd, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've experienced our share of nice hotels, but The Residence outshines them all. The fact that The Residence is an expensive hotel is in every way justified by the outstanding service and generosity. During our stay we enjoyed an upgrade and complimentary champagne. We celebrated our anniversary and was pleasantly surprised by the Plantation restaurant-staff: chocolate cake and fizz! Food is excellent, rooms are clean and fresh. Beach is wonderful and pool area immaculate. Special thanks to our butler Akeel who considered everything; from that extra night lamp for our daughter to late check out on the day we (reluctantly) went back to the snow. It is not a question if we are going back, only when.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We are thankful of your marvelous review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay very much and your full appreciation on the quality of service afforded by our team members.

At The Residence Mauritius, we are committed to preserve our philosophy whilst providing a personalized and meticulous service to ensure that each of our guest experience an exceptionally enriching and unforgettable moments.

We reiterate our thanks for visiting our property and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay at The Residence Mauritius.


Best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Let me first tell my only bad experience , before i say the good things.

In my personal opinion I somehow felt the staffs in the dining area (where buffet is served) were giving double standard behavior to Indians, we were hardly given the seats near the pool table even though they were vacant, when requested they said we cant occupy them. And on couple of times the staffs were rude when we requested for something on our table. I got a similar feedback from few couples and I reported to the manager in charge. He apologized and made up by giving us a table near the pool table and also a cocktail on our last day at the hotel.

Now the good part, It was my honeymoon and "The Residence" made it memorable. I had booked for a Ocean room but since they were full they upgraded us to a Suite which we really loved. It had more than what i asked for. The room was spacious, with excellent interiors and a massive bathroom. The hotel had few freebies for us which was a surprise.

The staffs in the front desk, room service were very courteous and helpful. They always had a smile on their face. On the last day of our honeymoon We met up with an accident and the staffs helped us with first aid for which I am very thankful and grateful.

The hotel offers number of water sport activities for free which we really enjoyed. Make sure you ask for it at the front desk.

The breakfast were excellent and so were the dinners. I personally feel they can improve on the dining area in terms of having staffs who can be as courteous as in the front desk.

Finally a big thank you to residence for having me there and making my trip memorable.

Room Tip: Request for a ocean facing room or Junior Suite. The hotel provides 2 liters of water , so make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor.

We would like to express our apology with regards to the little inconvenience you faced at our restaurant but which was quickly remedied by our manager. It’s our role to ensure that each of our guests are treated equally and with due respect attitude.

However, thank you for describing our resort in such wonderful words and are happy that you did appreciate your whole stay at our resort and experience good moments.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for another such wonderful holiday amongst us.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went for our honeymoon at the Residence and this place was just beyond our expectations.

Right from entering into the hotel we were given royal treatment, with romantic ylang ylang aroma in the air and hassle free check in to a personal butler setting us in our room and giving us the history of the island and explaining the hotel amenities.

The sumptuous breakfast and the two amazing restaurants which are world class, they had vegetarian options and they went beyond our expectations to offer items off the menu to cater our taste buds.

At The Residence no request is a small request they treat it with high priority and it goes to show they really care about you. The best thing about this hotel is for them tiny details matter for instance providing book marks, providing towels and water at the pool side, a butler who makes baths for you and also pass by to check if you need snacks.

We had issues with our flight back and the hotel team made sure we were reserved on the next available flight, they also checked directly with the airline and provided us update on a timely basis. This goes to show that they go above and beyond.

Thank you very much the Residenc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonflava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We are really embraced by your kind gesture in posting a nice review on Trip Advisor.

We are all honored to read that you have had enriching moments at The Residence and thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you

We are glad to note that our team members did go the extra mile whilst always being sincere in their approach, and manage to make our guests` stay a memorable one.

We reiterate our thanks and very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in The Residence in the second week of Dec 13 and what an awesome holiday did we have. Right from the moment we landed in the hotel, we couldn't stop ourselves from praising it and liking it even more. The hotel has a very lavish feel about it with a grand entrance and unbelievably picturesque first view of the ocean from the edge of the lobby. What more, our room (Colonial Ocean View Room on the second floor) was even more amazing. Immaculately accessorized with a Sofa, a couple of chairs and tables, TV and big bed. The bathroom was very lavish and a quick shower or a soak in the bathtub was always very refreshing after coming back from the beach. The view from the rooms balcony was undoubtedly the most unbelievable asset of the room. We spent almost every evening sipping tea in the balcony and trying to retain the view in out eyes :).
Coming to food, the hotel has a huge variety in it's breakfast and it is undoubtedly it best meal. There is something for every one in it and with chirpy birds flying around in the dinning area, it just makes the scene so likable. We were on a half board and the only thing that was a little disappointing was the dinner (Indian Veg to be precise). However the attendants in the dining room were so caring that themselves offered to make pizza's, pasta's and spaghetti's as alternative vegetarian food. We enjoyed all the dinners except one (the Indian veg thali). Both the restaurants i.e. The Dining Room and The Plantation had the best of services but the latter had an amazing Ambiance.
Generally after dinner we used stroll down on to the beach and enjoy the view of the moonlit ocean.
The hotel's Yatch club of offered loads of water sports and the waves on the beach are not strong at all thus making a dip very enjoyable (for non swimmers).
The hospitality and services at the hotel were absolutely perfect and we just loved the white dress that there girls wore.
There might be other hotels like it in Mauritius but My recommendation is a must go for The Residence. Enjoy the time luxuriously with your loved ones.

Room Tip: Colonial Ocean View room has an excellent view of the ocean across the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaibhav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
It was an immense pleasure to have you at The Residence in Mauritius, and we sincerely thank you for the time you have taken to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our resort and it’s really motivating to our team members to have such positive feedback.

It’s also very soothing to read that our team members met your expectations whilst creating personable, authentic stays for our guests.

We reiterate our thanks for your trust in our property and very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back for other blissful moments very soon.

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is magnificent and the staff does every tiny thing possible to make your stay perfect - you even have a butler who makes baths for you and stops by with snacks in the afternoon. Their very large beach is perfect with warm water and white sand, and the hotel is a treat in itself - 100% recommended!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBud_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Pierrot Barbe, Resident Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We deeply thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

It is through positive feedback such as yours that our team members continue
to be inspired to provide impeccable service and do their utmost everyday to
make each of our guests feel special.

We reiterate our thanks for your recommendation and sincerely look forward to your return trip in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,563 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,240 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
29.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Property: The Residence Mauritius
Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing