We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“re:Just one night stay but...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Mauritius

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“re:Just one night stay but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife, 2 1/2 year old son and my parents spent one night at the hotel...Meeting up with my brother and sister-in-law and her side of the family who had already been there a few days prior. So we were a pretty big group with different dietary requirements. The hotel staff accomodated all of us without any issues...Which really made our lives easy. On Saturday night we had the seafood buffet, find out when you check in and book a table, it's worth it. Whether its one night or a fortnight. You're in a for a treat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Front Office Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

It is indeed a great pleasure to read such wonderful words on your behalf on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for the time taken and we look forward to welcome you for another stay very soon at our shores.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    211
    78
    18
    10
See reviews for
318
915
23
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I was at 'The Residece' hotel for 2 weeks and for this trip, was my first long flight in my life (about 13 hours), so when I arrived to the hotel it was a very nice experience: the services are above the expectations, the rooms are so big and clean. The food, well, it's a really great gastronomy experience! They have great pools and the beach it's a beautiful white sand beach. Drinks are awesome, fruits cocktails and alchoolic cocktails are with fresh fruits always and they taste so good. You can see that it's a great hotel when you enter for the first time in the reception.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jullieiulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Front Office Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for sparing your time in writing a review on Trip Advisor.
It is very warming to know that you have had a pleasant time with us.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel and really appreciated the services proposed by our staff. Thank you again!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We would not normally write a review but this time we couldn't resist while we are staying at The residence in Mauritius, sitting at the hotel bar sipping a cocktail listening to the sound of the waves in the background. We are extensive travellers and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the most exotic locations in the past. The residence was highly recommended by our travel agent, (stylish resorts). We were amazed by the outstanding service at The residence which is second to none. We are overwhelmed by the caring friendly approach of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble! All the staff are fantastic but some that stand out for us are...

We'll start with the concierge, Shahil and Desire, go beyond what is expected to ensure our requests are fulfilled. Shahil and Desire helped us arrange a day tour of all the things we wanted to see in Mauritius, it worked out much cheaper than the tour operators and we got to travel in the luxurious hotel Range Rover! Our driver Sunil was amazing, happy, full of energy and very courteous. He was very knowledgeable in all things in Mauritius, a great day out!!!!

Being avid movie buffs, we thought we would enjoy some of the hotels DVD collection, but a disappointing collection. On hearing this, the staff in particular the concierge Shahil and barman Veenay brought us their own movies from home to lend us. Could you imagine that!!!

The food at the hotel is very good, especially the sea food, although being Indian after 7days we were missing some of the spicy vegetarian food that we are accustomed to, but it's not a problem here! The staff in the dining room in particular Sanjeeta and Vicky have been awesome, Sanjeeta arranged for the chef to prepare for us some authentic spicy Mauritian food, fantastic!!! Complements to the chef for always accommodating our dinner requirements.

The Bar staff are always a great laugh and very attentive. To name again Veenay and Yaksh, both great, also the bar manager who's name we haven't caught yet. It's a great place to relax, chill out and have a laugh at anytime.

We wake up to a great work out in the gym with the trainer Stefan, who pushes us hard and has definitely made us fitter, can't wait for tomorrow morning. The gym is followed by a beautiful large buffet breakfast.

Our house keeping attendant does an amazing job in tidying things and services the room twice daily, it's so nice to come back to the room and all our clothes are folded and put in a neat pile. Thank you to Sanjay our personal butler for preparing a romantic candle lit bubble bath and for also cleaning up afterwards. LOL.

The location is wonderful, on the beachfront with beautiful scenic views. The rooms are all spacious clean and comfortable. We are staying in a sea view room (336) on the top floor with a view of the pool and the sea, although it is very nice if you can afford to it is well worth splashing out on the ocean front or even better the magnificent ocean view colonial suites!!!

The Residence is definitely a place worth visiting, you will not regret it, and even with over 50% occupancy you are made to feel special at every step of the way!!! Would we return? A big yes we would happily do the 16hour flight again!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front room, if you can stretch the funds go for a colonial suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhiRax N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Front Office Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Our sincere thanks for expressing such motivational and inspiring words on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to know that you had such a pleasant time during your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to read such praiseworthy words on our team members. Your comments are a source of pride and inspiration for us to keep serving our guests with the same passion and respect.


We wish to reiterate our thanks for your precious time and for having trusted The Residence Mauritius. The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful holiday escape very soon.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Residence with our 13 month old daughter. We found the hotel to have excellent customer service.

The location is amazing. It is a beautiful and relaxing place. The staff were all very helpful and would welcome our daughter by name at breakfast. The food was of a very high standard.

We thoroughly recommend the Residence and commend it's excellent service and attention to detail.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Headd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
First and foremost we are honored to read your comment on Trip Advisor and are pleased to note that you have carried with you the unforgettable moments that you have had at our resort.

Your kind words on our Team members, our cuisine and our service flow will definitely encourage us to serve our guests with a respect and passion attitude.

We reiterate our thanks and look forward to welcoming you again to The Residence Mauritius for another holiday experience.

Kind Regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

WOW!! - Our 10 night stay at The Residence was very special from arrival to departure. We were celebrating our 34th wedding anniversary with a long-planned holiday to Mauritius and The Residence (our first choice of hotel) did not disappoint, it is a very special hotel in every way.

On our arrival the staff welcomed us with broad smiles and the utmost courtesy - we were invited to take breakfast whilst our room was prepared for us (this was approximately 7.30 am) and true to their word the beautiful room was ready within half an hour enabling us to relax for a few hours in our room before a tour of the hotel.

Mauritius and The Residence are breathtakingly beautiful and we could not fault the hospitality, courtesy, kindness and care provided by the staff. The meals were truly delicious (especially the many and varied desserts) and were a delight each morning and each evening. All the staff at The Residence are an asset to the hotel, always smiling, always helpful and always courteous - nothing was too much trouble and this made our stay a real delight. We would especially like to mention the pool and beach staff, the Reception staff, our two butlers and the Circuit Training instructor who were attentive and courteous at all times, whether passing us on the corridor of the hotel or running a rose petal bath.

As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary we were provided with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a bowl of tropical fruit in our room on arrival, and a complimentary catamaran day cruise which was one of the highlights of our stay - an amazing and memorable day, very special.

On our last evening in the hotel we were surprised at dinner in the Plantation Restaurant to be escorted to a specially laid table with white chair covers, blue sash and crystal gems scattered on the table, with a bottle Chardonnay wine on ice. We were so surprised and very grateful, our evening was made very special and memorable by all the staff, but the highlight of the evening was being presented with a specially made 'Congratulations' cake - beautiful!!!!

Our only one slight disappointment (and this did not last for more than a few minutes) was the positioning of our room - we stayed in an ocean front room and although we did have an ocean view the positioning of the room was disappointing in that we were given a third floor (although our special request had been for a second floor room as I have difficulty with stairs and walking distances) and was the very furthest room away from the hotel reception - a very long walk, and a climb of stairs, each time. However, the room itself was not disappointing in the slightest, it was a beautiful room with beautiful furnishings and a very comfortable bed and, therefore, did not spoil our holiday in any respect as we only went onto the balcony once during our stay - why stay on the balcony when we could experience the views, beach and pool area first-hand!!!! I am confident the very kind and caring hotel management would have changed our room if we had requested this but as the room itself was beautiful, and we were very tired from our long journey, we did not mention our slight disappointment.

We had a truly delightful and special holiday and our stay at The Residence will be a very special memory forever!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Sharing such comment on Trip Advisor is a real compliment for our property.

We are more than happy to read that you have treasured all this wonderful moments that you have spent with us.

Your praiseworthy words on behalf of our team members, the quality of our cuisine and the services afforded to you can be no other than motivating and encouraging.

We look forward to welcome you back to our shores for your next wedding anniversary.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

There are plenty of reviews here to describe (in some detail) what this hotel provides so I’m not going to elaborate. It’s a pretty, colonial style, hotel with a superior standard of service. We found the staff to be discreet, welcoming, efficient and generally happy to help. Nothing was too much trouble.
We enjoyed an extremely pleasant week, just before the Easter break which might have meant that it was slightly quieter than at other times. Certainly it was filling up towards the end of our stay but even so the nature of the place is that we did not, at any stage, feel crowed out. The beach was a little busier and more sun-beds occupied but there is enough space for people like us, who like to be a little aloof, not to be bothered at all. The free trips – snorkelling, flat-bottomed boat, canoeing, sailing etc. were all readily accessible and we didn’t need to book. I’d go so far as to say they were underutilised.
The food is delicious. We had the set menu, which changed every day and was top quality. At the weekends they have buffets which are a bit of a bun fight but well worth the experience (especially at the Plantation restaurant on the beach) to sample a variety of Mauritian foods. The Plantation was our favourite and says it specialises in fish but in reality both it and the main restaurant have a fish or meat option. We liked the short walk in the evening to the Plantation and the view was a little prettier. Its best to book though, especially for the Saturday night fish buffet, as it has fewer covers.
The most helpful tip, which we would reiterate is that booze is expensive and although we aren’t heavy drinkers, when on holiday it’s nice to relax with a long cool one. We enjoyed a cocktail before dinner in the elegant bar whilst taking advantage of the free wi-fi but even so it’s just as well to load up on the duty free on the way out if you like a night-cap back on your balcony, listening to the surf and starring up at the stars. You can buy beers (and souvenirs) for about the quarter of the hotel mini-bar price in Belle Mare town which is a 10 minute stroll away, so it’s not a crisis!
All-in-all, it’s very much what you would expect from a quality hotel but the setting is magnificent and the staff delightful.
One note about the weather: The forecast for our week was thunderstorms which did concern us slightly. In actual fact we had a couple of days that were partly overcast (though hot) with light rain before breakfast. This did not bother us at all and was a good opportunity to get out and about – it was too hot to do very much otherwise. In any case the weather changes very quickly and the rest of the time was bright sun.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selkie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Residence Mauritius.

We have well noted your appreciation with regards to our services, the quality of our cuisine and our team members who are our main assets.

We would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcome you in the very near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simei, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

After hearing and reading so many good reviews on The Residence Mauritius, we booked our stay with them. And true enough, throughout the 7D/6N, it never disappointed us.

We stayed in the Colonial Garden View Rooms, facing their luxurious tropical gardens and on the left side, partial view of the sea. The room was very spacious and even have DVD player (DVD movies are rental free from the reception). Bathroom very huge, equipped with a walk-in wardrobe, a shower cubicle, a bathtub..

In the room, free LAN internet access is free upon request from the reception. For Wi-Fi access, there's a rental fee EUR75 for the wifi connecting device.

FOOD: Amazing!! Breakfasts and dinners were provided in our package.
Buffet breakfast: Wide selections of fresh fruits, juices, cereals, bakery pastries and bread. There's 2 stations for making eggs omelets and crepes.
Dinner during weekdays are their set menu of the day. Weekends are buffet nights: Saturday - Seafood theme; Sunday - Mediterranean theme.
Hee hee.. we preferred their set menu of the day: Great presentation of the food and every set menu we had, never disappointed us.. Excellent job to you Chefs!!!

STAFF: very attentive and friendly.
On the 1st night, we took out the kettle to boil water on the writing desk and the every next day when we came back from our excursion, we saw a small station been set-up with the kettle and coffee tea facilities. Wow!!
Also, we have 1 huge luggage bag where I could not find anywhere in the walk-in wardrobe I could lay it flat nicely. So I just put it at 1 corner. They set-up a rack for that too.. Wow again!!
The staff really go to the extreme to ensure customers have a comfortable and enjoyable holiday.

The Residence, well-done!!

EXCURSION. Very satisfied with Mauritius Attractions. (http://mauritiusattractions.com/).
Prices are competitive transportation and activities. Went for their Jeep rides, Catamaran Cruise and the underwater scooter cruise.

We met 1 of the drivers (arranged by Mauritius Attractions) he's very friendly, good driving skill and informative (like a professional guide) told us history of Mauritius and many more.. We were so comfortable with him that we asked him to drove us to Port Louise, Waterfront for a dinner on the following night. His prices are very competitive compared to others. (If interested, you could contact him at +230 7987848 or jyotisha0403@gmail.com).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review about The Residence Mauritius on Trip Advisor

We are thankful to you for having chosen to spend your 10th wedding anniversary in our property and we are delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Such warm and positive impressions will no doubt motivate the team members to always go the extra mile to delight our guests and brighten their stay.

We reiterate our thanks for your comments full of praises and sincerely look forward to have the opportunity to serve you once more.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
3.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
15.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
17.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Property: The Residence Mauritius
Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing