We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa heaven and staff who greet you with a smile :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from The Residence and we were impressed by nearly all aspects the hotel has to offer

Rooms & Public Areas
These areas were kept spotlessly clean, however due to all surfaces being hard (tiles) then sounds do travel between rooms. We were there during the rainy season and did find some floor surfaces slippery at times, but there were staff mopping up the rain and there were signs warning of slippery surfaces. The rooms were large and well equipped on the whole, furnishing were very tasteful. There are many public areas for sitting and relaxing no matter what the weather.

Beach & Pools
The hotel is stretched along a sandy beach which is ideal for children, with gentle slopes and plenty of good sandcastle making sand. The sea is gently shelved so also safe for children. There were plenty of sun beds along the 3 stretches of beach that make up the front of the hotel, all with an umbrella for shade. The beach staff bring towels, water and will put up the umbrella for you, they also will periodically come along the beach to ask if you wish to order refreshments or food form the bar. In fact they were very friendly smiley people! There are beach traders that do come along the beach and tout their wears but we found that a pleasant " No thank you" was all that was needed, there is beach security in evidence should you feel you need it. We took a walk along the beach in both directions from the hotel which allows you to see other hotels who front onto the beach and we have to say based on beach frontage 'The Residence' was by far the best. The pools are varied, there were 4 round pools all of which were different depths so catered for both adults and children although none were that deep, and there is a pool jacuzzi. Whilst we were there if the sea was a bit cold, or there was a rain shower, we used the pool, all of which felt as if they were heated to blood temp.

There were gardens all along the front of the hotel which were beautifully planted and immaculately kept. They gave privacy to the rooms and were a lovely distraction if you needed one from the beach. There were some lovely vistas, a lot of thought and planning had gone into their design

Staff
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to make sure your holiday was enjoyable. We had Sailan as our evening butler for the week and we could not have done without him, no questions were left unanswered and all help was given with a smile. We did have a day butler to call on too but most of requests were whilst Sailan was on duty.

Spa
You have to go !! It was brilliant, the treatments were fantastic but also the staff were so helpful if like us, you were trying some of the treatment for the first time. They happily explained the difference between the treatments without making you feel you had to book. The therapists we had were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed all our visits. A word of warning though do try and book in advance if you can as they get booked up very quickly if the weather is bad!

Internet Access
Hummm this was very variable even in areas where there was supposed to be access, it is free in the bar area but you do have to pay for access in your room. Once the access was established in our room the internet connection was OK but you could not say the same for the public areas even the designated computer area.

Dinning
This is the one of the areas that I feel the hotel needs to improve. Breakfast was fine, the usual buffet of fruit , breads, cold meats, juices, yogurt, omelettes crepes, pancakes etc The bar food and beach food was fine. It was the evening dining that we felt was not all it should have been. You have a choice of a themed buffet or Menu of the day/ A La Carte each evening. Sometimes the quality was excellent whilst other times it was just OK, it was so variable. The quality of both food and service should really be excellent at all times for such a prestigious hotel. When it was good is was very good but when it was bad is was disappointing to say the least, especially since you were paying the same no matter what the quality.

Shopping
This was an odd arrangement with the shops dotted around the hotel which you really had to go and look for as they were tucked away. There was a gift shop, jewellery shop, Indian textiles, designer wear and the everyday shop. I did feel the window displays needed updating to look more tasteful and inviting and the shop windows needed cleaning. Some of the goods within the shops were rather outdated and the displays were uninspiring. It was a shame really because there was so much potential within each of these areas to show what Mauritius has to offer in terms of local expertise.

Room Tip: If you can afford it then the ocean view rooms are very good and an upper floor will give you a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dudeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Our sincere thanks for expressing such appreciation on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.

We are grateful to read such praiseworthy comments which are a source of motivation to each and everyone to keep serving our customers with passion and respect.

We reiterate our thanks for your belief in The Residence Mauritius and we really look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The property is very colonial which is what we prefer , we stayted in a one bedroom suite which was a very good size , the children had 2 single beds instead of a sofa bed that many hotels offer. The bathrooms are very big (think Vegas) , The food is excellent so ignore any comments buy others on this count , the wine is similar prices to what you get in Dubai but not as high !
A £20 bottle bought in a off licence in U.K would cost £100 at Resindence, that said you would pay £60 for same bottle in U.K restaurant.

My main issue with this property is the service is very poor, in the Main restaurant it is terrible, lunch on the terrace is even worse and the service around the pool is non exsistent (or so it felt)

It is a 5 star hotel with 3 star service , given the fact it isn't much cheaper than Dubai and is 5 hrs less flight time I can't see what you choose the residence. its a real shame as the hotel,grounds, kids club and food are really good but the waiters really dont care, I think this down to the fact that you are encouraged to tip when you check out, waiters should always work for their tips during the service.

In summary if you don't mind slack service and having to wait a awful longtime for anything then stay here as its a really nice place, just a shame they can't offer a service that the hotel could be proud of.

On a differant note , the fishing was excellent , I would reccomend going to the beach club and asking for the skipper "Gilbert", if anyone would like some advice on the fishing please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites are very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for writing your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you did appreciate our architecture as well as our rooms and we do note that you have enjoyed the quality of our cuisine.

We wish to assure you that an action plan has already been implemented to remedy those areas of service that you mentioned which need improvement and will certainly assist to maintain our passion and service attitude towards our guests.

We look forward to welcoming back to our resort in a not distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my husband went to this hotel 3 weeks back and we just loved it... we were looking for some quiet and nice place and the hotel was more than what we desired. Lot of water activities were at the hotel itself and were included in the stay package - snorkeling, glass bottom boat, paddle boat, sailing, water ski, etc - and therefore, there was a lot at the hotel to do. Also, the beach was beautiful and under sea walk as well as para sailing were available at walking distance from the hotel.

The staff at the hotel was too polite and courteous and tried their best to keep us satisfied. After a couple of days, we were bored of the food and we asked the chef at the plantation restaurant (the hotel has 2 restaurant, a bar menu, and a pool menu) to try something Indian and he gladly honored our request. For rest of the week, the hotel tried to have something Indian everyday in the menu. Our butler - Sachin - was very helpful and I would really recommend him for the service he provided. Great hospitality!

We also took the catamaran cruise organized by the hotel and it was really fun - even the food on the cruise was yummy! We had a great time and I would suggest everyone to take that cruise (of course if you like spending time at the sea).

When we were strolling through the city, we were told by the locals that Residence is the quietest hotel here and others are more noisy. So, if you are looking for a serene and quiet experience and you mostly want to be in the hotel and enjoy.. this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandni-Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

First and foremost we take this occasion to thank you for having chosen The Residence Mauritius for your holidays and also the time you have taken to share your reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and had memorable moments.

We are happy to note that our team members has lived up to your expectations and sincerely thank you for your recommendation

We reiterate your appreciation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Mauritius. We have stayed at quite a few 5 star hotels around the world and this is no disappointment. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to please. We were upgraded to a sweet du to an unusually heavy rain storm caused a leak in our room. Our butler moved everything to the new room for us. I think he must have photographed our the location of everything as when we went to our new room, everything was unpacked in exactly the same place as it had originally been. I would recommend getting a ocean view room overlooking the pool. As this has a bit more atmosphere than some of the other rooms.

The pools are actually used to help cool the air-conditioning units and as a result can get very warm which is great in the evening or when it is raining but not so good on sunny days. The ocean is a better bet if you want to cool down. There is never a shortage of sun beds and the beach staff are on hand to help pick out the best spot. The water sports are all free but you can only go sailing and waterskiing at high tide as the water gets quite shallow and they don't want you to fall on the coral. I would recommend taking some shoes to ware in the ocean as there are some stone fish that can give a nasty sting, although these are quite rare and are not there all the time.

The food is great the buffets are the best I have ever had whilst I would like the beverages to be more reasonably priced, £10 for a small glass of wine is a little steep... My advice take some drink with you and go the the local shop for soft drinks if you want to save a few £££.

The Plantation restaurant is very good and you do feel looked after, the staff make an effort to remember you and always have a few nice words to say.

Overall this was a relaxing place to be and we had a great tome.

Enjoy and book with confidence.

The review by "lya_Voloshin" must be by someone from another hotel as it just is not true, please ignore it completely.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraveyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for having spared some of your precious time in writing your feedback on Trip Advisor where you have described your holiday experience in the shortest and simplest way.

We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your stay at The Residence Mauritius and your kind words are indeed the best reward to us and a motivation for our team in going the extra mile to exceed our guest's expectations.

With regards to the prices of our drinks, do note that there are heavy taxes levied on alcoholic drinks and our prices are compared on the same level as other 5* hotels.
We also wish to thank you for your comments regarding Ilya`s malicious review.

We reiterate our thanks for choosing our resort and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our shores soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there for a week in December for our Honeymoon and were absolutely happy about our great stay there...This wasnt originally the hotel we had opted for but our travel partner goofed up our plans & we landed here. I must say the property is beautiful , staff extremely courteous, beach wonderful, Pool relaxing. We had a time of our lifes here... we were pampered and pampered day in and out. Their spa was amazing... the catamaran cruise from their side was totally an experience not to miss, the water sports at the hotel were great tooo. We could hardly complain about anything except the food wasnt of a five star level. Not a thing changed in the breakfast buffet layout for 7 days and the other dinner buffets were boring and tasteless too. Also I was really keen to cycle down to nearby places which we couldnt bcoz the hotel did not rent out any bicycles which was a disappointment. Cut these two out and rest everything was meerly perfect....:) Would like to thank the staff for making our honeymoon special :)

Room Tip: Ocean view and garden view both are good bcoz d beach is at a stone's throwaway distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamakshirathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor and for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your honeymoon and are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay.

We sincerely appreciate that our resort has met up to your expectations, our team are ready to go all the way out towards making our guests happy whilst ensuring that we continue to experience the simplicity, the genuine desire to serve and the passion to excel.

Regarding the quality of our cuisine, you can rest assured that necessary measures have been taken in our continuing process of improvement.

We reiterate our thanks and look forward to welcoming you back again to The
Residence Mauritius.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Anyone planning to visit the Residence Mauritius should totally ignore Ilya Volshin's ridiculous and vicious rant.
My partner and I who travel from Mallorca in the Balearic Islands have stayed here twice and are already planning a return visit this year.
We consider this to be one of the finest hotels we have stayed in and we have travelled extensively worldwide. Judging by the number of repeat guests we have met there, it's obvious other people think so too.
The attention to detail is second to none, it is spotless everywhere, we have never seen a cockroach or anything like it anywhere in the hotel. As for rats, perhaps she brought them with her!! The food is delicious, imaginative, with seafood on the menu, juices are freshly squeezed, and the service is attentive and genuine, always with a smile.
Personally we loved the Spa, and the beach is spotless as they clean it every day in front of the hotel. The beach is never crowded. Occasionally there are local people who come to celebrate a religious festival further down the beach. Most people would find this charming and a chance to witness colourful local culture.
Everything Ilya Volshin has said is total rubbish. The Residence has a fantastic team of extremely professional people led by Frederic Chretien, the general manager , a charming man who does not deserve to even read such fabricated lies about his hotel. I highly recommend that her comments should be erased!
I suggest Ilya stays in Transylvania where she is obviously much happier. Ignore every word she has said.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on higher floors are naturally the best for the amazing view of the Indian Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and also for the title that you have chosen “ILYA VOLSHIN'S RIDICULOUS REVIEW”. We are very appreciative that you have given your personal feedback on this nasty review.
We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay and your valuable motivational comments will assist for the accomplishment of our objective to consistently strive to get better.

We thank you for the special mention on our team members who make all the charisma of our hotel and we will be honored to welcome you back again to our property.

We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Mauritius.

Thank you and best regards



The Management
The Residence Mauritius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week dec to jan and we were amazed with the hospitality of the staff at the hotel.
they were all just amazing.
One day before our departure the hotel had booked us a catmaran cruise which we both were excited to go too. The driver picked us up in the morning and the cruise was just amazing. We were the only indian couple at the cruise but it was nothing but fabulous.
While returning back we got off the boat and had to get into the bus to reach back to the hotel, it was the same driver who picked us both up in the morning, when we were about to enter the bus the driver stopped us and told us that we cannot enter the bus and that this bus is reserved in advance for all the guests at the residence.
we tried convincing the driver that we had reserved the bus as well but he said he doesnt remember picking up any dark skinned people in the morning since there was only whites in the bus.
We were rudely thrown out of the bus and we waitted for a taxi for around 30 minutes and didnt find any at that area.
Later on the driver came back to us and informed us that he was short of 2 people in the bus.
Around 10 people in the bus told him that we were with him in the morning when he picked us up as well so he said he will take us.
He said that very rudely as if he was doing us a favour and he said he still doesnt belive the passengers in the bus that we were with them in the morning pick up.
since we had no choice we both got into the bus.
we felt very humilated as the driver furthermore told the conceige at the hotel that he didnt pick up any indians. The duty manager apologised to us but this experience made us feel so bad it spoilt our whole trip and the wonderful experience given to us by the hotel all those days just went down the drain.
We asked the hotel staff, indians carnt afford tto go on the cruise??? or does the driver think he is only loyal to white's.
He could hv confirmed our names against our room number (if he was professional enough to carry the paper with him) but this experience was humiliating, disgraceful & totally horriflying for us both since we felt very embarassed that the people in the bus were convincing the driver to take us.

Room Tip: Delux ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Fiona640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your honeymoon.

Your comments that you have shared on Trip Advisor are important for us and will certainly assist to measure our service quality and pave our way to excellence

We are sorry to read the inconveniences that you encountered due to an incident concerning the transportation for the catamaran activities; this is not the type of services that we expect our supplier to provide to our guests you may rest assured that necessary measures have been taken to avoid any recurrence of such nature.

We thank you again for having brought this comment to our attention and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to our property.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,022 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,550 reviews
32.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,385 reviews
19.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 7 in Grand Gaube
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $250 - $1,247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing