We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ILYA VOLSHIN'S RIDICULOUS REVIEW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ILYA VOLSHIN'S RIDICULOUS REVIEW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Anyone planning to visit the Residence Mauritius should totally ignore Ilya Volshin's ridiculous and vicious rant.
My partner and I who travel from Mallorca in the Balearic Islands have stayed here twice and are already planning a return visit this year.
We consider this to be one of the finest hotels we have stayed in and we have travelled extensively worldwide. Judging by the number of repeat guests we have met there, it's obvious other people think so too.
The attention to detail is second to none, it is spotless everywhere, we have never seen a cockroach or anything like it anywhere in the hotel. As for rats, perhaps she brought them with her!! The food is delicious, imaginative, with seafood on the menu, juices are freshly squeezed, and the service is attentive and genuine, always with a smile.
Personally we loved the Spa, and the beach is spotless as they clean it every day in front of the hotel. The beach is never crowded. Occasionally there are local people who come to celebrate a religious festival further down the beach. Most people would find this charming and a chance to witness colourful local culture.
Everything Ilya Volshin has said is total rubbish. The Residence has a fantastic team of extremely professional people led by Frederic Chretien, the general manager , a charming man who does not deserve to even read such fabricated lies about his hotel. I highly recommend that her comments should be erased!
I suggest Ilya stays in Transylvania where she is obviously much happier. Ignore every word she has said.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on higher floors are naturally the best for the amazing view of the Indian Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue2Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and also for the title that you have chosen “ILYA VOLSHIN'S RIDICULOUS REVIEW”. We are very appreciative that you have given your personal feedback on this nasty review.
We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay and your valuable motivational comments will assist for the accomplishment of our objective to consistently strive to get better.

We thank you for the special mention on our team members who make all the charisma of our hotel and we will be honored to welcome you back again to our property.

We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Mauritius.

Thank you and best regards



The Management
The Residence Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    220
    81
    18
    10
See reviews for
325
936
24
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a week dec to jan and we were amazed with the hospitality of the staff at the hotel.
they were all just amazing.
One day before our departure the hotel had booked us a catmaran cruise which we both were excited to go too. The driver picked us up in the morning and the cruise was just amazing. We were the only indian couple at the cruise but it was nothing but fabulous.
While returning back we got off the boat and had to get into the bus to reach back to the hotel, it was the same driver who picked us both up in the morning, when we were about to enter the bus the driver stopped us and told us that we cannot enter the bus and that this bus is reserved in advance for all the guests at the residence.
we tried convincing the driver that we had reserved the bus as well but he said he doesnt remember picking up any dark skinned people in the morning since there was only whites in the bus.
We were rudely thrown out of the bus and we waitted for a taxi for around 30 minutes and didnt find any at that area.
Later on the driver came back to us and informed us that he was short of 2 people in the bus.
Around 10 people in the bus told him that we were with him in the morning when he picked us up as well so he said he will take us.
He said that very rudely as if he was doing us a favour and he said he still doesnt belive the passengers in the bus that we were with them in the morning pick up.
since we had no choice we both got into the bus.
we felt very humilated as the driver furthermore told the conceige at the hotel that he didnt pick up any indians. The duty manager apologised to us but this experience made us feel so bad it spoilt our whole trip and the wonderful experience given to us by the hotel all those days just went down the drain.
We asked the hotel staff, indians carnt afford tto go on the cruise??? or does the driver think he is only loyal to white's.
He could hv confirmed our names against our room number (if he was professional enough to carry the paper with him) but this experience was humiliating, disgraceful & totally horriflying for us both since we felt very embarassed that the people in the bus were convincing the driver to take us.

Room Tip: Delux ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Fiona640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius for your honeymoon.

Your comments that you have shared on Trip Advisor are important for us and will certainly assist to measure our service quality and pave our way to excellence

We are sorry to read the inconveniences that you encountered due to an incident concerning the transportation for the catamaran activities; this is not the type of services that we expect our supplier to provide to our guests you may rest assured that necessary measures have been taken to avoid any recurrence of such nature.

We thank you again for having brought this comment to our attention and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to our property.

Thank you and kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I spent early January searching for an ideal hotel for our trip to Mauritius and were not disappointed in our choice of The Residence. This superb property is located on the quieter North East coast of the island and right from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff from the manager down to the bellboy were of the highest standard complementing every aspect of our stay. Our Ocean view room was spacious and tastefully decorated down to the smallest detail and the butler service provided was thoroughly professional. Meals were of a Michelin standard and the dining room staff professional and not standoffish. if you are looking for a quiet, calm and pampered stay then The Residence is incomparable. Top class.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin47Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

It’s really great to read all those praiseworthy comments that you have shared on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that our team members have excelled in making your holidays a wonderful one. We have no words other than to express our sincere thanks to you and your wife for having chosen our property.

We will be honoured to welcome you to our shores for another memorable and enjoyable holiday.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Absolutely ignore the review from Ilya. It is a ludicrous review and almost beyond commenting upon. You only need to look at the consistently outstanding reviews from virtually everyone who visits this first class hotel, to see how completely untypical this review is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keekee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had stayed here for 6 night & 7 days for our honeymoon and indeed it was memorable one. On our arrival we were greeted with welcome drink we was really refreshing. Our check in was very quick. Our room was very good. Its amenities were very good. Room was quite spacious. It had good balcony. View from balcony was good. We did not find a single person in the staff who was rude. Everyone had a smilling face, especially "Desire" receptionist was very kind. He helped us out of the way in many ways. We were given catamaran cruise as complimentary, but we realised that catamaran trip was going to be taken in north east where there are no dolphins. If we want to watch dolphins we need to go to west. Hence we requested spa instead of catamaran. Spa was the highlight of our stay. It was excellent. If you stay here please experience spa here. Sittle the girl working in Sanctury Spa is excellent. Management should arrange catamaran in west only then its worth. Hotel property is very good. Its pool is awesome. We had few issues in food. The hotel has got two restaurants one is The Dinning Room and other is The Plantation. Buffet breakfast is at The Dinning room which is quite good. We actually liked the variety of fruits. Main issue was for dinner since we were vegetarian and for vegetarian food we need to meet chef since there is no variety in the dinning room. First two days we were not at all satisfied with the food quality, its taste and the variety. Then we tried The Plantation were we met Chef Ram. Chef Ram is very polite and he was kind enough to prepare good dishes for our dinner. After two days of struggle in food we finally got good food. Water and phone call rates are too costly in the hotel. I would advise to get local Emtel mobile card and water & juices from super markets. Overall stay was very good & memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank praks0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Higene is absent at all: huge amount of rats all over the hotel as well as cockroaches. DONT GO WITH KIDS! Dearea and intestinal flu hit our kid and my wife the very first day. Our friends (two more couples with kids) suffered the same.

Service vary from one member of stuff to another, but in totsl is very poor. Apart from that, my ipad was stolen from the locked room. Presumably by stuff. I've heard no sorry from the hotel and no regret.

Food quality is very below average. No fresh juices (only from packs), short menu. No seafood at all in the menu. Kids menu is very unhealthy: french fries, hard to chew nuggets, pizza. If you ask smth not from the menu, kitchen collapses. Waiters rarely understand your needs in english. Rice noodles they get as fried noodles all the time, so triple check your order.

No diving center!!! They send you to another hotel though the instructors there are quite all right.

Very dirty, unattended beach full of broken glass, cans etc. Next neighbouring beach is public so thousands of locals occupying hotel beach as well as all shore line is public.

The hotel is located on narrow strip between sea and the road so very loud traffic you can hear in the rooms. Wifi in the main bar only and usualy doesnt work at all. If you install your own in the room for 75€ it may not work as well and when working the speed is not enough to watch videos, skype and bulky web pages. The minibar you should call them to refill, isually they forget to check it.

Spa is very low quality but very expensive.

The whole hotel is low quality but pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilya_Voloshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

We wish to thank you most sincerely for your recent stay with us and the time you have taken to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We have reviewed carefully your comments and definitely they are not a mirror image of our quality of service that we provide to our guests.

It is unfair to qualify the hotel as untidy, dirty and awful, as there is an ongoing cleaning process carried out throughout the hotel and supervised by competent team members and your comments are quite surprising as we haven’t had any such comment so far.

We wish to inform that being in a tropical island we cannot deny the presence of those pests; however they are garden shrews and not rats as you mentioned .Our pests’ controllers regularly controlled those pests to ensure complete eradication.

Regarding your Ipad, please note that your statement has been taken into consideration and the inquiry is still underway. However during this particular period most of our guests were traveling with their Ipad and till so far we have never recorded of any loss whatsoever.

We wish to assure you that an action plan has already been implemented to remedy those areas of service that need improvement and will certainly assist to maintain our passion and service attitude towards our guests.

We reiterate our thanks for bringing forward these comments to our attention and we hope that we have brought clarifications to your comments.


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knivsta, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had two really nice nights here, even though it was quite windy. The beach here is really nice, long and wide. The rooms are nice, there is nothing wrong with them, but no real wow factor. The suites on the other hand are really, really nice. The food is really good, if you are staying for a long stay the fact that you only have two restaurants for dinner could be a little boring but they have a varied menu so for a week it would be fine. The pool area is really nice and service all around is also really good.

I would love for them to remove the plastic chairs around the resort, but thats just me hating on plastic chairs on 5 star resorts. :)

So not the place to go if you are looking for the best of the best, but excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Ocean view or ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyEbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
4.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
35.3 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
17.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Property: The Residence Mauritius
Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing