We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Mauritius
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited this hotel with our 4 year old and 9 month old. The hotel is fantastic for families. The kids club and nannies provided are lovely. The chef made baby puree for my daughter (including fresh papaya which she loved!) We had two connecting rooms which worked very well. The pool is brilliant for children with a special shallow part where our son played happily for hours. There is a lovely spa. I did a yoga class which was very nice and relaxing. The food is outstanding and the theme nights are fantastic, especially the seafood buffet which was exceptional. Truly a place to relax and enjoy life! The staff are so hospitable and kind.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have now been there eight times and have a great liking for one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Frederic Chretien and his staff are excellent, helpful and always willing to do that extra bit.
The second restaurant, The Plantation, is away from the hotel and is in a superb location. We are always amused at the competition from the two Maitre D's to get us to have dinner with them. We are normally there for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday so we use one restaurant for each celebration! I have never had anyting other than excellent food and service, though I think their wine prices are heavy.
How the staff get to know people's names is amazing. And they are kindness personified when dealing with our daughter. The beach staff too are excellent.

And we are going back twice this year.... Next month and then for Christmas.

Room Tip: Those on the sea front are well worth the extra. Those to the north end of the beach are to be recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is a very nice hotel which targets couples and has special offers for them (like romantic dinners with butler service), and families on holiday (beware of teenagers-filled swimming pool at school holiday times).
The beach, unlike the swimming pool, is always sparsely populated, so you can really relax there.
Excellent SPA.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent many, many hours researching hotels in Mauritius. We are so pleased that we stumbled across this one! It really is a fantastic hotel. Having high expectations we could not actually find fault in anything.

Where do you start in trying to review somewhere that proved to be perfect in every way??

The room: We stayed in an ocean view room overlooking the pool and sea. Beautiful room and very well equipped. You have a personal butler allocated to your room who looked after your every need. Our butler, Sanjay was just brilliant. We had our cases unpacked for us on our arrival. The cases were then packed for us on departure. The room was kept immaculate. I would thoroughly recommend the scented rose petal baths. They were amazing!

The staff throughout the hotel are just so welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. You felt like a real guest and the service was very much personal.

The food: amazing and the a la-carte menu never once repeated. They had a beautiful restaurant called the plantation in the grounds of the hotel with picture postcard views of paradise. The service from the staff was exceptional far to many to name individually but a special mention must go to Sahil (Tip Top - with his very personal, professional and attentive service. One day he WILL be manager!!!), Rajeve ( with his wise words of wisdom) , Ally, Pritam and chefs Ram and Rishi. We ate lunch here every day and had the most amazing grilled shrimps (Gambas). I would thoroughly recommend this dish to anyone. The restaurant provides the most exquisite sea food buffets on a Saturday. The attention to detail and range of dishes were absolutely superb. It is a must that any guest should attend.

The facilities: The yacht club team were extremely patient and professional and were more than happy to teach you on a one to one basis. The activities were extensive and included sailing, windsurfing, Hobie Cats, pedalos, glass bottom boat trips, snorkelling and for me, best of all water skiing. I could not believe that by the end of the holiday they had actually taught my partner and I to water ski!!!!

The hotel had a beautiful spa. Personally we didnt use it. We did however use the well equipped gym and in particular attended the circuit classes run by fitness instructor Stefan. Stefan was a really commited and inspirational individual. He assisted us in conditioning our bodies and enabling us to eat the copious amounts of amazing food available to us.

All in all we had the most wonderful holiday. We would definitely return.

Thank you to all the staff at the residence!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rain_or_shine_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from our 10 night stay at this hotel and it was outstanding. Having travelled around the world we found this hotel first class. The food was delicious, the staff some of the friendliest people we have ever met, our room was perfect. If you want to go to paradise this is the island for you and this is the hotel. There is plenty to go out and explore the south island tour is wonderful and great to see the contrasts between each region. If you want to sit by the pool and relax this is the place to do it. The sea was lovely and warm and the pool was perfect for that dip to cool off. The staff at The Residence were truly lovely people nothing was too much trouble for them. They were very attentive but not in your face. A truly wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: Colonial ocean view room spacious and lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We would like to thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Ad visor. We noted that from the moment you stepped in our hotel, we are very happy to read that we did meet your expectations.

It is very pleasing to read such warm and positive impressions that will no doubt motivate our team members to always go the extra mile in view of delighting our guests and brighten their stay.

We reiterate your appreciation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our 3rd two week visit to this wonderful hotel. We have travelled extensively, either on holiday or for business, and stay in 5 star hotels, so we can compare The Residence with other hotels around the world. We very rarely return to the same hotel, however good it is, because we like to experience different hotels

So what has drawn us back for a 3rd time to The Residence? Well we won't go into the same details we've said in our previous 2 reviews in 2008 and 2010, because they all still apply. The location, design, accommodation, food and atmosphere are all simply first class.

But what sets this hotel above others are the staff.

We will not mention all the outstanding individuals here , they are too many to name, but we will highlight Pradeep, Raj, Rajesh, Desire,Jean- Claude, Emerith, Sam, Ally, Bruno, Ali, Vikram, Rama, plus the day butler who daily changed the flowers my wife loved - all upheld the very high standards of this top class hotel and create a culture which is simply marvellous. And there were many more, including the reception staff and poolside attendants who were so attentive and very friendly and the housekeeping staff who did the most outstanding job of cleaning. Everyone simply could not do enough for us.

From top to bottom they are the best team of hotel staff we have experienced anywhere in the world. It's like coming to meet friends whose only aim is to make the experience the best it can be. From the moment you arrive, and the bell is struck to announce your arrival, it's a 5 plus star journey. Check -in , after a 12 hour flight is done in your room and is so quick and easy - just what you need. We had the same butler as last time , and he unpacked and laid out our clothes beautifully. Our room was a ocean view room and whilst the junior and senior suites are lovely, we find Zelda 2013's comment about the "small and cramped" rooms simply unbelievable - they are large, spacious and beautifully furnished and maintained, and you should not be put off by Zelda's snobby and misleading sneers.

The staff are always prepared to go the extra mile - the terrace manager asked if we'd like a fish for lunch, not on the menu, and had it cooked specially for us ( no extra cost) The butler who kept the flowers fresh, the poolside attendants who were so attentive. And I had a birthday, which the hotel made so memorable - aperetifs, drinks, best table specially dressed, special menu and dessert, birthday cake - it was wonderful! The pastry chef Stephane produces the most wonderful deserts, so if they're your thing, go here!

In successful businesses, one of the key factors driving success is something called "discretionary effort" - it's where employees come in early, stay late because they want to finish a task. It's where employees will do whatever it takes, even if it's not in their job description, and not in the expectation of more pay or reward. In other words they choose to do it not because they have to, but because they want to.

The Residence has this in abundance, and it's what separates it from other, more expensive hotels

The drinks are expensive -( eg a Phoenix local beer is just under £4) - but this is what you pay in 5* hotels around the world, so if it's a problem , go and stay somewhere else. And the VIP card is is well worth it - for lunches and discounts off drinks and purchases.

The weather in mid September to mid October is really very pleasant - temperatures are in the upper 70's, and the breeze can be very welcome at times. You will get the occasional shower, but these blow over quickly, typical of an island, and they rarely inconvenience much.

So will we return? You bet - when you find a real gem like The Residence, it's an easy decision to make and we will be back there next year

Room Tip: Go for ocean view rooms if available. Garden rooms are just as nice, and have a sea view, but more r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keekee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

We are immensely pleased to read once again your wonderful comments on Trip Ad visor and take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Residence Mauritius to spend your holidays. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the resort thoroughly.

Our staffs are ready to go all the way out towards making our guests happy and we will ensure that the guests continue to experience the 'simplicity', the 'genuine desire to serve' and the 'passion to excel' of our team members all the time and through the resort.

The entire team of The Residence Mauritius thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another wonderful experience.


Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Residence is a hotel for those who would like to stay by the pool side and not explore. There is not much to do at the hotel and not much outside the hotel. I am not talking about activities, it just does not have any character. We are well travelled and are lucky enough to visit 5 star beach destinations at least once or twice a year.

The beach - is not that great, nothing compared to the Seychelles, Maldives,Philippines, Cook Island, Fiji or Thailand! The water is clear here and there but there is lots of boats and also some kind of net that stops you swimming further. I think this is to protect you from the local boats, but it does not give you much room to swim about in. Great for those who like to take a little dip... but not for those who love swimming.

Weather - In September the sea and the pool was freezing!! temperatures similar to the sea in UK in the summer.Some days tt was soo windy and cold, you would get guest sitting around the pool with their hoodies on! The location of the resort does not help as it is on the east side of Mauritius which is the where you get the south east winds battering the coast..

Rooms - We stayed in the top room - colonial suite - which was really beautiful. The bath room with the dressing room was simply amazing! and our room boy/butler was great. One down side is that they dont offer duvets, just blankets and although the bed was beautiful it was rather hard.I would not liked to have stayed in the other rooms, they looked small and cramped and on top of eachother.

Drinks - were really expensive - you are looking at £8 for a glass of wine. Better to buy all your drinks at the duty free. Do always check your bill before you sign, sometimes they make mistakes - for example there was a number of times when they put the more expensive wine on my bill.

Entertainment - The bar in the evening has no atmostphere and they use the same band every night, when you are staying at the resort for a week or more this can drive you mad! Also the band can't sing.

Food - We really enjoyed the seafood buffet, which is offered once a week. However apart from that the food was over priced and rather dull. There are only really two restaurants at the resort. The Dining Room and The Veranda is in one place. The Pavilion is much nicer and probably the best restaurant, but the menu is just so boring and similar. I found myself eating the same thing every day. Vedict on food - Boring, Bland and Overpriced. Please do go for the VIP club card, you will save a lot of money.

Facilities - not much - everything is around the pool area, even the underground spa and gym ( i dont know why they made it under ground when you could have had some lovely views of the beach). and apart from the Plantation restaurant on the otherside on the hotel there is nothing else.

Service - in consistant. Some staff were really great , howver the others let the resort down, as they did not know what they were doing or understand what you were asking them half the time.

All in all - the resort offers five star prices but delivers a 3 star food and facilities( apart from the top rooms). The service is ok.. but we have had much better.

I would not go there again, the hotel has an atmosphere of a cheap all inclusive resort! Sorry..

Maldives, Seychelles, and East Asia any time! better value for money and better beaches and facilities.

If you have to go to Mauritius then go to the West side or North West, North. If the location was better we would have enjoyed our holiday more.

Room Tip: Colonial Suite - you have your own private terrace and the rooms are huge. The other rooms looked cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Mauritius, Mr Pierrot Barbe Rooms Division Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking your time to post your review about The Residence Mauritius on the Trip Ad visor. We do note that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay with us.

We have a dedicated team to look after our guests and ensure that they do spend a good time in our hotel. We do encourage all guests to speak about anything they may not be happy with whilst they are still at the hotel hence giving us the chance to assist and recover on any service deficiency

Many of our guests do leave the hotel and do excursions as well as other activities and hence will not spend the whole time within the property

We wish to assure you of our untiring effort into taking appropriate measures with regards to the issues brought forward and will definitely reconsider them to maintain part of our passion; to respect and serve our guests.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to bring clarifications to your review and we wish you to enjoy your holidays for your future trips whatever the destination you choose to visit.


Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.3 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,964 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,538 reviews
32.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,367 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,558 reviews
19.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Mauritius

Address: Coastal Rd, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $249 - $1,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Mauritius is situated on the east coast of Mauritius along a mile-long beach of immaculate white sand, fringed by the azure Indian Ocean and tropical gardens - an idyllic retreat for your unreserved relaxation. Inspired by the island's stately turn-of-the-century plantation houses, this luxury Mauritius resort blends modern elegance with classic, colonial style that envelops you in an endearing sense of nostalgia. Live like royalty in rooms that radiate luxurious comfort and charm, with attentive service worthy of the grand colonial houses of yesteryear. Dine on exotic cuisine that captures the incredible potpourri of island flavours. Discover new secrets to soulful relaxation within our serene spa sanctuary, and an endless playground of attractions and activities to be found in the island's unique mix of cultures and stunning landscapes. Whether you seek a romantic escape with your loved one or a spectacular beach getaway with your family, The Residence Mauritius will enthrall you under the warm glow of the Mauritian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Belle Mare
Residence Hotel Belle Mare
Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing