We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
356 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here in 3 beach front superior rooms in June as 2 of our group were celebrating their honeymoon. The 3 rooms really were fabulous , great bed and chunky pillows, very modern deep bath, separate large rain Forrest shower , twin sinks, huge mirror, chunky towels , ten floor to ceiling built in wardrobes, best free room safe to date we have ever had in fact this is the best bathroom area we have had anywhere. The rooms were kept spotless, great beach front view from the room. The overall service element was very good, phone for an iron and board and there in under 10 minutes. No trouble getting fabulous beds by the pool daily and again excellent service, Pamela at pool service is a treasure. The whole complex does have an excellent layout, great pools, beautiful grounds and a nice beach. Plenty of very good breakfast options from the buffet and very pleasant table service. Lunches were very good at the main buffet restaurant and the beach tides restaurant was very good as well, you must try the fresh fish. Tried the Italian once which was very popular with others. Plenty of dinner options at the dedicated restaurants but we did prefer the buffet as there were plenty of very good meat options daily. Found the senior management very approachable. Nice special extras for the honeymooners, free champagne in the Room and very generous extra treats. Keeping the rooms till 6 pm was also a very well received generous offer from the management. I can only really speak for what we found and we found the long beach complex quite stunning in appearance, very well manicured grounds, excellent pools , great very pleasant staff, excellent food at all 3 settings,beautiful rooms with quite stunning bathroom layouts, excellent house keeping and very approachable senior management. We truly received an excellent holiday stay. If you want to be negative there are plenty of little grips, pools could be warmer, drinks are expensive but hey this is Mauritius and no one forces you buy them and the pay per use coffee machine in the rooms should ditched. Overall an excellent holiday in a beautiful resort and excellent service received.

Room Tip: Beach front superior have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We wish to thank you for your compliments and the whole team is delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay at Long Beach. We feel proud to note that the overall facilities and services were to your expectation which turn out to be a wonderful honeymoon stay.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you again to our shores soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    532
    166
    70
    32
See reviews for
793
1,129
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am shocked to read such negative reviews here, particularly a recent one by a honeymoon couple, as I cannot say strongly enough how different our experience was!! I am so relieved I didn't read them before we went as we may have been put off going & that would have been such a wasted opportunity, as we truly had a week spent in a slice of paradise. Vladimir and his team were conscientious and service was actually so good, that sometimes it felt slightly intrusive if that could be a criticism!! We NEVER ONCE during our week there felt that staff were looking for tips - in fact, quite the opposite. They seemed to be happy to help you with no ulterior motive. We were in the deluxe suite for most of our stay, which was absolutely beautiful. We love the contemporary theme of the resort, so it was right up our street, although I understand that this might not be everyone's cup of tea. Our champagne was waiting for us in our suite, and we were taken there by Nadia and a young French man who is there at the moment on an internship (sorry I have forgotten your name), and they fully explained the room, services & facilities of the hotel. Within half an hour of arriving, a plate of snacks arrived at the room, & this was the same every evening. The resort was quiet, pool area beautiful, beach beautiful, and as others have said - no mad rush for a sun lounger which is so refreshing, as is usually not the case. Sure the resort would like this to be not the case, and we found it baffling to be honest as to why it was not busier, as it is such a gorgeous place! (I must admit, after being moved to a family room for the last few days, previous comments about stained sofa/cushions I do find are true, I felt they were a little grubby, but this is my only criticism). You still had two rooms and two bathrooms & on the whole the room was lovely - I don't know of many other hotels that offer this - although I would only go for a family room if your children are very young, they really are more suited to young families. Also, due to the resort being quite sprawling in layout - which is something we also enjoyed, as you don't feel you are in a hotel as such - if you would like a room close to the beach, mention this. Our family room wasn't close to the beach, although we still had a view, but it was quite far from the restaurants and pool area that we enjoyed - although after the deluxe suite, we had been well and truly spoiled, so as I say, all very small criticisms. We had a wonderful stay, we absolutely loved the resort, the staff were first class without feeling stiff, which again is very important to us, but if you would like the more staid feel of more colonial style resorts, Long Beach is not for you. If you like a proper beach holiday with 5 star facilities, 5 star service with a modern, contemporary twist - this will most definitely become your home away from home! Thanks Long Beach - hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We feel honored to read such praises. Thank you for your fidelity in believing in us and that our team has been assisting you without the intention of getting tips from our guests. However, your point with regards to the stained sofa cushions has been well noted and necessary actions will be undertaken soon. Once again, thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to welcoming you back with your family in the near future. Kindly let us know the dates you intend to renew your holidays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at Long beach for 1 night on the 25th December 2011. My wife and I were on holiday from Cape town , we arrived at the hotel just before check-in time around 1.45 for 2pm check in. Filled up the paper work and then we were informed they were just finishing up the room cleaning and it will be available shortly and there will be a slight delay.

We waited and at around 3.30 pm we were still waiting for our room so I went to reception and asked the staff what was happening they said they are still finishing up the clean up service. While walking around on the hotel premises waiting for our room, we decided to take a walk to the room to find out that there were still people in the room while they made us believe that they were cleaning the room. It was then 4pm. I went back to reception and asked why this was the case and they said that they could not get a hold of the people in the unit and have now asked them to check out immediately.
Shouldn't the check out time be around 11am or latest 12pm? Surely those people asked to have a late check out and the hotel would have agreed to that knowing new people will need to check in at 2pm.

I went to reception numerous times while waiting and there was nothing they could do as the hotel was fully booked and we could only wait around for the people to finally check out and then our room to be cleaned up. I was eventually given the keys to my room at 5.30pm. Considering we only booked in for 1 night, by the time we got to our room and freshen up it was supper time and we didn't get to enjoy any of the hotel facilities.

The next day I spoke to hotel manager at check out and he said they will make it up to us. He never took down my name or number and never received any follow up on this.

We are travelling again to Mauritius this December and I would not consider visiting Long beach again. Hotel was great but service we received was short. Hotel service needs to improve to claim its 5 star rating!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We feel very sorry to read your disappointment for having waited long for your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you were subjected to. Nevertheless, we wish to thank you for informing us about your dissatisfaction. We can reassure you that the service has been improved compared to the one you experienced in December 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Long Beach in June and we had a wonderful holiday whilst there.We had just left Dubai after staying at The One and Only Palm for 5 nights and had both said that there was no way we could expect the same sort of experiance that we had encountered there(it was pure luxury) but we were not dissapointed.O.K it was not on the same level as The Palm even though it is classed as a 5 star but we had booked a Supeior Beach Room and it was great.Our room was very large,very clean ,great bathroom and we had a lovely view of the beach and sea from the patio which was nice to sit on and have a drink or just relax.We never had any problems with staff and found them all very helpfull and courteous especially the staff in the main restaurant(hello to Jenny)which ever restaurant we ate in the food was of a very high standard.We sunbathed most days round the main pool and never had trouble getting a sunbed and the pool was lovely very modern furnishing.Yes there were a few niggley bits but nothing worth mentioning as they did not spoil our stay there at all .I would like to finish by thanking all the staff including management(who were very visible during our stay)for a great time at Long Beach.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank classeylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are delighted to that your stay at Long Beach was great and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided to you. Many thanks indeed for your feedback which we appreciate very much. Although having stayed in Dubai, Long Beach is different that you have enjoyed your holidays amongst us.

With renewed thanks and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our shores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Firstly we booked this place as a part of package and hence we had little clue about it except reviews. And add to that I've never been to a 5 - star hotel (beachside) previously. And we booked honeymoon package which included Wine, 3 lunch coupons, Candle - light dinner and discount at other addl. services

The room was awesome with designs bit modern and very private. And I guess most of their rooms are sea view ones.
The service was very good but there was some scope for improvement. The check-in and check out process did take quite a while for us. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Regarding food breakfast was the best with plenty of options. Our package included dinner too. The dinner buffet was good but not great. Given the fact that the hotel had predominantly Europeans, we (Indians, vegetarians) had little options understandably. There are other restaurants to serving a-la carte which were on the expensive side. But the food was very good there. We had staff helping us get customized food :)

Location is a problem with any Hotel in Mauritius I would say. From Belle Mare, we had to travel anywhere between 1 - 2 hours one way to south island as well as north island. This place is very close to adventure activities and island.

Apart from that Hotel amenities were excellent, be it the swimming pools or sports complex. Haven't tried the spa. They are offer plenty of other activities in both water and land.

I would give a big thumbs up to stay at Long beach especially if you want to relax / interested in Adventure trip and can shell out few more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aravinth123_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive and constructive comments and it will really assist us in improving our services. Being vegetarians, we would highly suggest to contact our Executive Chef whereby he will assist you only with pleasure. We are honored to read that you had an enjoyable holiday at Long Beach. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future. With reiterated thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Long Beach in November 2012. I have to say it was an amazing experience! The room was very big with a separate toilet space with shower and bath and an outside space. Nobody could look into the room which was great, we had a lot of privacy and no noise coming from outside. The food was amazing, huge variety every day, I enjoyed every single meal in the main restaurant as well as at the Beach restaurant. We were a bit concerned about the all inclusive package but at the end it was a wise choice, almost all the drinks and food were included. The main pool is very nice and warm, the infinity pool a bit cold but still great. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had room service few times a day. The beach was nice too. We truly enjoyed our experience at Long Beach!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didi2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for the time taken to post your feedback now despite being with us last November. It is indeed very gratifying to read these positive comments and we are delighted to note that you truly enjoyed your stay at Long Beach.

Thank you once again and hope to welcoming you in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent a weekend at Long Beach in a group of nine adults and one child at the end of June. Our experience seems to be fairly similar to those posted by others. I believe that we were treated worse given that we are local residents or rather I would hope that foreigners witness a better service given the extortionate amounts that they pay.
From the very outset, everyone in our party of ten noticed that the employees at the resort demonstrated strong prejudice against Mauritians. Not only were we given rooms that were the furthest away from the reception and other hotel amenities but it soon became obvious that the said block was only occupied by Mauritians. Although the hotel was practically unoccupied (hence the promotion to local residents), during our two-night stay, we noticed that several Mauritian couples and families had received a similar treatment. I recognise that the poor service in terms of room allocation may also be the result of hotel policies to segregate tourists from Mauritians and may not be the responsibility of reception staff. However, it is very disappointing wherever the responsibility lies, especially when small children have to cover the distance several times.When we complained about the distance that we had to walk from the room to the reception, we were informed that we should consider ourselves lucky that it was only a 15 minute walk as the hotel was much more spread out previously. Helpful observation indeed!

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we spent an hour at reception to get the rooms sorted out. When my brother and I asked to change our room, no one bothered to inform us that there was no door to the toilet and bathroom although it was clear that we were not a couple. We found the hotel staff to be reactive rather than proactive in their approach, (highlighting perhaps a lack of training) which was not representative a 5 star experience. We were welcomed with drinks which would have been nice had we all received the drinks. However, three of us had to enquire and ask for our drinks which took 15 minutes to arrive during our long wait in the lobby.

When we were dropped off to our rooms in the cart, we were informed that we could ring reception to ask for a lift (due to the distance ) but there was no guarantee because the hotel was quite packed (however this was beyond doubtful). When we approached an employee again at the reception to complain that we were already suffering from aches in our feet after walking to the reception three times, he demonstrated a typical anti-Mauritian mentality that we had to be segregated so that we didn't disturb the other hotel guests. He explained that we had been allocated rooms in the very last block so that we could be close to each other. Considering the fact that the hotel was practically empty, I can only conclude that it was a load of 'crap'. He even mentioned that the cart was only to be used at arrival and departure instead of adopting a customer-friendly attitude of offering us a ride back. I guess that going the extra mile is a concept that is entirely unknown to the employees at this resort!

The restaurant staff carried their duty with a nonchalance that was quite surprising. Indeed, on Sunday morning we had to wait approximately 15 minutes for our tea and coffee. We asked for a table to be set. That also took around the same amount of time. Still, some people had not been given a cup or a spoon. We were not offered refills and had to ask constantly, the average waiting time being 5 to 10 minutes. My nephew waited some 20 minutes for warm milk for his Weetabix. A sense of urgency and accountability to get things done was missing.

In comparison to the other departments of the hotel, the gym staff were the only ones that demonstrated a friendly attitude. They were helpful and enthusiastic and rescued our holiday which would have been disastrous without the activities that they organised. So credit where it is due.

Although some members of staff did stand out, unfortunately the level of service was not sustained throughout the hotel. Perhaps the most obvious was at reception which is most deplorable as it is the first point of contact. A smile and a greeting goes a long way.

We failed to notice the 'refined furnishings' in the room at times. This might be due to the fact that we were given rooms that are not allocated to tourists, in other words, second rate rooms. The cushions on the sofa had dark stains which showed a standard well beneath a 5-star luxury hotel. One of the rooms experienced a leak on Saturday night. The hotel staff solved the problem by placing a towel underneath. No apology was given!

We noticed that birds were constantly eating from the bowls in the restaurant during the breakfast buffet. The station was never manned and the bowls were not covered at any point. Birds were also flying all over the set tables, perching on cups and walking on plates while people were going to the buffet for refills. Staff did not appear concerned at any point and only swapped the food when it was pointed out to them.

When my nephew threw up in front of our room, housekeeping responded quickly and washed the floor with a hose and left the floor soaking wet instead of draining the water.

The steam room next to the gym represents a safety hazard due to defective equipment and amenities. The seat on top of the steam outlet is burning hot and can cause serious burns. The variety of activities was interesting but the absence of a sauna and Jacuzzi was disappointing. Although there was one steam room available for free, there was no changing room or locker to keep our belongings. Indeed, everything had to be placed on a log in front of the entrance to the steam room or on the floor. When leaving the steam room, I was challenged as I wanted to keep the towel around me in order to have a shower and get changed in the room. I was told that it was against hotel policy to allow guests to take the gym towel to the rooms. It was yet another example of not putting the customer first. After I complained about the lack of changing rooms and lockers, I was told that no one had ever complained. I had to remind the employee that I had just complained and explained that it was a verbal complaint but a complaint still. It appeared to me that he was unable to recognise a complaint when it was quite obvious. I also informed him that other members of our group had also previously complained to him. The attitude of no one has complained so it must be fine or ignoring complaints is not right. Complaints should be recorded and addressed through the right channels so that issues can be rectified. It is useless complaining if issues are brushed under the carpet as seems to be the case.

The staff at the hotel did not seem to know about its facilities. We were given incorrect information either deliberately or through ignorance, for example, when we asked about the show on Saturday night, we were told that a different group would be performing. However, not only was it the same group as the previous night but they were also singing the same songs. What is surprising is that the employee had a sheet with the details in front of him!

Overall, I would say that the food was good. I was surprised that they served food from the previous evening or had the same desserts on both nights. The lack of variety was disappointing.

I am very disappointed with the service at Long Beach whish is far from 5 star and have witnessed better service and enjoyed a better experience at other hotels in Mauritius. I would recommend any prospective client to book elsewhere, particularly if you are Mauritian.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ReensB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing