We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Only Resort/Hotel to stay in Mauritius :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Only Resort/Hotel to stay in Mauritius :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 week and must say i felt like m at home.. very good hotel, supperbbb location, clean beach , big regular and steam water swimming pool, well maintain hotel..staff was very friendly , every time they'll ask you if there is any problem or not..variety of foods, desert in restaurants and food was delicious..guys must say don't think about any other hotel just visit here and feel the difference..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhtdm500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for having chosen Long Beach for your stay and we feel very glad to read that all the facilities and services provided at the hotel were to your expectation and that you felt being at your second home. Many thanks indeed for your compliments which we will pass on to all the team members.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming again in the near future.

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    471
    142
    61
    29
See reviews for
699
1,002
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at Long Beach as a family of four with 2 teenagers. We were upgraded to seafront rooms after a couple of days (a good move!). We were on a half board basis but ended up spending around £1000 for our food and drinks over the 7 days. Therefore if you eat and drink a lot (which i don't feel that we did), the the AI is probably good value.
The quality of the food was excellent in Le Marche (buffet) for breakfast and dinner and we tried all the others and also found them to be very good too.
We used the sporting facilities a lot and found the staff very welcoming, particulary on our runs and bike rides and tennis.
It was our first trip to Mauritius and really loved it, but probably wouldn't return in February as there was a lot of rain!
Overall a great place with very good facilities and a lovely beach and pool

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovecats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We read with pleasure that your first trip in Mauritius has been an excellent one whereby you and your family has an enjoyable and wonderful holidays at Long Beach. It’s good to note that you had you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. Thank you for all the compliments and your fidelity towards Long Beach. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed 10 nights in this well run hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Room was well positioned close to beautiful beach.Food was very good in good selection of restaurants. Staff were particularly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays and we are glad to read that the hotel has been to your expectation and that you have a great time during your 10 nights.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just over a week last September. The amenities were lovely, staff were fantastic and the pools and beach side were particularly beautiful.

We paid for all inclusive though and although it may have saved us some pennies on the drinks it was misleading. The lunch menu in one restaurant had something like 4 out of 12 items available as all inclusive. And none of them were seafood, I believe one was meat and the others vegetarian.

Great get away otherwise but did feel a bit ripped off by that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorayaS325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We feel sorry that the all inclusive items have not met your expectation although other aspects of the hotel was to your satisfaction. However, please accept our gratitude for having raised your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I chose an ideal time of year to spend 12 days in Mauritius, and in particular to stay on the East Coast, and we chose a wonderful place to stay.

We went to Long Beach in part for the sporting facilities and weren't disappointed - we used the outdoor tennis courts on a number of occasions, usually early evening, under the lights.

We played four rounds of golf at Le Toussrok on Stag Island (Isle aux Cerfs) in glorious warm weather, and were treated like Kings. Taken by taxi to and from, we were looked after from start to finish.

We also hired a car on four occasions although the first time was from a friend of the receptionists - although we didn't know it at the time! Subsequently we found the car rental desk and paid the same rate for better cars and and a much better experience.

Consequently we really only spent four full days at the hotel, a terrible waste!

The food was, as has already been written about, excellent throughout. Chopsticks was our favourite, but all the others were fine. The range of food at the buffet meant that it never felt like a back up choice.

The cocktails around the bar and pool were delightful but as we were being quite active we didn't really get to sample as much as I would have liked. In fact, by the end of the trip, we worked out that half-board would have been slightly more cost effective, something to bear in mind when you book. If you spend all day at the hotel and partake of the refreshments then full board is ideal, but if you're out and about, and taking as much exercise as we were, then you might find that half-board suits you better.

The staff were superb throughout, from the maids all the way to Stephane, and a smile and a welcome is never far away. Respond in kind and you will feel good all day long.

A special mention for Clarence, the lead singer in the band that played every evening. The music, together with the food, made every evening a delightful experience.

I lived in Mauritius as a boy and this was my first visit back in 35 years. Apart from all the five star hotels, it still retains its beautiful charm, although my co-ed naval school has now become an all-girls college!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hunneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your having chosen this ideal place for your stay in Mauritius. We are pleased to read that the facilities and services provided at the hotel have been a delightful experience although being out of the hotel quite often. We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores soon.

With renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back, We spent a weekend and booked 7 rooms for the whole family and relatives, I have visited the hotel a few years back and now it is all new buildings and nothing like the previous one. so if you have been there before it is a totally new place and much better staff.

Location: The Hotel is located on the east side of the Island and If you ware driving there on your own, you will have to do your research well before making that trip as there are not many road signs. somehow, you can get GPS map but have not use it myself.
Since it is located on the east you will find that the sunset is on the west side of the Island and you may not be able to experience the natural beauty of the the Indian Ocean set.

Restaurants: Several restaurants that are open every night from "Italian, Chinese, seafood, buffet and Japanese restaurants, they are all located in the around the swimming pool area and near the beach, my preference is the sea food one and that is the closest to the beach and if you want to book a table please asked for one that has the folding glass door and roof in case it is windy or rain you are well located and can see the sea. on a nice evening night it is open and having dinner on the beach definitely a romantic night to remember.
Oh Buffet restaurant is also the breakfast location and it can get very busy in the morning and they close at 10:30am, if you choose to order your breakfast to your room Yes you can but it will come with a cost but with limited access to the whole buffet breakfast.

Amenities and Facilities: swimming pool are ok not too deep max 5.5 ft, again it is about 2-3 minutes walk to the beach, towels are provided and there is a bar by the pool as well. washroom/toilets are also near by and a shop in case you need sunscreen and sandals etc..
a open air dancing floor and some show and activities at night, different band and they does english and french songs as well as creole. after midnight if you still want to have more fun the night disco is open.

Internet: Yes wifi is good and somehow I get better reception in my room than in the welcome desk area. you will get a code when you check in and in case you lost it, which I did, they will provide you one over the phone.

The rooms: Clean and comfortable, some are near and facing the beach, some are on top of other rooms like an apartments. so you night check out before you book your room and which location you want. the rooms are a quite a distance to walk to the restaurants, so if you have some difficulty walking you want to ask for a golf car pick up and drop off. and look for the room that are located on the ground floor. a safe in the room and beds are very comfortable, a mini bar, flat tv 24 inches and very interesting open concept bath room with glass doors. bring your own soap/shampoo if possible as they only serve soap in pump bottle which I found a bit cheap.
Their night table has an alarm clock that can charge Iphone/ipod which is great.

The staff: are generally happy to assist in anyway possible but seem running on limited staff, the Hotel was full when we get there and they tried to get organize as best they can and service was hectic and I have to walked to my room with my hand luggages as no one is able to help other than check me in.

General: I find this hotel a well design for young couples and small family, the swimming pool are close at 5pm and have to return the towels at the latest which does not make any sense at all, the beach has limited swimming area due to seaweed and plants. Can be quite a challenge for older people with walking difficulties, beach 7/10, animation are from 6/10. food 7/10, rooms 8/10 base on a 4 stars rating. I would not give a 5 star on this one, but 4 stars max.

Outside the hotel not too many places to hang out. it is good for a quite and relax holiday and nice resting place and decent food menu.

If you like the reviews, well you know what to do.

Room Tip: All rooms has a sitting area outside your room, get one that face the beach if you like the ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajax0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Your observation on the overall structures, facilities and services has been well appreciated. We are pleased to read that almost all aspects have been to your liking. However, we would like to point out that we provide soap & shampoo in our bathroom only. Pump bottle soap is placed at the wash basin. Should you to have additional soap or shampoo, it’s just a matter of asking with the room maids whereby they will provide you with pleasure.
Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'v been there with my wife and friends for 14 days - end of Jan, beginning of Feb'2013...
It's was one of my best trips ever...
Service is very good. Food - perfect. Beach - clean. Water - clean and warm...
Air temperature - very comfort. Rooms - clean and convenient..
And everywhere - nice flowers.
Internet - not so good, but at least can check emails (Skype often is interrupting, android devices cannot be updated etc..)...
That's one of the places where i want to return back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiev-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It’s a pleasure to read that you have experiencing a wonderful holiday amongst us and that your first trip has been a successful one. We note your concern with regards to the internet access which was not your entire satisfaction. We would like to inform you that although we have free wifi at the hotel, unfortunately, it has been recommended not to navigate onto Site Updates or Video download sites or any other related pages which slow down the hotel’s connectivity speed and thus pay prejudice to other guests. We would like to thank you for your understanding.

Many thanks again for reassuring us of your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,961 reviews
2.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,896 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
17.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing