We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“simply excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

wow what can I say, beautiful food, beautiful service,beautiful place. The staff cant do enough for you. Their manager 'Vedassen' is so on the ball its unreal, the other holiday makers seemed to be enjoying their time too. kids have a great time there. we'll be back very soon xxx
stayed january 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback relative to your recent stay at Long Beach and we are glad to read that you and your family had an enjoyable holidays amongst us. We will definitely relay your compliments to Vedasen. The whole Long Beach team will be delighted to welcoming you back to our shores shortly. See you soon with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    470
    142
    61
    29
See reviews for
699
1,001
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Long Beach hotel. Not having been to Mauritius before we read quite a few Trip Advisor reviews prior to going. Sure enough we have to agree with many reviews regarding the cost of things at the hotel. We went on a full board package thinking that we might take an upgrade to All Inclusive when we got to the hotel, knowing that alcohol was expensive. However, all that they could offer was an All Inclusive rate of 75 euros per person per night. So that meant that since we had already paid for all our food, we would be a further 1000 euros for drinks for the week.
Even All Inclusive customers had to pay extra for many of the branded spirits and certain items on the food menus. Examples of prices were, bottled still water, £3 , small bottle local beer, £4 , wine £10 per glass. Only local rum was on A/l with all named brands costing about £8.
The food was very good however. Presentation and flavour was excellent. The buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner had a wide range of well cooked foods to suit everybody. The Chinese restaurant had a poor atmosphere and the Japanese restaurant was an additional charge.
The pool restaurant and Italian restaurants had very good food but he menus were unchanged all week so thought that was poor for a 5 star hotel.
The staff tried most of the time to be helpful and they were all very pleasant, even carrying your plate to your table from the buffet.
The room was kept very clean and was of modern design with open toilet /bedroom design which was not ideal. Tea and coffee in the room was an addition charge unless you were A/l.
The beach and pool areas were kept clean with ample sun beds.

Overall, the hotel was in my opinion a 4 star and let down with additional charges for many items over and above the All Inclusive package.

Room Tip: To get a proper view of the sea upgrade to a beach front room. We had a standard sea view which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BGee1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We would like to express our thanks for the overall comments pertaining to your recent stay at Long Beach. We read your concern about the prices which were not to your expectation and sincerely regret that you have not been able to enjoy certain facilities at the hotel. However, please note that our prices are one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the prices of other hotels over the island and they have always been substantially lower. The Japanese Restaurant has always been featured with additional cost and all guests in any packages they are partaking into, get a credit of Rs850 per person

Thank you once again for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
213 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Spent whole 8 days in the paradise of fifty shades of modern colours in Mauritius...simply astonishing and beautiful destination, resort, perfect climate, very well organised xmas nights and new years!!! we all enjoyed the whole 8 days of our vacations , kids loved the modern big kids club and me the hiteck 2 floor gym!!! really fantastic place & destination to celebrate the xmas and new year with or without kids!!! you could see the smile on all peoples faces , how they enjoyed their holidays, in this beautiful long beach paradise... each night had the options of 5 restaurants, including chinese, japanese, thai & french! cant go wrong with any of the 5 really! excellent service in all, beautiful ambiance , the thai situated on the sand of the beach, having a wonderful armosphere with candles around listening to the waves of the ocean.... the spa so beautifully orientated , with water surrounding the corridors, astonishing relaxing area , outdoors and indoors, as well as the modern saloon for hair and pedicure/ manicure treatments. we thank so much the perfect staff in all the resort for offering us an endlessly unforgetable xmas holidays in mauritius..... we are so in love with this resort , all of us so we reccomend it to our friends and relatives and we ll return for sure again.... the paradisious beach front villas are so fresh in our minds after almost a month that we want to jump in these modern style villas and enjoy the white sand beach in front of us...... Mauritius & Long beach bella mare we ll see you again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for your valuable feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an unforgettable, wonderful and enjoyable stay amongst us together with your kids The management wish to thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and we are pleased to note that you will recommend this destination to your friends and relatives. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

With renewed thanks and see you soon again…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went there with my wife. Simply the resort should be classified as four not five star. Everything was four star, staff were trying but not so succeeding in offering good service. It is not their fault, the management has to be blamed. Bad value for money. Nothing more to say. I agree with Angie S.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Gregory-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We read your comments with much concern and we feel sorry that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays at Long Beach. We sincerely regret for the failure in offering our services. However, The Management wish to reassure you that constant trainings are being conducted to all our team members in order to improve our standard of services. Nevertheless, please accept our thanks for your valuable comments which has definitely retained our attention for corrective actions and will ensure that other guests are not being treated same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the hotel for 15 days in December 2011. The hotel has been opened that year. The rooms were good equipped, very clean. Our butler was one of the nicest persons I have met in my life. The restaurants served food in good quality and we have tried all of the restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately the main restaurant could try a little bit harder with the variety of the meals. In the second week, we had the feeling, we are eating the same food all over again. The staff overall was very friendly. As mentioned above, we stayed as a family and in that time we used a children pram. Unfortunately you have to carry the pram to get to your appartment, but this could be fixed very quick by adding some wood rails for the pram. Also the elevator at the reception was broken very often, which meant you had to carry the pram down to the plaza. But the staff helped, when it was around. The only bad experience was during the checkout, when there were a lot of items added to our bill, which we did not order and the guy at the reception was a little bit stressed and rude. Overall I would still say this is a very nice hotel for a stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinKonicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and have well noted your comment with regards to the repetitive meals which will be passed on to our Chef. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment during checkout. We wish to reassure you that the Management will definitely review the attitude and behavior of our front desk team which we agree with you is certainly unacceptable. We sincerely regret for this shortcoming which enhanced to a bad experience at the end of your holidays.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the near future for another enjoyable experience.

With renewed thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 11 days in November. This hotel is a must! The hotel is beautiful with so much to do - we didn't leave the hotel for the whole of our stay. Tennis courts were fabulous and we always got a court at the time we wanted.

We had a few minor 'niggles' which we raised with the manager early on in our stay, and the hotel went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for us. This hotel really wants to do well, so if something isn't as you expect, tell the staff and they will fix it for you.

We can't wait to go back to Mauritius, and we will stay at Long Beach again.

A tip on dining - try Hasu - it is worth it, the food is divine.

A tip on the beach - we found that the end of the beach (sunbeds 001, 002, 003) was the quietest and most pleasant spot.

Book your stay at Long Beach - you will love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggle_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It feels very good to read that our team has gone out of their way to make your holiday a wonderful one. We are delighted to take note that although having experienced a minor shortcoming during your stay you have been well taken care of by all our team.

Thank you for your fidelity towards Long Beach and your valuable comments which are indeed very gratifying.

We will have the great pleasure to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future to get another fabulous experience.

Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach for 7 nights (17 Jan- 24 Jan 2013) on our first trip to Mauritius. Upon arrival we were amazed at the beautiful resort although it was quite a bumpy ride to get here from Port Louis. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. It was long walk to our room 326 but we complained after the first night and they moved us to 421 (closer to reception, restaurants and pool area). We were happy with our new room because location was way better however, the safe and fridge wasn't working. I called reception to complain in the morning however, after several calls the safe and fridge were only fixed after 9pm (really frustrating for 5 star hotel).

Pool area was really wow! Staff were very friendly and accommodating however, pool beds were all dirty and stained (kind off gross). The swings by the beach were amazing only problem we experienced was that other guests would dump their belongings on the swings kind of "reserving it" even though they weren't sitting there. So throughout the day for the entire 7 days we were there we didn't get to sit on the swings because whenever we got there someones belongings were there already- this really annoyed us and we felt it was really unfair and inconsiderate!

Overall food was really good- value for money.
The Spa was very nice and after experiencing our first treatment we were over impressed and made appointments to return again only to be highly disappointed! It all started when my pedicure treatment was supposed to be 60mins but ended in 30mins! When I went to the spa front desk to ask why the ladies there just kept lying and defending each other instead of compensating me. I was extremely upset with them and mentioned I'm going to the manager to complain. Then the lady offered me a free head massage for the remainder of the 30mins and begged me not to report them. But, after my terrible experience I did not return to the Spa. I was really going to complain to the manager but my husband talked me out of it. We really don't fancy complaining and causing trouble. We are frequent travellers and enjoy every bit of traveling and discovering new places and I did not want to ruin the last day of our holiday. Overall great hotel but these hiccups must be sorted out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabskk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We sincerely regret to read that despite you were amazed with the beautiful Long Beach and the friendly team members, you were somehow disappointed with few services during your stay. We have already raised those issues mentioned with the relative Heads of Departments for corrective actions in order to avoid such shortcomings. However, the Management would very appreciate if this matter could have reach their attention on the spot for remedial action.

Your point with regards to the dirty Pool beds has been well noted and we are pleased to inform you that we are contemplating to change them shortly.

Many thanks indeed for your valuable comments which have indeed taken into consideration for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
2.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,896 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
17.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing