We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - and getting better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Imagine! A red blooded male,balmy night, 280 fit and fabulous French girls partying on the beach just in front of my luxurious room. No, it wasn't a dream but it might just as well have been.It's moments like this I realise I am 68 and not 28 and I skulked off to my room before midnight as the competitors from an extreme sports week headed off for the disco. By morning you wouldn't have known there had been a party, everything was as pristine and immaculate as it had been the previous morning and Long Beach continued to enchant and charm their guests in a hotel which is going to get better and better.
It was my second successive visit and already the million plants in this Eco friendly resort are developing and maturing, taking away the sharp edges of the new hotel and softening the grey of the buildings. Imagine what it is going to be like in two, three or four years time as the luxurious plant life on the fringe of the Indian Ocean continues to enfold a hotel which is fast becoming one of my, and many other, visitors favourites.
Last year I suffered some health problems( bringing them with me from London I hasten to add) but this time I was able to appreciate both the quality and diversity of the various restaurants, especially the brilliant Japanese restaurant.
I am not a buffet man but I couldn't resist the occasional visit for the wide choice from curry to international dishes and the best, and I mean the best, dessert section I have enjoyed in more than half a century travelling the globe. The only complaint was my increasing waist line!
It is always an hotel truth that the staff make the hotel and this is certainly true in this case, even though some of their top people had been eased down the road to one of the groups new resorts. It left a few novices but, as ever, their charm and natural friendliness precluded and complaints.
One of the key factors is the General Manager who has developed the hotel from the seed of an idea and who has continued to jeopardize his health and his family life in ensuring that his guests are well looked after. As is often the case in these circumstances he is being promoted to a major role and although he will still be able to oversee his baby, the general daily running will be down to someone else and naturally judgement must be reserved.
But there is no doubt that Long Beach can continue to grow and develop with its greenery. A walk along the beach and through the trees reveal huge areas which can be developed without impinging on the original "green" concept. There are still buildings hidden from general view where the old and inferior Coco Beach stood and the imagination runs wild with ideas for all sorts of developments, maybe even an exclusive restaurant away from the general , gentle hustle of the hotel and its piazza.
The bars and the bar staff were as good as the previous year, maybe even a little better, and as for my room I loved it so much I absolutely refuse to reveal the number because selfishly I don't want to share it with anyone so that I might stay there next time. Suffice to say the room itself was up to the high normal standard but, outside, I had a lawn leading to the beach, a grassy knoll to the right, shielding me from the(girls!), the pool, one of the restaurants and a busy bar.
At the risk of upsetting the GM, I still think the other coast(the West) is better served by restaurants and shops and Mauritius is an island which demands to be explored and the local people met and enjoyed.

Room Tip: Apart from the two suites all the rooms are the same and sea facing although, naturally, some are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

It a great pleasure to read such compliments and valuable feedback regarding your stay at Long Beach. On behalf of the Management and the team, please accept our heartfelt thanks. It certainly makes us feel very glad to read that you have enjoyed your second successive holidays amongst us.

Thank you once again and we sincerely hope to welcoming you back to our shores this year…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,696 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

A modern resort with multiple restaurants and numerous activities to keep both families and couples entertained. Long Beach caters for all age groups and even has it's own Nite Club.
The sports and activities team were extremely friendly and experienced. I'm a 50+ fittness nut so I had a very enjoyable time.
Try it out! You will enjoy your stay at Long Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDinAus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays and we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time amongst us. We hope to welcoming you back to have another great experience with us.

With renewed thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Long Beach in October 2012 for 10 nights and it's a fantastic hotel. We have previously stayed at Paradis, Belle Mare & Dinarobin and preferred the architectural style and natural beach to the more traditional colonial style. Upgraded room, right on the beach and all inclusive package. Also played golf at Le Touessrok - free - which is on an island 15 minues away. Very challenging but a beautiful spot.
Would recommend the hotel and suggest adding the beach barbeque trip on a catamaran and visit the Deer Hunter restaurant at night - part of Belle Mare Plage and well worth the charge.

Some of the evening entertainment wasn't quite in keeping with the surroundings but a minor point...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim123Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays and are glad to read that our hotel has been to your expectation.

With renewed thanks for recommending our hotel and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Long Beach in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed the wonderful nature walks. At reception Marvellous Mel was able to help us with any problems we had. Jazmin was so cheerful and energetic with Zumba. Dashing Daniel did an amazing job in the restraunt. Even helped me play a joke on my son. The food was good. Not a good as last year though. Now they have paddle boats. The snorkeling was wonderful.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are probably better, but we enjoyed the garden rooms for their quiet and pravacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthK232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for coming back to spend your holidays during the festive seasons and we are pleased to read that you had enjoyed your holidays once again with the Long Beach team.

Many thanks indeed and we hope to welcoming you back this year also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 10 nights at long beach from 5-15 December 2012. Don't let the bad reviews put you off as this is a great hotel. As an ex hotelier I have stayed in hotels all over the world and Long Beach is one of my favourite hotels. We had an amazing time.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted at the main entrance by Anabelle who checked us in (whilst we enjoyed a non alcoholic cocktail)and gave us a full briefing of our all inclusive package the location of the restaurants, and the hotel facitities- all in all the check in was smooth and effortless.

Anabelle showed us to our room (127 )which was beautiful, spacious, clean and a short walk from the beach. The luggage arrived promptly just as Anabelle had competed the information about the in room facilities. The bedroom was clean and serviced twice per day with towels and amenities being replaced daily.

We spent most of our days enjoying the beach and were well looked after by Jeson & his colleague Ashraf (?) the beach was quiet and clean.

We had an opportunity to sample all the restaurants which were all Outstanding. Our favourite being the Japanese Hasu- we were well looked after by Sheronne. The service in all the restaurants was excellent , staff were attentive and friendly. ( we noticed that the hotel was busier at the weekend and service not quite as slick - possibly because we were spoilt with exceptional service during the week)

Le marche is buffet dining which was good, however I would suggest that items containing nuts are clearly marked as my husband has a nut allergy and was caught out one evening & had a mild reaction to something he had eaten ( we think it was a bread roll)

The staff at shores bar were great ven and louanne knew our drinks preference within a couple of visits and drinks were replenished without having to ask or wait . The nightly entertainment was very appropriate and enjoyable.

Although not all drinks and food was in the all inclusive package there was still plenty of choice of drinks, food and mini bar items that were included in the all inclusive deal.

We had a couple of treatments in the spa which was lovely, I was lucky to have Marion look after me both times and she was courteous and a great masseuse. Faisal at the sports centre was also very helpful. We also enjoyed a game of golf at Le Touessrok which was amazing, the courtesy transferr and the fact that we only paid for golf cart hire was an added value to our holiday.

We had an amazing time at Long Beach, and would like to thank Nicholas and his team for a truly wonderful holiday.

Best reagrds to you all for 2013
Ceri & Huw Roberts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeriWRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

On behalf of Mr Nicolas de Chalain and the Long Beach team, we would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your valuable comments which are certainly very gratifying. We are really delighted to read that so many members mentioned from each department have excelled in making your holidays an amazing one. The comments with regards to the nut has been taken into consideration for our future guests.

Many thanks indeed for your trustworthiness and loyalty towards our hotel.

We hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Long Beach in the not-too-distant future.

With renewed thanks for having chosen this destination for your

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent a week at Long Beach (5-12 Nov) – what a treat. We chose an all inclusive package which suited us fine. We found that there was plenty of choice in the restaurants and it was clear exactly what was included in our package
The complex was well designed and the rooms very well appointed. We had a superior beach front room which had its own private veranda and was very spacious. Some people have reported issues with the bathroom area but we were quite happy with the layout -.the loo was in a frosted glass box and provided adequate privacy. I think you need to remember that it is ‘Mauritius 5 Star,’ the toiletries (hand wash, shower gel and shampoo) were all in pump dispensers which would not be what we would expect in a UK 5 star hotel. This is really only an observation not a complaint.
The staff were excellent, our room was clean, the bar and restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast provided a huge choice which varied each day. We ate on one evening in Le Marche, which was a buffet-style restaurant, used mainly by the families. We generally prefer to dine early, about 7.30pm, and definitely got good, prompt service. We noticed that for some people dining later service was sometimes a bit slow. We preferred the Tides restaurant for lunch and dinner, with Il Sapori, our second choice. We were a little disappointed with the Chopsticks Restaurant - nothing too specific – we weren’t really able to choose several dishes to share which we would normally do in the UK. If anything the portion sizes were a bit too large.
We enjoyed the live music at the Shores Bar in the evenings. There was a fashion show in the piazza on one of the evenings, this was an amazing experience as we had never been to a professional fashion show before.
We would recommend the resort with the all inclusive package and hope to visit again and next time stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homeOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback relative to your stay at Long Beach. We are glad to read that you had an amazing experience and that all aspects about the hotel have been to your expectation. Your observation has been well appreciated.

With reiterated thanks for your confidence and it will be a great pleasure for our team to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The food was out of this world, especially Le Marche. We made friends with the Chef Pravind and he was an absolute legend. He made the best Indian food and even when my wife asked for aloo partha ( stuffed bread with potatoes) he replied with "I will make it tomorrow". We arrived at the buffet expecting him it to be served as a general dish but he had especially set some ingredients aside just for us and we couldn’t believe how thoughtful and kind that was. Hats off to him! After that we only dinner at Le Marche and always looked forward to sampling their delights.

The bar staff were all wonderful and always substituted some drinks for my wife as she not a big rum drinkers so they used vodka instead. Vinod, the bar manager is a very personable man and was always around and always said hello. Also, Ven greeted us with a smile and knew our drinks so we never had to order.

Pool side waiters such as Dharm and co are all brilliant guys, each one of them are so poilte and knew our room numbers and drinks by heart. Ashley on the front desk is very helpful and and having met us only once still managed to remember our names when we saw him almost a week later.

Our room was always clean and we got turndown service twice a day. Always had fresh bottles of water every day and mini bar remained stocked up.

We also enjoyed a lovely massage in the spa and that was out of this world.

If there was one complaint then it would be that if you are sitting by the beach then the waiters do not visit frequently enough. However, that is a minor compared to all the major pluses we had on this holiday.

Thank you LB for making our honeymoon a truly memorable one

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you for your gratifying feedback which have been much appreciated by all Long Beach team. We will certainly pass on your valuable compliments relative to our Spa and our colleagues Pravind, Ven Vinod, Dharm and other members who have excelled in making your holidays a wonderful one.

Your point with regards to the beach service has been well noted and please rest assured that this matter has been reviewed with remedial actions.

With renewed thanks for your fidelity and hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,019 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,800 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
32.9 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $338 - $1,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Long Beach Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Mauritius Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing