We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money it is superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF+ FREE STAYS+ MORE
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For the money it is superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not done a package/all inclusive holiday for about 10 years but thought would give it a go as just wanted some sun and not bothered about much else. I agree that it is a package holiday type place but for the money on an all inclusive deal it is incredible value for money. If you come here having written the cheque and see how much it's for you would be a little silly to think its going to be like four seasons or claridges.

Staff were all fantastic and far exceeded my pre arrival expectations. Rooms are brilliant (again for the money) they are like a top end crowne plaza or w hotel style,axor taps etc

Mountain biking trip was really good,lots of activities to do tennis courts etc

My only criticism is the lack of pay per view in rooms, would be nice to have movies available.

In conclusion if you like a big resort place and all inclusive type of holidays you will struggle to find anywhere as good as this. If you don't I would stay elsewhere.

Thank you once again to the lovely people that work at long beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cab37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Your comments have been well appreciated and we are pleased to read that the overall aspect of the hotel has been to your expectation for which we wish to express our heartfelt thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We traveled in a large group (thirteen) with ages ranging from two to sixty plus. We arrived late and the trip from the airport to the hotel took more than an hour. Luckily the staff greeted us with a smile and immediately offered us dinner, which was great! We had a problem with our room and it was dealt with proffesionally and we even received an upgrade and had a room on the beach! I loved the design of the room, bathroom and lovely extras! We had a superb coffee machine and as we chose an all inclusive package (highly recommended) we had lots of bits in the bar fridge to choose from. The kids could choose from many activities and had interesting excursions on the sea. We mostly relaxed by the huge pool and by the sea, had a fantastic spa experience and enjoyed the superb food. Should you wish to venture outside the resort, you will find a small cafe and some restaurants very close by (within walking distance). This hotel is a stylish version of a Club Med, with healthier choices in food, superb choice of music, well designed rooms and a fantastic, relaxing atmosphere. The underground tour that they offer to guests is a must and will give you a different perspective of the running of such a huge operation. Well done to the GM and his team of Long Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach is absolutely lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the Management and the Long Beach team, please accept our gratitude for having chosen this destination for your holidays. We are grateful to read from your valuable feedback that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay with us. We take note also about the room problem you experienced since your arrival for which we apologise sincerely.
Thank you once again for your praises and we hope to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

No wonder this hotel is in the Sunday Times '100 Best Hotels in the World' - it was just stunning. We went for a beach front superior room and the all-inclusive package - and it really is all inclusive too - there is plenty of included dishes and drinks to choose from (we had the menus emailed over beforehand, so we knew). Ok, is not cheap - but the food was first class. The beach area is safe and clean and the rooms are spacious and spotlessly maintained. The whole design is modern, interesting and highly photogenic. We went in November 2012 and there was plenty of room for everyone - you never have to fight for sunbed space here. Staff-to-guest ratio is high. Most guests seemed to have been French, with some Brits, Germans and Japanese. Plenty of activities too - you really can't fault this place.

A couple of minor grouses. Why the hell does the shower and toilet have to be glass cubicles in a bathroom that was open to the rest of the room. I share intimacies with my wife, but that doesn't extend to taking a dump.

In my view, the restaurant staff are way over-attentive. I am 55 years old - I can pour my own wine, put my own napkin on my knee and even carry my own plate back from the buffet. There may, God forbid, come a time in my life when I become so infirm that I can't do any of these things, but until then I'll do it myself. Ok, I know they are only trying to be kind but it gets tiresome in the end.

Lastly, if you are on an all inclusive package - please be aware that your 'all-inclusivity' comes to an end at 12 midday - even if you don't fly till much later on that day. We made the mistake of having lunch at 12:30 and got stung for near £50 worth. Just imagine what that bill would have been if we had sat around the pool quaffing cocktails to while away the time. Nobody told us about that - so please remember this.

All-in-all though, a top holiday at a top resort hotel......

Room Tip: I can vouch for room 129 - ask for that and you'll get one within sight of the beach, but not ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your complimentary feedback pertaining to your recent holidays at Long Beach. We are very glad to read your gratifying words and that your holidays was a top one.
We take note of the all inclusive package which has not been communicated to you and sincerely apologise. However, we wish to inform you that a letter is being given to all guests upon arrival at the hotel, of course those partaking into the “All Inclusive package” whereby it stipulates that this offer ends at midday. We sincerely regret if this information has missed your attention. Nevertheless, this matter has been addressed to the Front Desk team in order to reinforce this information upon guests arrival.
With renewed thanks for your loyalty towards Long Beach and we look forward to welcoming you to Long Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

When we heard the The Times newspaper had included the Long Beach in it's top 100 hotels in the world, we we're pretty excited. We knew of it's famous older sibling, Le Touessrok, so had high hopes for the hotel before we'd even left.

Our hopes we're met and without doubt, completely surpassed.

Long Beach is an excellent high-standard hotel, a with fabulous balance of modern, chic architecture and open spaces. In many ways I'd draw comparisons to Swedish architecture, balanced wonderfully with large open air spaces and angles that really complement the Mauritian surroundings. This goes from the reception (which was absolutely stunning) through to the open and generous layout of the rooms, to the restaurant courtyard and beaches.

Service-wise we thought Long Beach was excellent. The staff we're courteous, polite and professional. But with a nice balance of humour and non-pompous attitude - unusual at a 5-star!

The facilities we're excellent, with a good and varied pool area. Top-class beach sports facilities and even a climbing wall! They should be clear that the Scuba facilities (Blues Diving) aren't in the complex. You have to go to the hotel next-door, but it's either a quick car ride or 10 minutes walk. Hardly a problem! We had a 45-min massage at the Sea Spa. This was fabulous, and with (again) top-class staff.

Our room (we had a deluxe beach front room) was of very high calibre. The style and finishings we're excellent, reflecting the overall quality of the hotel. They do have an open glass-bathroom - as in you don't have complete privacy from anyone else whom is in the room. This might not be to everyone's taste, but in general is fine once you get used to it! They also serviced our room twice a day, and always maintained a good supply of beer in the drinks bar - including a free bottle of champagne on our first night! Whoop.

The culinary experience was, on the whole, top-class. The buffet was the best we'd been to (in the world! - the curry's are fantastic) and the beachside restaurant had a great menu - we were on all-inclusive, so didn't have the whole menu to choose from. The Chinese and Japanese restaurants we're a little bit of a disappointment. Stylistically great, but culinarily not up to the same standard as their better-valued equivalents in the complex. A shame, but I stress, not a big issue in terms of our holiday.

We chose to spend our honeymoon at Long Beach and we were very very happy that we did. We loved every minute and would happily go back or recommend it to family and friends.

Looking at a few other recent reviews, I think some clarity on expectations might be needed for certain readers.

If you were going to book the Four Seasons or Le Touessrok but can't as it's booked up or unavailable. Don't stay here. It's not the kind of 5-star you're looking for.

If you're looking for a chic, modern, different but friendly 5-star experience. With a fresh, open , modern style of class. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljamescampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for all the praises about Long Beach. We are proud and glad to read that you had an enjoyable and wonderful honeymoon at our resort. These compliments will be shared to all our team members. However, your opinion relative to the standard of our Chinese and Japanese restaurants has been discussed with our Chefs and will be reviewed shortly.

Many thanks again for your honesty and Long Beach recommendation to your family, friends and other acquaintances.

We hope to welcoming you back to our resort in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is not what you think...At best it is a 4* package hotel, at worst it is Bultins in Mauritius!!
If you are travelling on a budget, or with young children, and want to go to a "nice hotel in the sun", then maybe this is for you. If you want to go to a luxury hotel, then keep looking.

We stayed in the best suite (one of only two at the hotel) which was nice and had a great view, but the food and service was really poor. I think that the Sun Group, who own the Le Touessrok should know better, and have really over sold this place and they need to change the way they market it.

The guest services were totally useless and the restaurants were awful and had all the charm of an airport lounge. This is a package hotel, no more, no less...

Room Tip: Suite 535 is spacious and has a great view, but for the money you can do a lot better at another hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we take note about your dissatisfaction relative to your vacation experience at Long Beach. We sincerely regret if our services have not met your expectation. Your comments will help us to improve our service delivery.

Please rest assured that we will definitely look into our standards of service to ensure that they live up to the experience we promise to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we were very glad that we were on an all inclusive basis as everything was very expensive. that said, it was a tad annoying to have to study the menus to see what was covered in our plan (marked by green star). rather limiting if you were there for more than a week. however, the buffet food was the best we have ever had at an hotel, delicious and lots of choice. on our AI package we had water bottles in the room, a coffee machine and lots of chocolate and various drinks available from the mini bar. i would agree with previous reviewer that a touch of luxury in the bathrooms wouldn't go amiss - e.g. some nice toiletries. i didn't take shampoo or conditioner with me as assumed they would provide good quality stuff - i was wrong - no conditioner left me with very tangly hair!! the staff are all very friendly and helpful and we especially loved the buggy service on the beach. the rooms are stylish, large and light and airy and beds very comfortable. the beach is gorgeous but corally so probably not the best for swimming but it is beautiful and not crowded at all as most guests with children tended to stay by the main pool. the sports facilities and gym are first class, there is even a climbing wall! despite the odd gripe we had a wonderful time and are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanna4364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your overall feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted to read that your overall stay was an wonderful one for which we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen Long Beach for your holidays.
With regards to toiletries, we have always provided all our guests with basic bathroom amenities such as soap, shampoo and shower gel. We would like to inform you that conditioner is upon guest request only whereby we offer with pleasure.
Thank you once again for your fidelity toward Long Beach and we have the great pleasure to welcome you back to our shores next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great hotel but they steal your stuff. I had my MacBook pro, iphone, iPad and cash stolen from my hotel room as I slept at Night!! The hotel has not been able to compensate me or even communicate to me about a possible way forward. I was very disappointed with how they handled the whole matter. It's now time to to tell the world how I got robbed in paradise!!! kanjiimbugua@gmail.com

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kanjiimbugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are sorry that the Police inquiry is taking too long which is beyond our control. However, we have sent you emails on numerous occasions to inform you about the progress of this matter. Please refer to our correspondence dated 17 July 2012 with the attached “Police Occurrence Book Reference” whereby we mentioned that should there be any positive results from the Police, we will let you know.

With regards to the compensation, we wish to reconfirm that since this is a Police case and until the matter is not settled, we cannot held responsible for any refund. Although, Long Beach is concerned for the safety and security of the guests, we urge them to keep their valuables in the safe found in the room.

We are equally disappointed to read that this unfortunate incident has been published to the world. I would like to reassure you that we are doing our utmost to address this shortcoming and once we receive the findings of this inquiry we will revert to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
13.3 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,127 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ambre Resort - All Inclusive
2.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 2,936 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 13 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 stars 3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing