We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* Facilities - 3* Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“5* Facilities - 3* Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were with a group of friends and at the end of the stay we all agreed : the hotel itself is really really nice, it is modern, chic, modern, trendy - large choice of restaurant, bars, activities for young and older people..

However when it comes to service, everything gets complicated. Everyone is very slow and you have to ask several times to get something !

We had issues with our reservation (Front office staff are not really welcoming) that was not done correctly and waited 4 hours to get the room. When we finally arrived our room, we were given the wrong key and had to run under the rain back to the reception to make a new one..
Then the room was not properly cleaned (pay attention if you have allergies, there was dust on the carpet), we didn't have any welcome attention, no complimentary tea or coffee in room, a bottle of water is charged like in europe, same for coffee ! No bathroom items (only shower gel, shampoo, cotton pads, body lotion) no iron table or iron, no toothbrush, no sewing kit, and the list gets longer... BUT you have a ipod dock, free wifi & lounge music everywhere... (weird priorities)

It seemed like everything was cut cost & the service doesn't follow !! half an hour to get tea or coffee at the breakfast ! OK you are in holiday and have time... but you still want to enjoy your day somewhere else than in the restaurant waiting for your morning coffee !! (specially when you can't get a complimentary one in your room !!) BTW be ready, half an hour to get a kettle in the room... The staff was really not well trained and it may come from the fact that it was a 3* hotel before !

Also if you want to play tennis, bring your material : 1 hour for 2 people is charged 25Euros for rackets & balls !

This hotel has a lot of potential - please train your staff and stop cutting cost where you don't need to ! (or lower your rates and admit you are a 4* hotel). In asian hotels for the same price you get a real 5* Palace (with the smile) !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FauxParisien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations concerning your recent stay at Long Beach.

Your comments with regards to your overall experience will be shared with all parties concerned. Without even trying to find justification to explain, I would like to reassure you that our Management team will take this situation as learning points and you can rest assured that we will definitely look into our standards to ensure that all our guests live up to the legendary service. Nevertheless, please accept our most sincere apologies for all the shortcomings you experienced.

Again, your comments relative to the bathroom amenities, we would like to highlight that as only the items mentioned have always been provided to all our guests. Should you wish to have iron table, iron, sewing kit or toothbrush, our Housekeeping department is always available for any additional services required.

We fully concur with you, we do have new recruits working for us. They have indeed not acquired experience yet, but we wish to reassure you that we continuously thrive hard to improve our services to a satisfactory level by ensuring constant training. However, we have been taken all your feedback positively and constructively with an ultimate objective to improve our various levels of services.

I wish to reassure you once more, that the Management has taken full responsibility to reinforce corrective and preventive measures which will allow us to offer a level of product and service up to guests’ expectation and beyond.

I wish to express our appreciative thanks to you and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Long Beach in the not-too-distant future.

With renewed apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    532
    166
    70
    32
See reviews for
793
1,129
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just come back from Mauritius. Had a fantastic time. First week was all inclusive and second week we were upgraded from Room Only to Half Board for free! Staff and management were fantastic. Would recommend this hotel - 5 star hotel with a very modern feeling. Entertainment very good. Food fantastic - great choice.

Holiday was booked through Mercury Direct. Only thing I was not impressed with was food on the flight with Air Mauritius! Will definitely return to Long Beach.

Marie

Room Tip: All rooms are to very high standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We feel privileged to read that you have enjoyed your recent holidays at Long Beach for which we would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your valuable feedback and for having chosen this destination. We are glad to read also that you will definitely return to Long Beach whereby we have the great pleasure to welcoming you back.

Thank you once again and we will be very delighted to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wow how I wished we had stayed here. We visited Long Beach one night, as we were staying at its sister hotel Le Touessrok (lovely, for a slightly older crowd than LB and with fabulous beaches) and were hugely impressed.

It's centers around a piazza, giving it a busy feel and great atmosphere. Modern and new this is a very hip hotel which appeals to a younger audience, and we noticed lots of young families here too. The pools looked stunning but we didn't have time to use them.

What truly stood out for us here though was the customer service. The staff were hugely attentive and welcoming and made us feel very welcomed. It sets a benchmark to its other hotels and seemed cheaper too. The bar staff especially were excellent.

We ate at chopsticks, which looked better than it tasted, but was still good and enjoyable.

Next time I visit I would visit here ( and the Oberoi). It may be new, but this hotel delivers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are delighted to note that although you were staying at our sister hotel, Le Touessrok, you had the opportunity to visit Long Beach. Being at our hotel for few hours, we glad to read that you have enjoyed your day and would like to thank you for your positive feedback experienced with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort for your next holidays in Mauritius.

With reiterated thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Long Beach Mauritius (Five Star), this resort must be heaven’s prototype, Long beach is a very contemporary resort with everything at your finger tips! Its literally a year old, it takes about 45mins on a scenic narrow road outlining the Island from the airport to Long Beach.
Long Beach is situated on the north east corner of the Island with beautiful sand beach. Their service is superb! We arrived in the afternoon to one of the warmest receptions, we totally felt like we were important guests. Long Beach offers many varied activities from parasailing to Archery, I loved snorkeling and paddle boating. There are four restaurants to chose from but breakfast is served at the main restaurant which offers a wide selection of buffet, then there is Italian, Japanese and Chinese restaurants which is very advisable that you book well in advance before dinner.
Because we were in Mauritius for seven days, apart from sun tanning by the pool side on a lazy day we hired a car at the hotel reception for 60Euro a day and took a road trip to Port Louis, Flaque, Grand Bay and Good lands to name a few. Like every tourist we went to factory shops as local taxi drivers advertise them, be warned, these factory shops are overpriced cheap Chinese imports. When you travel inland you will realise how cheap alcohol and food becomes, you can sample local Mauritian cuisine which in my opinion is nothing to write home about. We stocked up on wine at the Mall of Mauritius in Port Louis for 75% less than the Resort’s price, we kicked ourselves for not buying our wine at duty free when we landed on the island.
Overall, I will return to long beach since I love contemporary opulence and the feeling that I am the only guest! Priceless.

Room Tip: Buy your wine at duty free after you land, Alcohol is not cheap in Maurituis. hire a car, get a map...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sipho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane J, Resident Manager at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I would like to express my sincere thanks for choosing Long Beach for your holidays. I am very pleased to read your valuable praises with regards to your overall stay which was enjoyable, relaxing and that you left our hotel with fond of memories. Without you, our loyal customer, our hotel would not be rated a five star. It is our commitment to provide you with the best and reliable services at all times. Your complimentary comments about the hotel in general are indeed very gratifying.
We would like to share our point of view with regards to the drinks:
Our beverage price list is one of the most competitive in our category of hotels in Mauritius. We can rightly claim this because our prices have been thoroughly benchmarked with the beverage prices of the other hotels. They have always been substantially lower. However, we have to admit that our prices cannot be compared to shop ones with different service, environment and status.
Thank you once again for your loyalty and your understanding and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from long beach hotel, and had the most wonderful perfect time. The staff are all so very friendly, nothing too much trouble for them, From the moment we arrived we were given first class service. The food is wonderful, so be prepared to gain a few pounds, All restaurants are excellent not just the food but the staff are there to welcome you, they also carry your plates back to your table. Tides is a must where Dario and his wonderful staff sure know how to give that extra special service, Thanks to Gaytree, Daniella and everyone. We had a superior beach front room which was ultra modern, spotlessly clean, The rooms are cleaned daily and they come to your room in the evening where clean towels are replaced and your room tidied... This hotel is just amazing!!! The weather was ok very windy, its quite cloudy in the morning but this is to be expected as september is the end of their winter, the sun normally burn through around mid morning and is nice and hot when its out.... The pool area are well maintained and again the service is excellent. A big THANK YOU to everyone at long beach you are all amazing, and we will most definately come back again, Again Thanks.

Room Tip: Superior beach front, Near to pool and beach, and lovely large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a week at Long Beach recently and really loved it! The rooms, the gardens, pool (with the beautiful daybeds), restaurants, beach! Everything is absolutly wonderful. One of the best hotel beaches I know (appart from the wind, but expected being on the east coast).
Great staff, always helpfull (hospitality is really in Mauritian's blood), food was excellent! Specially loved the Lebanese evening at the Marche!
I loved the yoga on the green overlooking the beach, what a treat!
Our daughter wouldn't leave the kids club where she had so much fun with an incredible staff!
Should your budget allows it, you should have no hesitation about this hotel! It was really one of my best holiday!

Room Tip: If you have small kids, ask for a room closer to reception, it will make it easier with ins and outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband, daughter (14 years) and myself holidayed at Long Beach from 28 September to 5 October 2012.

Having read previous reviews of the hotel, and having veiwed their website - I was fully informed as to what to expect and was not disappointed. The hotel is "new" having opened its doors about one year ago. This means that you will find all the amenities in good condition, modern and bright. The hotel itself is modern, with clean lines, crisp and minimalistic. So - if you are expecting a "tropical island/palm trees/coconut" feel ... then rather try another (older) hotel.

The beach is clean with soft, white sands. While we were here, the wind did blow. But it was NEVER unbearable. In fact, I "welcomed" the breeze, otherwise it would just be too hot!! Furthermore, the wind is warm (never cold).

Because of the wind, the palm trees are bent into the shape of the wind blowing - so even when it is NOT blowing - the trees "look" like they are bent in the wind. Bear this in mind when you look at photos of Long Beach - because the trees make it look like its blowing - when, in fact, it may NOT be.

The 5 restaurants give you lots of choice for eating - and you will end up overeating. Do try them all. And do remember to book, otherwise you may be disappointed.

We went on the 'All Inclusive' package. This is well worth it and I would recommend that everyone take this package. It saves you money in the long run. But do note that this only entitles you to eat/drink certain things off the menu (for free). You do have enough of a choice of 'free' things to eat/drink - and we never felt hard-done by. However, if soemthing else takes your fancy - you can order it - but will have to pay for it.

The staff were always friendly and willing to help. Nothing is too much trouble - just ask.

Do shop around (and bargain) for prices. Never accept the first price offered. Offer 30 - 50% of the asking price ... you should get what you want for the price you offer.

We hired a car for 2 days and drove around the island ourselves. While the roads a very narrow - the driving was quite safe ... and the map is very easy to follow. Its virtually impossible to get lost. So dont be afraid to do a self-drive. We explored the south of the island on day 1 and then did the north of the island on day 2. (Dont bother to visit Port Louis - there is nothing noteworthy to see there. Also, the dormant volcano is a waste of time to see. Rather spend your time on seeing other sites).

We sadly, did not take advantage of the extra excursions to do on the island ... but I'm told you will not be disappointed. So try them for yourself.

We enjoyed our stay at Long Beach and do recommend it to others thinking of vacationing there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelgaE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
35.7 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
2.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41601
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sun Resorts property, Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort is located on the east coast, along one of the island's longest and widest natural beaches. Opened in 2011, it is an elegant and affable holiday resort featuring a unique blend of island chic architecture and tropical landscape. Its 255 rooms are harmoniously arranged in three semi-circles with wonderful views over the crystal-clear waters of the lagoon, the coral reef and the Indian Ocean beyond. With a choice of 5 restaurants, and an extensive range of activities including free green fees at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, your holiday at Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort are a long way from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Mauritius Hotel Belle Mare
Long Beach Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing