We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveler rating
939
473
134
48
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
939
473
134
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veranda palmer horizon restaurant small hotel jean marie mauritian massage chef vikash star hotel special thanks cleaned daily all inclusive package glass bottom boat pool bar evening entertainment entertainment team this lovely hotel two weeks sea view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this trip for our honeymoon. We had a great stay and enjoyed relaxing. The beach and the pool are only 1 minute walk from each other. The hotel is lovely and and quaint. The area isn’t massive but that’s nice for getting to relax and chill out and having everything to hand. The pool area is nice with palm trees surrounding and the bar sits overlooking it. The restaurant is beside it too so everything is in the same area. The only negative is if you have a rowdy group staying at same time as you. We did and it was difficult to avoid them as they were a large group of at least 15. They were no bother to us but we heard that other guests complained as they got drunk early and played their own music and sang along to it around the pool. Belle Mar town is just a walk down the beach away if you want shops.

Our room was brilliant. It had an ocean view and was on the second floor of the block. It and the bathroom were both a good size. Plenty of storage space and a hairdryer and a fridge with free mini bar drinks. The room was tended everyday and the maids did a great job by leaving lovely towel sculptures and flowers on the bed afterwards. Our maid was Asha and she did a fantastic job every day.

The food was nice but nothing extraordinary. The breakfast was the same everyday and was mostly catered towards British/European. There’s enough to get you by though. They cook eggs to how you want and have breads, bacon, waffle, pancakes, sausages, beans and potatoes. Also cereals on offer. Lunch was different. They’d a Mauritian corner of dishes as well as more recognisable dishes. Dinner was nice and changed every night. Most dishes were also more British/European. They’d usually chicken and rice, potatoes, beef, pasta, fish and vegetables. They cook steak, ribs, pork, fish to your liking on the grill. They’ll also take orders if you want pizza or chips. Plenty of pastries and cakes for dessert too.

The beach is lovely. Plenty of loungers as first come first serve so no booking requirements. They have a bar there and you can have lunch there too. The boat house offers boat trip excursions and free activities like glass bottom and pedal boats, paddle surfing and canooes

The staff are fantastic. Hard working and maintain their pleasantness all the times. The receptionists, bar staff, restaurant staff, maids, spa staff and grounds men are all a credit to this hotel. They were always checking if we were happy and things were ok for us.

The spa is a great part of the hotel. They include a free 15mins massage on arrival but I bought one to add to add on to it. The girl who did mine was fantastic and very well experienced. Unfortunately I can’t remember her name as I left the card in our room when we left.

The entertainment every night is mostly a DJ and karaoke. They do occasionally bring in acts such as singers and African drummers/dancers. They were fantastic. Afterwards it goes back to just music and none of it helped you feel like you were in holiday as it was like listening to the Magic music channel back home. This was maybe requests made by other guests so I don’t know if it’s the hotels fault. I like a bit of Caribbean rhythm style music on holiday as it helps you feel like your abroad and not at home in an over 60s disco.

None of this ruined our stay as we really enjoyed it and the hotel itself is actually fantastic. With the few tweaks I’ve mentioned above it could be perfect for us. Please note though this is just our opinions so all the above is maybe better suited to most customers already. Our general feeling is though that this is geared towards an older clientele than us in our mid 30s.

Room tip: ocean view room
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank GaryH3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Marie C, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear GaryH3k.,

Thank you for having chosen Veranda Palmar Beach as your selected hotel and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciated the service and hospitality provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another memorable experience.

Kindest Regards,
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A big thank you to Elvis for the great cocktails and entertainment. Much appreciated and to Avi for serving us at dinner and always being so friendly. Thanks to everyone for making it very special and memorable for us.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nslatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nigel was a brilliant waiter at the Horizon restaurant, he helped us a lot! Excellent and friendly staff, helped us all of the time. They wanted to help us wherever possible. The food was excellent and we had a great stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank chrisb91CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Marie C, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear chrisb91CB,

Thank you for having chosen Veranda Palmar Beach as your selected hotel and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciated the service and hospitality provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another memorable experience.

Kindest Regards,
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

It is awesome place for a nice family vacation, staff are very friendly and helpful, the reception staff, the gardeners, the cleaning staff (Asha and crew), the bar men (Elvis and company), the catering staff(Jonothan, Askshay, Akash and others) and the DJ. The all inclusive is value for money, however the restaurant catered mainly for the European palate, especially the breakfast which needs a little more variety, however the staff made sure there was green chil available to spice things up. The lunch and supper was ok, the pizzas and burgers were a nice touch even the adults in my family enjoyed it. They also arranged a quick birthday party for my Dad and Mum, which was awesome, thank you to Jonathan and company. Overall stay was 4 out 5, had it not been fornthe boring breakfasts I would have rated a 5.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Theodore L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Marie C, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Dear Thedore L N.

We thank you for taking the time to share your views following your holiday experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you really appreciated your vacation overall and we feel very sorry for the black spot that brought some clouds to your vacation as regards to the breakfast offer; this has been brought up to management level for remedy.

We sincerely hope to have the immense pleasure to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to take your family for a fantastic vacation and a wonderful Mauritius experience. Thank you to all the staff for your hospitality and friendlyness. This was a memorable family vacation. A special thanks to Elvis the Barman.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank BarendS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Marie C, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2019

Dear BarendS32,

Thank you for having chosen Veranda Palmar Beach as your selected hotel and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and appreciated the service and hospitality provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another memorable experience.

Kindest Regards,
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews