We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Writing this review as we are sat on the beach squeezing out the last few hours of what has been a simply wonderful holiday, everything about this hotel from its location to the food, standard of service and helpfulness of staff has been amazing and we would highly recommend it. As hard as I try I cannot find one thing that I can say could be improved upon, we chose the hotel based upon previous reviews and we have not been disappointed. We will, without a doubt, be back for a return visit. I would also like to say a big thank you for the cake and champagne we received on the day of our 25th Wedding Anniversary. If the star rating is based upon service then this should definitely be a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Members of Trip Advisor,
Thank you for your marvelous review of Veranda Palmar Beach.

It is amazing to read that our consistency efforts have not gone overlooked and it has improved the quality of your stay at our hotel. THANK YOU again for your trust in my team. Your high appreciation and recommendation revive our trust and willingness to be at your service.
Our main focus has always been our clients` satisfaction and that drives our passion.

I look forward to welcome again soon at Veranda Palmar Beach.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager.
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    298
    79
    35
    10
See reviews for
315
543
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GLOUCESTER
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful fortnight at the Veranda Palmar. The hotel is excellent with lovely rooms , we had 808 with a sea view. The staff at the hotel were all so friendly and attentive, we can,t remember how many times we were asked if the holiday was good. The room was spotless , food at the restaurant was good, service at the bar was efficient and friendly, the beach was great, cleaned daily , the chap that was responsible for the beach was daily fighting a losing battle against the seaweed but he kept at it ! We must give a special mention to Selven, Sunil, Bernadette, Nisha, Hannah , David and Nish to name but a few. During our holiday we unfortunately lost our video camera, the staff in security and the local police were very helpful but the camera was not found but this did not spoil our time there. We wish that we were still there and will definitely return.
Mike & Ange Salter

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKISGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,
Thank you for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach for your holidays.

I am pleased to read that you have made the right choice for this getaway with your wife and that you were able to enjoy it to the maximum. I am also happy to read how much my team members, especially those whose name you have mentioned, put you at ease during your vacation.

Your satisfaction is our utmost incentive and we will all keep on memories the pleasure we had to be at your service.

I hope that the first time visit will certainly create the envy for a next trip.
My Team and I look forward to welcome you in the future.

Sunny Greetings,
Jean Marie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I have just spent four weeks at this wonderful hotel. We previously visited this hotel in 2006.
On arrival we were warmly greeted and given cold towels to freshen up. While the receptionist was checking us in we were given a cocktail. My husband preferred a beer and this appeared immediately.
We were given a room next to the beach which was amazing. The room was cleaned and fresh towels and linen were provided every day.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed we enjoyed our meals tremendously thank you chef.
Chairs were pulled out for us and our drinks request were dealt with quickly. Some of the staff remembered my husband from our previous visit. Enielle, Mr Colin, old blue eyes sends you a kiss and a hug.
My husband loves to laugh and joke and the staff were brilliant with him. Because the quality of the staff is so high it seems unfair to mention some by name but I must say special thanks to Clifford, Oliver, Sunil, Shiv, Chef and Heroy. I am so sorry I can't remember the names of all the staff but you know how you laughed and joked with us. The management team are superb and this is proved by the happy staff that work here.
We had our birthdays while on holiday, we both had birthday cakes and champagne.
The beach is beautiful, white sands that are cleaned non stop every day. When the tide comes in and out the seaweed is raked up immediately. The sea is warm and clear and the most wonderful colours. Sun beds are free, beach towels are provided, lots of water sports are free too.
Clifford is the entertainment manager and as well as organising the entertainment he is a really good singer too.
I must mention Raj who runs the al a carte Horizan restaurant. He is a marvellous advertisement for this hotel. His experience shines through in everything he does. Raj made sure we had everything we needed and more. He works hard and is not afraid to help other members of staff. I hope he does not mind when I say we are honoured to call him a friend.
Because the hotel is small we made loads of friends and enjoyed our holiday immensely
Thank you to the management for our special gift it was a lovely surprise.
We are missing you all already and If all goes well we will definitely return.
Love to everyone Ann & Colin from England xx

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room next to beach. The view was lovely and being able to enjoy an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

My entire team joins me to thank you for staying at Veranda Palmar Beach and above all for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

I am surprised to read how much memories of this holiday you have brought back home and also how much my team Members, especially those whose name you have mentioned, put you at ease during your vacation.

I will seize this opportunity to thank them for their passion which is to guarantee that our guests are being cared for from beginning till the end.

Your far-reaching description of the Veranda Palmar Beach facilities and services is more than enough to convince that a dream holiday can indeed be perceived at this hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your kind appreciation of our services and we thank you for highly recommending our hotel.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.

Sunny Greetings,
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and the availability of child care. If our girls were younger and needed more supervision, we would have used the kids club more because it was excellent. We made use of it so that we could go to the busy market and our eldest, near 11, enjoyed herself.
What struck me about this lovely hotel was couples and families from many countries could thoroughly enjoy themselves, but relatively quietly. Perhaps because of the smallish size of this hotel, the low key nature of the evening activities, the friendly staff or the soporific effect of the amazing climate.
The reviews of the food sometimes concerned us, but it was varied, fresh and excellent. Beautiful local fish cooked before you, with a wide range of vegetables or salads always available.
We had read, in these reviews, about having an go at cooking in the kitchen. Our eldest is a keen cook, we asked at reception and they could not have been more accommodating. The kitchens are amazing and the chefs absolutely outstanding with the children. This experience really made the holiday extra special. Only the trip to see the dolphins could compete.
Do go on trips, use Raj, he is genuinely friendly and helpful and offers good value. He is licenced to work on the beach, you can negotiate and you won't be disappointed.
Great hotel and staff. We had a couple of minor issues but we found they tried very hard to sort out and over compensated.
Finally we were unsure how a family of 4 would sleep as the information was not clear. The children had a junior size bed each and we had a super king size. Perfect.
We only wish we could go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My name is Suraj Bhagoban and i was there with my family two weeks ago. Right at our arrival till our departure we got 100% satisfaction. A special mention for Mr Shiv who is marvellous host. This man knows his job.
Hotel is very clean and staffs courteous. If you are looking for a calm and stress free stay,then think no twice.
Only slight deception was food...otherwise everything great

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraj1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the food offer not suiting you. We thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.

We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curepipe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Cosy to spend vacations. Not too big in terms of land surface but just enough for all residents to spend quiet holidays. If you like the sea, ask for the rooms near the sea, we had the one which was the first near the sea and it was just wonderful to hear the sound of the waves. 2 bars:one near pool and other near the sea which is very convenient. the all-inclusive package is really worthwhile as it spares the pain to look and pay for food and drinks all through your holidays. quality and presentation of cocktails can improve. Buffet is tasty and ok, with some variety. Staff is friendly. Be careful of wasps however as there were quite a few around. Refreshing green gardens around and nice 'arena' to watch the sunrise (don't miss it if you are there).

Room Tip: Rooms near the sea or with sea view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varshachadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent two weeks at this hotel. Really pleased with our location (Room 505) as just a few steps down from our patio doors and we were on the beach. Lovely modern room. At first we thought, "hmmn, only 3*" (we always go to a minimum of 4*), but it became apparent that the management are keen to up their rating and any issues were dealt with promptly and effectively. For example, one day we didn't have our mini-bar replenished. One word to Shiv and thereafter we had double the normal stocks replenished every day. A repeating criticism on Trip Advisor seems to be the quality of the food, or the mundaneness of it. As we enjoy our food (which plays a big part when we consider a holiday destination) we were a little concerned about previous guests' comments. Management are clearly keen to listen to guests' opinions. Clipboards asking for guests' feedback were regularly seen on the food stations. For us (and we fed this back to the hotel before checking out) we felt that the food served catered to 'the masses' and we would have liked more traditional Mauritian food with lovely spices to be offered. We suggested they perhaps offer a proper Mauritian Corner every day so that those wanting more European food could be happy as well as those travelling thousands of miles to sample the delicacies of the Indian Ocean. By paying 3* prices, we were happy to venture outside of the hotel and use the money we had saved in local restaurants. Tinos was a favourite and we ate here twice - once in the evening and once at lunchtime so we could enjoy the views. Very reasonable cost and amazing food. We listened to previous reviews on TA and utilised the services of Raj on the beach. Try the speedboat trip to Ile Aux Cerfs - the lunch cooked by Laura from a BBQ in the bushes was amazing. The lobster and whole fish were spectacular. The trip and lunch cost about £35ph. Don't book a taxi via the hotel - it will cost twice as much as one booked either from a local taxi driver (and there are many keen to pass on their cards), or ask Raj (he seems to be the answer for everything!). Would we recommend this hotel - yes, for a lovely relaxing time, yes for the fact that management and staff seem genuinely keen to ensure you have a good time, and yes because money saved from booking a 3* rather than a 4* or neighbouring 5* hotel can be better utilised exploring the locality and frequenting the local eateries.

Room Tip: 505 was perfectly sited
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeRo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. The Mauritian corner is a great idea and we will look into that. We again thank you for your valued feedback.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#7 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,767 reviews
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing