We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and the availability of child care. If our girls were younger and needed more supervision, we would have used the kids club more because it was excellent. We made use of it so that we could go to the busy market and our eldest, near 11, enjoyed herself.
What struck me about this lovely hotel was couples and families from many countries could thoroughly enjoy themselves, but relatively quietly. Perhaps because of the smallish size of this hotel, the low key nature of the evening activities, the friendly staff or the soporific effect of the amazing climate.
The reviews of the food sometimes concerned us, but it was varied, fresh and excellent. Beautiful local fish cooked before you, with a wide range of vegetables or salads always available.
We had read, in these reviews, about having an go at cooking in the kitchen. Our eldest is a keen cook, we asked at reception and they could not have been more accommodating. The kitchens are amazing and the chefs absolutely outstanding with the children. This experience really made the holiday extra special. Only the trip to see the dolphins could compete.
Do go on trips, use Raj, he is genuinely friendly and helpful and offers good value. He is licenced to work on the beach, you can negotiate and you won't be disappointed.
Great hotel and staff. We had a couple of minor issues but we found they tried very hard to sort out and over compensated.
Finally we were unsure how a family of 4 would sleep as the information was not clear. The children had a junior size bed each and we had a super king size. Perfect.
We only wish we could go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean-Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    304
    81
    35
    10
See reviews for
320
547
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My name is Suraj Bhagoban and i was there with my family two weeks ago. Right at our arrival till our departure we got 100% satisfaction. A special mention for Mr Shiv who is marvellous host. This man knows his job.
Hotel is very clean and staffs courteous. If you are looking for a calm and stress free stay,then think no twice.
Only slight deception was food...otherwise everything great

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraj1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the food offer not suiting you. We thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.

We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curepipe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Cosy to spend vacations. Not too big in terms of land surface but just enough for all residents to spend quiet holidays. If you like the sea, ask for the rooms near the sea, we had the one which was the first near the sea and it was just wonderful to hear the sound of the waves. 2 bars:one near pool and other near the sea which is very convenient. the all-inclusive package is really worthwhile as it spares the pain to look and pay for food and drinks all through your holidays. quality and presentation of cocktails can improve. Buffet is tasty and ok, with some variety. Staff is friendly. Be careful of wasps however as there were quite a few around. Refreshing green gardens around and nice 'arena' to watch the sunrise (don't miss it if you are there).

Room Tip: Rooms near the sea or with sea view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank varshachadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent two weeks at this hotel. Really pleased with our location (Room 505) as just a few steps down from our patio doors and we were on the beach. Lovely modern room. At first we thought, "hmmn, only 3*" (we always go to a minimum of 4*), but it became apparent that the management are keen to up their rating and any issues were dealt with promptly and effectively. For example, one day we didn't have our mini-bar replenished. One word to Shiv and thereafter we had double the normal stocks replenished every day. A repeating criticism on Trip Advisor seems to be the quality of the food, or the mundaneness of it. As we enjoy our food (which plays a big part when we consider a holiday destination) we were a little concerned about previous guests' comments. Management are clearly keen to listen to guests' opinions. Clipboards asking for guests' feedback were regularly seen on the food stations. For us (and we fed this back to the hotel before checking out) we felt that the food served catered to 'the masses' and we would have liked more traditional Mauritian food with lovely spices to be offered. We suggested they perhaps offer a proper Mauritian Corner every day so that those wanting more European food could be happy as well as those travelling thousands of miles to sample the delicacies of the Indian Ocean. By paying 3* prices, we were happy to venture outside of the hotel and use the money we had saved in local restaurants. Tinos was a favourite and we ate here twice - once in the evening and once at lunchtime so we could enjoy the views. Very reasonable cost and amazing food. We listened to previous reviews on TA and utilised the services of Raj on the beach. Try the speedboat trip to Ile Aux Cerfs - the lunch cooked by Laura from a BBQ in the bushes was amazing. The lobster and whole fish were spectacular. The trip and lunch cost about £35ph. Don't book a taxi via the hotel - it will cost twice as much as one booked either from a local taxi driver (and there are many keen to pass on their cards), or ask Raj (he seems to be the answer for everything!). Would we recommend this hotel - yes, for a lovely relaxing time, yes for the fact that management and staff seem genuinely keen to ensure you have a good time, and yes because money saved from booking a 3* rather than a 4* or neighbouring 5* hotel can be better utilised exploring the locality and frequenting the local eateries.

Room Tip: 505 was perfectly sited
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeRo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. The Mauritian corner is a great idea and we will look into that. We again thank you for your valued feedback.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the hotel, it is very nice with a well keep garden, lovely private beach which is cleaned every morning, the staff are very friendly and very helpful,very pleasant waiters and waitress’s, we found there was a good of choice of food but the choice was consistent each day. The room was quite basic but clean. There were two pin sockets in the room so you may need an adaptor for your electrical items. We didn’t bother to hire a car because the taxies immediately outside the hotel were a cheaper option. There is not too much to see locally, so you will need to go further afield to explore. We found that the entertainment at the hotel in the evening was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyliu668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. Locally, there is a natural reserve where you can hike, do quad biking, horse riding and go bird watching. The Mauritian east coast is also one of the longest beaches of Mauritius, hence lovely for walks, jogs and sight-seeing. There are also numerous Hindu temples, an extremely large market in Flacq, a very typical Mauritian village, in addition to waterfalls and the islet of Ile aux Cerfs, which offers watersports at its best. How unfortunate that you didn't get to discover all these. Hopefully next time. We are sorry that the evening entertainment wasn't up to your standards and we will look further into that matter.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from Veranda Palmar Beach, and we have had an amazing holiday. A special thank you to Boodhan who was so helpful and friendly, however all the staff couldn't do enough for us. Great food, pool, entertainment and beach. The kids club was brilliant too and my girls love spending time with Sharone and Charlene.

Room Tip: We had room 602 which overlooked the beach and was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Member of Trip advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Le Palmar. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and to Boodhan, Sharone and Charlene in partciular and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean-Marie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I returned from this hotel a couple of weeks ago having spent 2 weeks there. The hotel is very welcoming and sort of boutique type- small and friendly. The hotel has it's own beach which could have been a bit bigger but the sun beds were not occupied all the time as visitors took themselves off on trips. Bedrooms were very comfortable and had a vow of the ocean. The food was a bit repetitive although I did enjoy the breakfast and afternoon pancakes! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Small pool but did not get crowded as most people spent their time on the beach. Not a lot of entertainment which was held outside but the majority of visitors were couples so they were probably happy to spend their time relaxing with a drink. If it was not for the long flight I would be going again tomorrow! Enjoyed my holiday there and would recommend. There were one or two hiccups for me but if there is anything you are not happy with the management will go out of their way to help. Do go and stay you will enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 602 which was on an upper floor and had sea views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 848christmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community.We look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#6 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,806 reviews
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
19.7 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing