We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days of bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is not five star luxury, but doesn't pretend to be. As a three star hotel it is fantastic value for money, on an all inclusive package, offers all you could want for a superb holiday on the stunningly beautiful paradise island of Mauritius. The hotel has a stretch of pristine white sandy beach with crystal clear sea just sensational for swimming in, which is cleaned twice a day, and offers the best stretch of beach along the Belle Mare coast.
The rooms are spacious with super sized double beds which are very comfortable and offer a great nights sleep, the decor is fresh and rooms are cleaned to a good standard.
The rooms offer good clothes hanging and shelf space, along with room for case storage, so your not tripping over them during your stay.
The bathrooms are a good size with wash basins, shower cubicle with room for two,and large backlit mirror.
All rooms have a private balcony or veranda with chairs and small table, though the ground floor rooms are open to the garden, and have views of the gardens and some have sea views which are superb.
The staff all speak french and english and offer warm greetings, and are only to eager to help in any way possible, creating a calm, friendly, relaxed atmosphere to ensure a memorable holiday, that we really enjoyed.
The all inclusive package offers ample food in a choice of two restaurants, one buffet and the other al'a carte, every day was a large choice of fresh salads and fruits, with a choice of three main course dishes along with vegetables and rice dishes, and most days offered some pasta dishes also.
The hotel has two bars, one is poolside the other situated beachside, offering a wide variety of soft, alcoholic drinks along with tea and coffee.
The pool is large and very child friendly, the hotel offers a daycare service for young children during the day with activies in a creche area in the gardens, which was popular during our stay.
The entertainment team in the hotel provided activities during the day and evening, including aqua aerobics, beach volleyball,table tennis, amongst others, along with a daily glass bottomed boat trip out onto the reef free of charge.
There are free of charge kayaks, pedalows and surf boards, along with sailing boats, speed boats that are available to hire from the hotels boathouse on the beach, which offer fresh towels for use daily.
This hotel offered us a superb holiday in an awesome destination without paying a fortune, and will be somewhere we will definately be returning to in the future.
As a destination Mauritius is not just a paradise beach holiday, it offers many water sports, unbelievable stunning vistas from the mountains with walking trails, it's great for cyclists, and shopping for clothes, souvenirs, and local produce.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room for a better sea view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ALAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

From Rat Race to Fat Face! I blame the chef rather than my gargantuan and inquisitive appetite which forces me to try all the delightful delicacies on offer! Not that the Veranda Palmar Beach is only about the food there are other factors which make it a stand-out 3 star venue. Just what they are is difficult to determine. Perhaps that is because there is nothing that defines it as a 3 star from the moment you are greeted on arrival. The compact complex with its luxurious design features sits imperiously on a magnificent beach sandwiched between its haughty 4 and 5 star neighbours but refuses to be overshadowed. Maybe it’s the smiles on the faces of the staff always willing to go the extra mile to please that puts the icing on the cake. (Mention your birthday if you have one during your stay!).
Sure it rained but February is in the summer, the wet season; and the infrequent showers were no more than an amusing distraction rather than an inconvenience. Certainly no sign of a Cyclone other than the ones conjured up by the cheery bar staff!
The palm trees swayed, the coconuts threatened, the turquoise lagoon gently lapped at the sunbeds, and the sun warmed ageing limbs. So why am I back in Britain?!
As for the island well quite simply Mauritius is delicious! So if you are planning a sortie to the Indian Ocean you will not be disappointed and you won’t go far wrong if you choose the VPB as your base.

Room Tip: The 700 range have views through the palm trees to the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank klewless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were glad to hear that they contributed in making your stay pleasant.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

stayed at the beginning of feb for two weeks and had a great time.couple of niggles,the usual clowns saving sunbeds and then not using them.could have had more bar staff at peak times and the food was ok rather than good,but this is only a three star hotel so if you wany more you need to pay more.all of the staff were great and really looked after you.while we were there the snorkelling was poor but that was probably due to the weather.
not sure I would return but only because of the long flights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite the few inconveniences that you mentioned and we thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We will work on the few issues that you mentioned and we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen.
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This has been one of our favourite holidays, it's been lovely from the very start to the very end.
We cannot fault the hotel at all the staff have been great and very attentive, the rooms are lovely with comfy beds and although we were in a room near the bars we never had any problems with noise from them. They were also cleaned every day and towels changed.
We have enjoyed the food in the restaurant and always managed to find something to eat (diet needs to start as soon as we land) our little girl loved the fresh pancakes that were made mid afternoon.
The kids club is very good with lovely caring staff our little girl loved it. We have never used a kids club before but found it so nice to have time to relax knowing she was safe.
The pool area was alway kept clean and tidy, we had no problems with getting sun beds whenever we wanted to be by the pool.
The beach again was alway kept tidy and sun beds were always seemed to available. Beach towel are included with the all inclusive package and can be changed every day if needed.
We also took advantage of the peddle boats and the glass bottom boat trip these can be booked on the day but can get booked up early.
We booked a days speed boat trip with Raj on the beach and had the most fantastic day visiting an island,a waterfall and having a BBQ on the beach. This has to be one of the ways to see the wonders of Mauritius.
The market is held in flacq on a Sunday or Wednesday it's a taxi drive away and should cost around 500 rupees (see Raj) return the driver will wait for you. We loved the experience be prepared to haggle and all stall holders approach you.
Belle mare is a short walk along the beach it's not a busy place and has just a few shops but worth a visit.
Snorkelling can be done in the cordoned off beach area or on organised trips, at the end of day when the speedboats have finished we found it was quite safe to go beyond the cordoned area but still be aware of some boats.
We would recommend this holiday to anyone and we would come back here.
Review written while sat on the balcony in the sun :) xxx with the packing waiting to be done :( xxx

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
10  Thank 52LisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have greatly enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you immensely for sharing your views and impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were glad to hear that they contributed in making your stay pleasant.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

from start to finish superb hot towels on arrival while we sat and relaxed as they got our bags to the room then showed us all round attention to detail superb stayed from 15 feb 1 mar wish it could be forever paradise is hear serenity by the bucket load trips great and reasonably priced
glass bottom boat snorkelling trips free YES FREE lots of activities day and night ROOMS WERE GREAT SIZE SHOWER BRILLIANT SAFE FREE YES FREE WIFI FREE ALSO CLOTHES SPACE HUGE LOTS COAT HANGERS FOOD GREAT COOKED SPECIAL AS I WAS VEGETARIAN ASK AND THEY DO IT NOT TOO MUCH TROUBLE MINI BAR STOCKED DAILY NO CHARGE COFFE TEA IN ROOM ALSO DONE DAILY THIS SHOULD BE A HIGHER RATED HOTEL WITH THESE FACILITIES

Room Tip: get a room by the sea ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank basser47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the Team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel and it is staff are fantastic and helpful. We spent a wonderful two weeks here and the weather was beautiful. Special thanks for Cliff and Vanilla because help us in the organization of wedding. Our room was nice, confortable bed, bathroom clean. Thanks Fruzsina and Norbi from Hungary... we will return :)

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in the 305 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zsizsike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Cliff, Vanilla, the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Veranda Palmar Beach between 1st February and 13th February this year. We found the staff and management team very attentive and caring. They all genuinely want you to have the best holiday experience possible. The management team are very visible and take time out to interact with the guests. All requests or complaints (which we personally had non) are dealt with in a timely and professional manner. The rooms are large and airy with a big and comfortable bed. Extra pillows and coat hangers on request. The bathroom is large with an excellent shower. Mini bar restocked daily as part of AI. Rooms and all public areas are cleaned to a very high standard. Public toilets near to reception always spotless with plenty of toilet paper and clean hand towels. Drinks service in the restaurant very good and always with a smile. Unfortunately this was not extended to the main bar where service can be frustratedly slow. More bar personnel needed at busier times i.e evening. The bar staff really are not to blame as they work tirelessly. Just a shortage of of them at times. We found the food to be good, but at times a little cold. Plenty of choice and good quality for a 3 star establishment. I was given a tour and cookery master class in the kitchens. I found these to be spotless and excellent hygiene being practiced. Temperatures of all storage and food preparation areas recorded and documented. Wifi is free and available in all areas, even our room (602) shame on you 4 and 5 star resorts which charge a fortune for Wifi which is only available in the reception area. The staff and management really do want all guest to have a great holiday experience in their hotel. Don't be frightened to asked as if possible this hotel will make it happen.

I would like to thank all the staff and management of the Veranda Palmar Beach for our excellent holiday and a very memorable 50th Birthday for me. In the words of General Douglas MacArthur " I shall return"

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy to read that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again . See you soon and take care until then.

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Mauritius
#6 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,028 reviews
15.4 mi away
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,807 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Mauritius
Long Beach Mauritius
#4 of 12 in Belle Mare
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $214 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing