We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun sand and sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sun sand and sea”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Overall a good holiday experience.

The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. The buffet style food was fine with some of the local grilled fish being really nice. There was also the added touch of mid afternoon pancakes on offer. Some nights the restaurant was very busy although the timing of this differed so it isn't possible to recommend early or late dining.

Drinks and cocktails were ok with two drinks menus - one for the all inclusive drinks and one requiring payment. The all inclusive cocktails are made with local spirits. The local beer is an acquired taste, improved by a large splash of lemonade, but is drinkable. Beyond possibly creating slightly extra work for room service I don't get the logic of charging people on all inclusive deals for drinks supplied in their rooms (including tea and coffee after the first cuppa) . Most people simply order their free drinks (including water) from the bar and take these back to the rooms leaving empty glasses / cups for room service to clear anyway. Room service will still need to check the fridges in case someone has taken their supplies from there.

As reported elsewhere the entertainment stopped early, which for me was a blessing as I don't go to such beautiful islands to have my ears bashed by a beat box. The pool is on the small side. With six or more people in swimming it starts to feel overcrowded. That said most seem to gravitate towards the beach so it seldom did feel overcrowded. With very few notable exceptions this hotel seems to have escaped the usual towel bagging merchants who creep out in the middle of the night to reserve their sunbeds only to leave for a day's outing. The hotel issues guest with a card to echange for a beach towel. If the card or the towel isn't returned at the end of the stay a hefty fine is charged. Perhaps this helps to deter people from leaving their towels unattended? If so great! There are also some very nice mattresses on the way down to the beach - a really nice touch.

The size of the roped off sea area in front of the hotel varies with the tide but is quite small. Do watch out for the sea urchins. While they aren't rife they do exist. I am told it is necessary to separate swimmers from boats hence the need to cordon off an area. If you are looking for off shore snorkelling then forget it. It's too dangerous to dodge the passing boats and too far to get to the snorkelling area. The hotel has a boat that runs out to the snorkelling area once a day for an hour but this has to be at a set time according to the tide. If like me you prefer to snorkel as and when you feel like it this isn't the area for you. Nb this comment isn't unique to this hotel as it applies to all the others hotels along this stretch of the coast.

The hotel is in a good location in that it is right on the beach. However the nearby town of Belle Mare (15 minutes walk along the road or via the beach) has very little to offer by way of shops, cafes or restaurants. Possibly not surprising as most all of the hotels in the area offer all inclusive deals so there isn't really much demand from tourists. There are a couple of 'designer(?) clothes shops and small local shops but after 30 minutes to an hour you have seen it all. It is worth taking a trip to the nearby market a taxi ride away to sample a more local flavour of sights and sounds. Taxis from the hotel or on the adjacent road will cost you ten times the rate of the local taxi/bus from Belle Mare. Most tourists pay the premium rather than walk into town as it still won't break the piggy bank. NB be warned taxi drivers will encourage you to join them on a visit to designer clothes shops as they get credit for taking tourists there. If you are looking to spend loads of money, bored and / or it's raining you may not mind otherwise insist you don't want to go. If you want to venture farther affield you will need to hire a car or a taxi and driver for half a day to a day.

I don't want to give the wrong impression as I really did enjoy the holiday but I can't really go along with the superlative descriptions of other travellers e.g. 'second to none'. I have rated the hotel as very good as I felt 'average' was being unkind. I wish trip advisor would introduce 'good' as a sixth rating category as I feel the top end of good would be a fairer reflection for this hotel. For a very good to excellent rating I would be expecting more / better amenities (e.g. larger pool), larger beach side swimming area and a wider range of food and drinks. That said I personally liked the smaller / friendly feel of this hotel as opposed to the larger hotels nearby. The beach is nice, sea is warm and clear and it is relaxing here. If not for the fact that I rarely if ever go back to the same place twice I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    298
    79
    35
    10
See reviews for
315
543
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel for the night and loved it, stunning location and soft,powdery sand! We were lucky enough to take part in a pirate evening with a huge varierty of food to chose from.... Every bit if it delicious! The staff cant do enough for you and cliff looked after us well ensuring we enjoyed our stay. This hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard and rooms are lovely.... Would recommend this for anyone looking for a smaller, well run hotel on an amazing beach!
Hope to be back soon for a longer stay :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sami_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Trip advisor member,

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience here and we are happy that your expectations were met. We will convey your appreciation to the staff, who will be delighted to hear that they contributed in making the stay enjoyable. We also thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Our warmest regards from sunny Mauritius.

Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the only hotel that we have ever returned to. The hotel could be anywhere in the world but the staff are amazing. The hotel is clean. The management actually listen to the reviews, and make improvements accordingly. The spa is not brilliant but we are not that bothered about that. Try the fishing, organised through the beach.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in block 7. But all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear member of Trip Advisor,

We are delighted to read that you are keeping good memories of your holiday in our establishment and we thank you for sharing your experience on the web. Our improvements are the fruits of your constructive comments and we look forward to welcome you again should your future travelling plans bring you back to Mauritius.

Till then, take care and sunniest regards from Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just returned last week from a wonderful holiday here. All the staff are second to none, they will do anything to help you, go that extra mile and are all so friendly and a pleasure to be around. Our first time in Mauritius and we will certainly return to Veranda palmar beach, we were made to feel so welcome. Stayed in a great appartment ( room 712) overlooking the sea, plenty of sun-beds there and more than enough at the poolside too. Visited the West and the South of the island, but the East coast is by far the best beach, the breeze that I had read in an earlier review is most welcome as the weather is very hot and can be very fierce. If i had any gripes it would only be that the shop onsite is too expensive, not a huge problem as local shops are just a 15 min walk away. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april1983_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on this site. We were really honored by your presence amongst us and we are very glad that your requirements have been met. I will convey your appreciation to the whole team here and we look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Where to begin. Have just returned from the beautiful island of Mauritius and the one and only Palmar Beach. We arrived early hours of the morning and the hospitality we received was second to none. We were shown our room overlooking the pool and entertainment area, but after reading previous tripadvisor reviews which stated this area is noisy we asked to be moved beachside. This was done with the minimum of fuss and our home for the two weeks was then a couple of steps to the glorious beach which stretches for miles in either direction and although a public beach there was no hassle from over zealous vendors, once they had offered their wares they were soon on their way and were very polite, no hard sell whatsoever. The rooms at the hotel are basic but everywhere was spotlessly clean and being such a small hotel everyone soon got to know us. We have to mention a few people who really made our trip memorable and they are our adopted daughter Bernie in the restaurant and my husband’s adopted little sister Enielle. All the guys in the kitchen who probably nobody bothers about but managed to provide us with lots of food daily even though sometimes a little bland but we understand they have to cater for everyone and Chef will always cook you something if you ask. He cooked my husband a massive grilled fish which he had asked for and a spicier curry for me. The staff go the extra mile in this hotel and they all deserve praise. The girls in the Spa especially Dorine who always made us laugh and the beautiful Vanila. Oliver and Cliff the entertainments guys who always stopped for a chat. Entertainment here was just right for the size of the hotel and had something for everyone most nights. Also thanks to Cliff (non entertainment) for getting things done.

Definitely use Raj (Mauritian Arthur Daly) on the beach for any trips. He is trustworthy and a lot cheaper than the hotel rep. He is usually around on the beach most days in his flowerpot men hat! Do get Yogi to take you to the island he stops and his wife cooks the best ever BBQ and drinks we felt like Robinson Crusoe it was such a good day and he even took a rod so my husband could do some fishing and luckily for Yogi he managed to catch some fish! Which I am sure Yogi’s wife cooked up for his tea!

One of the downsides for us was the wifi which kept going on and off, they seriously need to sort this out. Apart from that we had one of the best holidays we have ever had and we are a well travelled couple and would not hesitate to return to Palmar Beach and would recommend to anyone. 5 star it is not but if that is what you want go to the hotel next door but I am sure we had much more fun with some of the nicest people we have ever met. We are missing it already.

Room Tip: Room 606 is an excellent room for lovely views of the beach and garden. Rooms nearer the beach quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terryirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience on this site. We were really honored by your presence amongst us and we are very glad that your requirements have been met. I will convey your appreciation to the whole team here and we look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Calming, peaceful and well run. Enlightened management engender a family atmosphere amongst the staff, which is evident in their willingness to put themselves out to make sure you enjoy your holiday. Our thanks to Bernadette, Nisha and Ennielle who looked after us in the dining room and Raj in the pool bar, who mixes a neat gin and tonic.

We were lucky to have a room overlooking the beach; couldn't have been better. Although entertainment stops at 11pm, if you can get a room away from the pool area, overall it's the better option.

Rooms are very clean, spacious and have nice bathrooms.

Over the two weeks, food was generally very good, though towards the end, there was a tendency for some dishes to run out if you came down to dinner later than 8pm. Apart from that, there was good choice, with fresh fruit, salads and vegetables always available. If you are going out for the day, the kitchen will supply a good packed lunch box.

The beach is not deep, but has beautiful, fine white sand bordering the cordoned off swimming area. Beyond the rope boats drive up and down the lagoon for water skiing etc. Even though the hotel was pretty full in the run up to Diwali, there were always plenty of loungers on the beach and round the pool.

We used the services of Raj on the beach to book a taxi to take us out for the day. Cheaper than hiring a car, or booking through the hotel or agent. Nelson Lafontaine was our driver and couldn't have been more charming. A whole long day touring the south of the island cost us approximately £40. We then booked directly with Nelson for a couple of other trips and negotiated better rates.

We dived with Dev at Divetime (situated at the Beach Emeraude Hotel about 20 minutes walk north from Palmar Beach, through Belle Mare village). Had a couple of nice dives, particularly the drift through The Canyon, before a passing cyclone ruined the visibility for the rest of our holiday.

When we were there (20th Oct to 3rd Nov) the clients were mostly French with a smattering of German, Italian and English. Mauritians joined us towards the end of the second week, for the Diwali holiday. Although there were a significant number of children around, we never felt they intruded, although when they congregated around the pool at the end of the afternoon to swim or join in the table tennis competition, inevitably noise levels increased.

We were pleased that the entertainment was organised but low key; no crew exhorting you to join in, no loud music playing all day and in the evening started at 9 and was over by 11.

Overall, just what was needed. Two sociable but quiet weeks in a well run hotel with all the facilities we needed to sightsee, relax, read, sit under a palm tree and watch the world go by, or join in if we wanted to.

Thank you to all, we had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 501 - 6 and 601 - 6 are quiet, look out towards the beach and get some late afternoon sun. 506...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlumTreeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

We thank you very much for sharing your views on your recent holidays in our establishment. We are delighted that overall, you had an enjoyable stay. We have taken good note of your comments on food replenishment and our chef has already been briefed on that issue.

We look forward to welcoming you again should your future travelling plans bring you again to Mauritius.

With our sunniest regards.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

we spent a week at this hotel mid october. the hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are vey clean, nice and quite spacious. we shared our room with our 3-year old son and it was large enough. the kids club is nice, with very friendly and caring staff. our son loved going there, although i would say the activities and materials are basic, it is a good place to leave a child if you want a couple of hours to yourself. the beach facilities are great and the beach fabulous. several other hotels are walking distance via the beach so we often went to lunch elsewhere. the evening buffet at the hotel is average, breakfast is good. the hotel is located quite far from major attractions so we rented a car, distances were still far. i would recipommend this hotel if you mainly want to stay put.

Room Tip: ask for a room alomg the beach, awypay from the pool if you want an early night as there is very lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leendec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,

We thank you for your comments following your stay at Veranda Pointe aux Biches and we are pleased to learn that overall you satisfaction was met. We have well noted your comments in regards to the evening buffet and our chef is already working on re-organizing the buffet to satisfy each and everyone’s taste. Should your future travelling plans bring you back to Mauritius, we would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

With our kindest regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#7 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,765 reviews
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing