We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Veranda Palmar beach for 13 nights as part of our honeymoon and overall had an excellent stay.

It’s a smaller hotel (with 76 rooms), but with a really friendly atmosphere. The staff are really helpful and always on hand to meet your every need.

The hotel itself is kept to a high standard, it is spotlessly clean and the grounds are well maintained. The hotel is right on the beach front (just a few steps separate the beach from the hotel).

Our room was cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis.

We were provided a card upon arrival to the hotel which allowed us access to fresh beach towels from the beach hut, these must be returned within 48 hours where you then have the option to exchange them for fresh towels or the towel card.

A few things to bear in mind, the all inclusive does not include the tea or coffee facilities in the room (with exception of your first night) or water and soft drinks in the minibar, we found this odd as all of these items are available as part of the all inclusive from the pool bar.

Pizza and fries are available upon request from the beach and pool bar between 12:00 and 15:00, this wasn’t made very clear to us during our welcome talk from the hotel upon arrival. Ice cream is also available for dessert included in the all inclusive, but you do need to ask your waiter/waitress for this.

Our second week was slightly disappointing as unfortunately a large group of 26 people booked into the hotel and soon dominated the establishment (however this was not directly related to the hotel or staff whom have no control over guests and did make attempts to satisfy all guests’ needs). Unfortunately, no matter what the staff did to minimise the impact of the large group, the relaxing tranquil atmosphere was ruined; this left a number of us wondering why such a small hotel allowed such a big group to check in.

The hotel also appeared happy to allow topless sunbathing which surprised us based on previous experiences of similar sized/style hotels. Smoking is also permitted around the pool, on the beach and pretty much anywhere apart from the restaurant; unfortunately based on the behaviours of individuals this can often be frustrating if you are a non-smoker or have young children.

If you’re thinking of booking any trips, there is a guy called Raj on the beach who can arrange any trip you require for a small fee. We purchased a trip to Ile Aux Cerfs which included a speedboat transfer, visit to a waterfall (viewable from the boat, is quite small and overcrowded with other tourist boats) and finally return to the island for a beach BBQ. The BBQ was lovely if you like seafood and well worth the money.

Whilst visiting Mauritius a trip to Casella Park to walk with the Lions is a must, we arranged this through our Virgin Representative; although it was pricey it was well worth it.

Finally a visit to Flacq Market is highly recommended, this is a medium sized local market held on a Wednesday and Sunday. It is a short taxi ride from the hotel and is well worth a look as it is much cheaper for souvenirs than the hotel/Belle Mare and full of local colour.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool can be noisy in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Joanne,

t was our pleasure to host you at Veranda Palmar Beach for your honeymoon and we thank you very much for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. My team and myself always try our best to meet our valuable guests’ expectations but unfortunately it happens that at times things do get out of our control, to the disappointment of our guests and we feel sorry for that. Please rest assured that due consideration will be given to the points that you have raised in your comments and in that respect we have already included the mini bar in the All Inclusive package.

We will be most delighted to welcome you again should you plan another visit to Mauritius in the future.

Kindest Regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    284
    72
    33
    10
See reviews for
295
511
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Well it was our first visit to mauritius, we chose this hotel and we didn't regret upon our choice. Excellent service. We were welcomed warmly, As soon as we arrived we were served with delicious hot pancakes, But we were a bit unhappy with the loud music at night. In overall we enjoyed our trip here and we cannot stop ourself from coming a second time here. Special thanks to restaurant girls namely Bernadete, Eniele and kitchen guys Ajay, Akshay and who just did everything to satisfy us and made our stay memorable, some more we can't remember their name well. Wish you lots of courage and prosperity

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,
It was our pleasure to host you for your first visit to Mauritius and we are glad that you made the good choice. We thank you for sharing your experience on the web and we’ll be waiting to welcome you again soon. We will convey your appreciation to the staff mentioned in your comments

Sunniest regards from the team of Veranda Palmar Beach.

JeanMarie Chinnapen

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that the 3star rating of this hotel nearly put me off booking! Well I shouldn't have worried! My boyfriend and I have just come back from a 10 day stay at the veranda palmer hotel and have never enjoyed a holiday so much!

From the moment we arrived the staff did everything to make sure we had the most relaxing time possible, nothing was to much bother, always friendly and smiling which made a huge difference to the usually miserable faces in London!

The food, although only a small selection at the buffet compared to some all inclusives was always very well cooked and delicious and if you couldn't find anything you liked you only had to ask and they would try there best to accommodate. Alternatively you could eat at the al a carte restaurant on the beach which was lovely, I had steak and my boyfriend had lobster both were top notch!

Being a young couple I was also a little worried that although we wanted a relaxing holiday it may be too boring in the evenings but the entertainment was great, better than any other hotel I ve stayed in with a lot of variety. That being said it finished by 11 so you could still go back to the room and have a chilled night if you wanted to without it disturbing you. We had a room by the pool so could watch the entertainement from there but if you wanted a quieter room maybe request one of the ones by the beach. The singer was really good and had a lovely voice he sung different songs to so it didn't get boring seeing him perform more than once.

The hotel was also spotlessly clean and when we asked for extra pillows they were there straight away. We had an amazing massage in the spa really professional and relaxing and not too expensive.

Aside from this being such a beautiful island the staff at the hotel made it for me, they are a credit to the hotel!! Special thanks to Oumesh, Avinash, Danny, Bernadette, Enielle and Nisha for looking after us, also to the entertainment staff without you all our holiday wouldn't have been the same.

Thanks guys love from Dan and Laura room 203 30th sept-10th oct xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,

We thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. This will undoubtedly help other holiday makers in their plan to visit our country in the future.
My team and I are delighted that your expectations were met and we will definitely keep the same track to satisfy our valuable customers.
Please rest assured that we will convey your special thanks to all team members mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in our establishment should you decide to come back to Mauritius.

Sunniest regards from all the staff of Veranda Palmar Beach Resorts.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful weeks in the Veranda Palmar Beach. A perfect mixture between a nice, tidy and very well organised hotel, very friendly and customer oriented staff (without exception), a beautiful beach and environment. Also the mixture of guests was very pleasant (never boring, but also not Mallorca). We booked 'all inclusive' and the meals on the buffet changed every day! Both kids and parents felt like in paradise. We recommend this Hotel without any condition/retention!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrigu_Luescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff rendered service that was beyond our expectations. A family friendly hotel even though most of the guests staying at the time we were there had no kids. Beautiful stretch of beach and gracious pool. Restaurant staff are friendly and obliging to deliver on special requests. A picnic basket is provided at one days notice (all inclusive package),which is welcome when you have kids and are going about sight seeing for the day. Skillful towel art greets you when you enter your room each day after a hard day at the beach or pool,be prepared to be welcomed by a swan, elephant or maybe even a tortoise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and given that we visited at the end of September we had lovely weather and an awesome stay experience to match.

Room Tip: If you have young kids a room closer to the beach will be better as the rooms overlooking the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Fatima,

We thank you for sharing your comments following your recent holiday at our hotel and we are very pleased to learn that the service delivered by our staff was beyond your expectations. Your appreciation reflects perfectly our philosophy to respond to our valuable guests’ needs as accurately as possible. We look forward to welcoming you again should you plan another visit to Mauritius in the future.

Thank you and sunniest greetings from the whole team.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingford London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first time from the 7th to the 21st September 2013. This time is approaching the end of the winter season and the beginning of summer - a good time to visit.

The hotel is small and intimate. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our room, 811, on the first floor was overlooking the gardens and the beach. There is a safe in the rooms which is free and also tea and coffee making facilities. On your arrival there is tea and coffee in your room but once this has been used, any future sachets of coffee and teabags have to be paid for. Water and other drinks and snacks are supplied in the minibar, but these have to be paid for. However water can be obtained at the hotel bar which is free and it has to be noted that it would be good to take water to the room every evening before bed as the bar does not open until 11am daily, although I am sure that water could be obtained at breakfast if absolutely necessary, although we never tried. There is air conditioning in the rooms and also as there is free WIFI at the hotel this can be obtained in some of the rooms. There is also an Internet area available in reception.

The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and beach/pool towels are also supplied. The beds are very comfortable and large.

The staff are extremely helpful and very polite.

The bars open at 11 am to 11 pm for the all inclusive drinks but after 11 pm drinks have to be paid for and any alcoholic cocktails have to be paid for at any time.

There is an a la carte option two or three days weekly. Items marked with 3 asterisks are included in the all inclusive package, but anything else has to be paid for, there is also a barbecue, but this too has to be paid for. The all inclusive package also finishes on your last day at approximately 2 pm, which is something my husband and I couldn't understand as quite a few flights left at 10 pm which meant that food and drink had to be paid for and this is not cheap. If you are lucky enough to keep your room at a charge (in £ works out at about £30) you are given a takeaway box with sandwiches but your all inclusive option still finished at 2pm.

The food is very good and if there is anything that you specifically require, the chefs will endeavour to supply it. However we do feel that there should be more variety and if you are a typically English/European food person, you may find it difficult. At breakfast there is two or three cereals, eggs (boiled, fried or omelette) but I am sure if you wanted scrambled eggs the chefs would oblige, pancakes, fruit, rice, other dishes, bread and rolls. Lunch has rice dishes, meat dishes, fish, pasta, salads and sweets, bread. Dinner has a different type of meat or fish to be cooked while you wait, vegetables, pasta, salads and desserts. At about 4 pm daily pancakes are available.

There is waiter/waitresses service for drinks at meal times.

There is entertainment most nights with the exception of Sundays and Bank Holidays, but on these days there is a DJ. There is also entertainment during the day if so required.

The beach is lovely with plenty of sun beds. There is a free sauna. There is a spa but this has to be paid for. Water sports are free. The pool is very nice and the grounds are lovely.

Money can be changed at Reception, but a better rate of exchange can be obtained at the Airport and exchanges in Palmar and Belle Mare. The hotel is within walking distance of Belle Mare with its many clothes shops, but taxis are cheap and a safer way as the pavements are unmade in a lot of places along the route and taxis would be necessary to go further afield.

There are quite a few lovely trips to do on this beautiful island including Li'lle Aux Cerfs, the North and South of the island and there is a spectacular view on the West side. In respect of trips, there is a man on the beach called Raj who does all the trips recommended by the travel reps at a very reasonable price and all our trips were done with him and were excellent.

Apart from the unusual ideas of their all inclusive package, I would recommend this hotel and would return to it myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank teresamcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guests,

We thank you for your comments and we have appreciated your constructive remarks which will undoubtedly be taken into consideration ito enhance our service and review the offers in our package. We are pleased to learn that, overall, your expectations have been met and that you keep a good souvenir of your stay with us. Should your travel plan include another visit at our establishment in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back again.
Thanks you again and sunniest regards from Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband, two teenage sons and myself spent two fantastic weeks at this lovely hotel, from 20th Aug to 3rd Sept 2013.
After a long journey via Dubai, we arrived to hot towels, fresh drinks and welcoming smiles. We were shown to our newly refurbished rooms which were basic but fine for our needs. The rooms were always kept immaculately clean by our lovely maid Indirah, who provided us with the most amazing towel art each day. The bed was large and very comfortable. We had rooms near the pool end of the resort which were fine for us, however, this was also the entertainment part of the complex and so could be noisy with music and guests having a good time etc. I suggest rooms near the beach end if you go to bed early.
We were a little concerned about the variety of food before going as our boys are a little "fussy' to say the least, but we need not of worried....there was always plenty to choose from and if there wasn't, chef would happily make pizza, burgers, chips with a little prior notice. The catering and restaurant staff work extremely hard and always provide service with a smile-thank you Nisha, Enille, Bernadette and many others of who we unfortunately don't know their names.
Before going to Mauritius, we read many reviews on trip advisor (some of which are a little 'picky' in my opinion) but found the recommendation for using Raj to book excursions most helpful. He was at least half the price of the tour operator and we booked the most amazing day to Ile Aux Cerfs through him. We had our own speedboat for the day and Yogi (the skipper) showed us the most breathtaking scenery aswel as providing us with a bbq lunch cooked and served by his lovely wife which consisted of; lobster, fish, chicken, prawns, salad, beer, and soft drinks. I cant recommend this trip enough.....its a MUST! Raj also provided us with a local taxi driver, Vishal. He was more like our personal tour guide. He spoke very good english and showed us the real Mauritius, stopping at temples, beaches, tea and sugar plantations etc, things of which you would normally book to visit. The taxi was yours for the whole day (8am-6pm) and cost about £40 which was great value for money. We hired vishal on a few occasions and managed to see the whole island. A huge thank you Vishal, you have given my family some great memories.
Finally, i would just like to say a special thank you to cliff at the front reception, not only were you always very professional and tended to our every need, you too have provided my family with some everlasting memories...cheers! And to Shyam....a true gentleman in every way.
Overall, this is a great hotel, set on the best stretch of beach. The thing that really makes the Veranda Palmar special is the fabulous people who work there.....thanks a million, The Arnold family.
Tips.......1.Change your money at the airport when you arrive, a much better rate. 2. take a cardigan/jumper if travelling in Mauritian winter....can get a bit chilly in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach will be quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your choice to stay at our resorts and we are delighted that your expectations were met during your holiday with us. It was a pleasure for my dedicated team and myself to assist you and we are more than happy that our mission, which is to exceed our guests’ expectations, have been fulfilled. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kindest Regards
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Palmar
3,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Hotel
La Palmeraie Hotel
#5 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,013 reviews
2.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Property: Veranda Palmar Beach
Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing