We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Veranda Palmar Beach
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that the 3star rating of this hotel nearly put me off booking! Well I shouldn't have worried! My boyfriend and I have just come back from a 10 day stay at the veranda palmer hotel and have never enjoyed a holiday so much!

From the moment we arrived the staff did everything to make sure we had the most relaxing time possible, nothing was to much bother, always friendly and smiling which made a huge difference to the usually miserable faces in London!

The food, although only a small selection at the buffet compared to some all inclusives was always very well cooked and delicious and if you couldn't find anything you liked you only had to ask and they would try there best to accommodate. Alternatively you could eat at the al a carte restaurant on the beach which was lovely, I had steak and my boyfriend had lobster both were top notch!

Being a young couple I was also a little worried that although we wanted a relaxing holiday it may be too boring in the evenings but the entertainment was great, better than any other hotel I ve stayed in with a lot of variety. That being said it finished by 11 so you could still go back to the room and have a chilled night if you wanted to without it disturbing you. We had a room by the pool so could watch the entertainement from there but if you wanted a quieter room maybe request one of the ones by the beach. The singer was really good and had a lovely voice he sung different songs to so it didn't get boring seeing him perform more than once.

The hotel was also spotlessly clean and when we asked for extra pillows they were there straight away. We had an amazing massage in the spa really professional and relaxing and not too expensive.

Aside from this being such a beautiful island the staff at the hotel made it for me, they are a credit to the hotel!! Special thanks to Oumesh, Avinash, Danny, Bernadette, Enielle and Nisha for looking after us, also to the entertainment staff without you all our holiday wouldn't have been the same.

Thanks guys love from Dan and Laura room 203 30th sept-10th oct xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor member,

We thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. This will undoubtedly help other holiday makers in their plan to visit our country in the future.
My team and I are delighted that your expectations were met and we will definitely keep the same track to satisfy our valuable customers.
Please rest assured that we will convey your special thanks to all team members mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you once again in our establishment should you decide to come back to Mauritius.

Sunniest regards from all the staff of Veranda Palmar Beach Resorts.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful weeks in the Veranda Palmar Beach. A perfect mixture between a nice, tidy and very well organised hotel, very friendly and customer oriented staff (without exception), a beautiful beach and environment. Also the mixture of guests was very pleasant (never boring, but also not Mallorca). We booked 'all inclusive' and the meals on the buffet changed every day! Both kids and parents felt like in paradise. We recommend this Hotel without any condition/retention!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrigu_Luescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Member of Trip Advisor,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Palmar Beach. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again .

Sunny Greetings
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager
Veranda Palmar Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff rendered service that was beyond our expectations. A family friendly hotel even though most of the guests staying at the time we were there had no kids. Beautiful stretch of beach and gracious pool. Restaurant staff are friendly and obliging to deliver on special requests. A picnic basket is provided at one days notice (all inclusive package),which is welcome when you have kids and are going about sight seeing for the day. Skillful towel art greets you when you enter your room each day after a hard day at the beach or pool,be prepared to be welcomed by a swan, elephant or maybe even a tortoise. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and given that we visited at the end of September we had lovely weather and an awesome stay experience to match.

Room Tip: If you have young kids a room closer to the beach will be better as the rooms overlooking the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Mrs Fatima,

We thank you for sharing your comments following your recent holiday at our hotel and we are very pleased to learn that the service delivered by our staff was beyond your expectations. Your appreciation reflects perfectly our philosophy to respond to our valuable guests’ needs as accurately as possible. We look forward to welcoming you again should you plan another visit to Mauritius in the future.

Thank you and sunniest greetings from the whole team.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first time from the 7th to the 21st September 2013. This time is approaching the end of the winter season and the beginning of summer - a good time to visit.

The hotel is small and intimate. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Our room, 811, on the first floor was overlooking the gardens and the beach. There is a safe in the rooms which is free and also tea and coffee making facilities. On your arrival there is tea and coffee in your room but once this has been used, any future sachets of coffee and teabags have to be paid for. Water and other drinks and snacks are supplied in the minibar, but these have to be paid for. However water can be obtained at the hotel bar which is free and it has to be noted that it would be good to take water to the room every evening before bed as the bar does not open until 11am daily, although I am sure that water could be obtained at breakfast if absolutely necessary, although we never tried. There is air conditioning in the rooms and also as there is free WIFI at the hotel this can be obtained in some of the rooms. There is also an Internet area available in reception.

The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and beach/pool towels are also supplied. The beds are very comfortable and large.

The staff are extremely helpful and very polite.

The bars open at 11 am to 11 pm for the all inclusive drinks but after 11 pm drinks have to be paid for and any alcoholic cocktails have to be paid for at any time.

There is an a la carte option two or three days weekly. Items marked with 3 asterisks are included in the all inclusive package, but anything else has to be paid for, there is also a barbecue, but this too has to be paid for. The all inclusive package also finishes on your last day at approximately 2 pm, which is something my husband and I couldn't understand as quite a few flights left at 10 pm which meant that food and drink had to be paid for and this is not cheap. If you are lucky enough to keep your room at a charge (in £ works out at about £30) you are given a takeaway box with sandwiches but your all inclusive option still finished at 2pm.

The food is very good and if there is anything that you specifically require, the chefs will endeavour to supply it. However we do feel that there should be more variety and if you are a typically English/European food person, you may find it difficult. At breakfast there is two or three cereals, eggs (boiled, fried or omelette) but I am sure if you wanted scrambled eggs the chefs would oblige, pancakes, fruit, rice, other dishes, bread and rolls. Lunch has rice dishes, meat dishes, fish, pasta, salads and sweets, bread. Dinner has a different type of meat or fish to be cooked while you wait, vegetables, pasta, salads and desserts. At about 4 pm daily pancakes are available.

There is waiter/waitresses service for drinks at meal times.

There is entertainment most nights with the exception of Sundays and Bank Holidays, but on these days there is a DJ. There is also entertainment during the day if so required.

The beach is lovely with plenty of sun beds. There is a free sauna. There is a spa but this has to be paid for. Water sports are free. The pool is very nice and the grounds are lovely.

Money can be changed at Reception, but a better rate of exchange can be obtained at the Airport and exchanges in Palmar and Belle Mare. The hotel is within walking distance of Belle Mare with its many clothes shops, but taxis are cheap and a safer way as the pavements are unmade in a lot of places along the route and taxis would be necessary to go further afield.

There are quite a few lovely trips to do on this beautiful island including Li'lle Aux Cerfs, the North and South of the island and there is a spectacular view on the West side. In respect of trips, there is a man on the beach called Raj who does all the trips recommended by the travel reps at a very reasonable price and all our trips were done with him and were excellent.

Apart from the unusual ideas of their all inclusive package, I would recommend this hotel and would return to it myself.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank teresamcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guests,

We thank you for your comments and we have appreciated your constructive remarks which will undoubtedly be taken into consideration ito enhance our service and review the offers in our package. We are pleased to learn that, overall, your expectations have been met and that you keep a good souvenir of your stay with us. Should your travel plan include another visit at our establishment in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back again.
Thanks you again and sunniest regards from Mauritius.

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband, two teenage sons and myself spent two fantastic weeks at this lovely hotel, from 20th Aug to 3rd Sept 2013.
After a long journey via Dubai, we arrived to hot towels, fresh drinks and welcoming smiles. We were shown to our newly refurbished rooms which were basic but fine for our needs. The rooms were always kept immaculately clean by our lovely maid Indirah, who provided us with the most amazing towel art each day. The bed was large and very comfortable. We had rooms near the pool end of the resort which were fine for us, however, this was also the entertainment part of the complex and so could be noisy with music and guests having a good time etc. I suggest rooms near the beach end if you go to bed early.
We were a little concerned about the variety of food before going as our boys are a little "fussy' to say the least, but we need not of worried....there was always plenty to choose from and if there wasn't, chef would happily make pizza, burgers, chips with a little prior notice. The catering and restaurant staff work extremely hard and always provide service with a smile-thank you Nisha, Enille, Bernadette and many others of who we unfortunately don't know their names.
Before going to Mauritius, we read many reviews on trip advisor (some of which are a little 'picky' in my opinion) but found the recommendation for using Raj to book excursions most helpful. He was at least half the price of the tour operator and we booked the most amazing day to Ile Aux Cerfs through him. We had our own speedboat for the day and Yogi (the skipper) showed us the most breathtaking scenery aswel as providing us with a bbq lunch cooked and served by his lovely wife which consisted of; lobster, fish, chicken, prawns, salad, beer, and soft drinks. I cant recommend this trip enough.....its a MUST! Raj also provided us with a local taxi driver, Vishal. He was more like our personal tour guide. He spoke very good english and showed us the real Mauritius, stopping at temples, beaches, tea and sugar plantations etc, things of which you would normally book to visit. The taxi was yours for the whole day (8am-6pm) and cost about £40 which was great value for money. We hired vishal on a few occasions and managed to see the whole island. A huge thank you Vishal, you have given my family some great memories.
Finally, i would just like to say a special thank you to cliff at the front reception, not only were you always very professional and tended to our every need, you too have provided my family with some everlasting memories...cheers! And to Shyam....a true gentleman in every way.
Overall, this is a great hotel, set on the best stretch of beach. The thing that really makes the Veranda Palmar special is the fabulous people who work there.....thanks a million, The Arnold family.
Tips.......1.Change your money at the airport when you arrive, a much better rate. 2. take a cardigan/jumper if travelling in Mauritian winter....can get a bit chilly in the evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach will be quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your choice to stay at our resorts and we are delighted that your expectations were met during your holiday with us. It was a pleasure for my dedicated team and myself to assist you and we are more than happy that our mission, which is to exceed our guests’ expectations, have been fulfilled. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kindest Regards
Jean Marie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We travelled to Veranda Palmer beach hotel in August to get married and then continue for two weeks thereafter for a honeymoon. The wedding organiser Melissa was absolutely excellent, she made the day perfect and we couldn’t have asked for more. The photos are fantastic and it was a day we will never forget. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and made the trip very enjoyable, we would defiantly return. Thank you for the great holiday!

Room Tip: There are many rooms try to get one with a sea view as they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you have had a wonderful time for your honeymoon at Veranda Palmar hotel and that you will be keeping good memories of your stay with us. We thank you for having chosen our hotel for this important life event and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. We wish you many, many wedding anniversaries, that you will hopefully choose to spend at Veranda Palmar Beach.

Kindest Regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived after our a long journey to a refreshing drink and an introduction to the hotel.
Our room was comfortable and cleaned daily. We did have an issue with towels in the first few days but this was quickly resolved. We stayed in room 300 on the ground floor which was a very good location in terms of the bar and restaurant but it was noisy, the entertainment was booming and you could hear guests in the pool room opposite and the restaurant late at night when you were trying to sleep. We did find it a bit strange having paid for an all inclusive package that water (or any other drinks) in our mini bar were not included free of charge. You can get drinks from the bar as long as its between 11am to 11pm otherwise you get charged for them. You also get charged for tea and coffee in your room. The other concerning issue was that our safe was not bolted down and quite often the maids left our patio door open after cleaning, we didn't feel that it was very safe. We also didn't have any hot water for two days, but this was quickly fixed once reported.
The staff throughout the resort were very friendly, especially David in reception and the girls in the Regatta restaurant. The hotel beach was nice and the pool area was good too. The food we felt was not very good, there didn't seem to be much variety and it was never very hot.
You can book trips via Raj on the beach but we hired a car out for the week and explored the whole island and visited a lot of places for a fraction of the price. We loved meeting the lion cubs at the Casela Safari Park and meeting all the animals on the safari trip. We also had a great experience at the Tamarin 7 Waterfalls but you will need a guide to help you climb down as it is too treacherous to do it by yourself!
We didn't feel our holiday ended on the best note though, the hotel locked our mini bar fridge as we were leaving early the next morning so we couldn't store our water overnight and then they tried to charge us for a bottle of water and drinks from the pool bar that we didn't drink!
Overall it was a good holiday and the hotel is a good base for exploring or if you don't wish to explore you can spend time relaxing in the resort.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room on the beach side if you like peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Palmar Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Trip advisor member,

We, first of all, wish to thank you for your visit at Veranda Palmar Beach. We are sincerely sorry that your stay has somehow been tarnished by some issues as mentioned in your comments. We take good note of your constructive remarks and you may rest assured that due consideration will be given to them to as soon as possible.. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

JeanMarie Chinnapen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
0.2 mi away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#6 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,921 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,310 reviews
18.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 13 in Belle Mare
5,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Palmar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Palmar Beach

Address: Coastal Road, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 42210
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#6 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: $177 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Veranda Palmar Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE JOY OF SEASIDE LIVING Limpid blue waters, white sandy beaches, shady filao trees… what more could you want? Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel, on the superb east coast boasts one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. The seaside hotel offers the whole gamut of delights that the ocean and the beach guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Veranda Palmar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Palmar Beach Hotel Belle Mare
Veranda Palmar Beach Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing