We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Everything was wonderful. high level of service, extravagant houses with beautiful sea views. unique gardens and greenery everywhere, which makes you feel unique among carved it. huge variety of water sports activities. staff was top notch and made so as to spend a wonderful and very relaxing holiday. for me and my family was a pleasure and a wonderful experience to be on the island at the hotel in the company of this A wonderful personol.

Room Tip: extravagant houses with beautiful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank kanliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for sparing time to post review of our resort.

Appreciation from our guests is reassuring and I am pleased that you enjoyed our water sports facilities. The team is enthused at the recognition given to them and feels motivated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in the Maldives- the sunny side of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    147
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
210
748
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Male, Maldives
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru was one of the most relaxing resorts I have ever stayed at. Very quiet with a great deal of privacy and comfort. Perfect for a small family or couple looking to relax and do nothing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Wes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for sparing time to post review of our resort and recommending our resort for couples.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant and memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in the Maldives- the sunny side of life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

After flying through the night we arrived in Male feeling a bit jaded knowing we still hadn’t reached our destination. However, we needn’t have worried. We were met by a very capable member of Banyan Tree staff who wasted no time in getting us on a speed boat for a smooth ride out to the island.

We were met by Waheed and a drummer, we felt so welcomed from the word go. Check in ran smoothly and efficiently while we drank a wonderful iced tea and started to take in our surroundings.

We were shown to our Beach Front Villa which looked very welcoming, soft music playing and a lovely smell of incense. As we investigated further we were delighted to find it was just as we had seen in the ad pictures and even better as we could now hear the sound of the sea.
The weather was perfect and the sea just the right temperature to help you cool down.
There were mosquito nets around the bed but we never encountered one.

The chic bathroom seemed to melt into the surroundings. There were no windows or outside door but the clever arrangement gave the necessary feeling of privacy along with a wonderful outdoor feeling. The mirrored closet gave a very spacious feeling to an already large bathroom.

The pool and Jacuzzi were an added luxury with a settee with an outside standing lamp that gave a lovely warm feeling to the garden area in the evening.

The wonderful aqua tones of the sea and sky changing throughout the day and into the evening were extremely relaxing and amazing to watch. The sea was so clear and shallow that if you chose not to snorkel you could still see beautiful coloured fish, friendly sharks and stingray fish. The reef was close to shore with passages leading through which gave you the choice of swimming in shallow or deeper water to view it.

Shoes were discarded from the moment of arrival until we got off the speed boat at Male to return home.

Meal times were always a delight. There was a great choice of wonderfully healthy food and in the 8 days we stayed I don’t think I saw the same dish twice!

The service was excellent and always with a smile. We had Ziyad assigned to us in the restaurant. He saw that we had everything we needed and just the right amount of time being social with us. And of course, always with a smile and welcoming comment.

We were there for New Year’s Eve when a trip to a sand bank was arranged for a champagne pre dinner drink. We had found sarongs laid out on our bed the previous night with our names on them to be worn on the trip. What a lovely thought. When we returned from the trip we found that our bed had been decorated beautifully with rose petals and the sheet pleated in an intricate pattern by Rasheed, our house keeper who always had a wonderful smile and a happy comment for us.

The spa was out of this world. I had a treatment lasting 3 hours and floated out feeling amazing and so well looked after.

The Marine Lab together with the Water Sport Centre have a programme to save the marine life.
We were given an excellent lecture by Moosa, who is so knowledgeable about how turtles are looked after from birth until they are capable of taking care of themselves. He also talked about how reefs are formed and what they do to take care of the reef, and how vulnerable the corals are and the programme to nurse them and look after the environment. Over all, the whole resort is very environmentally friendly with options of island produced glass-bottled water as a choice to imported plastic bottles, dispensers for toiletries instead of disposable ones, just to mention a few. The introduction lecture for snorkelling and diving was very informative and the snorkelling gear was complimentary for the whole stay.

The last 18 hours of our holiday were spent on the lovely Velaa where the crew were so friendly and we had a lot of fun with them. We had a romantic dinner on deck and at the same time the crew caught squid which we not only participated in catching but enjoyed eating once they had cooked it. It just couldn’t have been fresher!!!

There is so much to say not only about the island but the wonderful people who look after you but maybe I should leave something for you to discover for yourself.

We would like to say a special ‘Thank you” to Abdulla Simaad who obviously enjoys his work and for the much appreciated arrangements. He was very communicative and so knowledgeable about the environment of the island and always had time to talk. In fact, one of the wonderful things about everyone there was their calm friendly manner encouraging you to relax from the moment of arrival.

We just can’t wait to return, hopefully, later this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your post. Your review is detailed, descriptive and very encouraging.

We are pleased that services and facilities at the resort were able to contribute towards creating pleasant and cherishing memories of Maldives- the sunny side of life.

Marine conservation is important to us. I have shared your appreciation with Moosa and Simaad for whom the recognition is motivating.

I am pleased to note that you intent to return later this year and would be pleased to assist you in making arrangements should you desire.

My team and I thank you for sparing valuable time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed for ten nights and it still wasn't enough.... It is such a beautiful island. All the staff are amazing and very welcoming. The villas are beautifully decorated and well equipped. There are some coral pieces lying around on the sand and in the water. We brought our reef shoes which came in very handy. There were a couple of days where there were some jelly fish in the lagoon, due to strong current, they did sting (not very painful, just irritating). We would bring our rashy tops (or stinger suit if you have one) next time for snorkelling. The snorkelling is brilliant, so many beautiful fish and other marine life (reef sharks, turtles, stingrays). You can also snorkel around the reef of the sister island (Ansgana) which is a free 5min boat ride. Seeing the mantas up close and watching the stingray feeding were highlights. All our meals were included. Our favourite was the Maldivian buffet night (Friday nights), with yummy traditional foods, singing and dancing. We are vegetarians, the staff made sure we were catered for. Overall an excellent and very special experience for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 2. We could see the sunsets from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pana76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of our resort and I am pleased to note that we were able to make your stay relaxing, comfortable and memorable.

Corals are the most valuable resource and asset to the islands in the Maldives. I am pleased that you enjoyed snorkeling in our blue lagoons and were able to experience the rich marine life. It is unfortunate to note that you were stung by the jelly fish during your stay and am happy that the irritation did not mar the memories of your stay in general.

My team and I thank you for sparing time to provide feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great resort, located just 20 minutes by boat from Male. Perfect organization and very careful. Rooms are clean, tastefully decorated, spacious rooms. The reef is not very close to the beach but very nice. Part of the Male exposed to the wind, there are artificial barriers against the current of the sea, pity .....
The restaurant staff very attentive and professional. I recommend Mr. Lamir. A true master of the house ..... Very professional and attentive to customer needs Mr. Wolfgang, Austria, responsible for F & B.
Only defect ....... the variety 'of food. Too little, monotonous, with oriental influence and certainly not up to the resort. Maybe it would take an Italian chef?
Anyway I want to thank everyone for the warm welcome and professionalism 'with whom you took care of us.

Room Tip: Room in front of Angsana Island are better.......no wind, nice laguna, beach clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanomar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you for the resort to be conveniently located and well appointed. Your appreciation of Lamir and Wolfgang is generous and motivating.

Shifting of the beach and erosion are part of the island's living nature. Whilst we can create concrete barriers to prevent this, we have chosen not to do so as that would interfere with nature. The sand barriers noticed by you allow us to limit the erosion caused by seasonal currents. I regret if this inconvenienced you, but am happy to note that you liked our house reef.

I have also made note that we were unable to meet your culinary expectations and will work with our Chef to make it more interesting and appealing to all our guests. Your feedback helps us in our endeavor of continuous improvement.

My team and I thank you for sparing your valuable time and look forward to welcoming you back to our paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days at BT Vabbinfaru. The room we stayed is a Oceanfront room which has its own private pool and jacuzzi. The room is very big and feel very private. The beach is very clean and pretty. Words can't describe. We also tried the spa and it is excellent. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the room rate and they are good. Also a special thanks to hotel for the sarong gift on the Christmas Eve, we like it very much.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryhotelfansclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas holidays with us and that we could make your stay comfortable and memorable.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru is a very good choice in the Maldives for several reasons listed below. First note that in terms of benchmark we usually stay at Four Seasons or Aman Resorts, as well as Oriental Express resorts.

1. excellent speed boat shuttle service from Male. 1000 better than resorts where a hydroplane is required (flying only during the day and making multiple stops on the way...)

2. The Reef is beautiful, well preserved (this is a marine reserve for Turtles), with reef sharks and rays coming every day as well

3. The Reef is 3min swim away. No need to get on a boat to go snorkeling

4. The staff is super friendly. You will not wear a single pair of shoes in 10 days. Casual atmosphere. Feet in the sand all day long

5. The food is pretty good for an island resort, though repetitive after a while. Definitely get the Full Board option

On the negative side, the beach is slowly disappearing. The Resort is pumping fresh sand all day long to drive to prevent erosion. And you will find sand bags all around the island.


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nath_and_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srikantperi, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sparing time to post a review of our resort.

Coming from a discerning traveler, your appreciation is generous and motivating. We take pride in our house reef and the attitude of our associates and I am pleased at your positive reception.

Being a natural island the beach is subject to seasonal erosion, which carries the sand from one side of the island to the other. The sand pump and sand bag barriers are placed to permit controlled shifting without depleting the experience. Regrettably, being a natural process we are limited with options.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the sunny side of life!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Property: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing