We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Bliss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back from the most amazing holiday. This is our second stay at the banyan tree resort and truly they never seem to do anything wrong. Everything was just perfect. The Banyan tree Vabbinfaru has to be one of the best resort islands in the Maldives. The service was impeccable which makes the whole experience so relaxing. The best thing about the island itself is that it's only 20 min speedboat ride away from the Airport. Snorkelling was great. Food was delicious. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kms21dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    147
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
210
748
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

As we arrived at the Banyan Tree via speedboat from another resort the island looked stunning and like you would expect and hope from a tropical island and we were not disappointed. My personal opinion is that the “Over Water Villas” in some ways spoil the view of a resort and so this one hadn’t lost any of its deserted island charm. The management and staff were friendly welcoming very attentive but not at all invasive. We had the beachfront villa with plunge pool and Jacuzzi, which was really peaceful, private, with lovely views of the beach and Indian Ocean. Staff were out all day ensuring the beach is impeccably clean. We walked round the island several times a day and loved the number of Hermit crabs that were on the beach. The house reef was largely untouched and long may it remain that way. What it may have lacked in number of fish compared with the Angsana reef next door it more than made up for in the size of fish and the number of black tip and nurse sharks, all from just snorkeling. The food in the restaurant was excellent and varied every day. My girlfriend and I have been on holiday for 6 weeks and this was the only place I can say we were really sad to leave! Keep up the good work. If you book here you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: No where is more than a 5 minute walk from the reception and the whole place was beautiful so I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7StarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just got home from 5 nights at the Banyan Tree, Maldives and the resort was perfect with 1 minor exception. The air-conditioning in our room was too noisy. We stayed in villa 45 which was just a little too crowded with our surrounding villas. We paid for a deluxe beach villa and I was a little disappointed with other villas being so close. Other villas looked less crowded on the other side of the island.
The staff, the food, the surroundings, the standard of accommodation was exceptional. This is the 2nd Banyan tree resort I have stayed in and would stay again. If you are planning a holiday make sure you ask for a beach villa closer to the dive centre as these looked less crowded.

Room Tip: Choose a villa around the side closer to the dive centre, around the number 20 villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizPAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear LizPas,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru.

Thank you for this wonderful review and for sharing your experience of Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru.

We have taken note of your comments on the privacy of the villas and also your positive mention of service and food quality.

We thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your return visit.

Best regards
Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The service at Banyan tree was top notch right from the moment you are greeted at Male airport. We had the beach front villa with jacuzzi which was really private, and offered great views of the beach and sea front. House reef was excellent and we saw nurse sharks, turtles and tons of fish while snorkelling. Do take the free shuttle to Angsana as the snorkelling there is good.

The buffet line was excellent on all days and the lobster and lamb chops were to die for. Overall an excellent holiday. Really sad to leave the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The banyan tree service crew were absolutely fantastic. Simply what you will expect from a luxurious resort. Whether it was in-room requests, or dining at the restaurant, service was always prompt and staff were attentive.
We had a great time with the many activities organised by the staff as part of the wedding. Staff participated whole-heartedly in beach soccer with us, making it absolutely fun. Right after we washed up and went back to the restaurant and bar, the same staff were already back in their uniforms working diligently and preparing our dinner setup.
The sandbank wedding was absolutely out of this world. More than what you can ever imagine for a beach wedding... we were literally standing in the middle of the ocean surrounded by deep blue water and an amazing sunset. The effort the crew went through to set up the stage, cocktail tables and plentiful of champagne and wine in the middle of the ocean to make the wedding ceremony an unforgettable one, is definitely worth commending.
And last but not least, the beach dinner was just the perfect end to a wonderful wedding ceremony. The lighting decors put up by the crew and the fabulous band set the romantic ambience to a satisfying dinner buffet and bbq.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 198VincentC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Banyan Tree experience has always been a great pleasure. The Vabbinfaru resort was no exception. Besides being set in an excellent house reef that balances both snorkeling and diving, and the beautiful turquoise ocean across Maldives, the instinctive service and hospitality of the Banyan Tree staff certainly enhances the Maldives experience.

Especially enjoyed the Easter surprise placed in the rooms, that brought an extra tint of holiday fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YanL288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Attended a friend's wedding here and it was beautiful. The service from the attentive staff made our stay even better.

Check out the sandbank for a private dinner and head out for the sunset cruise. The dive center and marine lab guys were also patient and friendly, often making sure we had the right equipment and always answering our million questions about the wildlife.

The reefs around the island are also perfect for snorkelling - we saw turtles, reef sharks and even an octopus.

Walk around barefoot as the sand is cooling to the touch even when the sun is scorching.

Room Tip: Choose numbers larger than 10 as the single digit rooms are closer to the bar area if you prefer a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Property: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing