We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit to Vabbinfaru”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spend 12 days in in Angsana Ihuru, which sister and neighboring hotel to Banyan Vabbinfaru. We made short visit to Vabbinfaru, to see feeding of stingrays turtles and look over the island. Banyan Vabbinfaru is more luxurious than Angsana Ihuru, villas are bigger, and this island has much bigger lagoon and reef. Reef is very good, but not as good as reef of Angsana Ihuru. Less bigg fish and sharks. Feeding of stingrays is very interesting, these animals are behaving like domestic ones .... Turtles feeding is less interesting, they have couple small hatchlings and only one turtle to feed. It is much more interesting to see turtles on reef. If you snorkel there or in Angsana couple times, you cannot miss them.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marin881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,385 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pau, France
1
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A good idea of paradise ! Even if we got some unexpected rain, the quietness of the Vabbinfaru atoll (no dancing, no pool, no noise), the comfortable bungalows, right on the beach and the superb house reef provide us with all we were looking for. Easy snorkeling around beautiful corals and colorful fishes (including sharks, rays and turtles).
the perfect place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful island, especially the coral and fishes around the island. delicious food, good service. Since only about 50 rooms, the beach is always empty and ..., just relax and enjoy it. The sister island - ihulu has better coral vision.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroldliu3864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and i stayed at Vabbinfaru for the weekend and it was fabulous! The island was beautiful, the room was really cosy and nice, food was great and above all, the staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoy our stay.

We snorkelled every day around the island - you have to get out to the deep blue ocean to the edge of the reef and that's where you'll see schools of colourful fishes and even reef sharks! The underwater experience there was simply amazing. I would also recommend the dolphin cruise - we were pretty lucky and saw a whole school of them, jumping and spinning around ;) they also serve a glass of champagne each & lovely canapes on the way back - that and the beautiful sunset, it's just an amazing way to end the evening.

Special thanks to Simaad, Hilmy and all other kind and helpful staff!

I would highly recommend Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru - it's perfect for honeymoons/romantic getaways. It's paradise in paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylhuihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

First impressions are fantastic ... Warmly welcomed at the airport with a speedy private transfer by boat to the island ..... Reception was very good on arrival and we were escorted from the jetty to main reception. Bags were delivered to our beachfront villa swiftly and we were taken to the villa and shown around within an hour of our early morning arrival. Facilities are all very good on the island, free snorkelling kit, wifi, coffee/tea making in suite, aromatherapy oils and incense in also a nice addition. However, some of the finishes around the villa are dated with untidy edges. an impractical TV position and wardrobe in the outside bathroom are interesting design features!! showers are excellent and products replenished regularly. The recent addition of outdoor 'hot' jacuzzi and cooler plunge pool are excellent and a star gazing dip after supper is highly recommended.. Spa Is stunning but with a cost higher than most London or city spas it is a luxury to be considered carefully.. The island has very strong conservation ethic but you will be charged $2 per day to help with this. We were not made aware of it but were told thats it is mentioned in room literature so please read everything carefully. Small gifts are placed on bed at turn down which is a nice touch if a little unnecessary - a complimentary bottle of wine per day would be more appreciated. the house reef is very good but do visit the sister island on the regular shuttle ( 10 mins ) it is a more interesting and calmer reef. All in all, a wonderful experience and proven by the high number of repeat guests ( 80% of the guests during our stay were repeat guests )

Room Tip: South side of island has calmer waters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, General Manager at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Davidnewson,

Warm greetings from Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We have taken note of your comments related to our check in procedures, marine conservation efforts, service standards, maintenance of the villas and the price of the SPA treatments.

Your concerns have been already addressed with the responsible managers and actions have been taken to improve in these areas.

once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We loved the stay there. It is a small and quite island. The food was great and the beaches were very nice and clean. It is situated 20 minutes from the airport by boat, so it is not far, yet not so close. I highly recommend the full full board arrangement since food in general is very expensive. Lastly, you have to try the spa. Both me and my wife were so relaxed and even bought their products. It was amazing in general and will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
3
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I have been to 7 Banyan Trees making it our most favorite resort. The staff and management genuinely care about each guest and creat a wonderful family atmosphere. We would recommend Vabbinfaru Banyan Tree without hesitation. If you are looking for diving or quiet beaches, or even enjoying a wonderful massgage at the spa, this is a great place.

Our experience was wonderful. The management team is flexible including the food they prepare. One of the best trips we have ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
9.2 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,846 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
1,152 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,290 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,168 reviews
9 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price Range: $716 - $1,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing