We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Nearby Hotels
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baros Maldives(Baros Island)
$743
$484
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Park Kodhipparu, Maldives(Kodhipparu Island)
$600
$520
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
$1,020
$989
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$512
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coco Prive(North Male Atoll)
$45,000
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Coco Bodu Hithi(Bodu Hithi Island)
$513
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kurumba Maldives(Vihamanafushi)
$362
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
1,212
164
33
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,212
164
33
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront villafishsister islandpool and jacuzzibaby turtlesour honeymoonmarine biologysandbank diningthe reefsspecial thanksspa experiencein villa diningset menuromantic dinnerour waiterexecutive cheff b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Any criticisms we have are so minor they are really not worth mentioning - so i won't.
The island is a tropical dream, the staff superb (very friendly, very good and seemed to actually enjoy their work), the food lovely and never boring. Special thanks to the chef who, without prompting, made a special fish curry for our son - just because he happened to say he liked them!
The snorkelling was superb and i really encourage any visitor to try the night snorkelling as you see lots of different things. The marine biology centre added an extra dimension with free lectures (we learnt a lot about the reef) and we all enjoyed the turtle and ray feeding.
We really appreciated being able to keep our rooms until our late check-out (6pm), even more so as were not charged.
You won't need shoes, you are never off the sand (except in your room, flip-flops provided) and need few clothes other than beach/casual wear - travel light.
The resort is now being up graded, i just hope they do not put TV's in the room as it would spoil the feeling of escapism.
Nightmare of nightmares there was a proper Tsunami alert while we were there but the staff handled it very well. Apparently they have enough boats (and there did seem to be) to evacuate all guests and staff, and you would ride over the swell in the deep water. Worth considering for whatever resort you choose in the Maldives as there are no hills to run to!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

great bar, great food, great diving center, beautiful beach!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusterAndBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I went to this Island for our 30th Wedding Anniversary, we spent a week here and a week at Angsana, Velavaru. We had a villa on the sunset side of the island, with a large garden and a decking area at the back with seating and a jacuzzi. We had two showers, but preferred the outside one, so only used that! The bathroom was fantastic, and so private. There is a huge four-poster bed, and a Bose CD system, robes and flip-flops, slippers, beach bag, so many complimentary items (not the bath robes, though you can purchase them if you like). Out the front was a huge decking area with table and chairs, then a sand garden with an elevated decking area with two sun beds on, and a thatch roof, then the beach, your own private paradise! Here you had a fantastic hammock swung between trees, two more sun beds and a floating lilo type bed for floating on the sea! Amazing choice of where to sit/lay!

We thought the food here was amazing, truly 5star. Breakfast and lunch being buffet, and dinner twice a week also. The rest of the time dinner was a la carte, which we thought was lovely for a change! The fruit man at breakfast cut and served you with the freshest of fruit, there was the obligatory egg station too! Lunch, there was a lovely guy who would make you a fresh salad, with whatever ingredients you wanted and brought this to your table. The staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they seemed to really enjoy their work. Desserts were to die for, but fortunately in small amounts! My husband loved the fresh ice-cream at lunch time!

Diving was excellent, according to my husband, I snorkeled which for me was amazing, the reef was easily reached, and we often swam over to the turtle cages to see the turtles being fed, also a must is the marine talk, and ray feeding!

The spa was amazing, we had a couples package and both my husband and I thought we had had the best ever massage, the ladies are fabulous.

For our anniversary dinner, we booked the sunset jetty, here we had champagne (which was complimentary) with canapes, then a full a la carte dinner, in pure privacy, with only the moon, the stars, the sound of the waves and gentle music to dance to.........beautiful!

I would recommend this island to anyone, it is small, friendly and just paradise!

Room Tip: All the rooms are located on or very near the beach, we had room 20, which was perfect for us, very private! With the sunset and just enough beach for us!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Popperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

staffs there are very friednly and with smile on the face when they see you. Breakfast and launch are buffet, many of choices but everyday nearly got same variety. Dinner, you can choose a starter, a main course and a dessert from the package, they are all delicious. Staffs will clean your villa twice a day and you can get a warm gift after night cleaning everyday. The coral garden is exllent. when you go there everyday, you can see different kind of fishes and sometimes you can see a shark. If you go there an night, you can see 10+ sharks at the arrival jetty. Snorkelling environment is perfect. A little disappointed thing is about spa. We did two 500 dollar packages for two person. The fisrt was perfect but the second was nearly made me crazy. But it was not resort's fault, it was spa staff's. She didn't gave me a towel to hide my body when need to get a shower and when she did head message for me, knotted my hair and it was not a head message, it was a hair message nearly. Spa manager provided us two-person complementary spa but we didn't accpet it. surprising thing is we get this complementary spa in Angsana Velavaru which is the second island we go. And actually the service of this island and coral garden are better than that in Velavaru.

Room Tip: Room 49 is good. In front of this villa is the best area for snorkelling and the pool in this villa is new designed. Every afternoon, a bird will come to pavilion of this villa and it is the nearest villa to sting ray feedding area. But if you more care about privacy, maybe this is not a choice becasue it is near the jetty bridge and lobby.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenny814109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

There was nothing to be left desired! Perfect accomodation, perfect service and excellent food. Great snorkelling with many sharks and turtles.
Contrary to the comments of "Snudi" (in german) we were treated very generously with our late check out (we had our villa until 30 minutes before our boat transfer left the island). It must be clear however for everyone that this is not only a question of courtesy but also a question of the occupancy. I would like to come again and again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews