We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...Back in Paradise with our friends!”
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Angsana Velavaru
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW...Back in Paradise with our friends!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from our third holiday to Angsana Velavaru. I have previously written two very comprehensive reports (check them out if you want some specific details about the island) so this time I will keep it to the highlights.

We had a wonderful 12 nights on Velavaru at Easter, very relaxing and just what the doctor ordered. Days were mainly spent eating, snorkelling, a little sunbathing, spa and lots of socialising with our friends on the island.

We went snorkelling every day, either on the house reef or off on our own little speedboat. We snorkelled most days along the house reef at IOV and spent an evening night snorkelling with our friends Hana (CSR) and Sherin (front desk). Lots of fun; plenty of giggles! Check out my previous review how to make the IOV snorkelling easily accessible - we again met couples who did not realise they could go so easily and missed out on so much! Plenty of life to be found off IOV, both along the drop off and in between the villas and edge. We spent a couple of jaunts swimming with a beautiful hawksbill turtle- he seemed to come out to feed late afternoon and was quite happy with us enjoying his company. There were a variety of eels to be found both day and night - I believe we found 5 different types on the reef. The anemone gardens off Meedhoo were beautiful.

We spent an amazing day in South Ari Atoll (less than 1 hour from Velavaru) with Hana, Solah and Kudo. We arrived at the channel south of Lux* to be greeted by a large turtle taking air. Then, almost immediately, we found our first 9 m long whale shark. We spent a lovely (all be it busy with other snorkellers) time with him although it was exhausting trying to keep up. Luckily I had my own secret weapon in the name of Solah who kept propelling me through the mêlée into clearer waters for the best views. We then hopped back on the boat, went on ahead of the shark and then jumped in again and got another chance with this giant from a head on view.
We then took a steady cruise west and with the keen eyes of Kudo and Solah we found our very own whale shark...WOW...just 5 of us in the water with him, simply amazing. We then headed round to Manta Point, not far off Conrad and spent a good 90 mins in the water with 6 mantas including a large black manta, white tip shark, and mobula...WOW...and on the way back we were surrounded by dolphins including a mum and baby leaping along our side...WOW! What an amazing day!

On another day we took a boat out to a beautiful reef just off Magaa. Mirror flat water, great vis, beautiful fish and corals; so much to see and photograph. On coming back to the boat we had dolphins in the water with us. We jumped in the boat and watched from the front, only to see a huge MARLIN leap clear out of the water, and somehow, we even got a picture of it!

The food was amazing. The chefs spoilt us night after night. Special thanks to Basa, our excellent Sri Lankan chef. He cooked specially for us on most evenings treating us to a variety of Sri Lankan cuisine and introducing us to a new world of flavours. Special thanks must go also to Wasana, Chef in Azurro; he treated us on our last day to a lunch of Sri Lankan delights- absolutely delicious and again felt so spoilt!
Breakfast was always a pleasure and we always looked forward to spending time with Chefs Prasanta and Mamun. Prasanta is the chef working on the egg station and 'hot' counter. Everyday he would prepare especially for me, crêpes with lemon and sugar. He knew it was my favourite and everyday we enjoyed a chat whilst he prepared them for me; a BIG thank you Prasanta. Chef Mamun worked on the fruit counter and on most days would have my order ready before I had even asked; quite wonderful; another BIG thank you Mamun.

Hasan was our waiter, as he has been on all our visits. Quiet, reflective and highly efficient. He was very good at remembering all our individual needs and seeing to them before we had to ask. He would make sure I had one of the lower chairs at each meal (my feet did not touch the floor on the regular chairs). He knew that mangosteens were my favourite fruit and a plate of them would appear at the end of most meals. He knew our favourite drink and it would arrive as we sat down to eat......you get the idea; Hasan you are a gentleman and excellent at your job!

Great news....this year Sarath has joined the bar team! Sarath was head barman at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru and is now running the bar on Velavaru. It was lovely to meet up with our good friend again and to share a game of pool or two and enjoy observing the night sky through the telescope. Sarath is one of the most considerate men it has ever been our pleasure to meet and the whole bar team are a delight to spend time with, making a night in the bar a very relaxed and enjoyable affair.
We started to learn how to play Mah Jong. They have special tables in the bar and with the help of Emily, Noah and GM Albert we enjoyed an evening learning how to play. Once we had mastered the basics we enjoyed a few fun evenings with Hana and Sherin under the expert guidance of Chef Toni whiling away a few fun hours into the early hours of the morning.

Hubby and I enjoyed a couple of Thai massages with Nene, August and Namcha; all excellent therapists and definitely worth the "splurge".

Hubby also enjoyed night fishing (not for me this time!) and playing football on the beach with the staff (full time coincided with nightfall). He had a wonderful day in the company of staff and students of the school on the local island of Meedhoo and hopes to keep in touch.

A big " thank you" to Yoosuf our room boy. He kept our room immaculate and after our night snorkel we came home to find an amazing bed decoration. We have been lucky enough to holiday in the Maldives on numerous occasions and without a shadow of a doubt this was the best bed decoration I have ever seen. All I could say was "WOW!"..."WOW!"...WOW!"...and then shed a little tear (silly, i know). Just an example of the exceptional treatment you will receive on the island.

All in all we had a truly relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable holiday. A huge thank you to GM Albert and his beautiful wife Monica for welcoming us back with open arms and making us feel truly at home. As Albert said..." this is your island and your home"...and it certainly feels that way.

LOOK OUT VELAVARU...We are missing our island friends so much that we are already booked to return this summer...YIPPPPPEEEEEE!

SEE YOU ALL SOON!

Rachel and Bill

Room Tip: For uninterrupted ocean views choose sunrise side but expect a smaller beach. Sunset rooms have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bat_fish_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    166
    57
    21
    15
See reviews for
186
538
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went there to cerebrate my 12years anniversary with my wife, first day of arrival the sea-plane is very warm and small feel very discomfort. but the moment we reach the resort, the whole feel is great, the staff there are very friendly and kind. there even prepare a wedding anniversary present ( A bottle of Wine, cake and fruit) for us ...so sweet... there is a few staff here that was from Singapore the country that i came from, there guild us along the island, although the island is small, but me and wife had a great time getting away from the city life, spending time alone talking about the time that we have miss along the years.

This is a place that i would highly recommend to all the people that are always busy in the city life, spend sometime on the beach, spend time that you have miss with your love one, enjoy the great view and fantastic service provide by all the staff here in Angsana.

Special one which i would like to thanks for my wonderful trip in Maldives Ms Yui, she is the best staff over here which always work with a great smile.

Nevertheless Mr Adulla which was working in the main restaurant, he brought us a lot of info and great service too.

Thanks Angsana, i will sure visit this place again in near future.

Room Tip: If you like to enjoy cold nice water swim in your own place, a beach front jet pool villa will be yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed there and three other friends families also stayed together. They charged for kids additional, non of their complementary water sports activities were available ( blamed it on weather), all inclusive includes only beer and wine and that to in limited locations. You can spend 300 less and stay in similar or better places. Not value for money. Relative to what you pay, you so not get enough. They will try and sell their paid water sports etc. what offering the complementary ones. Not at all large hearted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent hotel, located in a region of clean and transparent water with a staff that provides you with an attendance of dreams.

Everything was perfect except the improvement points listed below:
- Umbrellones: the hotel has no umbrellones the beach, or you can not stay long sunning it has no protection
- Do not sell protective factor higher (with the sun has not yet sell this type of product and something really unbelievable how not have to sell). If you will take very protective factor as high as it has no shop there
- Difficulty to get ice system in hotel of ice machines easily solve this problem
- Restaurant Funa closed on certain days of the week (the best or one of the best restaurant is not open every day)

Be sure to get at least 1 or 2 nights in IOV.
Perfect hotel was not the points listed above. Hopefully soon be resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The resort is at the mercy of the sea plane companies .the sea plane companies operate on seat in coach basis and will not start untill they have their flights full .you will be stranded near the airoport till may be next day . if you are going on a short holiday (3 -4 days ) then never never choose this resort . The onward and the rturn journeys by sea plane are a waste of time . the resort washes its hands off when it come to sea plane tranfers . they will board u on to a sea plane that is heading towards male at 5:30 am even if u have a return flight at 7 pm .so u will be wasting one full day for onward and one full full day for return journey by sea plane ...THE RESORT DOES NOT INFORM U ABT THIS EVEN IF U CALL THEM AND ENQUIRE ABT WAITING TIME FOR SEA PLANES.They just want to fill their rooms they thats the reason they do not give proper info .
also, the waiters at the resort want tips , they behave arrogent if u do not tip them .. One guy at the restaurant kani , Haakim desparately wanted tips . They also do not send any thing to ur villa (small req like coffee sachets etc) even on repeated requests .the resort is seriously short of staff that is the reason for their poor service .
otherwise the resort is clean and beautiful .
we stayed at sheraton full moon and has a better experience last time, we visited Maldives .
This resort and the whole sea plane waiting experience is very dissapointing. CHOOSE SOME OTHER RESORT ,THERE ARE MANY IN MALDIVES.
The spa is really good at Angsana .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZURE28_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just went for a short holidays with partner. Unexpected journey started with seaplane transfer challenge, however everything settled and we were there the next day.
A very warm welcome by the Front Office Team together with FO Manager and GM, Mr. Albert.
Location of our villa very convinience because very near to reception, bar and restaurant. People we met were very helpful and friendly especially thanks to Riyaz in Front Office which have 2 of them. And Adhil who was in buffet restaurant always greeted you and highly recommended all the 101 activities you have to experience. He was very dedicated and hard working staff.
Thanks to our housekeeper which I forget his name, who fulfilled my request even I wrote a small note and place in the villa.
Overall, a beautiful place with special people you have to meet if you are there..
Thank you!! We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is no denying the fact that the beauty , the comfort and the joyce we had in this Resorts.We spend 3 nights in beach villa , 1 night in ocean villa , both categories feature the spirit of the nature.everything is excatly as it is pictured.
The hospitality of the every stuff is very impressive! specailly housekeeping team, the villa is fully prepare before we arrive , the atmosphere of the room make you feel at home,the exotic fruits is my favorite , there are lots kinds of them i have never seen , it just favorable attractive. the swimming pool is just the one you are expecting, the water is so clean like blue dimond bright shining under the sun.
There are sereral restaurants , each of them has their own distinguish characters , where located in a fabulas place.If you are lucky , you could see large number of fish around you while you are dinning , of course with lovely music.
thank you for everyone 's hard work and everyone's beautiful smile !

Room Tip: in ocean villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dihu1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haa Dhaalu Atoll
1.9 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#2 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
771 reviews
16.1 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,017 reviews
21.6 mi away
Niyama Private Islands Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort
1.4 mi away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo
15 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kandima Maldives
Kandima Maldives
#5 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Property: Angsana Velavaru
Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Location: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Velavaru 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing