We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and ease holidays”
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Angsana Velavaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just went for a short holidays with partner. Unexpected journey started with seaplane transfer challenge, however everything settled and we were there the next day.
A very warm welcome by the Front Office Team together with FO Manager and GM, Mr. Albert.
Location of our villa very convinience because very near to reception, bar and restaurant. People we met were very helpful and friendly especially thanks to Riyaz in Front Office which have 2 of them. And Adhil who was in buffet restaurant always greeted you and highly recommended all the 101 activities you have to experience. He was very dedicated and hard working staff.
Thanks to our housekeeper which I forget his name, who fulfilled my request even I wrote a small note and place in the villa.
Overall, a beautiful place with special people you have to meet if you are there..
Thank you!! We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 944 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

There is no denying the fact that the beauty , the comfort and the joyce we had in this Resorts.We spend 3 nights in beach villa , 1 night in ocean villa , both categories feature the spirit of the nature.everything is excatly as it is pictured.
The hospitality of the every stuff is very impressive! specailly housekeeping team, the villa is fully prepare before we arrive , the atmosphere of the room make you feel at home,the exotic fruits is my favorite , there are lots kinds of them i have never seen , it just favorable attractive. the swimming pool is just the one you are expecting, the water is so clean like blue dimond bright shining under the sun.
There are sereral restaurants , each of them has their own distinguish characters , where located in a fabulas place.If you are lucky , you could see large number of fish around you while you are dinning , of course with lovely music.
thank you for everyone 's hard work and everyone's beautiful smile !

Room Tip: in ocean villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dihu1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This island is amazing. Beautiful beach, coral and sand. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our wonderful beachfront villa with our own pool on the sunset side of island. It was the best accommodation we have ever had. Plenty of lovely comfortable spots to lounge about in shade, with awesome views of the beach from our front deck. We had a few dives and the dive staff were wonderful. We also went out on the whale shark trip but unfortunately there was none to be seen on that day, which is a shame. We stayed on the breakfast plan as we did not want to be locked in to having to go to a buffet every meal time and we were pleased about this. We often shared a main meal for our lunch and were happy with the a la carte meal in the evening. This was so much cheaper than paying full or half board. This way you also don't tend to overeat!!!

We had great weather but it was starting to turn in the last couple of days, with a little more wind. On the morning we left (which was 3 May), it was pouring with rain and we were told that this was the start of the rainy season. So, April is a great time to go to avoid the crowds but still get great weather.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 113 which we were upgraded to and was in a great location, with great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice room (beachfront villa with pool), a bit small inside but functional. Big secluded garden with pool. Service very average for 5*, a bit hit and miss, some staff super nice, some very indifferent. Most beautiful part for swimming is facing the overwater villas IMO. Dive center is good, albeit a tad expensive, whereas water sports center is not customer friendly (could not use kayaks for 3 days, nor seacycles... Guy was not manning the desk one day when we arrived because he went windsurfing - and NOT giving a lesson, mind you!). Food as said in the title is really overpriced, and a bit bland too, nothing special, I've had better food in Bodu Hithi for instance. Will probably not come back, because of the price and the average service, I was expecting more from Angsana, too much maybe. Also, the resprt is well planned, nothing wrong there, but actually feels "over built": solid walls everywhere, because villas a bit too close from each other maybe?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boubou I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are just back from our main holiday in the Maldives. We have visited the Maldives a number of times but have to say the five star billing the Angsana Velavaru claims is deserved. We stayed on land for the first six/seven days in the Angsana villa room 151, this is the best villa on the land and has two bedrooms, a lounge, two on-suite bathrooms, a private massage room, Jacuzzi and a private pool with an outdoor shower. The front of the room is onto the best bit of beach on the island and is amazing.

For the next eight days we were on the IOV villa, one of the three Sanctuary villas which are great. Again they have two bedrooms two bathrooms, a lounge and superb outdoor space with a large swimming pool and amazing views all round back to the main island, the reef and other islands.

The staff is very good and attentive and helped to make our stay even better and deserve good praise. My thanks go out to the super Sri Lankan’s on the main island they were both great.

The prices in the bars and for extras can be expensive but this is not unusual when you stay in this kind of resort, a bottle of water is $7.25 with your meal and Tiger beer $11.00 per pint. The reef is not close to the main island but they run a free boat out to it daily but from the IOV’s you can get to them with no problem and they are fantastic.

The food is very good with a great breakfast choice and the evening meals were superb on both sides of the resort with a wide varied choice that will not leave you
disappointed and always good quality.

Best beach on all the islands so far and the IOV's are the best we have stayed in by far in the Maldives. My advice is to save up and go...........

Well done Albert please pass my regards to your staff for making our holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: If you have a family go for room 151 but note the bedrooms are in seperate buildings for infants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Shanghai, China
1
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Angsana Velavaru trip is a great trip!

Service is good and people are very nice!

Rooms are clean. And you could enjoy sunshine and beatiful scene in beach room.

We are planing to Velavaru again in the future. See you then!


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Talking about honeymoon, Maldives was the only place that came to our minds.
Planning to honeymoon trip at Maldives, a villa or bungalow over the ocean with infinity pool is like what Brad Pitt said, 'Inevitable!'
That was the reason why we chose the InOcean Pool Villa in the Angsana Velavaru.

Once you approached the reception counter at Malé International Airport, everything was well arranged for you. As this resort is quite remote from Malé, it takes about 30 minutes flight to Velavaru. Hotel staff guided us to the seaplane counter, helped us to check-in and arranged our luggage. That's lovely! And the staff at the airfield started letting you experience the Maldivian hospitality. A very impressive service was, she measured your feet size while you were waiting to broad the seaplane, and two pairs of fins as well as the snorkeling equipments would be there at your villa for you! What a nice touch! Seaplane transfer is an unique experience of Maldivian holidays, we enjoyed it very much, except the ventilation when taxiing on water.

When the seaplane touched down on the shallow water inside the atoll, we were stunned by the beautiful scenery there! Water was so clear that you couldn't find the skyline!

The little ferry sent us to the reception area of the InOcean Villa (IOV). While we enjoyed the cool welcome sorbet, the front desk lady had come to us and prepared all check-in documents. The lady guided us to our villa, and showed us all the amenities that were provided. She also recommended several popular activities that we might join. Very attentive!

Talking about the Villa, everything was just fantastic! Very spacious room with King-size bed, his-and-her sink in the toilet, a bathtub with ocean view... Our favourite place was the wooden pool side deck with the infinity pool, a private area for you to swim, have sun-bath, and even nap at the hammock. Also, every villa has a private access to the sea. With the snorkeling equipments provided, we enjoyed visiting the private coral garden under our villa.
Another place we loved was the roof top. You may enjoy fabulous sunrise & sunset view, and the starry night over your head.

F&B was quite good. As our package included a meal plan, we tried all restaurants in the resort. Funa was the best restaurant we thought, dishes there were delicious. Remember to have a buffet dinner at Kaani Restaurant, the grill was really good!

Most of the activities were held in the main island (or they called 'the land' side.) We really appreciated the 'one-stop' service: you can make booking to all activities in the resort, no matter it is spa, water sports or dining. What we recommended were the night fishing and the spa. During the 2-hour ride, you would be able to fish at the sea near the resort. The staff would help you whenever you need. We caught 2 fishes at that time so we enjoyed our harvest the next day with free cooking! Spa was just excellent! A very very neat, tidy and private area for you to relax! You could select the treatment you want!

One little reminder would be, pay attention to the ferry schedule between the land & IOV. As there is only one ferry per hour, you'd better plan what you want to do and take the ferry schedule into account in order to save time from waiting.

Overall, we enjoyed 4 peaceful days at the heaven on earth, with excellent services & amenities!

Room Tip: There are sunrise and sunset villa. We picked the sunrise one as the wind direction wouldn't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haa Dhaalu Atoll
1.9 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 7 in Dhaalu Atoll
809 reviews
16.1 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,042 reviews
21.6 mi away
Niyama Private Islands Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Kandima Maldives
Kandima Maldives
#6 of 7 in Dhaalu Atoll
65 reviews
11.4 mi away
The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort
1.4 mi away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 2 in Meedhoo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Location: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range: $346 - $1,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Velavaru 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing