We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Velavaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our Stay at Velavaru was excellent! Had a really great time and would love to come back again! The deluxe beachfront Pool Villa was lovely. Food always great! Watersport activities were very nice! Great for snorkeling! I would recommend a private dolphin cruise - it was amazing...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 973 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

November is a good month to spend your holidays on Maldives - the weather is already good but it is not yet crowded.

Velavaru suits good for relaxation as well as for enjoying beautiful sea life.
The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The food and wine selection is nice, especialy if you eat a la carte.

Make no mistake and go snorkeling and night fishing. If you have chance - go to sea whale shark - it is realy impressive.

We compared beach villa with inocean villa (IOV). IOV are notably bigger and more stylish. The view to the island and to the ocean is great. Be careful with the sun as it is burning the terace and the pool area almost all day long. It definetely suits good for romantic dinners in front of the ocean.
But we liked island villa more, because you have your own territory with trees and straight access to all the facilities. You will also have chance to meet parrots and rabbits on the land. Besides, island villas are significantly more affordable.
Both of types are good, you should choose what you want more.

The majority of holiday-makers are Chinese.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Ekolosov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Atoll itself is beautiful with clear corals water and serene seaview. In Ocean Villa is well kept and the resorts offers a variety of activities for the guests. Housekeeping service is excellent and overall the staff is friendly. Lots of variety of food for guests to choose.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Sophia Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited Maldives in mid Jan. The weather was perfect 29+ degrees celsius. The stay at Angsana Velavaru was truly a memorable one. Right from when we got off the Air-port till the end, we got first class treatment. In Angsana, we stayed in the Beach front Villa. We could see the ocean from our bedroom window, and in 2 steps you are on the beach. That is the reason why I preferred the Beach front over the in-ocean villa. Angsana Velavaru is a small Island, where you can circle the whole Island in about 30-40min. The treatment that we got at Angsana was fabulous. The food was continental, but I felt it was more of Asian cuisines. Other than that it was truly a memorable stay and would surly come back one day.

Room Tip: Angsana is famous for its in-water villas, but if you prefer to stay on the island, which is what w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The location is magical and full of nature. Without a doubt the best snorkeling my wife and I ever did!

We stayed in a Pool Villa and an Ocean Vila . These rooms were the best experience we had so far in a Hotel. Our new benchmark for a luxury beach resort.

The staff was incredible, exceeding all our expectations and anticipating all our needs. (They must read your mind)

Amazing food and drinks. Just can't say enough about the place!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugolebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
1
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed in this property from the 1st to the 6th November. I have stayed in a Pool villa and an Ocean villa! It was by far the best hotel I have ever experienced!
Amazing property, beach, service, staff, food ... WOW!
I will never forget this holiday and I can´t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a terrific first-time-in-the-Maldives experience at Velavaru. It's a small, perfect island with a single resort and a very easy-going vibe. This won't suit if you want a new restaurant every evening or a hopping nightclub, but for romance, relaxation, spectacular snorkeling at the house reef, nice meals beach-side and gorgeous scenery, this is the place. We stayed in a garden villa, which was terrific and included two showers - one fully open-air, the other in an alcove off the bathroom but with a window to the outdoors. Fun! One tip - we got half-board (breakfast and dinner) and brought lots of snacks from home - nuts, dried fruit, beef jerky, dates, etc. This meant we could have full days in the water with a quick break for in-room mid-day snack and nap, on our own schedule. Had a lovely outdoor massage at the spa, and enjoyed informational sessions about ocean life led by the on-staff marine biologist and an enthusiastic, very experienced team of Maldivian dive instructors. We booked last minute with Atoll Paradise and received excellent service. Logistics were seamless and staff all extremely helpful, responsive and knowledgeable - especially Misty!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanuckleheadsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haa Dhaalu Atoll
1.9 mi away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
856 reviews
16.1 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,078 reviews
21.5 mi away
Niyama Private Islands Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Kandima Maldives
Kandima Maldives
#4 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 2 in Meedhoo
19 reviews
11.4 mi away
The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range: $393 - $1,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Velavaru 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing