We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for peace tranquility and adventure if that's your thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for peace tranquility and adventure if that's your thing”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Everything at the Resort has been thought about. Everything is high quality and done in the very best way. All staff are delightful. Facilities are excellent. Food is varied and of a very high and consistent standard.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richatmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    400
    90
    31
    9
See reviews for
249
1,338
94
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

From the moment we booked our holiday to Reethi we knew it was going to be special, and that it was. We stepped off the sea plane to a very warm welcome on a pontoon. We then boarded the Dhow to transport us to Reethi. The winds were quite strong, which made the sea a little choppy which is why the pontoon was used. It was lovely and gave us a grand view of Reethi both from the air and the sea prior to our arrival.

We checked in quickly and efficiently and were shown to our Water Villa, no 208. It was beautiful, the views were amazing, the Villa was large, airy and had everything that we could of wanted. The shower was huge (2 people if desired!) and there was also a large bath if you preferred that. The bed is massive and very comfy, we slept like logs in it. We slept every night with the bi fold doors wide open, listening to the sea and looking at the stars. People who have complained about the noise.... seriously you are in a Water Villa, of course you are going to hear waves!! We thought that is was beautiful and when we return we will stay again in a WV.

We had lunch our first day at the Moodhu, for 2 reasons, we wanted some wifi to let home know that we had arrived safely and we wanted to sit over the water trying to take our new astounding surroundings in. I am sure that my mouth just hung open, the island is stunning, beautiful, amazing, just paradise. We had booked on a B&B basis, the plan was to check our bill after a few days and depending on costs we would upgrade to Select, after lunch we said that we would just upgrade straight away. The cost was $138 p/p/p/d (from AI to Select I think is $40 p/p/p/d) We loved the Moodhu and the thought of sitting there having breakfast each morning was lovely, we ate dinner in the Reethi Grill every night, except one and Aminal and Islam looked after us perfectly. The menu choices were great and we struggled every night to decide what to eat. Aminal made sure we had a lovely basket of naan bread while we decided, I have eaten a lot of naan in my time but never have I tasted it like this, so light, crispy and tasty. We managed to eat at least 2 every night between us!! The steaks were delicious, as were the lamb chops. Hubby particularly enjoyed the different curries. One of our favourites were the Tandoori Jhinga Prawns, simply yummy! The wine list was very comprehensive, the Wishbone Pinot Noir and Sav Blanc went down well as did the Chateau Les Valentine Rose.

The one night we didn't eat in the Grill was because Reethi Beach treated us to dinner in the Saima Garden restaurant for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and my Husbands Birthday. The setting is idillic, with your own personal waiter, right next to the sea. We chose the Maldivian Menu and the food was delicious, nothing that we didn't like, again we would return there when we go back!

There is a small bar by the Water Villas and this suited us down to the ground. Janaka the barman was amazing with his memory of peoples drinks and so friendly too, he made every evening entertaining. He also makes a great 'surprise me' cocktail!!

The snorkeling was out of this world, we took our own gear with us as we had seen the cost was $70 per week per person to rent, however we did see others who had rented from the dive school and it was good quality kit if that is what you wanted to do. Fish Soup doesn't even come close to describing what it is like when you put your head under that water, there were hundreds of fish in your sights at all times. I am so glad that I was brave and went out to the drop off, a scary experience for me at first but after that one time I couldn't wait to get back out there each day. We saw Octopus, Baby Black Tip Sharks, Rays and hundreds of different species of fish, we didn't see any Stone Fish at all and were there at the same time as the reviewer below. Personally I think that they were misidentified Groupers, but a quick question at the dive school will confirm or deny if there are any around. We looked and looked for the Reethi Turtle and could not find him, although several people had seen him in the reef between no 2 & 3 cut throughs. We decided instead to go on the Turtle Trip organised by the Dive School, The trip was full (30 people) and we went on a large Dhow, plenty of room for all of us during the 45 min each way trip. We saw dolphins playing on the way to the reef, we were split into 3 groups and had a guide with each group, dropped about 40 mtrs apart on the reef. We saw 4 or 5 turtles, they were beautiful, so graceful and well worth the trip to see them. I am no expert on coral at all but the coral at Reethi must be regenerating. There are lots of areas of colour starting to show and some people did say that there were other signs of growth which is fantastic. We used Waterworld for a catamaran trip out to see the dolphins, never having been on a catamaran before I was not sure what to expect, it was great fun, you do have to hang on at times and we got soaked but it was so exciting whizzing across the waves. We did find the dolphins, we saw Spinners and others too, I am sure I saw a white one jumping but by all accounts I am mad!! There was a point when we were surrounded 360 degrees by jumping and spinning dolphins, hubby did take his camera but not much came out, the catamaran is quite a harsh ride and difficult to get any good action shots, our memories will have to stay in our heads!

Would we go back to Reethi??? oh my goodness yes!!! We were trying to work out in our heads when we could return within 24hrs of arriving!! Everything is perfect, the weather was beautiful, clear blue skys, the staff are amazing, nothing is ever too much trouble, the facilities on the island are so wide ranging, something for everyone, from the most relaxed to the most active.

We can not wait to return to this little piece of heaven that we have found, the sooner the better. Thank you Reethi for making our 10th Wedding Anniversary so special

Room Tip: We had water villa 208 and the access into the sea was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nikola_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetravellingduo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at Reethi Beach in a Water Villa. The facilities and location of the island lend themselves to a perfect getaway from it all holiday. Located in a northern atoll, surrounded by clear blue azure seas and well away from the overhead planes flying in and out of Male, you really do feel like you're in a remote paradise. The food at the restaurants is of very high quality and the staff were generally very professional and helpful too.

The only point I would make is: Be careful of the Stone Fish. These are stone coloured camouflaged fish which are venomous, dangerous, and even fatal to humans. In fact they are one of the most venomous fish currently known in the world.

I didn't know this until the scuba diving gentleman staying in the water bungalow next to mine pointed out that there were two located near the bottom of our steps. This made getting in and out of the water via the water bungalow steps a rather hazardous lottery. I should point out that Stone Fish are not unique to Reethi and are prevalent throughout much of the Indian Ocean / other Maldivian resorts. However their were no warning signs or other visible information up around the resort about these lethal fish, for the uninitiated.

When I later asked a member of the hotel staff about them he suggested that we only use the various entry / access points to the sea recommended by hotel. However this rather defeats the purpose of having steps from your bungalow directly into the sea. The information about a fish as lethal as a Stone Fish should also not come from another guest who just happened to warn me at the right time in the right place. As this information is rather fundamental to guest survival it should probably be flagged up elsewhere, and more formally. I've stayed at many hotels around the world and local, potentially lethal creatures, are usually identified via highly visible noticeboards that educate rather than alarm or frighten. This could easily be done at Reethi.

In the same spirit I provide this information to help inform you - not to frighten you as apart from this we had a fantastic stay and very much look forward to returning to paradise at Reethi. All be it with a few scary fish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetravellingtduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton-on-sea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Our third trip to Reethi and it won't be our last. There is something about the island that gets into your system and remains forever. Everything is above wonderful, the food, staff, the whole experience. It is not worth me rewriting what everyone else has said but I get cross when I hear people complain about the noise of sleeping in a water bungalow - come on please what do you expect? If you want a good quiet nights sleep go for a standard beach bungalow on the west of the island where you can watch the amazing sunsets night after night. I have never slept so soundly in the massive bed. With 75 per cent return guests, they must be doing something right! For us Reethi is the ultimate dream destination and to summarise our best bits: no shoes because everywhere is covered in soft white sand, excellent room cleaning twice a day with fresh sheets, bath and beach towels, numbered sun beds which match your room number so never any sunbed issues, great food, wonderful welcoming staff who remember you from previous visits, fantastic snorkelling on excellent house reef with turtle, octopus, shark and different fish every time you go, it is like being in a tropical tank, dolphins swim and spin past (if you are lucky to see them, if not the dolphin safari is excellent!) no insect bites because the island is sprayed regularly. The one single complaint is that once you have visited Reethi, nowhere else you ever go will be comparable again. It spoils anywhere else. It captures a part of you and stays in your heart forever. We had a wooden plaque engraved this time and embedded it behind our bungalow. We always take so much home from Reethi, this time we wanted to leave a little part of us there ready for our return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank donna2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Just had an fantastic 10 days at Reethi Beach. It was recommended to us by a friend and we weren't disappointed. The sand is white, the sea turquoise and beautiful sunsets, it was idyllic.

Snorkelling is a must, we did it every day and saw lots of amazing fish, turtle and octopus. Enjoyed watching the stingrays being fed, loved the little sand crabs and found the fruit bats interesting.

We had the all inclusive package which was fine for us and we thought the food was absolutely fine, always lots of choice and the staff worked really hard.

The AI package included a boat trip to visit a couple of local islands (take insect repellent) and a behind the scenes tour at the resort which we would definitely recommend.

You can get more luxurious resorts but you'll pay a lot more, we priced some up. Reethi Beach was excellent, we were really pleased with our choice and would like to return some day.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RedWineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from our honeymoon on Reethi Beach. We couldn't have chosen a better place, it was perfect. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are immaculate (we had a deluxe beach villa), the food is fantastic (we booked all inclusive) and the island itself is incredible. We took some time selecting which island to book and we were not disappointed, Reethi Beach is a perfect paradise - highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 71GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Nine nights of pure paradise. We were all inclusive, staying in a Water Villa. To be honest I cannot find any fault. The staff were extremely helpful and motivated, nothing appeared to be to much trouble. We ate in the main restaurant and found that the buffet select was very acceptable and well presented. Would we return to Reethi Beach, yes without a second thought. The entire resort lived up to every one of our expectations.

Room Tip: Have a water villa if it is an adult only trip and you want to be away from children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slogger913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#11 of 13 in Baa Atoll
534 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafushi
54 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,183 reviews
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#5 of 13 in Baa Atoll
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Property: Reethi Beach Resort
Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing