We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been here 2 years running as so welcoming, and these were our 4th and 5th times in the Maldives. We would go back here, but not to any of the first 3.

It upsets me to read that people winge about the crashing waves (we slept with the doors to our water villa open just to listen to the sea), and that they have to use some sandbags to control erosion - blame global warming but not the resort! Walking around the island, with sandbags at times, is all part of the charm, and the reality of this part of the world.

we are a same sex couple and Never has any issues with not being served etc (as someone has commented in a review). there isn't much to do, but surely that's the appeal - if you want disco's go to Benidorm.

This island has a beautiful house reef to snorkel on, but they do charge a fair whack for snorkel hire - buy some cheap before you go and take them with you.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our forth visit to the Maldives and this was one of the best alround, the staff were all very helpful and pleasant,
we would return to this island in the future, stayed in a Reethi Villa, excellent

Room Tip: travel tip, now thomsons have stopped the direct flights, try to fly from Gatwick where you can book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mervyn607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

For the first time ever I have absolutely no moans about a holiday! A magical place, beautiful white coral beach, warm clear water and fabulous weather. We stayed in a water villa, which was spacious and cleaned twice a day with fresh towels, water and tea and coffee faciitlies. It was quite noisy at night with the waves crashing but I enjoyed that, it added to the experience, and unless you are a light sleeper I dont think it would be a problem. You have your own sun beds allocated so no hassle, we were not that keen on where ours were as they were in the shade in the afternoon but there are a number of beds without numbers on them as spares by the water villas so we just switched to one of those after lunch. All inclusive was a good choice for us as the food in the main restauranr is excellant, and if you are going to have more than a few drinks a day it works out well. The all inclusive listing for drinks is extensive, including cocktails.
We ate in the other restaurants as well but the grill was by far my favourite, the dall makhane was the best I have ever tasted. Staff were fabulous, friendly and helpful. Spa treatment was gorgeous!
The snorkelling was amazing. We made the mistake of just swimming over the reef from the beach until the dive school explained you are supposed to go in where the bouys are and swim out and then along - wow what a difference a magical world, just like being in an under the sea video. We saw so many fish, rays, an octopus, corals etc it was truly magical. I cannot wait to go back - thank you for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: If you go for the water villa s try and get one 205 -215 not so noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alis0n1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked our honeymoon here through BA Holidays. All in all this very well arranged including a transfer by water plane from Malé, we could only stay here for 5 nights due to work commitments but wish it had been much much longer. We will definitely return one day so looking forward to that.

This is the typical azure water, pristine white sand beaches and coconut tree type paradise.
Because of it's location on the Baa Atoll it is quite a distance away from the capital Malé so this could be a downside if you don't like the flight by water plane but does give the place more of a unique and private setting.

We were received with fresh coconut milk (I'm not a fan but my wife said it was very good), and then guided to our apartment. We chose the water villa as we liked to be close to the water.
There are upsides and downsides to this.

Pro:
- private & quiet as it's far from everything
- straight above the water, you can see tropical fish from your balcony
- private sun deck
- fantastic facilities, luxury bathroom

Con:
- very far from main restaurants & buffet area (big walk)
- the steps into the water very slippery and the swimming area is obstructed by corals and rocks (it's not practically possible to swim from your villa to get to the beach)
- during rough weather (tropical thunderstorm) it gets a bit noisy

If you are restricted by budget having a regular villa on the beach would not diminish your experience.

In general the island seems to offer most facilities required for a successful resort. It takes about 10~15 minutes to walk around it in a circle. Most villas are well shielded away from each other so you don't have to fear your privacy will be violated by passers by.
We're not divers so we didn't use any of these services but we did go on two short boat trips (one to the sunset island and one to the local villages). The latter was culturally very interesting to give an insight into real Maldivian life I would highly recommend doing this to give you an understanding how the people in this country are impacted by the resorts.

I've seen quite a few unhappy remarks about the buffet in the AI (all-inclusive) packages but we had absolutely nothing to complain about. The amount of food on offer was phenomenal any time of the day (breakfast, lunch, dinner). Because we were on Honeymoon we were awarded with a special moonlight meal at one of the private restaurants which was fantastic.

The staff were extremely kind, Maldivian people are very friendly and are happy to talk about their culture and interested in ours.

Definitely going back for a future wedding anniversary some day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stunning island - lots of sand - good food - excellent room (deluxe chalet) - superb for swimming.
But .... we went there to dive and felt the dive centre treated us like total beginners. We booked in - showed our log books with around 500 dives and our certification.. We had been on a liveaboard the week before and had stepped off it that morning and our last dive was the day before.Settimg up our gear next morning for an orientation dive on a bench, we were told to put the cylinder on the ground in case it fell over. We do know however that you shouldn't leave a cylinder in that position unattended, and would lie it down. We were told we had to take a snorkel as it was the law. We told the guide that most experienced divers ditch the snorkel - it certainly gets in the way in a strong current and can catch on other divers gear, ropes etc and rip the mask off. We were told it would be needed for any surface swims, to return to the boat etc - uh! - all divers I have met always lean back on their tank to swim - much safer with your head up to observe boat traffic and clear of waves that would constantly fill a snorkel. We have dived now in many countries - including 4 times to the Maldives which included 2 liveaboards - NEVER seen a snorkel used even by the guides.
We did our orientation dive and you wouldn't believe - we were told to demonstrate basic skills - flooded mask, loss of regulator, out of air situation - octopus breathing. Come on - 500 dives - just come off a liveaboard - what's this all about?
We did an afternoon boat dive -refusing to take a snorkel. We noticed an English man - who was diving without an octopus? More about that...
We booked the following morning dive and analised our tank. We arrived early next morning to get our box ready for the boat - we were then told that we couldn't dive again without the snorkel. After a bad start, that was the last straw and we told them to stuff their diving. We were very upset and angry. After we snorkelled the reef for several days we realised that the reef around the island was very poor - very little coral and few fish compared to other islands. On one side it was mostly flat sand with an old cement mixer and a few outcrops of rocks that attracted a few fish. On the other side was the 'wall' - this was actually a 45 degree slope with little coral and covered in sand.
Back to the diver without the alternate air source. We spoke to him later - the gear was hired from the dive centre - he was not sure what to do if I came to him in an out of air situation. We later learnt that this is a different set up that we had not seen before. In an emergency he should offer his reglator to the out of air diver and breath off his bcd hose which (I think) incorporates a regulator of some sort. We feel that all divers booking in should be briefed on this system that they use - as we all know that due to various circumstances underwater you can end up with a different buddy. We spoke to the diver with the hired gear at the end of the week - he was still unsure if he could breath off the bcd hose.
On reflexion we felt that they did us a favour. With the clear water we could see the 'reef' clearly all the way down to the sandy bottom by snorkelling - during the week we did see a couple of eagle rays, a turtle, the odd moray. Nothing compared to the fantastic week before - mantas, whale shark, and sharks.
Speaking to other divers we were told that the boat dives were ok but nothing special. The dive centre only supply 10 ltr tanks as standard. To upgrage to a more 'standard' 12 ltr was an extra $5 per dive. Diving worked out (with a 12ltr tank) at around £43 per dive if we had dived for 5 days doing 2 boat dives per day.

Room Tip: We had Room 117 - excellent position - close to a bar! and lovely to watch the boat traffic on the j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

just liked to say a big thankyou to all the staff at the reethi resort. and a extra special thankyou to vinnee,josef,salim,. we stayed in a water villa and was on all inclusive the food drinks and service was all first class. the resort was full but we thought it was empty it was great. full marks to whoever designed this resort. we will be back once again thanks to all gary& dawn room 205

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garydawn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

just loved every minute... first time in maldives, but we were told once there it was not the best island in maldives, however, we absolutely loved it...from the accomodation, resort, staff, just everything including the people we met there, it was perfection, definately going back, cannot praise this place enough....

Room Tip: sunset on water villa, spectacular, all the fish including sharks hang around you villa at night, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
570 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,268 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
849 reviews
18.7 mi away
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
Adaaran Select Meedhupparu
#1 of 1 in Meedhupparu Island
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range: $168 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing