We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect December break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect December break!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay at Reethi Beach, and had a wonderful time. Beautiful island with stunning beaches, lots to do if you want to or just relax. We had so many lovely experiences/adventures from the sea plane journeys, dolphin safaris and our favourite - snorkelling with the turtles. Staff couldn't have been more caring and food was delicious. Brought far too many clothes and didn't need any sandals as we went barefoot, like everyone else, though bring trainers if you want to play tennis/squash etc. Can't wait to go back, one day.....

Room Tip: Not all water villas have easy access to the reef so maybe request lower numbers (201 upwards).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    407
    90
    31
    9
See reviews for
255
1,364
99
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have spent our honemoon at Reethi Beach and I must say that was the best choice we could made!

The hotel has everything you need to relax or entertain. Breathtaking views, white sand, azure blue ocean... Ah! :) Huge diversity of colorful and deep green plants, plenty of lizards and geckos rustling beween the leefs and lots of cute fruit bats makes the place magic! Strictly speaking - everything on pictures it's true :)

A big surprise for us was an unexpected room upgrade. We got an amazing villa ideal for honeymooners with horrendously king size bed and cosy couch to relax in the afternoons. In the bathroom which were partly open air we got 2 showers and romantic bath. I couldn't even express how gratefull we were for that charming gesture from Reethi Beach.
Moreover we were invited to a romantic candle dinner to Saima Garden (one of the restaurant in the complex) where we had gorgeous meal in the accompaniment with bottle of delicious wine.

This is a good point to mention the meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner... I've been in a planty of restaurants all over the world but at the Rehendhi they were just spoiling us! Each day they were a different cuisine like asian, spanish, maldivian, sea food etc. We were at Reethi 12 days and NO menu has repeated! Unbelievable chef Sreekant was taking care to serve only heavenly tasty food to the guests :)
Additionally, special thanks to our favourite waiter Junaid for being always ready for us during the dining always with smile on his face and friendly approach :)

Moreover, everything is very well organized on the island. 260-270 workers (!) take care of this 600x200m paradise and you can hardly see them - that's seems to be some kind of magic...
Everything there seems to be well thought out to make the place the most comfortable for the guests in each possible way.

I would really really recommend the place for vacation or honeymoon! And we are sure that if the opportunity come we would definitely go back there for another holiday at Reethi Beach Resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler_Firefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barwell england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived by sea plane, a great experience. Our room was on the eastside of the island between the moohdo restaurant and the boat pier. At first we thought we may ask to swop to the west side. However after consideration, our personal sunbeds on the beach were ideal, as we could watch the sun come up and laze about during the comfortable morning period. Also our rooms were larger than most the west side rooms. We were bed & breakfast and considered upgrading to reethi select. Gladly we decided to stay b&b. We ate 4 times at the moohdo restaurant, 2 times at the Reethi grill, (both of these were a la carte and very nice). We ate once at the main buffet restaurant, which was nice but I preferred the a la carte. The main buffet was also our dearest meal, which surprised me. Our total bill for the week came to aprox £600, if we had upgraded it would have been £1120 for the week. We didn't eat lunch as we always had late breakfast. We always had a few drinks during the day and at the sunset bar happy hour. Also a drink or two with our dinner. We snorkelled everyday for 1 1/2 to 2 hrs, which was great. Loved watching the fish feeding and the sea planes landing. Loved the relaxed attitude of the resort.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ski-loving-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Having returned from Reethi last week after spending 2 weeks there I have nothing but high praise for the island and staff. I picked this island mainly due to the amount of great reviews on here and I am glad I did. From the sea plane flight into the island to the sea plane journey to start the journey home I enjoyed every minute.

I had a lovely detached villa on the West of the island and there is no better feeling than looking out in the morning and seeing the sea around 20 steps away, and the inviting turquoise waters just make you want to jump straight in.

It truly is a barefoot island, the only time i had any footwear on was when I went out in to the sea so wore sea shoes because of the sharp coral.

I went for the first two weeks of December and the weather was perfect, it rained twice in two weeks but both times were in the night.

The food was very good, I stayed on a half board basis so used the buffet restaurant but with a different theme every night I was there I always found something lovely to eat, the waiters soon remember what you drink so you often find them arriving at your table straight away drink in hand.

I used the holiday prely for relaxing so did none of the excursions or tours but there were plenty to choose from if you wanted to. The staff are a credit to the island and do everything they can to make your stay a great one, I have to say a huge thankyou to Nic as she gave me so much help on the run up to the holiday and then was kind enough to lend me her lilo whilst I was there, and that gave me the opportunity to see so many of the amazing sea life around the reef.

Most visitors to the island seem to be repeat visitors and it is so easy to see why, I will hopefully become one of those repeaters as well as I definitely intend on going back there.

I could go on and on about the great qualities this island holds but the best way I can sum it up is that if you are considering this island then don't give it a second thought, just book it ;)

Room Tip: The west side of the island gives you the calmer waters but the whole island is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glenowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just returned from 12 wonderful days in Reethi Beach. This was our 2nd visit to Reethi but our 5th trip to the Maldives. We were a little anxious returning just in case it was not a great as we remembered from our first visit and we had been to another couple of islands since our visit in 2011. We were not disappointed at all, the whole holiday was fabulous. We booked directly with Reethi beach rather than use a travel agent. It was so easy we just exchanged a couple of emails paid a deposit via a secure line and that was it. As we were returning guests we were given a 10% discount. Reethi arranged the seaplane and we simply walked up to the TMA counter and booked in. We were not charged for our excess baggage which we have been every time when travelling using a travel agent -not sure if that was due to Reethi but it was a saving of about $50!!. On arrival at Reethi beach we filled in the paperwork, paid our outstanding accommodation bill and then as we were staying in the same water villa as our previous visit we were given our key and off we went.

We had asked for Water villa 201 and although in the emails Reethi beach had said they could not guarantee it, we were allocated it which was just great. The water villa have obviously been painted and the stairs to the sea have been renewed since our last visit but apart from that everything looked much the same as 2011. Having stayed on other islands the water villas are not perhaps as upmarket, but we just love them. The water villa is comfortable, well furnished with a nice bathroom and fantastic shower with lots of hot water and water pressure - much better than other islands. The room is cleaned twice a day, with fresh bath and beach towels every day and the bedding changed every other day. Coffee, tea and bottled water was provided every day, this was different to our previous visit.

We choose the B&B option again as we like to have variety in the places we eat. If on AI you mainly eat in the main restaurant -The Rehendi with buffet style food. There is some discount to allow you to eat at the al la carte restaurants when on AI and there is the Reethi select package . Breakfast in the main restaurants were good and much the same as you get on other islands. The food at The Moodhu, Saima garden and Reethi grill was constantly excellent and we felt it was well priced, great variety and quality. The wine list is good and reasonably priced and the house wine is perfectly drinkable. The waiters in all the al la carte restaurants were really lovely and the service they give is excellent. Lunch at the Alifaan was really good as well. The bars are great with a good choice of cocktails!

It was my husbands birthday while we were there and he was sent a birthday card, presented with a birthday cake, given a bottle of a very quaffable Spanish red and the waiters sung to him. This was a lovely touch as I had not informed Reethi beach that it was his birthday.

We were invited to a complimentary dinner at the Saima gardens with wine as as were were retiring guests. This was a lovely gesture and much appreciated.

The island is well cared for and you see staff constantly working maintaining the island. There are sand bags due to erosion but these are well disguised and not as bad as other islands. All the staff are friendly and say hello when you walk by. Several staff did remember us from our previous visit which was nice. We went to the management cocktails again, where you are introduced to some of the staff and Peter the island manager.

My husband is a diver and did 25 dives during our stay!. He is very impressed with the dive centre and says that they are very professional, organised and he had some fantastic dives. The house reef is the best one I have snorkelled on and the variety of sea life was just amazing.

My husband and I love Reethi beach, it is not perhaps as up market as other islands but it has something quite magical about it. From the moment you arrive you feel relaxed and happy. Everyone is friendly and they really go the extra mile for their guests. We will be going again next next, in fact we would have booked before we left but needed to confirm our holiday leave for next year!.

See you in 2014 Reethi beach!.

Room Tip: Water villa 201 - 206. These are the furthest away from the seaplane arrival area which makes them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stevienorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have been to Reethi four times now – once for Christmas, twice in August and once in October – and I’m sure we will return.

Why is it so special? It’s not too basic or high-end pretentious and just gets everything so right, largely thanks to staff who really go the extra mile to make your holiday special.

We stay in the deluxe villas because they are large enough to accommodate our two young children, but the ordinary Reethi villas look just as nice, just smaller. Outdoor bathroom which, for us, is a must in Maldives, as is the ability to walk all around the island beach. A sand path round the island goes behind the villas, so you don’t get people walking past your terrace. Most villas are detached, the water villas are semi-detached.

Don’t worry about the island being overrun with kids – we’ve always gone in school holidays and then only a handful of families. But the staff always spoil them and there is a small playground tucked away by the sports complex. At Christmas, Santa visited and gave the kids presents.

The house reef is bleached, like many islands, but is very easy to access through four channels, so you can just swim along a small section if you want, and it has a huge amount of fish life.

We usually go B&B as we like to eat in different restaurants – the Moodhu is our favourite, but the new Select AI lets you do this and we’ll probably go that way next time.

The sports facilities are particularly good – tennis, badminton, gym – but don’t get much use. One little niggle is that you have to pay extra to use them.

We’ve had our best weather in late December, when the west side of the island, where most of the villas are, has calmer waters, but going in August meant we got to do the snorkelling trip to Hanifaru, which was a real highlight. Over a dozen mantas wheeling around us.

There is some low-key entertainment in the main bar in the evenings, eg movie quiz, crab racing, but nothing too loud. It has quite a sociable atmosphere so imagine single travellers wouldn’t feel out of place, there’s a good mix of ages and nationalities, still mostly European. There are also another couple of informal bars dotted around, little shacks really, the sunset bar on the beach and the tiny ‘jungle’ bar near the water villas, ideal for a pitstop on a walk round the island.

About half the guests on the island are usually repeaters, and that says a lot. For the price, Reethi is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teddingtontowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 8 days at Reethi Beach for our honeymoon in November 2013. We spent a long time looking at the Maldives and chose Reethi as it was one of the smaller islands and we wanted somewhere quieter and more secluded and that's exactly what we got.

We were impressed from the moment we stepped off the boat onto the jetty, the beautiful turquoise sea and the view of the whole island take your breath away. The island really is tiny, it takes no more than 15 minutes to walk around the whole island.

We stayed in a beach villa for most our stay but upgraded to a water villa for our final night. The beach villas are lovely, especially the bathrooms which are part open air, which is great providing you don't mind been watched in the shower by a lizard or fruit bat! They are no more than 10m from the sea and are located the best side of the island for snorkelling on the house reef. Each villa has its own sun loungers on the beach so no need to rise early to put your towel out!

For our final night we stayed in a water villa. The water villas are a little more luxurious but the biggest plus point is the view from the bed, looking out across the sea. Each water villa has its own balcony with sun loungers and direct access to the sea, the sea was a little choppy on the side of the island where the water villas were located whilst we were there, making access via the balcony difficult. The water villas are very private and ideal if you want to be alone.

Personally we preferred the beach villas because you could just walk down onto the beach and they actually felt a little quieter as they are detached (the water villas are adjoined in 2's) you also don't get the noise from the sea as it's less choppy and further away than in the water villas. We also felt a little closer to things, not that the water villas are far away.

The food is excellent, the main restaurant serves buffet food 3 times daily with a different theme each night. We never had a problem finding something to eat, normally the opposite we'd eat too much! We also ate at Moodhu bar which has a large selection of food from pizza to steaks. As we were honeymooners we got a free candle lit dinner at Samia Garden which was stunning, the perfect end to a perfect week.

We spent most of our early evenings at the Sunset bar, a hut on the beach offering amazing views of the sunset. Most evenings after dinner we went the main bar (after 8 only 2 bars are open) for cocktails. The bar tended to empty bar a few souls around 10pm but the staff are happy to serve you if you want to stay longer.

After deliberating and reading many reviews we decided to go AI. The food wasn't too expensive in Moodhu bar (the other restaurants were a little more expensive with the exception of the main restaurant) but drinks were quite a lot. If you tend to drink whilst away we would recommend AI but if not or just 1 or 2 a day this may not be the best option. Another plus point of staying AI is that you get 2 free excursions, 1 to two local islands and 1 sunset cruise to an uninhabited island.

The staff on the island are very friendly and make your stay even more enjoyable. Anish on the sunset bar, and Hanifa and Verneeth on the main bar were brilliant. After a day or so they know your names and drinks order and even make their own cocktails especially for you!

The house reef is amazing and full of colourful fish and if you are lucky enough and close to the edge you may even see dolphins, rays or turtles. There are also snorkelling and diving trips to various reefs in the atoll.

Finally a couple of tips, you don't need shoes or flip flops whilst on the island (really you don't) and before bed head down to the beach to see if there is any glow in the dark algae, a truly amazing sight and even more fun when you step in it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom and Gaynor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5.1 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#11 of 14 in Baa Atoll
547 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
Kudafushi Resort and Spa
#1 of 2 in Kudafushi
88 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,352 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#4 of 14 in Baa Atoll
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Property: Reethi Beach Resort
Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#5 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing