We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing island, amazing resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reethi Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent 10 days in Reethi Beach and it was indeed amazing! Despite the cloudy weather and sudden shower rains we were happy every single minute there. I had done some research before and asked for a water villa from 201 to 2013 as according to other Trip Advisor critics those villas enjoyed the best sunset view. I do not know if my email was indeed taken into consideration but we got villa 203. I think it is really in a better part of the villas as it is in a remote place and straight opposite a very nice beach. The water in other villas got really shallow during the ebb but we could always swim from our villa without a problem. The interior of the villa is a bit worse than in the pictures as the furniture is a bit outdated but it was not a problem for us as we barely spent time there. The villas are a bit far away from the main bar and restaurant so it might be a problem if you don't like walking but it was rather an advantage for us to be so remote.
Our arrival was darkened a bit by the late arrival of the baggage so we had to spend the whole day in our villa. We could have sunbathed on the terrace which is done so that no one actually sees you but we were afraid to get sunburnt on the 1st day. I was very furious about this but Shareef was really nice and understanding and gave us a nice compensation which only made us think that this is indeed a very good resort.
Originally we took BB as we prefer a la carte restaurants to buffets and we wanted to enjoy going to different ones. We were very glad to find out that they offer Reethi Select All inclusive to which you can upgrade from any accommodation plan. Reethi Select is indeed great if you can fork out a bit as it allows you to have anything you like from all a la carte menus (except for lobster and some cognacs) and also espressos, wine from the wine lists and all the cocktails they have (it is not offered on standard AL). As we like spending time in bars and my husband needs eating more doing a lot of weightlifting for us it was really great. We totally forgot about prices after we got upgraded There are 3 restaurants besides the main one. We went to all of them and all of them are great. Moodho bar was our casual one, but I would not recommend going there for breakfast and it took them so long to bring the food and we lost a lot of time waiting. We then started going to the main buffet where it was quick. Reethi Grill is a very nice one for dinner, a choice of food is large. Saima Garden is good for once or twice but make sure you are hungry as there is a lot of food! The only disadvantage - the choice is limited to 5 set menus.
If you go for AL it is worth knowing that all snorkeling tours are chargeable (in many other hotels they are included). I would only recommend going to Manta and Turtle reefs though as Coral Garden was useless - we saw the same reef on turtles tour but no fish different from the ones next to the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Being someone who normally likes "adventurous" holidays, I Choose Reethi beach as a "safe bet" for our honeymoon. If was definitely the right choice- the ambience, atmosphere and "vibe" of the whole island was perfect for a honeymoon and my own fears of getting bored stuck on an island you can walk around in 20 minutes never materialised!
Step by step, this is my feedback/advice:

1) Journey from Male(main Maldive airport) to the island- If you get a seaplane from the main airport, then it should take about an hour's travel. However, even though we thought we were arriving by seaplane, when we got there we discovered we were travelling by domestic flight to a nearby island and then by speedboat. We had to wait 3 hours for the domestic flight and then once off the plane, a further hour for the luggage to be brought to the speedboat. Total travel time from Male to Reethi was six and a half hours, which was not what was needed after a long international flight. My advice is make sure your travel agent have booked you on a seaplane, but even then we heard stories of people waiting 5 hours for the seaplane!

2) We booked all inclusive, which on reflection was a wise move. Our bar bill ran up to $300 every day(which we obviously did not have to pay) - which sounds rather worrying, but was mainly due to the fact that you soon discover most drinks need to be doubles, not singles to get an alcoholic taste. We ate in the buffet restaurant most days and nights and I have to say, it is the best buffet food I have ever tasted- better than 5 star! There was variety every night and we even had Beef Wellington and Yorkshire puddings one night! There is no scrum for the food and it is well laid out and presented. The other restaurants on the island are just as good, if not better quality, but there is no need to eat here, unless its for an occasion.
The drinks selection on the all inclusive was good, although they could do with adding some flavoured vodkas. My advice is you like your food and drink, book all inclusive.

3) The guests were made up of a third English, a third German and another third other nationalities- American, Australian, French, Russian, etc. Everyone got along with each other. In terms of location of rooms, the water villas and deluxe rooms are in set locations, but if you book a beach villa, ask for rooms 150-180, as these face west (towards the sunset) and have direct access to the beach, unlike some other beach rooms.

4) Trips to other Islands and snorkelling trips are recommended. The most amazing thing I saw on the holiday were the 10 feet wide Mantra Rays gracefully flapping their wings through the sea and past me in the water. These are a must to see, so definitely get yourself on this trip. Also, visit the islands were locals actually live, so you can witness the Maldivian way of life- their children are beautiful, but questions need to be asked over how their women are treated.

5) The evening entertainment was a disappointment- the island definitely needs an entertainments officer! Quiz's, karaoke, films of fishes...... I got all excited when they advertised a "Full Moon Party", but the excitement was short lived when it transpired to be some weird dance done by the locals with bongo drums.... However, your fellow guests will generally keep you entertained and occupied in the evenings.

6) All the staff are fantastic and make you feel very welcome and service is second to none.

7) Cleanliness of the island is immaculate, with even the footpaths being swept daily, so everyone can continue walking round barefoot, forgetting they ever had shoes! Even though there supposed to no mosquito's on the island, me and my wife did get bitten by "something" several times! My advice would be take an insect repellent just in case. The occasional plankton/ jellyfish sting whilst snorkelling was also irritating, but nothing significant.

Overall, I would highly recommend Reethi beach for the overall experience and value for money. I have never been back to a holiday destination for a second visit (there are too many places in the world to see) , but if I ever change my mind, Reethi beach is top of the list.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claroquesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Reethi Beach Resort.. The name itself verifies the beauty of the place.. as "Reethi" is a dhivehi word with the meaning "Beautiful".. with our first step on the white sandy beach, it felt truly like paradise, with the warm welcoming from the staff.. as we went to our deluxe room, on our way we saw the beauty within the resort.. and the room was beyond our expectation.. the Maldives traditional swing was what made the room complete.. the interior of the room was superb.. and the fact that there was a protective safe, made us felt like we never wanted to leave that place.. and then comes the food.. we were speechless.. there were so many varieties.. and places where you can choose to dine with your preferred view and environment.. and on special occasions, cultural food was also served.. which is the best choice of food.. with every bite, we thanked the chef for being ever so good at making the food.. and on special nights, like on our honeymoon, we got to have a special candle light dinner, with the most breathtaking view, with a personal waiter to serve us and we felt really special.. we couldn't thank enough.. and as for the activities.. the gym was out of this world.. so fully equipped that it surprised us as there was a gym this perfect on a resort.. we had a relaxing time at the spa as well.. again with the view that took our breath away.. to make our trip eventful, the wonderful service at the dive shop, plus the water sports, granted our wishes.. with having the option to visit a private island nearby.. we had one awesome honeymoon and we got to experience a stress free, clean environment with the warm welcoming hospitality from the staff and got more than we ever wished for.. we thank the staff from the bottom of our hearts.. and if anyone asked, we'd suggest Reethi Beach Resort as top notch.. and that of a resort that you'd regret not going..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariyam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you want unashamed luxury and 5 star clinical service this is not the resort for you.

If you want one of the friendliest resorts combined with great food and an amazing reef then this is the place for you. It's the only resort in the Maldives we have ever gone back to.

We stayed in a water villa which was equal to any others we have stayed in. Snorkelling every day we saw octopus, eels as well as an abundance of other fish. The most magical experience was swimming with the house turtle for hours.

Now we are not planning on looking anywhere else when we return to the Maldives.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but I would recommend sunset side water villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian_broad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Reethi Beach was total heaven. The staff very pleasant and helpful. The deluxe room was great very clean and spacious and a great view of the beach. The food was amazing couldn't complain.Turtle snorkelling trip was fantastic a must do trip. The snorkelling around the island was amazing with so many wonderful colourful fish you did not want to get out of the water.
This is a must place to stay I really recommend for any type of traveller. I went with friends and it was a great place to catch up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Back from another amazing holiday on Reethi. As many times before, it did not disappoint. Love the place and the friends I have there. It is a little slice of paradise on earth. One big request, thou. At breakfast, please go back to the old system, the egg station, where we all could have the eggs to our liking. Much better than the posh style of ordering at the table with the help of the waiter. We never minded queuing, but having perfect eggs on fresh toast. Many thanks, and appreciation to everybody working hard, so we can feel pampered, and cared for. Love, hugs and kisses. Until next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luca12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just returned from a great 11 nights at Reethi beach. Great resort and very relaxing.
Water villa was terrific and kept immaculate.
Food was very nice with a very good choice every night. The waiters were very good -Asim was excellent .
One small moan is that there is no egg station, so you have to wait for the eggs to be brought from the kitchen.
Nice resort, and we nothing thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrMrsGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baa Atoll
5 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
584 reviews
9.9 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,302 reviews
24.6 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
#1 of 15 in Baa Atoll
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reethi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reethi Beach Resort

Address: Fonimagoodhoo Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range: $126 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Reethi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reethi Beach is one of the most eco-friendly, Maldivian style, 4 star deluxe island resorts situated in Baa Atoll, the Maldives. Decorated with refined care, the villas, elegant and spacious, are enhanced by typical architecture of the Maldives and provide all comfort of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Reethi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reethi Beach Hotel Baa Atoll
Reethi Beach Maldives
Hotel Reethi Beach
Reethi Beach Resort Maldives/Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing