We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dusit Thani Maldives
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Baa Atoll
1 review
“Imagine...”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Imagine a Resort in which each and every person you meet surprices you positively! From the first contact at booking, upon arrival and through the whole stay including departure. And imagine when this is combined with the most beautiful ocean villa with own pool and high quality bed (choice between 5 different pillows!), excellent wine-and dine esperiences, excellend snorlking and diving conditions and much, much more!
When this happends, it is just Magic!
This is what happened to us at the Dusit Thani Maldives.
Thank you Desmond and your great team for giving us this experience!
We`ll be back!
Robert and family (Norway)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Robert J,

On behalf of the team, our many thanks for sharing with us your ‘magical’ experience at Dusit Thani. We are honoured that you had a excellent experience with us! Indeed we encourage each member of the team to go the extra mile for all our guests and it is very motivating for us in turn when we are able to create memorable experiences. Hopefully, we make all our guests feel as you do, and want to return to our little paradise.

We certainly look forward to serving you again, just let me know when your holiday plans veer toward this sunny part of the world anytime in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    63
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
236
386
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The island it was amazing and the facilities are perfect
hospitality and staff friendliness exceeded expectations and every single staff was very friendly particularly our Egyptian assistant Nahed who was very helpful in the island tour and activities recommendations.

the villa is clean, wide and comfortable particularly the outside balcony overseeing our private pool and the ocean. It becomes slightly dark and intimidating at night so i recommend improving the outside lightning front and back of the villa.

Thank you team dusit thani and think you Nahed for making it an unforgettable vacation.

Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fatema_alsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear fatema_alsaba,

Sawasdee Krub!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday with us. I have extended your commendations to Nahed, and the team is thrilled to have exceeded your expectations with our service. Please know that we are constantly improving our lighting systems and we have noted your observations to include in our upcoming resort improvements. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to create more unforgettable memories for you and your family.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baa Atoll
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great service and Great people. Had a night stay at Dusit and it was fantastic. All staffs were friendly and the room was clean and very spacious. Highly recommend for family vacation or Honeymooners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Danny Hyun Woon... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Danny,

Sunny Greetings from Mudhdhoo Island!

Khob Kun Krub (thank you) for your comments, we are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as we are certainly a family-friendly resort, while being private and discreet as well which is perfect for newlyweds. We would be happy to welcome you back, and we hope to be of service to you on a longer period during your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

As a travel writer I do explore the best parts of our beautiful planet. But staying at Dusit Thani Maldives was beyond my expectations. Maldives has many great resorts, but this one is really special. I loved just everything here, but most of all:
1. Combination of Maldives nature and Thai roots of the hotel. I especially enjoyed Thai SPA and Thai restaurant.
2. House reef all around the island
3. Absolute calmness and peace of the tropical forest of the island.
Definitely the hotel to be visited on Maldives!

Room Tip: All Water Villas and Ocean Villas has swimming pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlinaLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear AlinaLLL,

We are delighted to read such a positive review, thank you very much for your appreciations. It bring us immense pleasure that you described your stay as excellent. The Thai elements present around the resort are indeed true to the rich Thai heritage of our Dusit Thani brand. Our picturesque and colourful house reef are a source of pride, and we are glad that you experienced the underwater splendour of the Maldives around our beloved Mudhdhoo island. Our gardeners will be pleased to know as we work hard to maintain the natural beauty of our island and we will ensure to share your commendations to the team.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit to our luxurious paradise!

Yours Sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Having read the reviews on trip advisor we had pretty high expectations of this resort . We are a mature couple & widely travelled to exotic locations . Our stay was for two weeks in an Ocean villa. Everything from the moment we landed at Male was taken care of by Dusit Thani staff. The transfer to the Sea Plane was effortless as Dusit Thani has it's own Lounge . On arrival a short boat ride took us to the arrivals dock where the Management was waiting to greet us.
We were introduced to our Butler Han nan who took us by buggy to our villa . The Ocean villa was amazing . Very spacious with every comfort . The outside patio is huge with a very useable private pool . Each villa comes with dedicated Bicycles . Great fun to explore the lush Island . From the patio steps lead to the House reef which is teeming with fish. It is only a short fin to reach open water & the face of the reef which is covered with very diverse & healthy corrals . The Dusit Thani take conservation very seriously & have Lauren the resident Marine Biologist to ensure that the reef stays healthy. The best house reef I have visited.
There are three restaurants . The biggest problem that we had was deciding which to dine in as they all were superb. We were on the resorts "Total indulgence " package which was well worth the cost. Executive Chef James Williams oversees all of the restaurants & the variety , quality & service is five star plus. All of the staff without exception were amazing . They are very efficient and love their work which really shows in the manner they treat their guests. There is a weekly activities chart that includes , fishing , diving, snorkelling , yoga , spa , sailing etc.
The Dive centre handles all water sports & again very professional , safe , friendly staff.
As visit "Back of house " was very interesting and impressive . There were no negatives at all .
The best holiday that we have ever had. We will be back.
Everyone at the Resort was caring & attentive & we thank them for that . A special thanks to Andras for making it all happen , James for making meal times so special , Han nan for meeting our every need , Ali for making us so happy & to my Dive "Buddy" Manon for so many great dives.

Room Tip: There is not a bad villa . It just depends on your taste . In the water , on the beach they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear tony o,

Sawasdee Krub!

It was such a pleasure for us to read your optimistic commentary. Our heartfelt THANKS for the glowing depiction you have written to describe your enjoyable 2 week holiday in our little paradise. Indeed, the team strives to provide our Dusit standard of service at all times starting from your arrival, to your 2 weeks stay with us and until you reach your next destination.

We are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations in all aspects. Our Ocean Villas are certainly a favorite, fresh and roomy and teeming with picturesque marine life just a few steps from your own private pool. We are also fortunate to have a lush island filled with healthy vegetation which we work hard to maintain. Our F&B team led by Chef James continuously come up with delectable dishes to satisfy every distinguished taste, and we are glad to have a service team with the likes of Ali to ensure that all our guests are having a good time. We have also shared your appreciations to Andras, Lauren, Hanan and Manon, as well as to the rest of the crew. We are honoured to be part of such a fantastic team, and your encouraging words have motivated us once again.

Khob Kun Krub (Thank you) and we eagerly anticipate your next visit to our beautiful island!

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have been on many beach vacations to the Caribbean, the Mediterranean, and to various places in the U.S and Mexico. But this trip to the Dusit Thani Maldives trumps them all.

The vacation started with a wonderful seaplane flight with Trans Maldivian Airways aboard a Canadian built plane piloted by a Maldivian and an American. This was my first experience flying on a small plane and I felt absolutely safe and was blown away by the views. There is no need to pack light either. We were able to bring full sized luggage bags with a weight limit of 20kgs. When you land there is a boat waiting to pick you up from landing dock to take you on a 2 minute ride to the island.

The staff was absolutely wonderful. Everyone on the island speaks English wonderfully, even staff who do not always interact with the guests such as the maintenance crew. You are always greeted with a happy, "Hello" or "Good Morning". Everyone wants your vacation to be the best possible and will ask if there is anything they could do for you. The waiters Mode and Alex at the Market Place were excellent. By the end of the week they had learned what our favorite breakfast dishes were and knew what we would like to drink. The attention to detail was extraordinary. Our butler, Nahed was lovely and always willing to assist in booking one of the many offered activities.

There are many different activities offered, such as yoga, tennis and cooking classes. The early risers of the our party went to morning yoga with Raj and really enjoyed it. No need to be an expert for yoga either. There are 2 tennis courts and both are exquisite. The hotel also has some rackets for use. I suggest playing either in the morning or afternoon as it can get quite hot. The Thai cooking course is an absolute must for food enthusiasts. We learned how to prepare a salad, a soup and a curry, all traditional Thai dishes. As well, the watersports are absolutely amazing. The 3 hour snorkel trip is also a fun activity, the corral garden is breathtaking. Snorkeling the house reef is great, I think that the house reef is even better then the other 2 reefs visited in the 3 hour snorkel trip. The house reef is the habitat of many different marine species such as, parrotfish, triggerfish, clownfish and 2 different species of sea turtles. Night snorkeling is also a must, here you can see octopuses, squid, lion fish and eels. You can also experience the natural phenomena of bioluminescence plankton. The fishing is out of the world and I highly recommend going traditional fishing in the night as well as trolling in the morning. We caught many different species of Tuna, as well as Dorado and Sailfish.

The meals where fabulous every night. We ate breakfast at the Market Place and the buffet was huge, offering Asian as well as Western cuisine. The sea grill has a fabulous view of the ocean and the Sand Bar is a great place to go for drinks before dinner. Benjarong offers a wide variety of traditional Thai dishes and chefs Sunit and Wirat are true masters of their trade. Executive chef James also does a great job making sure the restaurants run smoothly. Especially nice is the fact that both the Sea Grill and Benjarong will prepare the fish you caught anyway you would like it. You really cannot go wrong with choosing a place to eat.

The grounds are truly beautiful and you are able to ride a bicycle around the island. The paths are covered by a natural canopy and it feels as though you are in the jungle without Mosquitos. The resident marine biologist, Lauren was great at explaining her work in preserving the house reef and turtles. I highly recommend attending her presentation to learn more about then the Hotel's commitment to the environment.

Overall this trip was fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would highly recommend this for individuals, couples or families. You will be treated royally.

Room Tip: On some locations of the islands the beach is not permanent and washes away naturally with the diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalAngler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear GlobalAngler,

Sunny Greetings from Mudhdhoo Island!

We greatly appreciate your comprehensive and enthusiastic feedback, mentioning all features of the resort as well as our motivating our colleagues with your commendations. We are happy to note that despite your travels to other renowned beach destinations, our resort was able to stand out as the best yet!

We agree with you that the seaplane ride is a remarkable experience in itself. The breathtaking photo opportunities in the air is just a fitting prelude to the beauty awaiting you at the resort. We are thrilled by your words of appreciation. We will ensure to extend your thanks to Lauren, Nahed, Mode and Alex. Regarding our menus, Chef James along with his team have been continuously improving our menu offerings to cater to our guest’s varied and discerning tastes.

Chefs Sunai and Wirat in Benjarong are also pleased to share their knowledge in the cooking classes and we are glad you enjoyed it. Raj, our very own Mr. Stretch, will be awaiting your return to experience his invigorating workouts. Our many team members are indeed very happy to read your wonderful review, and from of all of us here THANK YOU once again and we eagerly anticipate your next visit to our island paradise!

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent one week here with my family (including teenagers) and LOVED the entire experience. This resort exceeded our expectations for service, comfort and luxury. The holiday began with a short seaplane ride from Male. This in itself is a wonderful experience. (Proudly the planes are Canadian made!)

Upon arrival, you are greeted by staff who clearly demonstrate their love for the resort and their jobs. Our personal butler, Nahed was always reachable and willing to assist us as needed. Her warm smile instantly made us feel comfortable and at home. Desmond the General Manager is a very welcoming individual who is often seen throughout the week ensuring his guests are having a good time, and genuinely enquiring about your experience and getting to know you. In speaking with Desmond you soon realize that he is dedicated to the resort, his staff and his guests. He is an affable person who is a visible leader.

The three restaurants at the resort serve a wide variety of dishes - so you'll always have difficulty making a decision! Everything on the menu looks so delicious. The breakfast/brunch is outstanding. The fresh sashimi was my favourite! My family enjoyed custom made omelettes each day and the fresh fruits/cheeses were impressive. The pastries were top rate and you must try the chocolate croissants. We all looked forward to breakfast and the outstanding variety of dishes presented (Asian cuisine, as well as European/American).

Activities that we enjoyed included snorkelling (day and night time); cycling around the Island, pampering ourselves at the Thai Spa, and attending Yoga classes with Raj. Even if you are unfit or lack Yoga experience - Raj makes the Yoga class enjoyable as you overlook the beautiful ocean and relax your mind. Raj's 8 AM Yoga class was a wonderful way to start the day. I experienced both day and night snorkelling. Highly recommend the 7:30 PM snorkelling trip because you will see different things not visible in the day. The ocean water is very warm! The staff at the Dive Centre are very helpful and most concerned with your safety. No snorkelling experience is needed. You must make time to meet Lauren, the Marine Biologist. She provided us with a most informative and interesting slide show explaining the reef, turtle preservation project and her role at the resort. She is an engaging and passionate Biologist.

We attended the Spa a few times throughout the week. I highly recommend the body scrub (Lavender) and facial (my family members had massages and mani/pedi). You feel so relaxed as you experience a spa treatment in a treetop room. The spa facilities (including shower/change room) are spotlessly clean and peacefully serene. The spa staff are professional and talented in their services.

We stayed in a family beach villa with a pool. The rooms are well appointed with all amenities you would expect in a luxury resort. Our outdoor bathroom was stunningly beautiful with a rain shower and deep soaker tub. His/her sinks were convenient. TV reception is fantastic and there are a great number of TV stations available (we liked to watch CNN and stay in touch with world news).

During the day, we spent time at the pool. The pool is lovely overlooking the ocean. You can order drinks and food at the pool. In the evening this is a great place to come back and see the sunset while enjoying a pre dinner drink. When I cycled around the resort under a canopy of luscious green vines/trees, inhaling a beautiful scent of jasmine - I truly believed I found Paradise on Earth.

In summary, a week goes by too fast and on our final day, we all felt sad to leave. We enjoyed every moment/experience at this resort. I highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to feel ultimately relaxed and pampered, while enjoying the natural surroundings of water, reef, and vegetation. We hope to come back soon. In the meantime, I'm grateful to have had the Dusit Thani Maldives experience and will fondly cherish my memories of it.

Room Tip: I had the opportunity to view a variety of villas. All are equally nice - the difference largely de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear irene059,

Sawasdee Krub!

Thank you very much for the extensive and enthusiastic review you had taken the time to write. It is deeply rewarding for us that you found Dusit Thani Maldives a paradise on earth, and that you found all aspects of the resort remarkable. I am pleased that you enjoyed our two-bedroom family beach villas, launched late last year. We are glad that this villa has satisfied the needs of your family for a comfortable and cosy environment that is wonderfully secluded and private.

Our culinary team is inspired to know that the dishes they prepare with utmost care and creative attention are appreciated . We will ensure to extend your thanks to our colleagues at the Market for their efforts to make a difference in your stay.

We are continuously updating our activity schedule and we are pleased that you found them engaging. I have recognised the efforts of the colleagues you mentioned from our Dive Center to our Spa ladies, and the entire team thanks you for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to welcome you again to provide you with an even better experience!

Yours sincerely,
Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baa Atoll hotels
2.8 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#4 of 13 in Baa Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kihaad Maldives
Kihaad Maldives
#10 of 13 in Baa Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
6.5 mi away
Soneva Fushi Resort
Soneva Fushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Kunfunadhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Maldives

Property: Dusit Thani Maldives
Address: Mudhdhoo Island, 2188
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Maldives blends graceful Thai hospitality with the unparalleled luxury setting of the Maldives. This luxury resort is encircled by white sandy beaches and a mesmerizing turquoise lagoon. You can spend your days just relaxing and taking in the breathtaking scenery, or dive into the crystal clear water and explore the underwater world. The resort has a spectacular 360 degree living house reef and is located in the first ever UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve in the Maldives. To top it off, Dusit Thani Maldives is also the first and only resort in the Maldives with an official Freediving Centre. For those who have an extraordinary taste for life can enjoy our world class restaurants with award winning chefs on the island. Even though each restaurant is equally mouth-watering, our signature Thai inspired restaurant - Benjarong, is the crown jewel of the property. Revitalize your body and mind by reveling in Devarana Spa's impeccable facilities. The spa encompasses six deluxe treatment pods which sit elevated amongst the island's palm trees. This haven of luxury offers a selection of Thai Inspired facial and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dusit Thani Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Maldives Hotel Baa Atoll
Dusit Thani Maldives Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing