We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place for sweet honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Maldives
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“beautiful place for sweet honeymoon”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

we spent our honeymoon in this beautiful place,the people here are very kindness and warm-hearted. during snorkeling here,we not only found kinds of fishes but also the turtle,and unbelievable we found two different turtles in two days,so lucky.

the food here is also very tasty,especially for the ‘Thai’ restaurant.

Room Tip: ocean villa is worthy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Thai cuisine and your private Ocean Villa right here on Mudhdhoo Island, and that you personally witnessed the fantastic marine life on our reefs by seeing some amazing turtles! We are very glad that you chose us for your honeymoon, and that we were able create memorable moments for you to cherish for years to come. Khob khun krup (thank you)!

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    67
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
253
404
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I've spent my Honeymoon is another International brand 5 stars resort in Maldives a few years back. Always hoping to plan for another trip back to Maldives since. Dusit Thani was chosen by my wife who is very particular on resorts. We went there on Nov 14th with my best friend and his wife. At first I thought it was just another 5 stars resorts in Maldives so I did not expect too much of it which the food is normally pretty "standard".
I was quite impressed with Dusit Thani Maldives I must say, not too sure if it was the training they implemented or the blend of the Thai hospitality approach they have...I'm just impressed with the quality of services, staffs with rich knowledge of their products, evening the Dive Centre folks are nice too! The resort itself has well balance of EVERYTHING! The Décor, the Villas, free bicycles to get around the island. Food and Drinks are great but affordable. Great preserve of environment and house reefs. I didn't have a single mosquito bite :-) . As a snorkeling fan, I'd love to return! Even the birds (a pair of Peach face) are friendly, standing on my fingers and shoulder, don't forget the few rabbits there too. My wife was also impress by the whole deal! The time for travelling just pays off! not much to say further but we've already scheduled to return in Sep/Oct 2014.

Room Tip: Ocean or Water Villa are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
A warm 'thank you' for your review. I am glad that you found our little paradise well worth your travels on your second visit to the Maldives. We are humbled that you have recognised our efforts to provide you with our signature gracious Thai hospitality. The entire team - including the bunnies and birds and all the wildlife on Mudhdhoo - looks forward to your next visit! Until then, khob khun krup!

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obersiggenthal, Aargau, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

June 1st till 11th, 2013 ..... most beautiful vacation I ever had. Excellent accommodation and service.

The food was very good and I liked especially the sweets from chef Ponratch (Yahoo). Ponratch is doing an excellent job!

Also the service from all employees was very good, especially I would like to mention Boy.

We will come again and enjoy the wonderful resort and the very nice people there.

I wish Boy and Poratch all the best for the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flück R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Sawasdee krup, and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Chef Yahoo from our pastry team and Khun Boy from Benjarong restaurant are honoured to know that you found their hospitality exceptional and I have personally commended them. I am very glad that you found gracious service here at our resort, indicating that our efforts are worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with an even more memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

DUSIT THANI VERY NICE RESORT!
If the opportunity presents itself again, I want to go.
We want to see play again Butler
Life, and the best travel dream honeymoon
Were happy days.
Resort was committed.
After 3 years with my wife again, We should just
Marine light ... so that's nice.
But we have none of the excursion.
Unfortunately, the weather did not get good,
Still had a good day.
Excursion to stop by the next time I want to try again.

Room Tip: If you want a private room would be 500 beondae room. However, activity in the same room (?) If 600...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2yong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Sawasdee krup! I am delighted that you are already planning to return to Dusit Thani Maldives, which shows that we were able to create an unforgettable experience on your honeymoon from our little paradise. I regret that the weather had been less than perfect for you to enjoy many marine excursions during your stay. We hope that on your next visit you will get to experience the sunny, blue skies of Mudhdhoo Island which as of this writing, is clearly visible outside! Until then, we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Dusit Thani and we felt that we had to share our wonderful holiday! Having visited the Maldives four times previously, staying at several prestigious resorts, we knew exactly what we wanted from our island experience and we had high expectations. Dusit Thani did not disappoint, despite the rather changeable weather in the week we stayed.

We opted for a beach villa and were astounded by the space- both inside and out. The outside bathroom had a large freestanding bath and an internal and external shower. This gave a very spacious and luxurious feel; which you would expect from 5* plus accommodation.

The beach villa opened out onto a patio area which led to a beautiful secluded white sandy beach. The ocean waters were turquoise blue, crystal clear and full of brightly coloured tropical fish which were protected from inexperienced snorkelers as all snorkelers borrowing equipment are required to attend a reef briefing session before swimming on the house reef.

We have been to several spectacular house reefs before but none matched the array of fish and coral which we saw during our stay at Dusit Thani. We also went on the turtle snorkeling experience with Lauren, the island's resident marine biologist and this again was an unmissable experience. To swim with turtles was an incredible adventure!

We opted for the half board restaurant plan and were very impressed by all three of the restaurants which we visited throughout our stay. The choice was vast and the restaurants catered for all palettes and nationalities.

However, what really sets Dusit Thani apart from all the other resorts we have visited is their staff. They are courteous, helpful and extremely friendly; they genuinely want to talk to you and ensure that your holiday meets all your expectations. We don't usually attend the cocktail meet and greet evening but this was very different and an opportunity to meet all key staff informally. A special mention must go to James - the restaurant manager, Clifford (whom we later learned had only just joined the resort!) and Andreas. These three staff in particular went out of their way to make our holiday a unique and special experience - thank you!


We tend to get 'villa envy' when we go to a resort but on this occasion although we stayed in one of the relatively less superior villas - a beach villa - 310, we were very satisfied with our choice. We had our own beach area and easy access to one of the snorkeling 'gateways'. Some of the beach villas however, did overlook the water villas and I would have been unhappy to have been in one of these villas.

We like to walk around the island but this was not possible on Dusit Thani because of the water villas by the shore and the infinity pool. However, we also recognise that this also means that privacy is maintained.

Although the resort was 80-90% full when we stayed it always felt that there were very few guests. For some this may be too quiet, especially if you eat later in the restaurants, or go for a drink at the bar in the evening. But most people go to the Maldives for complete relaxation and we certainly returned feeling totally rejuvenated!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 10+ 5 star Maldivian resorts over past few years including the most 'exclusive choices' available including W, Four Seasons, Shangri La, Soneva Fushi etc. we had our expectations prior to arriving at Dusit Thani.
The resort and everything about it we loved!!! The snorkelling was fab with excellent house reef and SCUBA centre very professional with a 'lucky' guide diver called Ahmed - lucky because on every dive we saw something special from mating Octopus to Giant mantas and wonderful leaf fish in between!!! Thank you Ahmed!!
Our butler Siraj was a star and without being under our feet always being available with impeccable exposure and timing......... A fine skill.
The Thai restaurant is FANTASTIC we also ate at the fish restaurant which was also great.
Thank you all at the Massage centre perfect service very helpful and enjoyed 5 wonderful experiences there........the only regret was not booking early enough the last day massage - so it was full......... So book early!!!!
Finally to James and Andreas from the Management teams 2 very professional friendly and efficient individuals who understand what customers need!!!
All in all a great place and well managed resort I can highly recommend. Rgds Steve and Janti

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevechappell07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sawasdee krup, Khun Steve and thank you for your fantastic review! I am glad that out of your numerous your travels to Maldives resorts, you decided to step into our little paradise on Mudhdhoo and that you found your stay satisfactory.

We are ecstatic that your underwater adventures here were colourful and diverse – the vast marine life here in the Baa Atoll is something we are proud to share with all our visitors. I am pleased that you found Butler Siraj’s service gracious as we intend, and that our Benjarong restaurant team has succeeded in delighting you with authentic Thai cuisine in the Maldives. The team at Devarana Spa are glad to know that you enjoyed your wellness treatments and I do apologise for being unable to accommodate your booking on the last day. We have just hired four additional therapists as our Deverana Spa has become very popular with guests.

We hope your travels bring you back to the Baa Atoll next year and that you will consider us again on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

After looking at many reviews on Trip advisor and big hotel names we chose to the one that has less reviews unfortunately which came out to be BEST OF THE BEST HOTELS !

To be honest, I am speechless and do not know where to start from but my wife and I booked at Dusit Thani a month ago only and we have been looking forward to it day by day minute by minute and I am telling you it was WORTH EVERY MINUTE !

Do not really know where to start from but I must share this phenominal inspirational experience we had... From the meeting and greeting at Male Airport moving on to the brilliant relaxing lounge at Dusit Thani lounge at Male Airport enjoying an amazing veiw of all Seaplanes departing for all different Islands where you wait until the Seaplane is ready for departure... Upon arrival at the hotel all staff will be standing there waiting for you with GREAT smile and refereshing drink and towel which really feels soo good at time.

Dusit Thani Island, was an AMAZING INSPIRATIONAL place for us with all the DELICIOUS food and the powerful ENERGY coming from the Island you feel so connected to mother nature.. The Reef the hotel has was breathtaking and same the purity of the water.

The hotel has LOVELY staff who are the SWEETEST and who serve you with their HEARTS and most important they do not stop smiling.. whereevr you go in the Island the staff is so friendly and always asking how they could help and what they can offer to make you happy and comfortable...

Rooms are brilliant – Food is excellent (my advise to take half board) – We were told that the Spa is the BEST in Maldives and it WAS TRULY – BEST SERVICES …

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR COUPLES AND FAMILIES !!! GO THERE AND YOU WILL NEVER REGRET IT :)

Room Tip: If you haven't visited Dusit Thani Maldives you are missing a lot !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahaa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Sawasdee krup!

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience with us. I am delighted that the ‘energy’ of the island and its unique qualities have proven to be the right choice for you. We feel happy knowing you found your stay excellent – from your arrival, to the rich house reef, the cuisine, the treetop spa and the staff. I can personally say that our team strives hard day by day to make this possible for each of our guests, and we are grateful for your appreciation. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baa Atoll hotels
3.4 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#11 of 14 in Baa Atoll
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 14 in Baa Atoll
306 reviews
18.1 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
994 reviews
6.5 mi away
Soneva Fushi
Soneva Fushi
#1 of 1 in Kunfunadhoo
793 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Maldives

Property: Dusit Thani Maldives
Address: Mudhdhoo Island, 2188
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Baa Atoll
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Maldives blends graceful Thai hospitality with the unparalleled luxury setting of the Maldives. This luxury resort is encircled by white sandy beaches and a mesmerizing turquoise lagoon. You can spend your days just relaxing and taking in the breathtaking scenery, or dive into the crystal clear water and explore the underwater world. The resort has a spectacular 360 degree living house reef and is located in the first ever UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve in the Maldives. To top it off, Dusit Thani Maldives is also the first and only resort in the Maldives with an official Freediving Centre. For those who have an extraordinary taste for life can enjoy our world class restaurants with award winning chefs on the island. Even though each restaurant is equally mouth-watering, our signature Thai inspired restaurant - Benjarong, is the crown jewel of the property. Revitalize your body and mind by reveling in Devarana Spa's impeccable facilities. The spa encompasses six deluxe treatment pods which sit elevated amongst the island's palm trees. This haven of luxury offers a selection of Thai Inspired facial and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dusit Thani Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Maldives Hotel Baa Atoll
Dusit Thani Maldives Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing