We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it, -best atmosphere - prefer over both four seasons and anantara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Thani Maldives
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Baa Atoll
Reviewed January 5, 2013

spent two weeks here. this is our 6th trip to the maldives and we have previously stayed at both fours seasons resorts and anantara. loved loved loved dusit thani.

the house reef is the best of all the resorts we have been to. a few steps out from the dive centre and we saw gazillion differnet kinds of fish, octopus and sea turtles. a bit further out we saw manta rays, many dolphins and more sea turtles.i dont dive but my family does and they had wonderful dives with really good dive masters

loved the sea villa- best sea villa so far in maldives. slept SO well. the food was wonderful - beautifully prepared and a wide selection. best of all the resorts we have been to the in the maldives.

there are less golf buggies on this island and i really really hope they can keep it that way.there are bikes to get around if you dont feel like the 5 minute stroll from one side of island to the other and it made a huge difference to the feel of the island it feels much "wilder" and less artificial.

the staff is briliant. attentive not intrusive. the atmosphere is much much much better at the dusit than at other resorts.

during previous visits to the maldives - i have witnessed guests behaving badly - seemingly taking out their stress from home on resort staff in paradise who are obviously not in a position to argue back. just because one pays a substantial rate does not entitle one to treat staff poorly and to dump ones personal frustrations. i guess that as a result of this the staff at places like four seasons is quite stressed and tense which is so so sad. here the atmosphere was so relaxed and relaxing. loved that. i hope they can stay that way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank plof67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Thani Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 845 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

This resort was one of the best ive ever been to. Between the service, food, and activities, my family had an abolute blast. A bit of a haul to get to but so worth it once you get there. Yoope and the rest of the staff were very accomodating never hesistated to ask if there was anything else they could provide. Top notch servoce. We also had a fantastic experience with the dive center...getting PADI certified and doing the open water portion there was fantastic and seamless. Our instructor Javier was incredible and very user friendly. Between the house reef and other spots it was some of the best diving ive ever done. Service A+, accomodations A+, activities A+

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sawasdee Krub Sean N,

We are very much touched by your kind words and I am delighted that you had a wonderful holiday experience at Dusit Thani Maldives. It’s great to know that we are on the way to delivering the type of hospitality we aim to provide. We hope to get a chance to welcome you again in the future - with your new PADI certification it might be of interest for you to see Hanifaru Bay just around the corner in the months of July to November, as it is one of the few places where whale sharks congregate to feed and is also home to one of the largest gatherings of manta rays in the world.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our expectations were very high given we had just spent 5 nights at the 4 Seasons Landaa Giravaaru. Four nights into our stay at Dusit Thani, we must confess that we have been pleasantly surprised. Management have delivered on all fronts, showing extreme professionalism and flexibility. The incredibly hard working, friendly and smiling staff have really gone out of their way catering to all our whims and desires.
The quality of the food in the various restaurants is extremely high and the buffet breakfast, although not as lavish as the one at the 4 Seasons, is very good indeed.
Our overall experience at this resort so far has left us with a very good feeling, so much so, that we intend on reserving our stay for next year.
If we had to complain about anything at this resort, the kids club is a little "poky" for lack of better word. It's a shame that it closes between 12-14:00. Also, the boardwalks leading to the Ocean Villas, are likely to give your bare feet a splinter or two if one is not careful.
The other big wow factors at this resort are the amazing snorkelling, the main infinity pool, the well appointed Ocean Villas with there plunge pools, the unlimited complimentary WiFi and above all, the staff.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank swisslotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I were spending our honeymoon at Dusit Thani Maldives for 4 nights at the Lagoon Villa. We had a wonderful and relaxing time there, enjoyed the hotel and the wonderful house-reef very much. The staffs were very nice in general.

1/ Room (Lagoon Villa):
- Spacious and new, good privacy. Deck area is good with stunning view of the sea and house-reef right in front. Plunge pool is a bit small and has very rough edge. I scratched my foot at the first time entering the pool;
- We stayed at the room number 500s, which is not in the route of guest boat or water taxi;
- We found that in the night the sound of the waves is a bit too loud, since the Lagoon Villa is built on the house reef and very close to shore. I think neither the Ocean Villa nor the Beach Villa has this problem; At our last night, there was a loud hissing sound from the air-conditioning generator, which is just a wall behind the bed;
- Overall clean and comfortable. However, saw a cockroach at the deck one night, and found a cockroach egg in the wardrobe corner at our last day (yuk..);
- two bicycles were ready in front of our villa upon arrival and available for our entire stay, which was good cause some of the villas didn't have them;

Food and restaurants:
- Breakfast was very good, with good varieties of dishes, fruit and honey(!). Waiters were very attentive and kept asking whether we would like more juices or beverages;
- Market Restaurant: Buffet dinner with different themes every night. We didn't like it at all! The quality and selections of the food did not worth the 80 USD per head. So eat somewhere else.
- Benjarong: The Thai restaurant is good, yet the portion is small (we were on half board, so we got to choose five courses from a set menu), food is a bit salty but authentic;
- Sea Grill: Wonderful! The view and atmosphere were superb, with the main pool right by the side. We had our honeymoon set dinner there, which was OK. The second night we returned for dinner, even we were on half-board, we could choose three courses from the proper a la carte menu. My husband had a charcoal grilled steak and I had a black cod as main course, which were absolutely delicious.
- Sand Bar: Best place to watch sunset, although the cocktail was not very good.

Snorkelling:
- House reef is beautiful, plenty of fishes, some nice coral;
- Snorkel trip to nearby islands and sand bank was great! It charged 95 USD per person for snorkelling at two locations. The corals are much nicer. I saw three large sea turtles! Good thing is they will go even if there is only one person sign up for the trip (so it is like two boat crew and one water centre staff to one client), not so good is the average cost per person would not be lowered if more people sign up;

Spa: Very good.

In general, the service is satisfying. Our butler Hannan was very helpful. Since the island is pretty small, we walked most of the time, but for the couple of times we called the buggy, it usually turned out late. Especially on the day we checked out, the buggy was late for more than half an hour, giving that I called the reception/butler several times asking for it.

To conclude, the island and the hotel are very nice. We enjoyed the peaceful hideaway. There are rooms for improvement in services and some of the restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean villa is better. Lagoon Villas at 500s have less water traffic passing through and closer to...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Sawasdee Krub Cathy F,

We greatly appreciate your feedback which I have shared with your butler Hanan and my entire team. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your villa, the Devarana Spa and our 360 degree house reef.

I am sorry to hear that you scratched your leg entering your villa pool. Our pools are finished with Beadcrete material which we chose particularly for its aesthetic and anti-slip properties, and so it does have a bit of a grainy surface.

The air conditioner noise was due to an out of order contractor which was also noted in our duty log and has since been rectified when it was brought to our attention.

Because of our location there will be the occasional tropical insects here and there, despite regular cleaning of all areas. The resort also fumigates on a daily basis and I have re-briefed our housekeeping team to be diligent in keeping the pest control schedule to minimise the presence of mosquitoes and other pests on the island.

We have a new Executive Chef on board who has begun to implement exciting changes and The Market restaurant is top priority. We are particularly proud of our signature Benjarong restaurant which uniquely offers truly authentic Thai cuisine in the Maldives, and I am delighted that you found it satisfactory.

As for the buggies, we do apologise that they can be late at peak times but of course we should inform the guests if there is an anticipated delay. We are working on improving our systems to manage our island vehicles with more efficiency, and this includes a replacement this month of all guest bicycles with a new kind, better suited for island use.

I do hope to see you return to Dusit Thani Maldives in the future. Until then, Khob khun krub, thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Desmond Hatton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you want privacy and peace with the sea right at your doorstep then this is one of the best places to holiday. We stayed at the ocean villa and it was an unbelievable experience. The island has some great restaurants and and sea sports.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank thezaksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Khun thezaksons,

Season’s greetings from Mudhdhoo Island! Thank you very much for your delightful review. November was indeed a great month to experience the Baa Atoll waters and the 360 degree house reef which I trust you enjoyed from your Ocean Villa. My team and I hope to welcome you again to Dusit Thani Maldives in the coming year when you can surely expect a few more surprises to wow you on your holiday.

Sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

thanks for offering us a good stay here.
there were some good thing to share like the fantastic food in restaurants sea grill with a stunning view and tasty food. In general, staff were all polite and helpful and we have a pleasant stay.

however, i believe it's average in terms of $ spent vs quality i received...
there were sth we didn't feel happy with like
1) when we checkin, the staff did not know that's our honeymoon, i expect some special treatment to the room (like handkerchief made swan on the bed? anything that made a couple feel they are in honeymoon)... very disappointed...
2) i have earlier email them that's our honeymoon and hopefully arranged us a particular villa, i understood that's subject to availability, however the butler didn't explain us he can't do it which made me feel he never got my request...
3) the buggy (transportation in the island) was really insufficient, it took me very long period of time to wait esp around the clock for meal... it's raining today here, it took me around half an hour to wait...
4) we have honeymoon dinner tmr night but we heard it charged around USD100 additional to arrange that in the beach which i didn't aware that by seeing simply the pic in their fan page... so i gave up the beach one...
5) it took us waiting long for borrowing a bicycle... tho butler arranged us at last... staff could consider asking us and arranged for us in advance when we checkin not until we aware of that service and request...
6) the toothpaste would never be refilled...
7) the decoration seems wore out much even it has already been in business for not long...
8) The life vest provided in our villa were wore out already.... tho we could borrow again in the dive centre...
with the range of $$ spent, I think they could do much better when compares to other similar hotels...

I'm checking out on coming friday and still have two days stay here, i hope they will really do sth special so as to make us feel we are really in a honeymoon...

overall, i do like the staff here but i believe there are so much rooms to improve the facilities, quality of villa, services to honeymooner...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddieM554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Sawasdee Krub Kuhn Eddy M, thank you for your comments. We too are disappointed with your experience and rest assured that we are now taking swift measures to rectify your stay so that you may enjoy the remainder of your holiday at Dusit Thani Maldives. Ms. Fathimath Shaazleen, Director of Rooms and your butler are on standby at all times to be of any assistance whatsoever. Please do call us at extension “0” for any further concerns so that we may assist immediately.

Sincerely,
Desmond Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon (1 night @ Lagoon Villa & 3 nights @ Ocean Villa).

The house reef was great. We snorkeled everyday and saw many fishes, 1 Manta Ray and 1 Turtle @ the house reef.

The food were delicious, especially the breakfast buffet @ Market.
The fruit corner was quite impressive.

But the service was terrible.

Butler:
- we asked him to arrange our honeymoon dinner and he forgot about it and asked when we would like to have our honeymoon dinner again on the next day

- we asked him to make a spa booking. There was no further update from him and I supposed this had been arranged. However, this was not the case. He didn't tell me that it's fully booked and I was on the waitlist UNTIL we asked.

- we needed to move to Ocean Villa on Day 2. And the butler was late and made us wait in the Lagoon Villa for ~45min and then waited in the Ocean Villa for another 30min for our lugguages. And we just wasted our time on waiting and could do nothing or go anywhere because everything was packed. Our day was ruined by such a poor arrangement

- we asked him what was the theme for the dinner buffet @ Market on Friday. He told us that it was Italian style and we booked it. However, we found that it should be Mediterranean style instead.

Other staff:
- When we went to Sea Grill to enjoy our honeymoon dinner, the waiter passed the menu to us. We asked if we could choose another dessert since we didn't like chocolate. The waiter said we could change BEFORE we came for dinner. However, nobody passed the menu to us prior to the dinner and how could we know & change it?

- worst experience was @ Benjarong. We found that there was some problem with one of our dishes and requested the waiter to replace it. And he just went away and ignored us. This made us very unhappy and could not believe this 1-star service would happen in such a luxury resort

There were nice staff in this resort but we experienced terrible service from others.
Unfortunately, our honeymoon was ruined by them.

Desmond - thanks for handling our complaint. We tried to enjoy our stay at the resort but the dining experience @ Benjarong on Day 4 was the worst experience I had in your resort which made us very disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Ivy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Sawasdee Krub Khun Ivy Y,

Thank you very much for your comments. I and the team at Dusit Thani Maldives are sorry to hear about the service issues you experienced with us. I am saddened that certain aspects of your stay have marred your impression of the resort and affected your honeymoon experience even after I had met you personally.

I can assure you that we are seriously addressing several areas in our operation to ensure that your experiences are not repeated. Your feedback helps us pinpoint top areas for further training in order to deliver a high standard of of hospitality, and we apologise again for the mistakes you have encountered, particularly in Benjarong, in your missed spa appointment and dinner reservation, and in our set menus.

We are happy that you enjoyed the marine life in our reefs as well as the breakfast buffet. I am glad that you were able to enjoy even a part of your stay and hope that one day you will consider returning to Dusit Thani Maldives to give us a fresh chance to provide you with distinct and gracious Thai hospitality. Please feel free to contact me anytime by email.

Sincerely,

Desmond Hatton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baa Atoll hotels
3.4 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
563 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 15 in Baa Atoll
312 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
#1 of 1 in Dhunikolhu Island
1,372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Island Resort & Spa
Royal Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Horubadhoo Island
1,241 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Maldives

Address: Mudhdhoo Island, 2188
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Baa Atoll
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Baa Atoll
#6 Luxury Hotel in Baa Atoll
Price Range: $602 - $2,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Thani Maldives blends graceful Thai hospitality with the unparalleled luxury setting of the Maldives. This luxury resort is encircled by white sandy beaches and a mesmerizing turquoise lagoon. You can spend your days just relaxing and taking in the breathtaking scenery, or dive into the crystal clear water and explore the underwater world. The resort has a spectacular 360 degree living house reef and is located in the first ever UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve in the Maldives. To top it off, Dusit Thani Maldives is also the first and only resort in the Maldives with an official Freediving Centre. For those who have an extraordinary taste for life can enjoy our world class restaurants with award winning chefs on the island. Even though each restaurant is equally mouth-watering, our signature Thai inspired restaurant - Benjarong, is the crown jewel of the property. Revitalize your body and mind by reveling in Devarana Spa's impeccable facilities. The spa encompasses six deluxe treatment pods which sit elevated amongst the island's palm trees. This haven of luxury offers a selection of Thai Inspired facial and body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Maldives Hotel Baa Atoll
Dusit Thani Maldives Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing