We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stunning place. Every is perfect. You just need to forget about the price and then just enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. From the whale shark excursion to the daily snorkling and the new year's eve fireworks, we have just enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank telemaqueparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went to conrad for new year with my husband and 2 children.
It was like been in a paradise. The two islands are very nice, the sea is full of coloured fishes that you can admire with a simple snorkeling at the house reef in front room 225 and the mini reef near the spa retreat.
We had the snorkleing safari exursion that was very nice and suitable for beginners. We had also two dives where we saw sea turtles, whale skark and tunas.
In the evening at the resort you can see two resident mantas.
The welcome is wonderful: they pick you up at the arrival at male and escort you to the lounge to wait for the sea plane.
Only two improvement areas:
- prices at the resort are too high. A bottle of water is 10$ and the minimum price for a bottle of wine is 95$. We suggest to sign for the half board.
- at departure the staff brings you to the airport but they left us there more than one hour waiting for the opening of the ceck in: why don't they let you use the lounge again?




Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank lucarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels in one of the most beautiful location in the world. This was one of our dream locations and this certainly lived up to our expectations. We (my wife, son & I) went for both Christmas and New Year, staying just over two weeks. Overall,this was a great holiday. It was very restful, while offering many activities for all of us, including my teenaged son.

That said, some of the things that would have helped us is the following:

Weather - it is tropical, so it does rain. But, this seems to be mostly at night and didn't negatively effect our holiday at all.

Dress Code - mostly smart casual with all of us wearing flip-flops. Men wear shorts and a polo shirt. Women wear mostly summer dresses. The only exception is the underwear restaurant, but you still don't need shoes.

Accommodation - we stayed in three types of villas. A Beach Villa, Delux Beach Villa & Water Villa. All three were to a fantastic standard. The housekeeping team did a great job. All facilities were very good. For example, you get free water (plenty for the day) and great free coffee. If you need something, just ask! The team really are there to make sure you have the best time possible. You get assigned a kind of "personal concierge". My only comment here is that I did have to double check things. The pictures and 360 view on the web site is a great way to see what you are getting.

Excursions - first of all there is a lot to do without leaving. For example, you can canoe, pedalo, snorkel all for free. For snorkelling, there are so many great places with the two main reefs, that I wouldn't pay to go on an excursion for this. We paid for one and it was a great trip, but around the resort we saw a manta ray, sharks, jelly fish (evidentially rare to see), loads of different fish. My son used it as an opportunity to get his advanced open water PADI qualification. The dive team was great and he got in some fantastic dives. We also used the spa, including the in room (water villa), this was great.

Food, Beverage & Entertainment - first thing to say here is don't forget to add the 10% service charge and 8% tax! Basically, I would just add 20% to any price you think you are paying! This caught me out and took me a few days to register! I would have hated to get to the end and get a 20% surprise. That said, all the food was to a very high standard! We had breakfast at the buffet - no real choice here. The food was great and you could have sparkling wine if you wanted. For dinner we tried most places. The buffet offered a good variety and was Los good, but for me was not the best choice. The under water restaurant was an experience not to be missed. My only suggestion is that with only 14 people being served, I would ask who else is going. For example, couples, families or a large party? The Sunset Grill was the best for us. The Vilu Was also very good. The Rangali Bar has a good food selection at a reasonable price. Finally, we loved the deck on the Water Villa and used in roomdining to eat on the deck. This was a reasonable price and a good variety. In terms of drinks, Gold Card members get free cocktails on the other island, this was always great. Then they also offer a happy hour with entertainment every night.

Staff - great!

Have fun! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: If you get a beach villa, go for 119 or higher or on the 200 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Conrad Maldives was an amazing hotel on a amazing island. Our unique Villa Manager Mohamed Saeed was at our disposal during our whole stay, day and night. He was always at our service with a smile on his face. We stayed at one of the Ocean Villas which was amazing!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellingsens P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

the most i admire is UNDERWATER RESTAURANT (ITHAA RESTAURANT) which is cool and awesome!!! you should try this, and really enjoyed my entire trip to corad... and i should appreciate the services at starting from lounge and reaching room is good,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Rajagopal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is by far one of the nicest hotels I had the honor to visit.

The location is great (the views at any given time are amazing), service is top-notch, everything is clean and the rooms are spacious and an experience by themselves (even the less expensive one's have a private terrace, private and huge bath, direct access to the beach).

The island is quite large and connected to a second island (a third, for employees, was currently being built) and great for walks. Many places for spectacular views or just to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. There is a lot to do and see - water sports are free, except the one's with an engine. You can even rent a free pair of snorkeling gear. Scuba diving is great and the hotel has a own diving shop with several dive masters - not too expensive. There are at least two diving sessions organized by the dive masters. The high-sea fishing was also reasonably priced, we learned a lot from the crew, saw dolphins and our catch was prepared for us in one of the restaurants.

There are several restaurants on the islands - we nearly tried all, and the food and service was always exceptional.

The best place to just relax (from what we experienced). We loved walking around barefoot for a whole week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Conrad Rangali Island in the Maldives in January 2013. We think it ranks as perhaps our most favorite vacation ever. It is certainly our most favorite beach vacation ever. The Maldives are hard and expensive to reach, at least from USA, and the resorts are expensive... but maybe that is why the vacation can be so special.

The Conrad Rangali Island spans three separate islands (only two of which are accessible to guests, the third is "back of the house") connected by both a foot bridge (also golf carts) and a shuttle boat. There are two main types of villas - beach villas, and overwater villas. The beach villas are set back a bit from the edge of the beach, but all have patios and paths accessing the beach. We didn't stay in one but they looked spacious and comfortable and well designed.

The overwater villas are, as the name implies. over the water and ours was simply stunning. It was set in water that was about 4-6 feet deep depending on the tide, and with stairs descending into the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Because of the way the atoll is shaped, the water was always fairly still and gentle around the villa. I don't have any idea what the customs or rules are in the Maldives, but at dawn and dusk we felt comfortable skinny dipping. The hotel's dive shop will lend you a snorkel mask and fins, and there were plenty of fish to make swimming and snorkeling around the villa fun.

The villa's outdoor deck had sitting areas and a plunge pool, and an umbrella, so it was a comfortable place to chill. The villa itself was beautiful and in immaculate condition. One nice touch was that on several occasions the housekeepers made beautiful displays on our bed, with flower petals and with what I'll call towel origami. There was good internet service in our villa, so I was able to stay caught up with work and the world - but even better was the fact that I had a glass desk with not just a floor to ceiling window but also a glass floor under the desk, so I could always watch the sealife. While I was at the desk, I saw juvenile sharks, manta rays, and many other types of fish - it was really heavenly.

The room had a Nespresso coffee maker with a generous selection of Nespresso capsules, so we appreciated that in the mornings.

I would think that romantic couples, who really like each other's company, would be the ones who would most enjoy this resort. While there are some activities you can book, it's also the kind of vacation where you want to nap a lot, read books, and enjoy being with your partner.

We snorkeled a good deal, every day. The first few days mainly off our villa. Later we learned about the "house reef" where there is the greatest variety of fish and color, so do ask about that. The resort offers dives, and I'm told they are quite good, though I'm not a diver. They do also offer diving classes.

One thing not to miss during your stay is the underwater restaurant. It's a novel experience, and we felt it was totally worthwhile. You will need reservations as I think there are only 8 seats. We got to feed the fish one evening. They feed the fish around the restaurant to ensure the views.

The breakfast served is outstanding, especially in the main restaurant. There was fruit, smoothies, baked goods, and of course Western breakfast dishes including eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. But there were also Japanese selections including miso soup and sushi. And Chinese and noodle choices. And grilled fish. It was truly brunch, and we certainly could not have imagined eating three meals in a day.

Because it is a private island, all the meals and drinks are at the resort. There are at least four or five different restaurants and several other options including beach BBQs and in-room dining. The food was high quality and varied, although pricey.

I'm an HH Diamond member, and the main Diamond benefit was a daily cocktail hour at one of the restaurants. This included an hors d'oeuvres and drinks from a special menu.

We had a great time, and found it very special, and hope to go back again.

When I have a chance I will load some photos.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank seacarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,127 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,140 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
968 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Address: South Ari Atoll, Republic of Maldives, 20077, 2034
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range: $725 - $2,938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing