We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, Island Time....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, Island Time....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I just had a 3 night vacation (way too short of a stay) at the Conrad Maldives. Beautiful facilities and calm waters for snorkeling. It is a little out of the way with a 30 min flight from Male. The cost was $500 plus taxes and they have a great Conrad lounge at the seaplane departure building. I requested an early flight but got a late afternoon flight instead. Everything around the hotel (but not the hotel itself) runs on Island time and when I asked when was my flight I was told I needed to check out by 12:30pm for my flight. When we arrived at the lounge they couldn't tell us the exact departure time. We waited until 3pm before we took off and got to Conrad after 4pm as there is a one hour difference between Rangali and Male. Same with the return. Was told to check out by 4pm for our flight but the actual flight was not until 6pm.

Other than the flights, the Conrad had all the amenities such as tea, coffee, and free bottles of water (after all it is an island and there is no convenience stores on that island) and a turn down service. Slippers, robes, and basic bathroom amenities are provided as well. The room was very well air conditioned. Everyone was so friendly and every request was met. Food was very expensive but again it is an island and was expecting this (a Pizza cost $27 plus 18% taxes and service charges and a coke cost around $6). I would ask for a meal plan with the room when booking.

I had a spa treatment and it was heavenly. I would strongly recommend leaving a few hours for a treatment. One other thing is that the shower is in the courtyard (open air) and the blinds comes down inside the room to give the person in the shower some privacy. Most people that come to the Conrad are family or honeymooners so not a problem but if you are just two friends coming to this hotel, be aware that your friend inside controls the window blinds.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank venicegirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    235
    93
    27
    20
See reviews for
427
1,244
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Honeymoon at this Hotel definitely left us something to always remember, no doubt they have the best customer service in the world and the rooms were beyond words,we had a private pool and Jacuzzi in our room and our access to the beach from our room was very convenient. we got a complimentary dinner on the indian ocean and champagne from the hotel for being a honeymoon couple. life there was simply beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bukkyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Unique experience: Underwater restaurant is very beautiful. Cruise is a luxury experience. Very clean environment and helpful staff. It's very expensive, all means starts with $100 per person, activities are around $100-$200 per person. Extremely expensive transportation of sea plane $500 per person round trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The ride on the seaplane was the smoothest airplane ride I've ever had. The ocean is like a swimming pool, and the resort has excellent snorkeling onsite. The accommodations are stellar, so I don't think you can go wrong with water villa or beach villa. There are numerous activities to do at the resort. The food was very good, and meals were expensive, but that is to be expected on a small island in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Vilu restaurant had excellent breakfast. The weekly cocktail hour on the beach with all of the hotel staff was a nice touch. Two activities not to miss are the spa service (fantastic) and dining at Koko Grill (go hungry). Be prepared to do a lot of walking, which we didn't mind at all. It would have been nice to have had bicycles, too. The butler service was not as useful as it could have been, as it seems more straightforward to call the concierge directly. I'd love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnc2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have already written a review, but I would like to add a few more words, since I very strongly recommend this wonderful resort. Nevertheless that it was our third visit to Maldives and second to Conrad Rangali, we found the experience overwhelming. It is more than just a wonderful place for a vacation and/or special family occasion, as it is a rather unique experience. The beauty of nature, the natural lagoon, the pristine and very warm water, the sea life, the service, the food and the spa are all very wonderful and memorable for life.

Fellow travelers have written extensively about the process of arrival and departure. I will reiterate and say that the process is flawless and the waiting lounge is first class with many amenities. It is quite important that you make the correct decision in choosing the type of villa that suites you. Even the lowest category is absolutely wonderful. However, our most favorite villa is the Premier Water Villa. They only have two of them and we like 313 more than any other villa. It has been recently totally renovated and redesigned to absolute perfection. The bathroom is very large, with rainfall shower and spray jets; the bathtub/Jacuzzi in the bathroom is large and comfortable for two with a wonderful view. Even the toilet can satisfy the most demanding bottom with remote control technology. The deck is large with a large infinity pool with stunning view of the lagoon. Watching the moon, stars before sunrise is wonderful. The view of sunset is overwhelming. The amenities in the Villa are great. The bed was extra comfortable. You can leave the sliding door open the whole night with a very mild sound of waves in the background and no mosquito bite. In fact during the last stay and present we did not have even one mosquito bite. You can make tea and coffee early morning and sit on the deck, enjoy the quietness and watch the fishes below. We were blessed to see the full moon and several wonderful sunsets which were beyond wonderful.

There are many options for food. The breakfast is excellent with many options. You can choose the fruits that you like and it will be squeezed in front of you…real fresh fruit juice. The quality of food in all restaurants is excellent and the ambiance extra pleasant. Both during breakfast and dinner, the chef came to our table and talked to us to prepare our meals the way we liked it.

We were very pleased with the courtesy of staff, very professional and very friendly. All our requests were done in a very speedy manner and to our full satisfaction. Our Villa host Neeyaz was absolutely great and he was always there to help us and made our stay so pleasant.

I hope you enjoy your stay there.

Room Tip: The Premier Water Villa is truly an experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takhteh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontvieille, Monaco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The hotel we wanted to go to was full, so we ended up here. We were very pleasantly surprised.
The first couple of days we were on a small island, that gives you a lot of privacy and they can pick you up with a buggy or you take a boat, or you walk to the main island. Then we changed to a water villa on the main island. The accommodation on both islands is spectacular. The food and drinks were very good, however be prepared to pay. The best part of the holidays was the diving. Four members of our family are divers, and the dive center in that resort is amazing. They went out of their way to help us. My son had trouble to equalize his ears on his very first dive and they took himout again until they managed. He saw a whale shark on his first real dive and a stone fish on his last.
Giant manta rays do loops under the bridge at night and tiny baby sharks come all the way ankle deep on the beach.
Special highlight - we did not wear shoes for a week!
Truly amazing experience. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

A brilliant holiday experience for our honeymoon! such a beautiful sea just like a picture. i recommend to anyone consider Maldives travel for conrad hotels!by the way,there are many sea activitis like whaleshark research is very good!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing