We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
woodbridge
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I spent 7 days, 6 nights at the Conrad Maldives - we just returned and unlike my other reviews, I have a lot to say.

First, it must be understood that I used points for this trip - its definitely not cheap, but after saving the points for more than 10 years, finally decided to use them.

We got a basic beach villa, villa number 213.

The villa itself was nice - however, there was a small issue. One it rained heavily one day and rain came in slightly into the bathroom area where the outdoor shower and courtyard are. It wasn't that big a deal, but if it had gone on for more than 1 day would have been annoying. Other than that, the villa was very nice, comfortable bed, the outdoor rain shower was fantastic and I was able to relax nicely all week. There was fresh fruit daily in the room and when we got there a bottle of champagne.

The location was also good, it like all beach villas was a short 2 minute walk to the beach and this side of the island had excellent snorkeling. For someone who can't swim well, I spent 2 hours at least every day in the water, it was crystal clear and the fish were amazing.


Food wise, as Hilton Gold Members, we (two people) got free breakfast at the buffet at Atoll Market for the stay. This was huge as it saved as a ton of money. The buffet there is amazing - it took three pictures on my camera to capture the whole thing. Its got indian food, Chinese food, pastries, cereals, western food, an omelet bar, eggs, bacon and more. Its also got a fresh juice bar where they will take fresh carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, pineapples, guavas and more and blend them any which way to make juice. The fresh fruit for eating was also fantastic. Breakfast was more like brunch as we ate a ton.

As a gold member we also got free happy hour at the vilu restaurant on the other island - that was also really nice - original creations by the bartenders which were all good.

To get from one island to the other, you could either walk on a foot bridge which was really cool (at night you could see fish jump in the water or even big rays) or take a boat across the perfectly blue sea.

I used the gym a couple of times. It had great equipment and the people running it were friendly and helpful.

Dinner most nights was at the rangali bar - it was great food - everything was really fresh, chicken tikka masala like I was back in India or even a simple pasta dish that tasted fantastic. My mother is very picky but the staff put together their own things from the menus and what was available and my mother was always amazed about how good the food was. A special shout out to the manager there - shark (yes, that is his name) who was fantastic.

To get to the resort itself, you must take a seaplane, which is not cheap ($500 per person).

Now why don't I give it 5 stars?

1) the island host was not very good - he came the first day and then we saw him the last day, never bothered to check in and I think since we used points he didn't really care about us.

2) the hotel cut it very close with our return flight, they didn't give us any options and got us to the main airport at 1:15 for a 2:20 international flight, we barely made it.

3) The cleaning staff was hit/miss - the main person was not very friendly and was unhappy that we weren't ready to have the room cleaned till around 2 each day and not in the morning (hey its called my vacation) and he never replaced the bath amenities. However, he always came with a second person who was much nicer.


that being said, I'd go back in a heartbeat - its a beautiful island, the resort is paradise and so quiet and the water was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duke147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    249
    101
    28
    22
See reviews for
469
1,323
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

14 nights of pure bliss!

The accomodation was sensational, the food was sensational all the staff were so freindly helpful and couldnt do any more for you! The views were flawless, the sea was warm and crystal clear! The fish were unlike anything you have every seen before (we even had a daily visit from a parrot fish who we named Gary!!)

We have been to the Maldives twice since and nothing has come close to this and never will!

An absolute dream come true!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leehaa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days at this absolutely stunning resort. I could find absolutely no fault at all, everything was just absolutely wonderful with the most attentive service I have ever experienced. We stayed in a water villa on the lagoon with a private plunge pool which I would highly recommend. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have been in almost 10 resorts at the Maldives looking for relax, diving, food and spas. Conrad has been one the most rewarding aspects in all these aspects. Great island, you can even walk from the two small islands, good diving school and lot of action, even white sharks we saw, magnificent rooms, spa with a lot of options and great smiling service. Will come back for sure. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for un upgrade to a water villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

stunning water villa with the view, excelent food, amazing undersea restaurant, friendly staff, etc etc heavenly beautiful !
this place is a perfect place to spend your holiday
Expensive but its worth every single penny !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erickindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Conrad Rangali always make us feel like home. With great services from friendly & professional staffs and managers including facilities, it makes this resort exceptional destination. We have been here several times. It is always heaven on earth. This time we stayed in "King Deluxe Beach Villa" - very spacious with private pool. The villa is great. Food is very delicious and a lot of varieties which will satisfy all nationalities - Atoll market, Sunset grill, Mandhoo, Vilu, and Rangali bar only named outlets we used in this vacation. The best restaurant for us is always Vilu. We wish to be back again sometimes. Finally, thank you very much for wonderful staffs and managers to make our vacation is unforgettable again :) ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our third visit to the Conrad over a number of years and we have to say that it was the very best. The Maldives themselves are just heavenly with white beaches, very warm sea waters, fish everywhere and great weather. This trip saw a few hours of rain sprinkled throughout our week but the vast majority of the time was sunny and clear.

This time we went for a beach villa and could stroll straight out of our villa down to the beach and into the sea. Whilst we have previously had a water vial and they are nice , the beach villas are also great and just a little bit larger on the whole.

The key success that Conrad has a resort is it’s people who are very genuine and truly want you to have a fantastic time. This is best summed up by ordering the cheese plate in the Vilu restaurant. As the cheese is kept in controlled conditions on the other islands (there are two linked by a short bridge) you are asked what you would like for your cheeses. In our case we had enjoyed cheese previously so ordered Stilton, Manchego and the stinky cheese they did a couple of nights before that melts. Within ten minutes Beatrice, who is a great star performer for the report, appears with the tray of cheese. Nothing was too much trouble and in our post box we got a list of the cheeses we had enjoyed so we know the names for when we are back home. You really can’t put a price on service that just centres itself around you and your enjoyment of your holiday.

Our Island host, Anna was also a great help, always there is we wanted to book something, wanted a reservation , advise or the like but in a quiet way giving us space to enjoy ourselves and never feeling under any pressure to book anything if we didn’t want to.
Our Villa was 120 and I would be very happy to stay there again and again, indeed we will try and book to return next year. It is close enough to the heart of the main island without being anywhere too busy.

My key tip for having a great time is to talk with the staff, they are only too happy to engage with you, recommend the best wine, change the way a dish is prepared or offer some local insight. Another tip is that when you arrive at the Conrad lounge at Male airport have some fresh light clothes to change into, use their shower suite and arrive feeling more human, especially if you come in overnight on the direct flight from London.

We would recommend the wine dinner as a great occasion, the Tapas night as good fun, good value and very enjoyable and both the sunset grill and Vilu restaurants as exceptional places to dine.

All in all this was a great holiday and we will lookm to go back again next year

Room Tip: Decide what you want using the web site, a water villa has a very different feel to a beach villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,066 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
626 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,995 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing