We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average & Standard Avoid Beach Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Average & Standard Avoid Beach Villas”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent 9 days at the Conrad and Christmas. The sea plane ride is ok only about 35 minutes or so and then you get to see the Conrad on arrival its 2 islands connected by a 500m bridge.
We had a beach villa that prooved very frustrating with the neighbours. The beach villa's the standard ones are all terraced so there is no peach if you have a neighbour. The sounds and noises echo around and its like a holiday camp and you paying xxxx $'s per night, not great.

Avoid the std beach villas like the plague and go for a Superior one they are detached and have space, there''ll be no regrets.

Only Diamond benfits were breakfast that seems to be complimetary anyway and the happy hour at the vilu which is 17.00-18.00 and on the opposite island as far as you can get from humanity. Though it takes 5 minutes by the ferry if you cant bare the 10-15 minutes walk. Then when you finshed there its happy hour at 2 other bars, i think it was 50% off for an hour though its not expensive anyway

Half board and eating from the buffet restuarant are the same price about 95$ + taxes per person per night. No surprises but its expensive. If you dont want to have too much to eat the bar menus at great and most familes do this and sit in the bar and eat, its very nice and much less than the 95.

The gym is great, 2 treadmills and everything you need. The undewater resutarant, you see fish but its overrated.

Overall I much preferred the Hilton Iru Fushi where we stayed last year, far better completely and would recommened that one if you have a choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JonnyN_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with us and your comments posted in TripAdvisor. I am sad to read that you did not like our Beach Villas since they are very unique. Hilton Iru Fushi is a nice resort but a different concept, however your points are taken positively. Once gain thank you for your comments and we still hope to welcome you back to Conrad Rangali in the near future.
Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    249
    100
    28
    20
See reviews for
465
1,315
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We made our choice of going to Rangali based on exclusivity of the resort as well as kids club facilities (our boys are 2.5 and 4). No regrets - it's a beautiful set of islands with plenty to do and see, good service (but still - quite a bit of room for improvement), extensive choice of activities and a couple of really good restaurants. Would I go there again? Probably not, but that's only because I normally like to visit new places. My husband, on the other hand, would go back tomorrow (providing there were enough buggies to wheel him around... ;))...
Pros:
- Stunning beaches, great snorkelling and boat excursions, breathtaking scenery whichever way you look, amazing sea-life and overall very well kept and clean resort.
- The Sunset Grill restaurant is by far the best on the island - very professional and friendly service, beautiful setting with fine views and absolutely delicious food. Between us we tried pretty much everything on the menu and couldn't fault anything. The staff were also very accommodating with regards to special requests - every time we had one (which with very young children was rather often) the chef would come up to our table and ask for details - brilliant!
- The Vilu restaurant was also lovely with very knowledgable staff and delicious food.
- The Wine Cellar Bar with tapas style food was awesome! Extensive choice of wine with fascinating presentation and a mini wine tasting course - very entertaining and a great experience, too!
- Our beach villa (134) was spacious and airy, with huge windows instead of walls and electric blinds. The outdoor bathroom was massive but hot at all times as, naturally, there was no air-con. It didn't bother us at all as we have already come across this concept before so we knew what to expect. Not the kind of solution you'd go for if you were to live there permanently but not a big deal for a couple of weeks on holiday. Plenty of outdoor space, beautiful garden and a large private pool - lovely and relaxing environment. The beach outside had a very private feel to it as there were never any people around and hardly any passers-by.
- Fantastic kids club - one of the best I've ever seen! Lovely and very attentive staff, loads of activities of all kinds but also free play. Gina in particular was brilliant! Very professional with great attitude and satisfactory level of authority. Our boys loved her!
- Sports centre very well equipped and managed - helpful and knowledgable staff, very polite and smiley.

Cons:
- Front desk staff rather stiff and slightly on a miserable side. They looked completely out of place and didn't know much when asked even about basics. Not quite sure what their role involves but I think they're just there for the sake of it...
- Personally I couldn't care less about buggies but my husband is a huge fan! ;) Once he's on holiday - he's on holiday kind of approach... Well, the buggies in Rangali always go in the opposite direction... Even when you order one it takes ages for it to turn up and sometimes it might get snatched by someone else or just leave if you're a minute (literally) late. The thing is - you see them everywhere but can't get one... Ever... Hmm...
- The underwater restaurant is a bit of a con, in my humble opinion... Totally lacks atmosphere, feels very clinical and claustrophobic. You can't even see that much into the distance as water around it just isn't very clear. When you look up it's too bright without sunglasses on. The coral is very poor so you're left with a few fish here and there (which are pretty but not quite good enough since you can't even eat them ;)) On top of all that you have no choice but to eat a set menu consisting of very, very average dishes for an extortionate amount of $200 per person!!! Now, I don't mind paying for something that's actually worth the money but in this case it feels like a total rip off. I really don't understand what the fuss is about but I suppose it's human curiosity that makes you want to go there. What's funny is that you're not allowed to pop down just to have a look (there is some sort of cocktail hour at 11am when you can go down for a drink but, somehow, we never quite fancied a drink straight after breakfast) and I totally understand why...
- Coco Grill... Lovely setting and a set menu, again. Nice food, several nicely presented dishes. Nothing out of this world, nothing mind blowing... Apart from the price - dinner for 2 with a bottle of LP Rose leaves you staggering $850 lighter. Again - I really wouldn't mind if it actually blew me away!

Overall we had a lovely time and lots of very pleasant experiences. A couple of hiccups here and there but nothing too serious. I would definitely recommend it to pretty much anyone as there's enough to see and do whoever you are.

Special big thank you to Paul, Renee, Alanah and Charlie - for being totally and utterly awesome!
Another one to Beatrice - the best Sommelier I've ever met and a truly lovely lady!
And one more to Gina - for being absolutely amazing with our boys!

Thank you Rangali Team!

Room Tip: Room 134 was lovely, with plenty of outdoor space and a large private pool. The stretch of beach out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C007JEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your time taken to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. Certainly good points and thank your for the feedbacks in order to improve the points you have mentioned. I appreciate your commendations on Paul, Reene, Alana, Charlie, Beatrice and Gina, this is really great and appreciate that. Once again thank you for your time taken and we hope to welcome you back to Rangali in the near future.
Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Conrad Rangali i november and had a fanastic experience. Everything from the first greeting at the airport was first class. The resort itself is quite large spanning over two islands connected by a bridge. We stayed on the smaller island which was nice and quite. There was a bit of a walk to get to the pool but it was also possible to take a the free shuttle boat over instead of walking.

The breakfast was just fantastic. Amazing variety and everything was fresh and delicious. Many of the other restaurants were unique experiences in themselves. However, the smaller nice restaurants were very expensive - a dinner for 2 could easily run over $500 excluding wine.

The diving center was great and very helpful. I chose to take the AOW course at the diving center and had a great instructor. The in house reef was nice for easy access diving and the sandy lagoon was perfect for courses. The boat diving available was also world class, including some wreck diving. Snorkeling was available free of charge and a great snorkeling reef was available right off the private beach.

All in all I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a truly luxurious experience and especially anyone interested in diving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback posted in TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, yes we are having one of the most beautiful dive sites close to the resort and the most beautiful housereef at Rangali. Please come again and we are looking forward welcoming you back to Conrad Rangali in the near future.
Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Conrad left us both exhilerated and sometimes disappointed. We were at the Conrad for 5 nights before going to the W for 5 nights (seperate review for that hotel). My wife and I travel about a third of the year for work and pleasure, so we have a fairly worldwide standard of performance and service from 5 star hotels. I believe our expectations are fair, not too fussy, but we do expect 5 star service. This review list the good, the bad, and then has a review of the dive crew.

Good: The resort itself is beautiful, built on two atolls with a small bridge between the two (wide enough for two golf carts to pass). The food was excellent - my wife and I are not "buffet" fans, but the champagne breakfast buffet was well laid out with great variation and both western and eastern dishes (my wife loved sushi in the morning). We were served promptly, and the qulity of food was generally top notch. We went to two different dinner restarants, The Sunset Bar and Grill (which has the same kitchen as the underwater restuarant), and Vilu Restuarant which also had excellent food - both restaurants had excellent wine lists with both expensive, and fairly priced offerings. The beach bar had excellent food for lunch (I had great Chiken Tikka)... The reception area and breakfast restaurant are all with beach sand as the floor, which gives a great feeling! The rooms are well designed, spacious, and have all the amenities of a 5 star resort. We stayed in a overwater Spa Villa, which i would highly recommend for privacy of couples (no young children on this branch of overwater bungalows).

Another amazing wonder about this resort was that at night, the bridge between the two atolls is lit below the water... and almost every night Mantas come about, and although my wife and I are avid divers, we still were in awe watching these majestic creatures from the bridge...

The spa overwater bungalows feature an added room with two spa beds, so there is no need to go to the spa...and we took advantage of this a number of times... our masseusses Atik, and Florita were amazing... so amazing, we asked for them repeatedly!!! (and we are tough customers to please for massages). We loved the fact that the spa villa walls opened completely to let the gentle breezes in... we left them open each night, even during the few rains....outstanding!

The house reef is excellent for snorkelling (even though we are divers, we also snorkelled a few times...

Bad: Service Shortage. They introduce you to the "room butler" (a mis-use of the term if ever there was one) at your arrival.... that may be the last time you see him or her.... it is obvious that they have way too many bungalows per room butler... Our butler told us that we must be tired, and that he would give us a tour later in the day when we were rested.... but that never happened.. we called to ask for a tour of the resort so that we would know about all the facilities etc... they said our butler was not available.. then told us that he would give us a tour the following morning at 9:00... at 9:00 no one showed up... so we called and asked if anyone could give us a tour... (we were told no, this had to be done by the butler, and that he was busy, but could do it 4 hours later...)... but wait, it gets more commical.... we caught the manager, Maxamillian, later that morning and explained the situation.. asking if anyone could simply jump in a golf cart and give us a 5 minute tour... and his first response: "we don't give tours of the facilities usually... we have way too many guest to make that feasible"...... his next statement "maybe there was a language issue" - the butler assigned to us spoke flawless english so this excuse was really out of left field. So.. no map or explanation of the various offerings, and important times (e.g. you need reservations at most of the restarants) it was clear that they were understaffed. Then the manager sole solution was that we give the same butler another try.... (no, I am not making this up)... at this point I was astonished... we felt about as far from a "valued customer" as possilble... finally, after I refused more failures with the same butler, the manager assigned us a different butler, but did so reluctantly and with much prodding.... she turned out to be a delight (thank you Sabrina!)... but the hoops we had to jump through for this very basic service astounded us as highly unprofessional, and did not start things off on a high service note.

Dive Crew: The dive crew were wonderful! (both my wife and I are advanced divers, but are honest enough to know that we often forget small things when we have not dived for a few months...).. The crew got us up to speed in a very helpful manner.. and then really worked hard to make each dive interesting, and a pleasure. There were towels and fruit, and warm tea offered after each dive... The dive boat itself was fantastic... a large old converted local wood fishing vessel that was perfectly maintained, fantastically roomy, and a pleasure to relax in. Special Thanks to these outstanding members of the Dive Crew: Agnas, Lydia, Ali, Dhabali, Adam!


Here are some staff that did an amazing job during our stay and deserve a special note: Shark, Gassim, Siyaad, Shahim, Beg...(this guy who worked at a resturant literally took off his shirt and pants and jumped in the water to retrieve a couples handbag that had fallen off the deck... and this was at night!)

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows are less likely to have mosquito problems (we had none!)... the only time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank culturebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your time taken to send us your long and detailed comments in TripAdvisor. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you on commenting on the Dive team & our Island Host Sabrina. I am sorry if your initial island host and our manager did not meet your expectations and certainly has been discussed already for better communicate and attentive service. Once gain thank you for your feedback which I certainly take positively. Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Back in a snowy winterland after having spent 8 nights at Rangali in the beginning of December together with our 8-year-old daughter – what a lovely vacation!
We stayed six nights in a standard beach villa and two nights in a retreat villa. Both were good, but the retreat villa was a real treat, with a perfect sunset view! After we moved there, we stayed put at the villa for most of the remaining time!

The weather was good throughout, with some really calm and humid days, a few more windy. This was our second stay in two years, very nice to be welcomed back as repeat guests! Everyone, from our professional host Ajay to all the buggy drivers and our cleaners were extremely nice. Most staff seem to have developed even more professional pride in their tasks and made the stay easy and enjoyable.

Special thanks to the lovely staff at Vilu: we would have liked to spend more time in your restaurant thanks to your great food and exceptional service, but our little one preferred the Atoll where she could go pick and choose between courses. Very sorry Rafeea that we didn’t get to say goodbye to you before you left, it was so nice to talk to you and we hope you the best and that we’ll see you again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddkrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor and I am glad to read that you had a perfect stay with us again. Certainly your comments about Arjay and Rafeea will be shared with them, this is very nice of you. Please visit us again and looking forward welcoming you back to Rangali in the near future. Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Conrad Rangali for 9 nights in November 2012 and we had an amazing time but that was due to the company and not so much the location. Don’t get me wrong, the resort is beautiful. However, having been to the Maldives before, I know you would struggle to find an ugly resort. The Maldives islands are stunning and offer a sense of luxury and some degree of isolation. In my opinion there was nothing special about the Conrad Rangali and some aspects were definitely in need of improvement.

Good Points
The Food - The food generally was very good. We had breakfast included with our package and tried both the buffet in the Atoll Market and the semi-buffet in the Vilu Restaurant. The Vilu Restaurant was without a doubt the best option for breakfast. It was quiet and romantic which was just what we wanted. Breakfast in the Atoll market however was not a very calm experience. We had to ask for tea three times and wait 30 minutes before a pot of weak tea materialised. Whilst I was still eating the staff were busy clearing our table and asking me if I’d finished even though I was obviously still chewing and had food on my plate. Poor service to say the least.

Afternoon Tea - We did enjoy the free afternoon tea. It was actually one of the best things about the resort - a variety of teas to try, with lovely finger sandwiches and delicious cakes, not to mention the breath-taking scenery. We didn’t miss afternoon tea once! And it was the perfect chance to unwind after a day snorkelling and sun bathing.

Vilu Restaurant - We mostly ate dinner at the bar or had room service which were both of reasonable quality. We did venture out to have dinner at the Vilu Restaurant which was a great experience. The food was amazing and although expensive (approximately $200 each for a three course meal including wine) it was cheaper than the underwater restaurant. We also had a very knowledgeable waiter, Latheef, who took his time to explain the menu and even went into detail about the different types of olive oil!

Underwater Restaurant - We did have a glass of champagne in the underwater restaurant ($55 each) which was an interesting experience but as I suffer from claustrophobia, it is not somewhere I would want to sit for a whole meal.

Fishing Trip - Another highlight was the sunset fishing trip which was quite reasonably priced ($70 each) and provided lots of laughs. I was a total novice but got the hang of it very quickly thanks to the guide. Sadly I didn’t catch anything but others on the boat did and it was a fun experience nonetheless.


Bad Points

The Bed - Never in my life have I slept in a more uncomfortable bed than the one in our villa. On our first night, we had been travelling for what seemed to be an eternity and were tired. I was so looking forward to a good night sleep. As it turned out, I would have slept better on a pile of rocks. I like a hard bed but this bed was so hard it caused me to have bruises. I barely managed three hours sleep and ended up sleeping on the sofa which was heaven compared to the bed. When we complained to our personal service agent, he proposed a new mattress but instead they just put two quilts on top of the existing mattress. This helped to some degree but when I think about the amount of money people pay to stay at the hotel, it outstands me that they can’t get something as vital as bedding right. This was the first sign of things to come.

Personal Service Agent - Shiraz, the “butler” or personal service agent as he called himself was altogether rather pointless and ineffective. He did a good job of telling us about the resort but did nothing when we requested to change to different villa it was obvious they all have certain scripts they stick to when asked any question. He was customer service robot and a mediocre one at that.


Treatment of Diamond Members - I fully understand that “due to the nature of the resort” they cannot provide complimentary upgrades for diamond members. I was happy enough with the free breakfast, fruit basket and sparkling wine. Except upon arrival the fruit basket was rotten (I had to take it outside because it smelt so bad) and the sparkling wine was an horrific bottle of merlot. When I saw the merlot, I asked Shiraz if we could have some white wine instead (or indeed sparkling wine as promised), he simply said no. There was no explanation, no negotiation, no attempt to appease me, just no. That is the kind of treatment we received at the Conrad Rangali - a smug sense of self-assurance from the staff as if we the guests should think ourselves lucky to be at such an exclusive resort.

The Beach Villas - these were just awful in design and in proximity to other villas. The outdoor bathroom and vanity area meant I had to try to dry my hair and apply make-up in the heat as the only mirrors in the villa are in the non-air conditioned area. The toilet on the other hand is basically in the bedroom as only two metres and a set of flimsy shutters separate the toilet bowl from the bed. Not pleasant. The villas were so close together we spent most of the time listening to the Chinese couple next to us arguing with each other. Also, I woke from an afternoon nap in the bedroom to find random people on the beach outside the villa just staring in at me.

The Cost - this was just ridiculous. Don’t buy in to the whole “it costs money to ship everything in” nonsense - yes, things are expensive in the Maldives but this resort exploits people. I have stayed at other resorts where you do indeed pay more but you don’t leave feeling as if you’ve just been a victim of fraud.

The Seaplane - just another way to rip you off. If I was forced to go back, I would make different arrangements for the seaplane and book privately rather than through the hotel. When we arrived in Male, we had to wait three hours before the thing was ready to take off. And when we were leaving, we did not find out until the night before what time our seaplane would be leaving. A total shambles.

The Cleaner - an odd story. We were appreciative of our cleaner and decided to leave him a tip on the last day. We weren’t checking out until the afternoon but I got myself organised that morning and set out some money with a thank you note for the cleaner. We went for one last snorkel and came back to find the money gone but the thank you note was still there. I was concerned so I contacted the reception desk. It transpires that the cleaner rather rudely didn’t even wait for us to leave, just came in saw money and took it (he didn’t even acknowledge the thank you note). Money hungry to say the least. In a way that summed up our entire experience of the staff at the hotel - they do not see you as people, just another credit card to which they will charge an exorbitant amount of money.

My view - you will have a pleasant stay but there are better resorts out there.

Room Tip: Ask them to turn off the fountain in the room unless you want to be driven mad by the sound of trick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank GabGabUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your time taken for your detailed feedback and very interesting to read. I agree on the service shortfalls and thank you for highlighting in order for me to follow up and improve. With regards pricing we are not expensive compared to other luxury resorts in the Maldives - price comparison has been and is been done regularly, My apology on seaplane delay, however the operations is beyond our control and I do understand the frustration in this matter. Once gain thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ok, firstly i have just read the review below by Clive a and i am staggered at what he has written!
We have just returned from a two week family holiday there ( kids 7/5) and it was the most amazing and relaxing holiday we have ever had.... Myself and my wife got engaged on the island back in 2003 and we thought it would be a great opportunity to take our children back there... Things have changed massively since our last visit and it is all stunning.
We booked a beach villa ( 213) on the half board deal. The villa is on the sunrise side of the main island and if you have the choice definitely stay this side ( especially if with kids).. the villa is a 10 meter walk to the beach and then you have the most amazing house reef stretching out in front of you... its about 1-5 feet deep all the way out to the edge of the reef so very safe for the kids... The snorkeling here is fantastic, and we went out ever day before breakfast and then in the early evening. There are two places for breakfast Atoll on the main island which is a massive buffet arrangement or Vilu on the water villa island which is a menu service with a small pastry buffet. My favourite was the Atoll but my wife and kids loved Vilu as you got to ride on the ferry across the lagoon to get there ( you can also walk over the bridge or get a buggy)..... we tended to have a late breakfast so then we wouldnt need to have a substantial lunch.
4 days into the trip we enquired about a room upgrade to the delux beach villa ( larger room,garden etc and a pool) we took up the option for a decent price and were very glad we did as it gave us some more space.. this was room 211.
Daytimes were spent either on the beach by the room or around the main pool which is beautifully set up with seats sitting in the shallow water of the pool edge. There is always someone there to order drinks and they bring around fresh supplies of water and fruit during the day as well as sunglass cleaning!! The water sports area was great and we took out the hoby cat, pedal boats, windsurfers and canoes on a daily basis ( all free of charge) and then we also did water skiing, knee boarding ( for my daughter) and banana/ inflatable rides which are charged for. The guys in the water sports shack are great fun and really helpful.
The kids club is great and both of our kids were really happy to go there most days for a couple of hours or more if they liked...you can put the kids in there for the whole day if you like but we wanted ours with us most of the time. Evenings are perfect on rangali island... we always started at the Rangali bar for the 1/2 price cocktail hour (6-7 p.m) and then went to one of the many restaurants ( everything needs to be booked apart from Atoll which does a nightly full buffet of a wide range of foods). Our favourite restaurants were the sunset grill and the Vilu. But they are all great and with the half board deal you can off-set the cost against the set price.
The spas are fantastic , we went to the main island one which is beautiful and had a couple of treatments. They are not cheap but the over all experience was worth it.

For the final 3 days of our stay we had booked a water villa (321) which was on the sunset side of the other island and we were so glad that we had done this. Once again you have your own plunge pool on the deck and then instant stair access down to the shallow sandy reef below you. This was absolutely stunning and more great snorkeling!
we are so glad we had 3 different rooms as it felt like 3 holidays in one and the staff moved our stuff very efficiently so it wasnt a hassle.
All the staff on the island were very friendly and went out of their way to make conversation and ensure that we were having a great time. With regards to having your credit card " skimmed" not sure what he means by that??.. when we arrived at the beautiful exclusive Conrad seaplane terminal it was explained to me that they would debit my card for $4000 for costs for our 2 week stay and if we didnt spend that much the difference would be reimbursed..This is standard procedure at every hotel.
Please also note that this is probably one of the best hotels in the world so its not going to be cheap even if you do book it through last minute!! You get what you pay for and more so if you cant afford 5** dont go !!!
Its also worth saying that we have stayed at Banyan tree in the maldives before and we spoke to a lot of people on the island that had stayed at other resorts...all of them said that they would always come back to Rangali as there is so much to do and so many different places to eat...
We will certainly be back and we would like to thank all the staff for making ours such an amazing stay. Also a special thank you to Paul ( finance manager) ,his wife Renee and their family for being so hospitable and friendly to us, it made our trip very special!
( i will add some photos when i can, we took 1000 !!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hodster044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed comments left in TripAdvisor, it is a pleasure reading your comments. Thank you for staying with us again and looking forward welcoming you back to Rangali in the near future. Kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
16.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,051 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
621 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,929 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Prestigia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing