We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

After a hectic, yet enjoyable wedding the only thing that we wanted to do was relax and enjoy a well deserved break . This is exactly what we got to do at the Conrad Hilton at Rangali Island. This resort has exceeded our expectations and we thought it would only be fair to share our amazing experience with others. From the minute we stepped off the sea-plane we were treated like royalty. We were assigned our very personal island host that attended to our every need. The resort was nothing less than breath taking with spectacular views and a culture that permeates relaxation. Our beach villa was spacious, comfortable and very private. We enjoyed having our very own pool as well as outdoor shower. Waking up every morning at a very serene and beautiful location made us forget about everything that existed outside of the island. What was also quite awesome were the spas on the resort. Besides the magnificent views that surrounded us while receiving the treatments were the actual quality of treatments that we received as well as the 5 star service. We were also quite fortunate to have visited the Ithaa undersea restaurant which was an experience in itself. The private beach dinner that was arranged for us was definitely the cherry on top and made our already so amazing honeymoon even more special. We can never imagine another holiday comparing to this one spent at the Conrad Hilton and would definitely recommend it to anyone planning an island holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemz_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    213
    86
    24
    20
See reviews for
374
1,116
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
173 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Indifference is the keyword here. This resort has gone downhill, what was once a fine resort, has completely lost service levels etc. Had contacted the GM of this property a number of weeks before, made a special request on the reservation, upon check-in the staff at the Conrad both in Male airport and also at the property itself said they had no recollection of any message. They acted with indifference the staff and created complete embarrassment to say the least. Not something I would want to wish on anyone.. It's changed my perception of this resort. Having been to this property 3 times, I really had hoped more. I guess to the first time visitor of course it will be great, but if you are a regular visitor to the Maldives, you would have expected at least a little more.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the early 100s, they are close to the generator which emits lots of carbon monoxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank kawoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your time taken to leave your feedback in TripAdvisor.
I am sorry to read your comments and review about the resort, please accept my apology if we have inconveienced your stay.
Unfortunately we have not met during your stay, it is a shame that we did not meet up to discuss your dissatisfaction in person.
With kind regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hubby and I stayed at Conrad Rangali for 7 nights mid February 2012 for my 50th Birthday celebration and it exceeded our high expectations on everything. The resort is simply beautiful , the views are stunning and the customer service is 1st class. Yes it is expensive but we didn’t mind paying extra for such high standards & quality – after all you are on a desert island and most things have to be imported.
Reasons why we loved Conrad and will be back as soon as possible:
1 Customer service – I agree wholeheartedly with Danify’s review 25th Feb 2012 – “amazing and I mean amazing staff!”
2 The extra little touches made by the management and staff made a massive difference to how much we enjoyed this holiday. [eg heart decoration of rose petals + leaves left on our bed on valentines night].
3 Stunning views [better in real life than the photos can show]
4 Totally relaxing environment/atmosphere. [if you can’t chill here then you probably won’t be able to chill anywhere].
5 Our Room [Superior Water Villa] was fabulous [everything is supplied from complimentary water, coffee, tea, fruit to bath salts, flip flops & raincoats]
6 No need for mosquito nets [we took repellent but found we didn’t need to use it]
7 No need to carry towels or money.
8 Didn’t queue for anything and the staff always served us quickly, efficiently and with a smile.
9 Food was excellent [particularly breakfast at Vilu]
10 Happy hour at Vilu between 5 and 6 was free for wine and beer
11 All the toilets we visited on both islands were a pleasure to walk into. Spotlessly clean with Molten Brown or Bvlgari cleanser and lotion and aromatherapy oil burners in all.
12 Dress code was more casual than we expected -you don’t need to get ‘poshed up’ to visit the restaurants [unless you want to].

ROOM
We had a Superior Water Villa [336] on the sunset side of quiet Rangali island which is just a short walk through the trees to the Vilu Restaurant/bar. We were given a welcome bottle of red wine and fruit selection. Complimentary water, tea, coffee, milk & fruit were supplied & replenished without us having to ask. The villa had a spacious bathroom which was fully kitted out with warm water bath, massive shower, Bvlgari toiletries, bathrobes, candles, nail files, sewing kit, toothbrushes and paste. The jaccuzi was west facing so sitting in it drinking a glass of wine whilst watching a variety of fish swimming in the lagoon + the sunset was a magical experience. The villa also had an iPod connector so we were able to plug my iPhone in and listen to our music.

CONRAD STAFF
The staff are really what make this resort so enjoyably brilliant. We didn’t see one gloomy face during our stay; they always greeted us with a smile and good morning/afternoon. Their customer service skills and attention to detail are superb, from their genuine interest in talking to people from around the world to those extra little touches eg. bringing us cold towels, iced water and cleaning our sunglasses.

CREEPY CRAWLIES/INSECTS
We didn’t see any apart from a couple of flies the whole week. The staff spray the island on a regular basis which means there is no need for mosquito nets and we found neither of us needed to use insect repellent [even though hubby does tend to get bitten].

BEACHES/POOLS
Beaches are white coral sand which doesn’t get hot and in places it is almost like powder or plaster. Lagoon water is crystal clear – have never seen so many vivid shades of blue, turquoise and aqua. The resort was 78% full but there was always a choice of sunbeds + plentiful supply of towels at both infinity pools. The staff bring you cold hand towels, glasses of iced water and plates of fruit.

FOOD /RESTAURANTS/TIPPING
We’re not big eaters so Room and Breakfast was ideal for us. We had Breakfast at Vilu each morning and this is one of my favourite memories. The choice was amazing, food excellent and view from the table stunning. In addition to the plates of fruit given at the pools/beach we were supplied with free nibbles and titbits at the bars and during happy hour. We had an evening meal at Vilu Restaurant, Rangali bar, Atoll Market, In Villa Dining and Sunset Grill. The cheapest (for 2 meals + few drinks) was Rangali bar at $115 – the most we paid was Atoll Market at $262. Our Host advised tipping was entirely up to us. We tended to tip between $10 and $20 and gave a larger tip at the end of our holiday to the teams/individuals who impressed us the most.

WEATHER
Our stay was 12th – 19th February 2012 – temperature was middle to high 30’s each day. We had one day of cloud – however the temperature was still very warm with a breeze. Temperature in the evenings dropped slightly and it wasn’t very windy so no need for me to carry a cardigan.

OUR TIPS
Don’t take shoes with heels – virtually the whole resort is sand so complimentary flips flops are a great idea. Take plasters and plastic flip flops or jelly shoes as the coral can be quite sharp. Your host can get you a breakdown of what you have spent at any time – just ask.

Room Tip: If you want a breeze book a room on the sunrise side of the islands. During our stay the sunset sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for YOUR absolut superb comments in TripAdvisor.
I thank you for your lovely comments about everything you had mentioned - I don't think you have missed out anything.
Please visit us and looking forward welcoming you back to Conrad Rangali again.
Warm regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Conrad for 14 days in Jan/Feb. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting tranquility, luxury, good food and relaxation.
From the minute we collected our suit cases after passport control we were met by a Conrad representative and were taken to our bus which took us to the water-plane terminal and Conrad Lounge. At the lounge we were checked in and given a fruit drink and asked to help ourselves to the breakfast buffet, we unfortunately didn't have time for breakfast as we wanted to change before boarding the water-plane as it was very warm.
The sea-plane trip was good but not brilliant as it wasn't a clear day and the views weren't that spectacular. We had been to the Maldives before but it was to the North and I think the views were better.
When we arrived at Rangali we were met by our lovely host Sophie, we were taken to the reception area where we sat outside in the shade. Sophie went over our reservation and told us everything we needed to know about the island and explained to us if there was anything at all she could help us with we were to call her on her mobile - a nice touch. We did need to call her for restaurant reservations and we also had a few problems with our air conditioning which she dealt with very quickly. It was always nice to see our host on the passing as she always acknowledged and spoke to us if she could.
We stayed in a beach villa and a deluxe beach villa during our stay. We thought the beach villa was good and more than adequate, we loved the outdoor bathroom but the area with the washand basins did get very hot during the day with the sun, as a result of this it was too warm to leave some toiletries out so we stored them in the walk-in wardrobe which is air conditioned.
The only real negative we found was the door on the walk-in wardrobe, it had to be closed for the a/c to function properly - very irritating at times. Apart from that the villa was beautiful and we loved the patio with our own sun beds and table & chairs. The beach was only a few steps away which was lovely &!we could see the colour of the ocean from our patio.
The deluxe beach villa was definately a step up and was stunning. The entrance with the courtyard and outdoor bathroom were amazing and huge, the outdoor shower was really good and quite a different experience. We preferred the deluxe beach villa as it was detached and a bit more private, the Conrad photos don't do it justice. Having our own pool was brilliant as we needed to cool down several times a day as the weather was so good, again the beach was just a short walk away.
We enjoyed our breakfasts at the Atoll Market and couldn't fault it in any way, the staff were brilliant and very attentative. We also had breakfast at Vilu a few times which was a really nice thing to do as we went across to the other island by Dhoni. The breakfast was good but they didn't have the same variety as the Atoll Market.
We had dinner at Vilu twice and thoroughly enjoyed it, we sat on the deck at the bar overlooking the ocean one evening and had our dinner there as we didn't want to move to another table as the view was breathtaking. The food was excellent and the staff were very pleasant.
We dined at the sunset grill several times and couldn't fault it, the staff were very discreet and attentative when necessary.
We only dined at Mandhoo once and were really not that impressed with the food or service. We both had tuna and it very over cooked and not rare as requested. My husband had beef tenderloin for his main and we were shocked at the size of the steak. We knew the portions were going to be smaller but not that small!
Several evenings we ate at Rangali bar which was really good and the staff were amazing especially Athief and Tina, I wish I could remember more names as they were all very pleasant including the manager. We really enjoyed sitting watching the sunsets during the happy hour, the sunsets were spectacular and shouldn't be missed.
There really isn't much I could criticise about Rangali other than the price of the food, we do understand that everything has to be transported from other countries to the island but it is certainly a talking point.
If you are considering going to the Conrad don't hesitate as it really is stunning and a special place. The staff are incredible and would do anything you ask for. We can't wait to go back and have started planning for our return next year.
Thanks to Sophie, Athief and Tina for making our holiday even more special and Conrad keep up the good work as it's certainly working - See you next year.
If I can be of help to anyone please don't hesitate to send me a messge.

Room Tip: Remember to take insect repellant and you really don't need any shoes other than flip flops. EN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musttravel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments posted in TripAdvisor. It is so wonderful to read your comments especially when you are commenting on the team members by name. I will certainly share your comments with the team which gives them more pride and motivation.
Sorry that the Mandhoo food qulaity was not up to your standard, allow me to explain the portions in Mandhoo are made purposely in a smaller however healthy size since it is our semi organic/Spa restaurant, based on the five elements, plant, air, earth, fire & water. The concept is that you may order more dishes since some of the dishes are in a smaller size.
On the other hand I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Rangali in the near future. Best regards
Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our 6th visit to the Conrad Rangali Maldives. All I can say is that it is better than ever and our love for this place and the people there grows bigger all the time. We live in Canada and its a long long way to get there but worth every minute it takes.This is truly the best resort in the world and we have been to many. Pure beauty and luxury with amazing and I mean amazing staff! The food is fantasitic as the Chefs take so much pride in what they do. We are booking again for 2013. There is no doubt it is expensive but when you actually realize where you are on the map you understand why. No cars ,no cement sidewalks , no contruction ,just sandy beaches with with no traffic or smog. Stingrays, Sharks,and Mantarays greet you daily with there grace and beauty. Many of the other guests we talked to had stayed at other Maldivian resorts and eveyone of them said the Conrad was by far the best. Thank you Nasheed for being so attentive and caring. To all the guys at Mandu. We love you and miss you. Thankyou for making us feel so special. Micheal ,stay put we need to learn more about all the worlds best wines as well as laugh with you for hours.We are coming back!!!! Anyone up for a cricket game!

Room Tip: Every Room is amazing. Beach Bungalows are just awsome and the over water Bungalows now have hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Repeater Guest
Thank you very much for your comments posted in TripAdvisor and I am glad to read that you have stayed with us for the 6th time. We truly appreciate your loyalty.
I also thank you for commeting on several team members which is great to read, certainly I will share your comments with the entire team.
We are looking forward welcoming you back to Conrad Rangali, thank you for making the effort the long way from Canada in 2013.
Best regards, Karim Schadlou, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went to the maldives back in 2009! Just didn't get round to writing a review. The Conrad was sensational. Not a bad word to say about it. Loved the food although a bit dear well worth it. The breakfast was buffet and lovely food and variety to choose from. I would definitely recommend this for honeymooners or if you just want to get away from everything. We are going back soon, fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Water Villa all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Wow what a place. Fantastic hotel, location, service , room, wildlife and staff. Ok the f&B may be a little expensive but you're are on a desert island.. keep it real.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - you even get your own named concierge and their telephone # when you arrive, so you can call them with any questions or things you want sorted. Did the Shipwreck dining - lobster grilled by your own personal chef, drinking bubbles as the sun sets, could it get any better
Best hotel I’ve stayed in. Read the review about when they left they had tears in their eyes, now I’ve left I can totally understand why. Just want to go back

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the main island if you want a room on the house reef
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wansfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarimRangali, General Manager at Conrad Maldives Rangali Island, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your wonderful comments in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read your comments and as you have already mentioned, our Island Hosts ae trained to be your hosts for personalized service.
Thank you for your wonderful comments - please come back again soon. Best regards
Karim Schadlou
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangali Island
18.5 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
16.2 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
14.4 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 stars 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Maldives Rangali Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Maldives Rangali Island

Property: Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Address: 2034
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Rangali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rangali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Maldives Rangali Island 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot luxury meets unpretentious style at this five star hotel in the Maldives. Home to whale sharks, manta rays, dolphins and turtles, Conrad Maldives is set on two islands and is reached by a 30-minute seaplane flight. Select from 12 restaurants and bars including Ithaa Undersea Restaurant, the Cheese Bar featuring 101 of the world's best cheeses, and an underground Wine Cellar with 20,000 bottles of fine wines. Relax at one of two spas or on the beautiful white sand beaches. Go diving and exploring on the many excursions available, including luxurious sunset cruises, big game fishing expeditions and local island hopping trips. Conrad Maldives is included in Conde Nast Traveler's 2013 Gold List of the Best 100 Hotels in the World and The World's 10 Best Beach Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad Maldives Rangali Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island Hotel Rangali Island
Conrad Rangali Island
Rangali Island Conrad
Rangali Island Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing