We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rumbia Resort Paka
Nearby Hotels
$210
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Resorts World Kijal(Kijal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Skyview Hotel(Kemaman District)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cukai View Hotel(Kemaman District)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
4
9
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
9
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolaccommodationkitchenetteresortsea
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 23 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've been on 3 business trips to Terengganu in the past year and have stayed at Rumbia's semi-detached Villas, each trip lasting no longer than 3 nights.

Now I can't speak for their bungalows, but all the semi-detached Villas that we've stayed in are in poor shape. Upon arrival, you're greeted by a foul stench and old furnitures that hasn't been well-maintained. The aircons were functioning but not all rooms have the remote controls. There was a kitchen but it was ill-equipped (Not that I would use the utensils anyway!). Beds and toilet were ok, nothing to shout about.

The breakfast provided is your standard Asian buffet affair but even so, choices are limited - Roti Canai, fried rice/noodles, omelette etc. The staff didn't seem to care much about the buffet spread and in fact one of the days, we discovered that the buffet spread jam/spread section was filled with ants.

When I read all the reviews on this site, I was surprised and wondered if we are staying in the same Rumbia Resort. Perhaps the bungalows are a lot better (However I highly doubt it!), who knows? I sincerely hope the management will improve the condition of the villas but I doubt that would happen as most of the revenue are coming from long term tenants who are working for the O&G companies around.

In a nutshell, unless you are left with no choice, avoid staying here. I've stayed in Residence Paka once and whilst it's not a great hotel, it's cleaner and the breakfast served was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

food very delicious compared other hotel in Dungun..satisfied..nice staff..peaceful...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurulSriDamansara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Its always a nice feeling to discover a hidden gem in a place where you least expected it. And Rumbia Resort Villa does not disappoint. It might be a bit 'aged', but they make it up with the friendly service, charming character and super comfortable environment.

My family initially stayed there for only 2 nights but somehow extended our stay to another 3 more nights. Their central location in the heart of the state of Terengganu makes it easy for us to venture around the state without relocating our sleeping venue. I was quite surprised to see a good number of expat community there.

We also enjoyed the serenity, great food (awesome awesome food) and beautiful matured landscape surrounding the resort. I probably guess that the trees there could be around more than 50 years old or so.

And since its a villa with 3 rooms, a kitchenette with a washing machine & dryer, we settled in easy and feel right at home with all the necessary mod-cons. Will definitely be here back again and again. A great resort for gathering of family and friends.

A true gem indeed.

Room Tip: Go for the top end bungalows - great furnishing and still great value for money.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 99Footsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. The staff do not understand much English and we had a hard time communicating. The advertised wifi in all houses were missing and we had to use the one at the restaurant. in all they have a few semi-detached houses and a few standalone ones, some of them in a decrepit condition. Ours was good and spacious. 3 bedrooms. One of the aircons wasn't working, but we didn't bother complaining, They provide free breakfast for 2 per semi detached house. They weren't accommodating when we tried to have that lumped into 4 for one day. The breakfast was so-so. For those who want to eat out there's a mall and McDonalds about 25 kms away (yes, you need a car).

The bathrooms were pretty old, but then you could guess that by looking at the house, but nothing to put you off or complain about. The beds were comfortable and rooms airy.

They advertised horse riding, but it was just 3 horses on a small farm. Not much to advertise about. The "rabbit farm" was hardly that. Just a cage with 4-5 rabbits. That was plainly false advertising.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeDeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I arrived on 12 June at Rumbia Resort in Paka, after a long 5 hours journey by car from the Taman Negara. The resort consists of almost 100 villas and bungalows -each with 3 rooms (one main room with attached bathroom and to others sharing another bathroom) a large kitchen equipped with all cooking instruments, a fridge and even a washing machine, a giant living room, a prayer room (it is an empty room where Muslim tourists have possibility to pray as per their tradition. And I had the whole villa at my disposal! Also outside the villa there is a terrache with a table and chair, where you can have your morning coffee or read the news-paper provided every day. The cleanness is perfect, bed is very comfortable, the whole villa has more windows than walls, so you have all around good daylight. Bottles of drinking water are provided. I had villa no.64 and it was next to the restaurant, which has a huge and very tasty offer for breakfast, as well very good a la carte meals for lunch or dinner. Tourists were mostly Malaysians from other areas, as it was still school holiday. The place is very quite and peaceful, away from Paka town (actually on the other side of bridge. Behind the hotel there is the Paka river, on left side surrounded by mountains. On the opposite side of river is a small piece of sandy beach and then the South China Sea. What can you ask for more to relax? Staff is very friendly and helpful, the lady at the front desk (Miss Ain) giving you lot of information about the place around, about distances, trips and prices. Also the personnel at the restaurant are very friendly and talkative people. Many thanks to all of the Rumbia staff.
Anyway, there is phone in the room, but you cant make international calls, only you can be called. This should be improved somehow. At checkin you will be requested to pay the amount of your accommodation. No other deposit is requested. There is also a swimming pool, but not much about it. I told Miss Ain that it would be a great idea if the hotel could arrange somehow the river shore behind the hotel, to make a small beach there, some sitting area and it would be great if there was a boat transfer to the opposite side, to the sea. Maybe it will one day.
Being outside the Paka town, you will need a taxi to go around, but don't believe what they say that it is far to cross the bridge. To the bridge you have to walk for about 20 - 25 min., and I think crossing and getting to the seaside will take some other 25 min. So it can be done by walking. But if you call a taxi it will be 15 ringgit for a 7 min. drive.
For travel arrangements to Kuala Terengganu (which you must not miss while in that state - it is a fantastic city) or Lake Kenyir don't get the offers of the hotel, they will be more expansive as if you make arrangements directly with a driver. I got a very good one, I think the best driver I had in all Malaysia in terms of safe driving and knowing the places, even if his English was not the pure Oxford English(!) - for those interested I can provide contact details. While at Rumbia, try to visit also the Cemerong waterfalls, it is superb. The Paka beach (Pantai Paka for Malaysians) has a soft sand and clean water, but the water is deep near the shore , so if not a good swimmer don't go to far. Actually the area is not swimming area, but of course you can wet yourself and have a pleasant sunbath. Along the beach there are some fisher huts, you can enjoy the local lifestyle of fisher-folks.
Watching the sunset in front the Paka river near Rumbia resort is a pleasure in late afternoons.
Once again, many thanks to the Rumbia Resort's staff, who know how to make guests feel like at home. Definitely , I hope to return to the Malaysian East Coast one day and Rumbia is the only place in the Dungun district where I would like to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews