We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good hotel with good facilities. But as a 4 star hotel, I'm expecting more. Old setting in the room but clean. Hotel staff just ok

Have a good size of swimming pool and good choices of food for breakfast. Internet wifi connection also good.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PakNgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went with my family for a holiday in Kuala Terengganu, part business, part holiday. While my family is having fun, I was looking for business partners.

The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and food is so and so.

The things that I don't like are the car park is limited. Since it is holiday season, it is very difficult to park my car in the hotel's car park which is very inconvenient for me.

Another thing is that, the towels are worn out. Even at the pool, they are not adequate when hotel is almost full. Need to wait a while before we can get ours. Amenities

Internet access is slow and sometimes does not exist at all.

I think this hotel should be rated lower than 4 stars.

Room Tip: If travelling with family, check out their superior family room. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is over rated for a four star hotel. Ants roaming in the room and bathroom has a musky smell. Breakfast time and not much selection for type of eggs - its there and take it or leave kind of situation. Rang the front desk and was not answered or bothered to call back. The hotel needs a complete refurbish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staffs are good.
Stayed in the executive room, bed sheets are too old, had unknown burn marks on it.
Also, the hotel room had this after rain smell. Overall for a four star hotel, I would expect it to be better maintained. Not a pleasant experience overall.

Room Tip: Was staying in the executive room, but the bed sheets are clearly too old and some unknown burn mark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinnie_Chase88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Good confortable room. 1213. Nice view direvtly infront of sea front. All staff very nice anf friendly. Especially the 2 doormen. Very alert and fast. Carpet on hallway may need to be change may be before next monsoon cup. Pool was clean. But having towel will be better. No guards but alright because you had put up notice for that. Will come again. Thankd

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuupsabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would rather to stay at homestay.......nothing special by this hotel. i acknowledged their staff for hardworkness to make sure guest as convenience as a king. Please take a good care for a staff, some look pale to me, need more attention from upper manegement. I believe that any success came from good staff, basic in business, thou......

Room Tip: Any room would help....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickTheStarFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived at hotel, underground parking, no lift to lobby, 2 flights of stairs so unload bags at entrance before parking. Bell hop friendly and efficient, reception staff also efficient and friendly. Fast elevator as we were on 10th floor, good view but dirty stained windows for photo shooting.
Bed and bedding good, basic amenities provided, but bathroom disappointing, needs maintenance on plumbing fixtures, dodgy shower tap, bottom part of door rotten, WC seat broken and butt pinching if not careful. Breakfast was taken an hour before closure, virtually nothing left from what could have been a good buffet, so go as early as possible. Air-con is central, so no regulating possible other than high, med, low.

Room Tip: Unload bags before parking if arriving with car. Go for an early breakfast if you want some kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#20 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#26 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tanjong Vista
Hotel Tanjong Vista
#15 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Address: Lot 004023, Hotel Grand Continental Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range: $38 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location A beautiful designed building with breathtaking view of the brilliant South China Sea and uniquely positioned at the central district of Kuala Terengganu. All rooms are specifically designed to offer guest' a refreshing view of the sea. Famous landmarks surrounding the hotel include the famous Crystal Mosque, Pasar Payang (Kuala Terengganu Central Market, ShahBandar Square, Chinatown, historical and Government buildings. Accommodation No of Guest Rooms: 190 rooms and suites with High speed WIFI Conference Facilities: 10 meeting rooms accommodating up to 1,360 guests Dining Facilities Jala Mas Coffee House is opening daily for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Supper serving a large variety of local food and international cuisines, pastries and cakes. There is also a live band to entertain guests in the evening from 8.00 pm onwards from Friday to Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing