We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed one night. After having read some negative comments we didn't have high expectations. It all turned out to be a lot better than we feared! Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, our room was well furnished, large and clean, with a good bathroom. Good undercover parking facility. Breakfast was rather basic and whatever should have been hot was at best lukewarm. No problem with wi-fi.
In view of the relatively modest price we were very happy with the 'total experience'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Econoclast1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

Hope this emaill finds you well. We were glad to know that your stay with us was a pleasant one and together, thank you very much on your feedback.
Your positive comments will definately and certainly be complimented for thr good services and we have also taken note on the other comments mentioned.
Nevertheless, we will certainly look into and will improvise.
Once again, we genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.
Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    60
    77
    27
    10
See reviews for
49
48
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Only stay for 1 night, room average - book 4 person room from Asiarooms.com but end up only have triple room - need argue for one more breakfast for half an hour.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momowong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

Hope this email finds you well. We are truly grateful for your feedback. Needless to say, we are very distressed on your negative comment.
After our full investigation on your reservations, we notice that you had made your reservation thru Asiarooms.com for 3 family rooms. Our family rooms comes with 3 beddings and with 3 buffet breakfast. If the requirements are from 4 person, then it will be an additional charge for Extra Bed and together with additional Buffet Breakfast as well. The package which you have made the reservation does not comes with 4 person.
Hope it clarifies on the details.

We sincerely hope that you will not let this experience deter you from visiting us again as we are fully committed to ensuring a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pros: The front desk and concierge are very friendly and helpful. Daily newspaper not delivered to the room but readily given at the front desk. We took two superior family rooms which were spacious, clean and comfortable enough for three adults.

Cons: They seem to be understaffed at the restaurant. Breakfast food ran out very quickly though they did try to replenish. Food was ok, reasonable variety for the two days we were there.
Many families seemed to be staying there as it was the school holidays, so the lifts were very slow. Parking was also full and on a slope so rather difficult. For non-peak season should be much more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. We are glad that your stay at Grand Continental was a pleasant one.
We thank you for taking your time to give us your construtive feedback and we have also noted that the services offered, as it has been our desire to deliver our utmost hosipitality to all our guests and I shall certainly be complimentted for a job well done to all my staff concern.
During Breakfast, we have noted that you have mentioned that we are understaff, in fact our staff was in full force at our Coffee House, it was so happened that all our guests came in at one time and we even had staff from various departments to assist as well dispite even our kitchen staff as well.
Once again, we thank you for your kind patronage and feel free to write to me directly for any assistance here in Kuala Terengganu or at any of our Sister properties and I will be more than pleased. In the meantime, we also wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A very good service. I do come at 12pm and the hotel already have the room ready. Only the rooms are abit old and need refurbish

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Huszaini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings.

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We are truly gratedul for your positive feedback and we are glad that you were pleased with our services offered as it has been our desire to deliver our best services to all our guests.
Your kind and positive compliments have been conveyed to our staff and this even will boost
their morale and spur them to provide only the best to our valued guest like you.
We certainly looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest and please do feel free to contact me directly at anytime for any request at any of our Sister properties. We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed there for 6 nights in their premium room..Room was spacious, but old furniture. Services are good, especially their maintenance team.

Hope they manage to keep up with their room design to catch up with newer hotels around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tru_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. We are glad that you stay at Grand Continental was an enjoyable one.
It is good to know that you found our staff are helpful and every ready to assist in what ever way possible to make your stay with us a more comfortable one. The staff shall certainly be complimented for their job well done.
We have also taken note on your suggestion whereby we have just painted our Exterior Building, our Hotel Signages and we have done facelifting on our Premium Floors and others are in the midst of upgrading as well.
Once again, we would like to genuinely thank you for your involvement in in supporting us to grow form strenght to strenght. We await your return again as our esteemed guest on your next trip.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

1) Fast check in/out and friendly staff eventhough there was a few tour groups.
2) Excellent service when upgrade to premium room - my bags were already in the new room when I returned to the hotel in the afternoon. The receptionist even called me to let me know that my room was ready.
3) Premium continental (triple) vs family room - not much difference! Same bed size, toilet, facilities. except new TV, duvet instead of worn out blanket ,more comfortable pillows and mattress. free drinking water, snack.
4) Noisy aircond for both rooms. Worse in the family room.
5) Near restaurants - local food stalls and semi western (cafe, secret recipe). McDonald is somewhere there but at the very end of the ring road - not within walking distance.
6) Quite close to Jetty Shahbandar (to Redang Island etc) - maybe about 2-3 km? please google for exact distance.

Room Tip: If budget is limited, just choose the normal room. Not much difference. Check the aircond before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KebayaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this finds you well. We are delighted to hear that our services have met your expectations as a Customer Oriented Hotel in Kuala Terengganu and I shall be in certain to convey and compliments the staffs involvement.
We will continue to give our utmost services and products improvements to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of all our guests.
I would certainly to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to stay with us.
Please feel free to contact me directly at any time for any request at any of our properties in Malaysia.
We wish you the very best in your business and personal endeavours.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel feels very tired inside but is clean and I have no serious complaints, though the wifi service was appalling and the food (at breakfast) not so great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouth_of_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. Hope you had a pleasant stay with us.

We certainly have taken note on your feedback and most importantly with regrets on the Internet connectivity. We do recognize the faults and moreover we are not taking it off on the faults but genuinely it was on the Service Provider on the Internet Line and we were having these for couple of days during this period of time.
But currently it have been evaluted on the most appropriate mesures to progessively resolve this problem a couple of days ago.
Once again, we thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strenght to strenght. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip and please to not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance in any of our Malaysian Properties.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
4.1 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#11 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.9 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Teren...
#18 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Property: Hotel Grand Continental
Address: Lot 004023, Hotel Grand Continental Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing