We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of sunrise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Primula Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Mission, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great view of sunrise”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We loved the view over the South China Sea, though chairs on the balcony would be nice. Pleasant staff at reception desk, English limited in some cases. Room was big but carpets are threadbare & lobby furniture was old & needs repair. Pool was lovely, right beside the beach. We really appreciated the free shuttle into town, prompt & convenient. We visited during Ramadan - big mistake! We were unable to get dinner in the dining room the first night, but because of the fuss we made they served us an early dinner the second night. The breakfast was good with good omelets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontravgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    65
    92
    46
    22
See reviews for
96
43
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ampang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed there for a night for work purpose in K.T, was paid by company. Chosen this hotel due to it was just beside the beach. However was let down by the room as it was very old and still using wooden table and wardrobe. And it took me like overnight to feel the coolness of air-con.

Not the best location if you do not have a car. It was like 30+ mins walk to Chinatown (from Google Map). A taxi to Chinatown cost you RM12, the staff at lobby would help you to call one. But make sure you get the contact of the taxi drive else it's quite difficult to get one to go back. A 10 mins walk will reach shops where you could find some cafe and Secret Recipe shop.

Choices of breakfast are limited but quality are still acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at this location 30 years ago. Where this hotel is now built was the former Rest House.
It brought back a lot of fond memories. KT has developed a lot since Iast visited. I was quite impressed with this hotel. Not up to 5 star quality, but decent, clean and comfortable. The children loved the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stay one night at this hotel. I was very anxious at first because it carries an image of being a 4 star plus hotel. I booked one room kingsize bed but ended up with a twin. Not really comfortable staying there. The fittings in the room has reach up to age. The bathroom needs maintenance. All an all it needs full refurbishment. The F&B was also not up to expectation. Travelers on occasional basis might not notice all this. I don't think its a good hotel choice unless you want to go for the beach and sacrifice others.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamanuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Travelled to the Primula beach Resort Hotel for Business, only Booked one night in there as was a short meeting/Trip.
There were limited rooms available and we ended up with a Superior Room which cost over $200!!
It was the end of Ramadan and the town was VERY busy, I am told that the population here is over 90% Muslim and this is their special time of Year where families all meet up etc, so not real surprise it was so busy.
But this Hotel has a Year to Plan for this and as far as I am concerned did not provide any sort of service at all; they say it is a 5 Star Hotel??? Never in a million years!! Not sure I would even give it 3 Stars!!!
Went downstairs for a coffee to the sitting area which is supposed to be staffed, both times had to get up to find staff to place and order, same again when trying to pay for it !!!!

The food was terrible and eating areas very dirty and untidy.
The Location is nice, right on the beach, but I am sorry to say that would be the only positive I can think of for this Hotel.
Only one English Speaking TV Channel, no mini bar no anything
Please bear in mind I am writing this review from a “Western thinking” perspective, but also that this is advertised as a 5 Star Hotel advertised through agoda !!!!
I would never Book this Hotel again

Room Tip: Give this Hotel a Miss if you are of Western Culture
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philctay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Traveled to K.Terengganu with my husband. Stay for 1 night only. As a backpacker, didn't expect for high quality rooms & services but this quite OK for us.

Bathroom was nice except the shower, a bit slow shower.
Breakfast was OK with some local cuisine such as Nasi Dagang and a few kuih-muih.

I don't mind to stay here again but next time I will ask for beachfront room.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront room if you're taking Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stay in this hotel for one night as I was required to go Kuala Terengganu for work purposes.
The hotel condition is a bit worn out and required an upgrade. Reach the hotel around 4pm and check in. The check in is quite fast as there wasn't any queue. The walkway to the room was not lighted properly. There is one part is dark even though it was 4pm in the afternoon.
The room fixtures are worn out and really required for an upgrade. And also the sliding door to the balcony can not lock.
As for the bathroom, there are basic toiletries. If you want a better bath soap, you will need to bring your own.
The hotel management should do an upgrade as the property is really worn out.
Didn't manage to enjoy the pool and the beach as busy with work. But do enjoy the sea view from the restaurant during breakfast.
Overall, not up to the expectation and will consider other hotel if come to Kuala Terengganu again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
1.7 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
191 reviews
4.6 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#14 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primula Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primula Beach Hotel

Property: Primula Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primula Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primula Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing