We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tanjong Vista
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean and good value for money”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After the few recent rather bad reviews, I had some trepidations about my stay in this hotel. However, my 3 nights stay was actually quite pleasant and no major complaints.

The receptionist could have been friendlier, but she was not rude to us and worked quite quickly to get us checked in. However, the receptionist should be more attentive because I had asked for a room on a non-smoking floor. We only found out that we were not given a room on such a floor as we could smell some smoke as we got unto our floor. Only after checking again, the reception told me that they were fully booked and could not get another room for us although she did offer to have housekeeping attend to our room to try and get rid of the smell if we found that it bothered us. Thankfully, the smoke smell disappeared after a while and we did not get any smells further after the first 30 minutes. It could be due to the air-conditioning on the floor being turned up thereafter, or the smoker had checked out of the hotel. Although we were supposedly on a smoking floor, there was a sign in our room which says that no smoking in the room is allowed, although ironically they provided the signage on an ashtray!

The room is still quite new and clean. We would have preferred wood flooring rather than carpet in the rooms, but the floor was quite clean and overall the room was well-maintained. The LCD tv is quite small as it was only 21". A 32" LCD would have been ideal. The channels are quite grainy and blur, which is quite unreasonable as they were cable (ASTRO) channels and should be very clear. Free wifi in the room was available and the speed was quite fast.

The bed was firm but comfortable. We did not have any trouble sleeping at night. However, we did not find the work chair comfortable as the height was too low. No sofa provided but there is a small padded stool, which seems quite odd in a hotel setting. They should invest on a proper chair for the desk as well as a couch/armchair. There is a mini-bar but no in-room safe. Furniture quality is not exceptional, but still well-maintained and of reasonable built quality.

Bathroom is quite spacious, with clean tiles and floors. The shower area had a curtain, but for better long term maintenance, perhaps they should consider installing a glass partition/door as this will work better in keeping the water from flowing out of the shower area onto the other parts of the bathroom. The shower curtain does not do this job very well and we ended up having quite a wet floor outside the shower area.

Breakfast was reasonable for the price of the room and considering this is a 3-star hotel. They did not have a lot of selections or variety but credit must be given to them for offering a little of each type of cuisine - Chinese: they served porridge, dim sum and pau, Malay: they had Nasi Lemak, fried noodles; Western: they served sausages, ham, eggs (cooked fresh from a counter), toast and cereals. I have seen other 3-star hotels serving worse food, so I find that their food is acceptable. The Tanjong Cafe where they serve breakfast is spacious and clean. No flies and the staff are quite attentive. There is also a chinese restaurant on the 15th floor. Many meeting rooms and there is a function hall, although I did not enter these to be able to comment. Swimming pool quite small and gym also quite small - but at least they have these facilities if you do want to use them.

There are a few eateries nearby this hotel: directly opposite you have a frozen yogurt shop, opposite and about 200 metres away is a Secret Recipe and Uncle Chua Kopitiam and some other eateries. Directly behind the hotel are 2 chinese seafood restaurant (one is halal and the one is not).

Overall, I would say that the stay was pleasant for the rate that we had paid. Expectations must be adjusted to that of a 3-star hotel. For us, the important factors are the sleep quality, cleanliness, comfort and safety. This hotel met these expectations quite well - we had good sleep in comfortable and clean beds, room was reasonably comfortable and clean, there was reasonably quality breakfast and generally the hotel environment was positive and areas were well-maintained. I have seen bigger hotels touting higher stars with worse breakfasts, service and cleanliness. As such, if given the opportunity, I would come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Please insist on a non-smoking floor / room if you have a strong preference as they might forget you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serendipity_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
24
6
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Customer service no friendly . Make wrong mistake and scold to customer . Her name is siti ...cleaning hotel very bad . If not have important function at terengganu and must stay there . I must dun want stay here . I will didt come this hotel already .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyteoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I bought 3D2N MATTA Package to stay at this hotel. Overall service from front office, FNB team and Housekeeping is good.
1. LCD tv quite small. I think only 21 inch. Not enough lol.
2. Breakfast selection not bad. Serve local food.
3. Limited parking spaces here.
4. Great service by tanjong cafe team. Great services and hospitality shown by them. Very pretty and always smile.
5. Overall I satisfied with my stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mielong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

small room and bathroom, the bathroom curtain was so dirty, like they never change it.Staffs are ok, some of them not so friendly, some of them ok..

will think twice to stay at this hotel again. so not 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tru_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed for 2d1n . Complimentary under orient reward membership. Stayed at non smoking 10th floor . This hotel still really clean and new ...., everything is new including bedroom and furniture . One of best hotel in KT town . The breakfast really nice . The swimming is small but it is ok ...and indoor type ! . The location ... not far away from tourist attraction area ... padang maziah , padang shahbandar , bukit puteri ., bazzar warisan , pasar payang and pulau warisan but ... better to have a transport ... coz if walking distant it need 20 mins ! Nearby also , it has plenty of restaurant... really recommend the Nasi Dagang restaurant . Recommended to those who come to buy traditional batik terengganu ...a lot of boutique nearby also .!!!

Room Tip: choose 10th floor ... beautiful night view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazaruha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My relatives and I (all party of 9) travelled as a tour group & stayed at Tanjong Vista Hotel.
The stay was real pleasant. We got 4 rooms - all in a row.The room is well maintained - clean, spacious and cosy. Bathroom was clean & spacious too. Getting a room on the 10th floor was a bonus because of the amazing view of the sea. It was pretty quiet at night. Most shops are closed by dusk so get your supplies of food + bottled water ready in case you go hungry at night.
In the morning we could have seen the sunrise but unfortunately it was blocked by the clouds otherwise it would have been a great view to enjoy. As for the breakfast, it was a good variety of local & western fare.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harhanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Location fairly good, not too far from the city centre, with several good restaurants nearby. Nevertheless quite a distance to get to the well known central market (pasar payang). Hotel service rather average, some of the staff may need further customer service training. Breakfast is fairly good, especially the variety of local dishes included, some of which are changed daily - a big plus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#17 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#4 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#5 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#11 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tanjong Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tanjong Vista

Property: Hotel Tanjong Vista
Address: Lot 4708, Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tanjong Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Tanjong Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing