We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, horrible town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DJ Citi Point Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, horrible town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything you'd expect for the price paid. Basic but bearable.
As for Kuala Terengganu itself, not recommended for tourists. Nothing to do and only 1 restaurant selling beer! Very very Islamic with payers broadcast across the village for hours on end at 5 in the morning. The locals are very unwelcoming. Walking down the street we were greeted by stares, jeers and mocking.
If you have to stay here for a stop over before heading elsewhere would recommend DJ Citi Point but don't leave your room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    53
    12
    13
See reviews for
44
45
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Its a comfortable place to be stay,the rooms are clean and the prices are affordable.The stuffs here are responsible as we have dropped something in our room after checking out,but the stuff still called us and kindly inform.Just a small disappointment,they don't provide the shampoo for us and the space of the washroom is quite small for the triple bedroom.The hotel is just located at the side of the street so we can just parked our car nearby the roads.REMEMBER,puts some of the coins into the parking machine..otherwise you will get the summons from the police!That's what happened on us in the second morning day but luckily it charge us only RM5.00. So we need take some times to find out the place and building where we can clear this fine as soon as possible.Anyway,its still a good place to be choose!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

good location - walking distance to bus terminal, syahbandar jetty, china town, pasar payang

good value - since i stay alone and one night, i choose standard room (RM69/night) with comfortable bed, functional air-cond, heater shower. You also can refill water in cold or hot.

You can ask receptionist help to call taxi. Here don't have lift, so be prepared if you bring luggage instead of backpack.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's always a relief when you arrive in a new town and you can see your hotel, exactly where it was described to be. This was the case with Citi Point as we alighted from our bus from KL. We could see the hotel sign and building just as pictured on their website. We were in town for seven days which may have been a bit long for the activities we found in KT but the hotel was certainly money well spent. As others have said on Trip Advisor, it was a great location and value.
Check in was prompt and courteous, as there is no lift in the hotel, two young men carried our bags up to our room. The room was a deluxe suite with two queen sized beds, a desk and wardrobe and two nightstands. The bathroom was large and clean with a nice shower area. We were in room 113 which had a street view which was great to watch the people go by.
We had two minor maintenance issues which were resolved immediately after we notified the front desk. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful which made our stay very enjoyable.
A No Smoking policy would be helpful for us.

Room Tip: 113 had great view of street activities but was rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TazjnMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel tp ne value for money, very clean and great location ( near the bus station.Very good service, the tourist information was a few step away. Happy with the service overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
316 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived late at the Kuala Terengganu Bus Terminal , so we had to stay somewhere nearby . We found the clean hotel within a 5 min walking range.
Lots os shops and restaurants and money changers around. Next to the Tourist office .
Small room, but very clean and everything functioning well.
89 Ringgit, not cheap, but worth the money . For 1 night perfect place.

Room Tip: Steep stairs , so if you have a lot of luggage, choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocarinhoso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The online booking process was not very polite...it is all very well saying on the website that prices go up during Malaysian school holidays but non-Malaysians will not know when these are and dates are not given...when it was finally established that I had to pay the school holiday higher price I agreed to it, thinking that it would be the same everywhere but I later found that this was not the case. The increase was approximately 30% on the usual non-school holiday price and I can think of no other reason for this than greed.
As it was the school holidays there were several Malaysian families staying there and allowing their children to run up and down the corridors and banging on the doors of other family members as well as shouting - this went on well into the evening and began again quite early in the morning. Instead of charging extra in the school holidays the hotel should be giving a discount to those who stay without children.
The rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floors (UK numbering of floors) and there is no elevator and no offer of help with luggage (fortunately, not heavy) for an elderly person
The room was small and basic and the shower room/bathroom had a dangerous shallow step leading into the shower area which was easy to miss - no toiletries apart from liquid soap dispenser in the shower area. Two coffee mugs were provided but no kettle or sachets of coffee or tea bags. There were only a few channels on the TV - including HBO - but no news channels in English.
The location is not too bad - there are some local restaurants opposite but they were not not too friendly - however, it is a short walk to Chinatown where the restaurants are better and you can get a beer! (keep walking down Jalan Cina until you get to the arch - the restaurants are just before the arch and also beyond it)
The bus terminal is nearby - as well as long-distance buses this is where you get the 02 wooden bus to the State Museum, the Crystal Mosque and the Islamic Civilization Park. The local market and the waterfront are nearby...incidentally, there is a very helpful Tourist Information Office almost next door to the hotel.
The only thing that I asked the hotel to do for me was to book a taxi for 6.30am for the airport and this was done efficiently.
On walking around Kuala Terranganu I discovered two or three hotels where, for only about $US5 more I could have stayed in a more pleasant place, sometimes with breakfast thrown in!
I understand that this hotel has transportation advantages with the proximity of the bus terminal and, I believe, a ferry jetty, but if these are not of paramount importance then I would not recommend staying here, especially not during Malaysian school holidays!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, General Manager at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings from DJ Citi Point Hotel,

First and foremost, thank you for your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify some points. Firstly, when you filled up the reservation inquiry form we responded and informed you that there will be a surcharge of RM 20 nett on all room categories. Your room price without the surcharge is RM 69. It is not our policy to increase our prices without any justification or without informing our guest prior to check in. Secondly in Malaysia, we do not practise discrimination whereby all guest with or without children are welcome to stay at our hotel and the price depends on the room category. (not depending if guest are staying with children). Just to stress the point, we are a budget hotel (room prices starts from RM 69nett), our priority is to ensure a cosy, clean and comfortable room to all our guest which includes all main facility such as free wifi service, attached bathrooms with clean towels, 3 in 1 soap, shampoo & conditioner, strong water pressure with constant hot water. In order to provide the maximum comfort, at this price we are unable to provide all the necessary facilities like coffee sachets etc. However we do sell them at a very reasonable price, our 3 in 1 nescafe sachets is priced only at RM 0.80 each and comes with a free stirer. On top of that we provide complimentary hot and cold drinking water machines on all floors. We also provide up to 8 satellite tv channels which includes sports,movies,news & dramas in english and local language. To maintain a reasonable price, we do not provide a lift as the rooms are located on the 1st & 2nd floor. However, it is clearly stated at the lobby, we do provide porter service for free if our guest needs help to carry their luggage to and from their rooms. I hope I have clairified some issues here as it is important for us to ensure our guest are always satisfied and feel comfortable staying at our hotel. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
#3 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DJ Citi Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DJ Citi Point Hotel

Property: DJ Citi Point Hotel
Address: No. 16 Pusat Niaga Paya Keladi | Jalan Kampung Daik, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — DJ Citi Point Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of 'Golden Triangle' of Kuala Terengganu, this brand new property keeps you close to all the major attractions and fun the city has to offer. All the fully equipped rooms come with comfortable queen size bed, air conditioning, attached bathroom, free wifi,hot and cold drinking water and satellite television with Astro channels. While staying here, guests are just few steps away from Shahbandar Jetty (Jetty to Pulau Redang), the famous Payang Market,Bazaar Warisan, China Town, Taman Shahbandar and many more. We emphasize on our cleanliness and reasonably priced rooms with excellent customer service suitable for transit,business and leisure. Guests are sure to have a great time at DJ Citi Point Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DJ Citi Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing