We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DJ Citi Point Hotel
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
316 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We arrived late at the Kuala Terengganu Bus Terminal , so we had to stay somewhere nearby . We found the clean hotel within a 5 min walking range.
Lots os shops and restaurants and money changers around. Next to the Tourist office .
Small room, but very clean and everything functioning well.
89 Ringgit, not cheap, but worth the money . For 1 night perfect place.

Room Tip: Steep stairs , so if you have a lot of luggage, choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocarinhoso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    54
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
46
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The online booking process was not very polite...it is all very well saying on the website that prices go up during Malaysian school holidays but non-Malaysians will not know when these are and dates are not given...when it was finally established that I had to pay the school holiday higher price I agreed to it, thinking that it would be the same everywhere but I later found that this was not the case. The increase was approximately 30% on the usual non-school holiday price and I can think of no other reason for this than greed.
As it was the school holidays there were several Malaysian families staying there and allowing their children to run up and down the corridors and banging on the doors of other family members as well as shouting - this went on well into the evening and began again quite early in the morning. Instead of charging extra in the school holidays the hotel should be giving a discount to those who stay without children.
The rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floors (UK numbering of floors) and there is no elevator and no offer of help with luggage (fortunately, not heavy) for an elderly person
The room was small and basic and the shower room/bathroom had a dangerous shallow step leading into the shower area which was easy to miss - no toiletries apart from liquid soap dispenser in the shower area. Two coffee mugs were provided but no kettle or sachets of coffee or tea bags. There were only a few channels on the TV - including HBO - but no news channels in English.
The location is not too bad - there are some local restaurants opposite but they were not not too friendly - however, it is a short walk to Chinatown where the restaurants are better and you can get a beer! (keep walking down Jalan Cina until you get to the arch - the restaurants are just before the arch and also beyond it)
The bus terminal is nearby - as well as long-distance buses this is where you get the 02 wooden bus to the State Museum, the Crystal Mosque and the Islamic Civilization Park. The local market and the waterfront are nearby...incidentally, there is a very helpful Tourist Information Office almost next door to the hotel.
The only thing that I asked the hotel to do for me was to book a taxi for 6.30am for the airport and this was done efficiently.
On walking around Kuala Terranganu I discovered two or three hotels where, for only about $US5 more I could have stayed in a more pleasant place, sometimes with breakfast thrown in!
I understand that this hotel has transportation advantages with the proximity of the bus terminal and, I believe, a ferry jetty, but if these are not of paramount importance then I would not recommend staying here, especially not during Malaysian school holidays!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, General Manager at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Greetings from DJ Citi Point Hotel,

First and foremost, thank you for your feedback. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify some points. Firstly, when you filled up the reservation inquiry form we responded and informed you that there will be a surcharge of RM 20 nett on all room categories. Your room price without the surcharge is RM 69. It is not our policy to increase our prices without any justification or without informing our guest prior to check in. Secondly in Malaysia, we do not practise discrimination whereby all guest with or without children are welcome to stay at our hotel and the price depends on the room category. (not depending if guest are staying with children). Just to stress the point, we are a budget hotel (room prices starts from RM 69nett), our priority is to ensure a cosy, clean and comfortable room to all our guest which includes all main facility such as free wifi service, attached bathrooms with clean towels, 3 in 1 soap, shampoo & conditioner, strong water pressure with constant hot water. In order to provide the maximum comfort, at this price we are unable to provide all the necessary facilities like coffee sachets etc. However we do sell them at a very reasonable price, our 3 in 1 nescafe sachets is priced only at RM 0.80 each and comes with a free stirer. On top of that we provide complimentary hot and cold drinking water machines on all floors. We also provide up to 8 satellite tv channels which includes sports,movies,news & dramas in english and local language. To maintain a reasonable price, we do not provide a lift as the rooms are located on the 1st & 2nd floor. However, it is clearly stated at the lobby, we do provide porter service for free if our guest needs help to carry their luggage to and from their rooms. I hope I have clairified some issues here as it is important for us to ensure our guest are always satisfied and feel comfortable staying at our hotel. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Terengganu hotels

Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Check in On 20 October 2012 and Check Out on 21 October 2012, Customer s 43 Pax
Stayed at DJ CITI POINT HOTEL are very happy with rooms and the services.
I just thought I should write to let you know that My customers enjoyed stay at your hotel.
In recent memory thanks to the outstanding service that there received.
overall it is a good budget hotel and good value for money!

Room Tip: Value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROSEMALAYSIAENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was staying at this hotel for 3 nights (14th Sept – 17th Sept). I came here based on the good review from Trip Advisor. Well, everything was true, the receptionist was very friendly and the check in process was smooth too. I can’t remember their name but I think they know who they are :)

The first thing that I’ll always do every time I enter the room is to check the air-cond whether it’s functioning or not. And then the tv channels and the bathroom. I’m glad everything was in a good condition and I can sense my stay gonna be ok. The hotel is just a walking distance to the famous Pasar Payang. And if you wanna go to Kampung Losong or Bukit Tok Beng for their famous Keropok Lekor (fish cracker), you can simply drive your car there because it just about 10-20 minutes away from the hotel. But if you travel by your legs, the bus and the taxi station is just nearby. In fact, the bus station is actually one of their landmarks :) The KFC, McDonald’s, 7-eleven and Secret Recipe are also nearby. You should try their deep fried fish, squid and prawns that coated with flour mixture at Seberang Takir too…yummehh! If you are a foodie like me, you will never get hungry in Kuala Terengganu!

Here I wanna share something about the hotel hospitality. I went out for cycling on the Saturday morning. It was very unlucky when my tire punctured at Chendering. I straight away called the hotel asking for help. They called a taxi to fetch me up. But before the taxi came, a group of local cyclist already helps me to change the tire. So, I had to cancel the taxi which is, of course, makes the taxi driver pissed off. To make the situation worst, my tire punctured for a second time. I had to call the hotel again asking for another taxi because I don’t think it’s a good idea to fix the tire and then continue the rides again. The receptionist patiently helps me to solve the problem eventhough I know that they might be scolded for cancelling the first trip. I really appreciate what they did for me.The hospitality is 5 stars!

I really recommend this hotel to anyone especially for those who want to enjoy simplicity but yet very comfortable and clean hotel…and yes, it’s cheap too! Will definitely stay again next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank avidrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, Owner at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear avirider,

Thank you for staying with us ! I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very satisfied with your stay and our hospitality. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to DJ Citi Point Hotel where our guest are our priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our second time staying here as transit to redang island. Strategic location, 5 minutes to shahbandar jetty and surrounding with hawker center.

Room is just nice with aircond and water heater. Most important, it is clean. A bit noisy at night around 11pm by the motorbike outside as it face main road.

Small convenience stall can be found at the reception. Snack, drink, sundries are with reasonable prices.

As it is a walk-up hotel, no lift nor escalator, you may prepare a small bag to take only those necessary for one night stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank syongt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, Guest Relations Manager at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings from DJ Citi Point Hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

Our guests are our pride and we strive to be the best budget hotel in Kuala Terengganu. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Jaanvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very good budget hotel, strategic location as it is situated in the middle of the town. Nearby to the famous pasar payang, the management staff is really really friendly, the room is very clean and spacious for a budget hotel, overall it is a good budget hotel and good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shariha_roseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, Guest Relations Manager at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings from DJ Citi Point Hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

Our guests are our pride and we strive to be the best budget hotel in Kuala Terengganu. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Jaanvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

overall it is value of money but it just next to mosque, can hear the prayer clearly for long time .. it is now more than one hour n perhaps can finish soon..
the distance from hotel to jetty merang is a little far, about 45 min drive ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCitiPoint, Guest Relations Manager at DJ Citi Point Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Greetings from DJ Citi Point Hotel!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

Our hotel is very close to Shahbandar Jetty which is the port for many ferries to Redang Island, one of the most popular Islands here. A few selected Islands/resorts operate from the other two ports ie Merang or Marang. Merang is around 45 minutes away from our hotel. Marang is around 30 minutes drive from our hotel.

Our guests are our pride and we strive to be the best budget hotel in Kuala Terengganu. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Jaanvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
Ming Paragon Hotel & Spa
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ming Star
Hotel Ming Star
#3 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DJ Citi Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DJ Citi Point Hotel

Property: DJ Citi Point Hotel
Address: No. 16 Pusat Niaga Paya Keladi | Jalan Kampung Daik, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — DJ Citi Point Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of 'Golden Triangle' of Kuala Terengganu, this brand new property keeps you close to all the major attractions and fun the city has to offer. All the fully equipped rooms come with comfortable queen size bed, air conditioning, attached bathroom, free wifi,hot and cold drinking water and satellite television with Astro channels. While staying here, guests are just few steps away from Shahbandar Jetty (Jetty to Pulau Redang), the famous Payang Market,Bazaar Warisan, China Town, Taman Shahbandar and many more. We emphasize on our cleanliness and reasonably priced rooms with excellent customer service suitable for transit,business and leisure. Guests are sure to have a great time at DJ Citi Point Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your DJ Citi Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing