We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumai suite hotel Kuala Terengganu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sumai Hotel Apartment
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sumai suite hotel Kuala Terengganu”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Initially I was only going to stay for five nights but I found the hotel to be very comfortable, spacious and clean so I decided to stay for two weeks. The staff were most helpful and courteous, the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The swimming pool was a decent size and the hotel is in a good location being very close to long beach, town is within walking distance. Opposite the hotel is Mosque which starts its chanting over loud speakers quite early in the morning though I did not find this disturbing. The natives are predominantly Muslim and consequently you cannot buy alcohol anywhere, so if your looking to party this is not the place. Overall I would say a very nice hotel if you want a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

booked through agoda, it stated breakfast included (but did not stated for how many pax)
so the word "breakfast included" it's very general.
upon check-in time, it only gave us breakfast for 4 persons even though the 4 bedrooms apartment we booked it's for 8 persons.

like what other reviewer says, only 7 beds available. there is 2 queen size beds, 3 single beds.
so the other person must settle at the sofa in the living hall. that what is call 4 bedrooms apartment cater for 8 persons.

one of the A/C in the rooms are leaking water when it's turned on and luckily the maintenance guy able to fix it after calling them within 10 minutes.

some power plug in the rooms were not working, wardrobe looks scratched and old.

toilet facilities are just okay and clean. the beds are not comfy,pillows looks old, there are even some netting under the bed sheet.
wondering why the housekeeping staff didnt notice it when they change the bed sheet, unless otherwise they didn't change
the bed sheet at all.

since the apartment hotel is located nearby the beach, it's very windy, thus making the balcony sliding door rattling and creating a racket that couldn't sleep well.

swimming pool lights were poorly lit, and it's like swimming in dungeon or a cave. it's covered/indoor pool.
even the water itself it's darken that you cant see what's underneath. add on, the whole place looks yucky and smelly with very poor lightings. some people even put their naked baby in children pool, so you wont know whether the baby pee or poo in the dark water.

breakfast in the restaurant are nothing fancy, served food are below average. only difference is their own "keropok lekor".

parking area space are very limited at basement level.
walking distance to the beach only took 5 to 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Not suitable for honeymoon. but good for group travelers without kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackberrymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights when attended a human resource training. This place is located behind the Primula Beach Resort and is a walking distance to the beach. It's raining everyday at this time in Kuala Terengganu and all beaches were deserted. Food prices here are comparable to KL. Middle size squid dishes will set you back about RM7/piece.

Pros
1.Huge fully equipped rooms.
2.Minibar inside the room.
3.Very friendly and attentive staffs with tons of smiles.
4.The restaurant in the hotel have great food selections and above average breakfast.
5.The swimming pool is located at the basement of the hotel.
6.Each bathroom uses an instant water heater with silent jet pump.
7.The family suite can sleep over 8 people.

Quirks
1.There's no wardrobe but a simple stack to hang your cloth.
2.Bring your own hangers
3.Some drawers open by itself.
4.Room looks like 80's and towels are fully worn out.

Other than these, staying here was a wonderful experience. Will stay here again if we come to KT with family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very suitable if your travelling with family members or a group of friends.

I stayed here with a group of friends in an apartment unit consits of 4 rooms with 2 bathrooms with spacious living hall and kitchen. One room consits of queen bed and two bed rooms with two single bed and the last room with one single bed. The kitchen lacks a stove however there's a fridge. There's selective TV channels available, I find it suffecient as I don't normally watch tv anyways.

I The price is relatively affordable, considering one apartment unit can stay up to 7-10pax as breakfast is inclusive. The breakfast is good on certain days such as Friday and Saturday as in Terengganu that is their weekend as Sunday is a working day hence the breakfast isn't good.

There's an indoor pool, some people enjoy it while some dislike it - it's more of a personal preference.

The hotel is within walking distance to the Beach and nearby A&W along with other hawker stalls, it's about 5-10mins walk.

There's a 7-Eleven 24/7 convenient store opposite the mosque across the road in case you need any stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i went to this hotel recently and for my opinion,it is a very good hotel.very comfortable for a big family.i chose deluxe apartment with 3 bedrooms.the rooms are spacious and comfy.the living room is clean and suitable for watching television together with family.there are two bathroom provided in the apartment and the bathrooms are clean and comfortable.the location is strategic.it is located near pasar payang,pantai batu burok and other places..the breakfast are good as there were variety of food to eat.i would suggest this hotel to a family with many members.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Gudang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My recent stay was provided by my principal, Standard room with adjoining Siting room where the toilet is. Checking in was swift since I was taking over another colleague. Using the Wheel chair was more or less smooth. The TV set on the wall as way about 15 Feed from the edge of the bed??? Too far to watch. The toilet water pressure seems to be reduced, or because I was on the highest floor 9th?... We skip BF & Lunch.. so cannot evaluate the food. Staff friendly but no interaction... only smile. Training room small and not that comfortable. Checking out swift. Parking OK, Location to the beach good. and nearby food stall;
PS. The pillow to soft.. difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: You need your own transport to move around;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osha911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are satisfied with the room as well as the food. Value for money.
But the front desk staff are not helpful. I booked the room through a travel package and required to bring a voucher in order to stay in the hotel for "free". I forgot to bring the voucher but told the staff that we are willing to pay for the room. But the staff insisted that they can only give the room if we produce the voucher. I have to explain repeatly that it is impposible for me to get the voucher (since I left it in Melaka) and I will pay for the room before they are willing to give me the room.
We also face difficulty when we wanted to send our clothes to the laundry on our last day at the hotel but will be back another 2 days to pick up the clothes. At first they are not willing take the laundry with several reason then they told us to wait another 2 hours for their housekeeping manager.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelakaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
1.2 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
141 reviews
4.6 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#10 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Teren...
#18 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#5 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumai Hotel Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumai Hotel Apartment

Property: Sumai Hotel Apartment
Address: Lot 4479 Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia (Formerly Sumai Suite Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Class:3 star — Sumai Hotel Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumai Suites Hotel is one of the prime options amongst Kuala Terengganu resorts and hotels. They provide accommodation rooms furnished with air-conditioner, cable TV, mini-bar and refrigerator, and coffee/tea maker. Some of their amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, high-speed Internet access, and airport transfer. While Sumai Suite Hotel is located 15 km away from the international airport, this hotel in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia is also nearby city landmarks such as Batu Burok Beach, Astaka Shopping Complex, and Batu Burok Recreation Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sumai Hotel Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumai Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing