We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be back!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duyong Marina & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duyong Marina & Resort
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will not be back!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Reached Ri-Yaz around 4:15pm since our afternoon flight was a bit delayed from KL and went to have our lunch in KT town first.

I thought checking-in would be smooth since this is a 5 star resort but to my surprise...i was told that my rooms (i booked 4 rooms for the whole family), were not ready!!!! At 4:15pm?? With everyone tired especially the kids, i asked them to checked again and was told that they're really sorry that rooms were really not done yet and all they could do is offer me a drink! And then came my father and he kind off raised his voice asking about the rooms and one of the staff picked up her walkie talkie and somehow told us our rooms were ready and it was almost 5pm at that time! Oh ya..i forgot to tell you that the reception counter doesn't look like the normal reception counter you would see in hotels..It's more like 4 tables joined together in an open space. At first i thought it was some Registration tables for some events they might be having. Funny.

To get to the rooms, you can either take a buggy or walk. But i bet most of us would grab the buggy since the whole resort complex is quite huge....so HUGE that there's only one buggy and driver working at the time when we wanted to get to our rooms! There's like 2 families waiting in line and for the small buggy to take my family of 10 alone( plus our luggages) would take 3 or more trips...what about the other families? When we asked the buggy driver, he said that the other buggies are out of batteries! What a shame!!! But the driver was very polite and helpful.

When we reached our rooms, first thing that everybody noticed was the strange smelly smell that came from the toilet..in fact in was all over the room but was stronger from the toilet. At first my husband thought i just finished doing my 'business' in the toilet and i thought the other way round when neither of us actually did. Everybody else complained about the smell in their rooms and we later found out that it might came from the wood that they used to build the building. Other than that, everything else was fine. Our rooms sit directly facing the infinity pool and yes we got the pool to ourselves since there was like nobody else staying in that huge resort. The pool cafe was closed. And that was a Saturday! It was closed the next day too so we asumed it was there just as a deco!

The next day we went to have our breakfast at the restaurant. It was given free with the rooms and yes it was one of the beautiful hotel restaurants i have ever been. Food choice was tremendous. You have everything from the local Nasi Dagang, Nasi minyak to pastries, fresh baked waffles, all types of eggs, western and juices.

The next problem starts after our breakfast when we wanted to extend our stay to another half day since our flight back to KL is at 9pm. The reception lady quickly replied with a NO saying that they were going to be full house that day! She got no other choice and we got to pack our bags by 12 noon! Really? And again my father have to raised his voice and giving her some lectures on 'ways of giving good service', 'politeness' etc and insisted on seeing the manager. She said the manager was having a briefing and she would get back to us.

She finally got back to us at 11am something saying we can extend our stay but need to change to a smaller room. Packed, transfered, unpacked. By the time we left Ri-yaz for the airport at 7:15pm, we could hardly see many cars!! 5 cars the most...and owhhhh.....what a FULL HOUSE!! Thanks Ri-Yaz for making our short holiday such a lonnngggg and tired ones!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arishahakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ri-YazHeritageSales, Director of Sales at Duyong Marina & Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Dear Arishahakim,

Please accept our sincere apology as upon check in the 2 of the 4 rooms that you had reserved were indicated as 'not ready'. However, my team advised me that it was immediately rectified as when the call the Housekeeping department, it was informed that it was only that it hasn't been updated in the system yet, and you guys were sent by the buggy the rooms, although it required several trips due to the size of your party.

As for the smell that you had indicated, we will surely check on the matter, as it was not highlighted to us during your stay. Thanks for highlighting,and we will surely rectify if there should be a problem.

On the request for late check out on the 30th April 2011, we were to able to hounour your request as our nation's premier and the entourage was there for a visit of Kuala Terengganu, and they took most of the rooms in our resort, but the reception had assisted you by alloting a higher category rooms for you move your luggage & for your to freshen up on complimentary basis.

I really hope that you will change you mind, and visit us again.

Gama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
53
39
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

My wife had seen previous signs along the road from Kuantan to Kuala Terengganu during our previous trip to the east coast at the end of December 2010, so when we saw the signs during our drive to KT on February 2, 2011, we thought we might like to give the place a try. First off, we checked out the hotel's website. We liked what we saw so checked the room rates. Lowest rate was RM268++ for an Internet booking. We didn't book right away but drove to the hotel following the signs along the highway and in the city.

First thing we noticed is that this is NOT a beach resort, with sea and sand. So if that's what you are looking for, you are going to be disappointed. It is located on Pulau Duyong, an island in the Terengganu River, just across from the KT waterfront. You reach the resort after a short drive through a kampung residential area and industrial looking area (shipyard). First impression when we got to the resort is that the main building was ginormous. It housed a couple of restaurants and a ballroom and was connected to a convention centre. The site is the location for the annual Monsoon Cup sailing race. This not being Monsoon Cup season, the resort had a very deserted feel. We were surprised to hear from the registration desk staff that the resort was close to full house (97 chalets and suites).

We inquired at the desk about rates and were told that the best rate was RM318++ for a chalet. We said we had seen a rate of RM268 on the Internet and were told that the rate was for Internet bookings only and they could not honor it for a walk-in. So my wife took out her Blackberry, accessed the Internet, made the booking, and we got our chalet for RM268. After our complimentary drink and check-in, a staff member whisked us off by golf cart to our chalet. Our key didn't work so the staff member returned with one that did. We entered our chalet (one of two bottom units of a four-plex) and were very impressed with the room appointments and furnishings. Especially the separate bathtub and shower set up with two sinks. We tried out the CD player/stereo system but the CD player didn't work. Everything else was fine though. My wife called up reception to ask about the spa hours and was told that the spa was not currently in operation, which was a big disappointment to her.

We had a great night's sleep and woke early. Had a nice buffet breakfast (included in the rate) at Verandah Restaurant. We had a nice view of the river traffic and the KT skyline and waterfront. We strolled around the grounds and noted the lovely swimming pool. We didn't get a chance to take a dip but the water looked great. My wife commented on the landscaping, noting the lime trees, pineapple trees, and other exotic plants and shrubbery around the grounds. My wife also commented that it looked a bit like Fantasy Island, but didn't have as many people around. She was right...

All in all, we had an enjoyable time at Ri-Yaz. The chalet was fantastic, the grounds were lovely, and the staff were very friendly, accommodating, and provided us with wonderful service. On the minus side for me: no sea and sand, as the resort was located in the middle of the river so close to town and an industrial area. And I didn't see enough people (guests) around the place and that made the it seem more or less deserted. It must be a fantastic place to stay during Monsoon Cup, though... On the minus side for my wife, she was really hoping to relax at the spa and it was closed while we were there. Had she known beforehand, she wouldn't have indulged me in a night at Ri-Yaz. Apart from that, I'd return again if I wanted a luxurious chalet and a bit of pampering by friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djones1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ri-YazHeritageSales, Director of Sales at Duyong Marina & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. I wish to apologise on your wife's dissatisfaction on the inavailability of the spa, it's sad that we are trying to rectify the problem at our spa, but currently we have to temporarily close it for business until the problem is solved. I am really hoping that the matter will be solved soonest possible so as the guest could enjoy the treatments that we have planned to put out for the guest experience.

Thank you.
GAMA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Five-star hotels that maintain the characteristics of Malay culture, and according to visitors who prefer the privacy of living rooms are as far from each other. Bedrooms and a large water and everything looks so luxurious. In addition, a lot of room here to provide services that facilitate the residents rooms such as food and minumana light that can be purchased from the room itself. Food in the hotel cafe also preserves the state of Malay culture food like nasi lemak and nasi commerce. It's Ri-Yaz Heritage hotel is suitable as a place to match the Monsoon Cup is held every year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norhaizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We spent four nights in a deluxe room at the Ri-Yaz resort in Sept 2010. The room was great, very spacious and contemporary. The build finish was a bit suspect, but that's common for south east asia.It was quite clean, but a bit more of a scrub and some elbow grease would be ideal. It was otherwise a very stylish and comfortable room. The staff were quite good, the food was good too. The grounds were beautfiul and the large pool was absolutely lovely. The gondola was apparently operating, but we chose the MYR10.00 taxi one way as the preferred option. Taxi drivers in MAlaysia were very honest, which was great. Considering there is very little to do in the town itself. the Ri-Yaz Resort was excellent and I would definitely stay there again. Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the pool area!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tubesearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Manicured and beautiful grounds in acres of land, many attractive individual buildings occupying 4 lets each. Smart rooms with good facilities, lovely big pool but no beach to speak of. A good restaurant with reasonably priced food . Little of the facilities are open...... cant get a bike or boats or into the games room or a massage or a drink its dry! The staff were sweet but slow and needed asking a few times to get anything done.
Bargain prices are available.
Should be really good but just something missing...... maybe motivated staff and customers?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

after driving 6 hrs from kuala lumpur, when we reached this resort, we thought we could have a good holiday stay here since the resort layout is nice. we got the nightmare in the first nite, we were upgraded to the executive delux room which is independent bungalow at the riverside, nice view when there are small boats passing by, the thing is that when we entered the bungalow after checked in, which was around 5pm,the room was hot like oven, so we switched on the air con to run down the temperature.it took more than 4hrs to cool down. anyway, we went to the pool , the temparature of the pool is higher than 50 degree celcius,we only feel cool when we stepped out from the pool, then after dinner in the city center, we came back to get a good sleep, but at the end the noisy air con woke us for whole nite!!!the noise still there eventhough it has been adjusted to the minimum fan, we tried to switch off the air con but it was too hot to stay without it and the room was full of mosquitoes. so with the exhausted bodies and minds, we went to complained on the next day, the staff moved us to delux room, the air con was fine, no noise but the room is full of stain everywhere, in the chair, sofas, window and the toilet seat. and the tv does not have satellite programe, during the daytime, the pool area was too hot to bring the kids to play and since there was no beach, or any activites good for young kids, we tried to complain to the management because it is too expensive to pay for a room like that grade but they refused to compromise, so we decided to move to another hotel at the beach in the city center.this place is not ideal for family with young children, it may be good for business trip for max 2 days only.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graceitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in mid-June. Arrived after a long flight from Sweden and the hotel turned out to be just as relaxing as we needed. Nice bungalow rooms in a beautiful garden. The service was very good, all staff was very helpful and speak good english. The garden is quite big but they have electric golf cars that take you to your room if you don't want to walk. Swimmingpool is very nice, the restaurant is also good, with decent prices. Free Wifi. The only negativ was that the spa was closed, which they didn't inform about when booking or on the web-site. But the management solved this problem in an acceptable way. The hotel is situated on an island, which makes it quiet and relaxing, but you need to take a taxi (MYR 20, not negotiable) to town. In day-time it's also possible to take the boat-shuttle (MYR 6/return/pers), but you need to pre-book.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
3.0 mi away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Teren...
#20 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#3 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duyong Marina & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duyong Marina & Resort

Property: Duyong Marina & Resort
Address: Pulau Duyong, Kuala Terengganu 21300, Malaysia (Formerly Ri-Yaz Heritage Resort and Spa)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Duyong Marina & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duyong Marina & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri-Yaz Heritage Resort And Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing