We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, but fine for a night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Terengganu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I paid 40 ringgit for v large fan room ( could have slept 3 as extra bed), and it was fine. Clean sheets, separate bathroom (fine). A towel would have been nice, as would a smile from the dour faced man in ping anchorage agency. You can't have everything!

Restaurant on roof is simple but good- lovely girl who works up there ( who doubles as part of housekeeping staff)- she does great fresh juices, pancakes and local food at great prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma050982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

The most terrible Guesthouse I've stayed in my 20 days trip in Malaysia! No one cleaned the room even I asked twice. What I needed was to change the sheet others slept before!They only have a great-look travel agency. They only care about that. This inn is only attachment. You cannot find any staff after they close. No wifi no computer no water no everything other guesthouse serve with the same or lower price.
Terrible!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annwang923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The rooms are spacious and fairly clean if rather bland, but at 35RM they are pretty good value. I walked around several budget hotels in KT all of which were over-priced until i decided to come to this location. Primarily for backpackers the rooms are shared toilets. This was fairly clean but the showers were little more than a trickle and the toilets took forever to refill in order to flush. Cleanliness is very subjective, having been a backpacker on and off for 10 years I've become hardened to certain things, but i still wouldn't stay in a room that was dirty (stained sheets, insects, repugnant smells) and, in this sense, the rooms here were ok. For 35RM its not a bad place to crash.

I ate food at the cafe on the roof, it wasn't bad and the price was usual for the fare.

Tours can be booked with the tour company of the same name on the bottom of the floor.

Each guest is given a key to the security gate that gets your entrance on the second floor. The lock was tricky and that could be very frustrating.

Remember, this is a backpackers place. The price and service reflects that. Whats most important to me when i'm paying rock bottom prices is the cleanliness of the room and the security. Both of which was fine at this place. End of the day if you are staying in Kuala Terrenganu its probably because of a transport connection and this place is a 10 minute walk to the bus station and main hub on the city, so the location is alright too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The bad vibe started when we asked for a room and we were quoted 50RM, once we had seen it, the price went up to 60RM and when we were paying the price went up to 65RM. When we said that we didn't want to pay 65RM if we had agreed to 60RM, the person was very offended and basically told us that we could leave if we didn't want to pay 65RM.

Next morning there was no water, we went to see the person in charge and she told us that there would not be any water until the following day. We asked to see her boss and after 1 minute water was running without a problem for the rest of our stay.

We got a room with window that lead to a street and it was really hard to sleep due to the noise. The rest of the rooms might be better.

If you can, I would recommend finding another place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Very simple room with clean share bathroom, the condition in room are so so, just a place to save budget and sleep, location is good, walking distance to local bus stand and city attractions. My conclusion is the only reason to stay in this guesthouse is just about the value, not cleanliness.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stopped over in Kuala Terengganu for two nights on our way up to Kota Bharu. Kuala Terengganu is basically not really backpacker friendly. We arrived at 8:00 pm and checked some hostels from the guide, but there prices were ridiculous, so we finally ended in the Ping Anchorage. We asked for a double bedroom and got one with a fan for 38 MYR. Now, the good things, plenty of space in the room, a nice cafe place in the big terrace (even if you don't stay here, I will recommend you to visit the terrace cafe) and big shared bathrooms (toilet and shower together), laundry machine. Negative: bed linen and bed doubtful (we used our sleeping bags), HOT - there was one window in the room and it was towards the hallway. The fan was merely moving the hot air around. If you need to stay here, ask for the rooms on the building corners as they have a windows towards the outside and ask for AC, which is a little more expensive. Furthermore, they have a metallic door in the 2nd floor where the hostel starts. If you arrive late, it will be closed and you may be lucky if someone comes down to open it if you ring. The service personnel are basically in the cafe upstairs and close at 12 mid night.

Room Tip: PING ANCHORAGE is a travel agency located in the floor of the building and they have good tour packa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guillerm0_G0nzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This place was a nightmare. We stayed one night on the way to Perhentian - that was ok, just your regular bad cheap hotel. We had booked but there was no record of us. The door to the place got jammed shut and we couldn't get in after going out for dinner. Oh, trust the omens fair traveler, trust the omens. Then we stayed one night on the way back. What a terrible mistake. Again we booked and confirmed - again no record of us. They gave us a room but seemed somehow reluctant to do so ... we now know why. There is another place just over the road, we could have gone there, but no, they took our money. We had to get up early to go to the airport and when we switched on the light the room was CRAWLING with bed bugs. We were lucky to have to switch on the light otherwise the bugs would have been hidden by daylight. No matter how poor you are - Stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
0.7 mi away
Suite 18 Boutique Hotel
Suite 18 Boutique Hotel
#2 of 28 in Kuala Terengganu
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
KT Chinatown Lodge
KT Chinatown Lodge
#1 of 28 in Kuala Terengganu
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jen Homestay
Jen Homestay
#1 of 45 in Kuala Terengganu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 mi away
Redang Derimba
Redang Derimba
#5 of 28 in Kuala Terengganu
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ping Anchorage Travellers Inn

Address: 77A Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kuala Terengganu
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing